Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IrishWAN BF2 Server Statistics and Ranking

• 24-01-2006 3:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Hi all

This is an invite to all BF2 players out there to join us in a Battlefield 2 training session tomorrow evening (Wed 25th Jan) at 9pm and all Wednesday evenings in future. We welcome all new players of all skill levels.

Our server is hosted on a dedicated P4 server in Dublin and is at bf2.irishwan.com

You will need teamspeak to join in on the training session for maximum enjoyment. Our team speak server is at teamspeak.irishwan.com.

Please post on our Battlefield forums at irishwan if you are planning to join in.

See you there :v:
    Donie

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Is this server up and running right now or will I have to wait until tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 dellboy

Server is running all the time...
    Donie

Ok, got it cool :)

Harrier's Test BF2 Server |34ms| 217.115.114.5:16567

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭meelick

I'll be in. 9:00 pm onwards. Looking forward to it.
    Cheers,
    Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

A few tig will join in tonight if that is ok.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Im up for it... do I have to register on ur site to show up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

dellboy wrote:
    Hi all

This is an invite to all BF2 players out there to join us in a Battlefield 2 training session tomorrow

So who are US then? Some clan or just a bunch of mates?

'US' is the people of IrishWAN. Not a clan. More a bunch of widely distributed people with a common interest in wireless networking. Sad, I know, but it keeps us outta trouble. :)

Cheers,
    Dave.

Only 4 people on Teamspeak all evening. Tut-tut! :)
    (up to 24 on the server)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Sorry , but us DoWers use Vent ;)
    Also i didnt expect that many of my clanmates to follow me in lol, was good that they did though :):D

Wouldve come on TS with yes otherwise

Will come on next time providing they all dont follow again, but if they dont follow then therell be much less in the sevrer. Bit of a catch 22 isnt it ??? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

One was a bit ignorent cuz so many TiG joined :rolleyes: Sayin how come we werent on our own server :p

Then pointed it out till him it was Irish server & he had uk in his name :rolleyes:

BTW, think irishwan could maybe getta group together for this mini boards infantry league. Or just join the boards ones if want :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

I wasnt ignorant, think youve got the meaning of the word mixed up there mate :p

I only asked how come yous were all on due to the fact that im constantly checking up on both your sevrers and theyre constantly empty.
    In fact , i was askin one of your members about it today...he works with me in Vue Cinemas....Jerry, i thnk his name is Pyscho or something he said.:eek: :confused:

Id always be up for a game with some Irish folk, but no one on your servers.
    So i was on IrishWan cause they posted that thered be a game:D

Also, about my tags DoWUK, theyve been around for about 3 years, and their name has been like that before i joined them, I think it has little relevance to anything tbh, and has no bearing on my alliegence to my own country.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

Cool ill check it out... only started to play the game recently but would like to play on the irish servers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

SeantheMan wrote:
    I only asked how come yous were all on due to the fact that im constantly checking up on both your sevrers and theyre constantly empty.
    In fact , i was askin one of your members about it today...he works with me in Vue Cinemas....Jerry, i thnk his name is Pyscho or something he said.:eek: :confused:

Id always be up for a game with some Irish folk, but no one on your servers.
    So i was on IrishWan cause they posted that thered be a game:D
    Aye, that'd be me:cool: As for the TiG servers, they're usually full on Friday nights, but thats a different story...

Hopefully we'll have another wee get-together this Wed Evening. Ventrilo is installed now, might give that a go this time.

Map vote going at http://www.irishwan.com/forum/index.php?topic=76.0

Cheers,
    Dave.

how about using inbuilt voip?

dellboy wrote:
    how about using inbuilt voip?

Well, we could certainly give it a go, but I think the craic is better when you can taunt your enemy :)

built-in voip only allows talking with squad members (or commander to squad leaders). Kinda limiting. I suppose it depends on the situation.

Dave.

Could a mod please add the IrishWAN BF2 server to the Servers sticky, please?

It's an IRISH server, hosted in Dublin, unranked. 217.115.114.5 port 16567

Thanks,
    Dave.

Actually, I noticed one of our Dublin players last Wednesday had a ping time of 9ms :) Lucky blighter... Mine was 38ms as the time...

Sure makes a difference to have a server hosted in Dublin rather than in the UK or USA...

I'm flexing me mouse for some killin later this evening. Join in at your peril and don't be crying if I kill ye too much ;)

Looks like the map vote has resulted in a tie between
    Karkand, mashtuur, and Wake. Will set the server to rorate between those three for tonight.
    Cheers,
    Dave.

