Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thinking of buying this pc what ye reckon

• 11-02-2006 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭

hi this is the pc im thinking of buying will be using it for gaming,internet and just general media watching dvd music pics etc what ya reckon

SYSTEM COMPONENTS
    Dimension 5150 (D02517x) Qty 1
    Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 640 with HT technology (3.20GHz, 800MHz fsb, 2MB cache), Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 Unit Price Incl. VAT € 1,176.05
    Catalog Number: 5102
    Module Description Show Details
    Base Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 640 with HT technology (3.20GHz, 800MHz fsb, 2MB cache)
    Microsoft Operating System Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005
    Memory 1024MB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHz (2x512) Memory
    Keyboard Dell Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse - UK/Ire (QWERTY)
    Monitor Dell UltraSharp 1907FP 19" Black (TCO99) Performance LCD Flat Panel Monitor with Height Adj Stand
    Video Card 256MB ATI Radeon® X600 HyperMemory graphics card
    Hard Drive 320GB (2x160GB) 7200rpm SATA Hard Drive - Dual HDD Config
    Floppy Drives Internal 13-in-1 Media Card Reader
    Mouse Mouse Included in Wireless Keyboard and Mouse option
    Modem V.92 Data Fax Modem
    CD/DVD Drives 16x DVD+/-RW & 16x DVD Drives
    Sound Cards Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio
    Speakers Dell A525 Speakers with Subwoofer
    Shipping Documents System Documentation with UK Power Cord
    Gedis Bundle Reference List D02517x Dimension 5150
    Microsoft Application Software Microsoft® Works 7.0 - English
    Standard Warranty 1-Year Collect and Return service
    Cover It with Dell Support Services 1-Year Collect and Return service
    AntiVirus & Security Software No Security Subscription
    Dell Photo Album No Software
    Paint Shop No Software
    Order Information Dimension Order - Ireland
    Money Off Savings Save €70 inc VAT
    Dell System Media Kit No Resource CD
    Dell Media Experience Dell Media Experience 3.1 Basic
    Adobe Reader Adobe Reader 6.0 - English
    Promotions Hidden Option Class Reporting -512MB RAM FREE - Double Memory Promo
    Dell Internet Order Dell Internet Order.
    Operating System Backup & Recovery PC Restore recovery system by Symantec

Dell Colour Printer 720 Qty 1
    FREE Dell Colour Printer 720 Unit Price Incl. VAT € 0.00
    Catalog Number: 5102
    Module Description Show Details
    Base FREE Dell Colour Printer 720
    Cables No Printer Cable
    Standard Warranty 1Yr Next Business Day Exchange
    Printer Driver 720 FI Printer Driver for Dimension
    Engineering/Informational Dell Imaging Printer order - Ireland
    Order Information Included : 1 x 720 Black Ink Cartridge + 1 x 720 Colour Ink Cartridge

ACCESSORIES
    No Additional Printer Ink Cartridge Selected Qty 1
    Unit Price Incl. VAT € 0.00

TOTAL Incl. VAT:€ 1,176.05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

Seems grand for the price.

GFX card will need to be replaced in a short while if you intend gaming heavily.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

it sucks..get the 9150..gives us a better spec..avoid any video card with the word "hypermemory"..this card basically uses system as well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Zoned

seems grand like uberpixie said ring up and ask for a GFX card upgrade and a printer cable for giving yer man the phone call...
    get them to fill in most of your details and then ask for the upgrade and just say that you need the upgrade but dont have the extra money....
    The 19" screen is nice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 SunnyDeath

thats a good price for sure but not good for gaming with a graphics card like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

its a dell

and the answer is no

that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

cheers guys and whats wrong with dell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭andy1249

Have to agree , given the choice I would not pick Dell , the quality of their parts are terrible ,
    Try this , http://www.komplett.ie/k/cc.asp?bn=10306 ,
    given that you are only opting for the collect and return one year warranty the deals here are much better , ( 3 years ) ,

All the parts are known quality parts and for the money you get a much much better spec PC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Yeah dont go for deel,you can get much better deals from other places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 SunnyDeath

u will get a better spec and better quality from komplett for sure, dells after sales service is a joke