Just a reminder, from 9pm on tonght (Wed 8th), we'll be jumping on the IrishWAN bf2 server. Usuall address, 217.115.114.5, or bf2.irishwan.com. Ventrilo server available also at the same address, and people are STRONGLY urged to use it, as it enhances the gameplay soooo much.
    We'll split off each team into sepeate channels, as you can discuss tactics comfortably.

ALL are welcome.

Cheers,
    Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

might join ya's for a game tonight, think ya's could get a last minute team for league??? would even the amount of teams.

Berns,
    Since the IrishWAN thing only started 2 weeks ago, and we don't know how many "regulars" we have yet, it'd be hard to put a team together. Also, the guys I asked about it are'nt interested in infantry only, and I cant commit the time (hence me leaving TiG).
    Cheers,
    Dave.

Good games last night folks. Even though there were only about 10 of us there was some good action all the same.

Good sound quality with Ventrilo too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭excaliburhc

lads thnX for the game lst nite ,good laugh ,even got to tk drax a couple of times :D
    sorry about not talking but i dont use ventrillo so had nothing configured ,
    next time ,
    harrier thnx for the game m8

excaliburhc......were you that tankwhore that kept on blowing up my (ptegan1984) tank ? :D

Yeah,was good fun. Amazing for an unranked server isnt it!

When the numbers dwindled, four of went on theoapclan server, and the 2v2 squads kept bumping into each other. Was hilarous. Especially the comments on ventrilo! :)

Cheers,
    Dave (harrier)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭excaliburhc

tank whore is a bit harsh , i would say more ammmmm no tank whore is fair ,

ehhh i was trying to keep ye pinned until backup turned up ,

lol good game though

I'm very pleased to announce that I now have a full statistics and ranking system on the IrishWAN bf2 server. You'll be awarded ranks, medals, etc, and be included in the leaderboard on http://bf2.irishwan.com. This is very similar to BFHQ, but it only keeps track of players on this server. I think that this has the capability to make playing on the server much more interesting.

I've the maps set up for 16 player at the moment, server can handle a lot more, depends on how busy it gets. Needs only 2 players to start...

It uses the new new server mod from http://www.bf2statistics.com, and is largely written by Jeff Minard, of bf2s.com fame.

Cheers,
    harrier.

MOD NOTE: Merged into old thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭-Al-

how do you find bf2statistics? we've been thinking of deranking and using this.

-Al- wrote:
    how do you find bf2statistics? we've been thinking of deranking and using this.

Only just went live a few hours ago... :)

It looks the dogs, though. I can see quite a few servers switching...

Cheers,
    Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Does it work on a nice big mysql table or so?

Winters wrote:
    Does it work on a nice big mysql table or so?

Yup, mysql, php, apache, etc. works on both linux and windows servers, and on PC's with bf2 running on dedicated mode, I believe. I found it a pig to install, but that's only because I was using virtual hosting on the machine. Also, a bug or two in the php scripts when there's only one players's data in the database, which will prevent the stats from being displayed.
    Cheers,
    Dave.

P.S. Sorry for starting new thread, wasnt thinking. Used to smaller boards, where it's not a problem. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭HSo

Tried to get on server tonight. It needs a password. So is it only open to the chosen few?

For those of ye that are thinkig of popping in for the usual Wed night session on the IrishWAN Server, please take a look at the following poll:
    http://www.irishwan.com/forum/index.php?topic=102.0

Cheers,
    Dave.

HSo wrote:
    Tried to get on server tonight. It needs a password. So is it only open to the chosen few?

Sorry, HSo, only saw this now. was passworded for about an hour that night for the infantry league that you'll find elsewere on this board. Just to prevent people joining in while the two rounds were in progress. Sorry 'bout that.

Cheers,
    Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

use 1.2 meelick. I will be awway from 9 until 10 but will check it out then ok

Vegeta wrote:
    use 1.2 meelick. I will be awway from 9 until 10 but will check it out then ok

Server updated to 1.2. I hammered in the bf2stats scripts, did a fair bit of script editing to make it happen. Havent tested it yet, but the worst that can happen is a few missing points.

Cheers,
    Dave.

You know what's beautiful about this new stats system?

I was playing on the server last night when I see a message like :

*Player X [teamkills] Player Y
    *Player Y has 0 forgives and 1 punish

I imagine that some people would think twice about punishing so often and so quickly if it was a stat that other people could judge you by :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Evd-Burner

will there be a training session tommorow nite?

Evd-Burner wrote:
    will there be a training session tommorow nite?

More of a standard 'gaming' session. It happens every Wed around 9-10 onwards. All invited. Get yourself on Teamspeak as well. Great craic on there.

Cheers,
    Dave.