Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Garda

• 11-02-2006 12:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

Hey all,

Does anyone know how you are supposed to go about complaining about the Garda when they are in the wrong?
    Bit of backgraound:
    Middle of the night about 40 (no exaggeration) Garda came knocking on my door looking for someone who they say the chopper spotted coming into my house..
    They broke my hall door and side gate while forcing their way in.
    My neighbours reckon I should complain and make it known that the Garda where in the wrong, but I do not know how to do it!!

Has anyone here ever had to complain about the Garda? If so can you please give me any advice you have.

Cheers,
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Go down to the station and make it known you want to be refuded for the cost of repairs. Do not let them away with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Write down what happened so you have an accurate log of events as any action may take a while & you may forget details....I would also get hold of a camera or camcorder & take pics of the damage as evidence.....then contact a solicitor....best of luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Brener

thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Ag marbh wrote:
    Go down to the station and make it known you want to be refuded for the cost of repairs. Do not let them away with this.
    As helpful goes, that definetly was not.

Garda Complaints Board, will handle the case, the sooner you make the complaint the better as I assume the helicopters record what they see, not sure how long this is kept for, it more than likely depends on what gets recorded and whether or not it is going to be used as evidence in a conviction.

I'd start be informing the local commisioner (or deputy) that you intend to make a complaint. Do this at the same time as you make the complaint. For all the bad things you hear about the gardai (and personnally I have always found them to be great anytime I have dealth with them), you still want to keep them nice; you never know when you might need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Ask for an appointment to see the whoever is in charge of the local station (get the name first). Be polite and say you understand that the garda has pressures, but it would appear that there was a mistake and would it be possible to arrange for them to cover the cost of repairs and what is the procedure and who should you talk to.

Have some photos of the damage and a written estimate of the cost to do the repairs, including any temporary repairs.

If you get a negative response, go to solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Step 1. Get a solicitor.

Step 2. Read the advice above and take some of it.

Important point is not to do anything without a solicitor. From experience i know that dealing with the gardai in this sort of manner requires a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Contact the Superintendant in your local Station.

Forget trying to make a complaint or contacting an assistant commissioner as this will get you nowhere.

What happened is part of policing and happens daily around the country, The officers acted with the best interests of the public at large in mind.

This kind of thing happens regularly especially when Gardai execute warrants where the use of force is allowed to enter a premises.

Super's have a budget they use to repair doors and windows that get damaged during searches or chases.

thanks every1 for your advide ive taken picture and will follow up the rest of your advice cheers this is my first time using this
    cheers regards bren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

Dustaz wrote:
    Step 1. Get a solicitor.

Step 2. Read the advice above and take some of it.

Important point is not to do anything without a solicitor. From experience i know that dealing with the gardai in this sort of manner requires a solicitor.

Why does everybody automatically think of getting a solicitor. Go to the local super give the man( or woman) a chance to fix the damage, explain what happened and apologise. The guy in the helicopter obviously made a mistake and the guys on the ground acted on it. mistakes happen every day, let the Gardai fix the problem. If they dont then make a complaint to the garda ombudsman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭deputydugs

Even if we were wrong the point is that the law was on our side to enter the house as we had reasonable suspicion after the suspect was seen entering. And it was lawful!!!!!!.

However because it was lawful the state will refund the damage done.
    Get it fixed and have the recipet to show as proof

END OF F**KING STORY

Go to your local station and make the complaint and ask for the sergeant in charge or duty sergeant in order to take the complaint from you.

Brener wrote:
    Hey all,

Does anyone know how you are supposed to go about complaining about the Garda when they are in the wrong?
    Bit of backgraound:
    Middle of the night about 40 (no exaggeration) Garda came knocking on my door looking for someone who they say the chopper spotted coming into my house..
    They broke my hall door and side gate while forcing their way in.
    My neighbours reckon I should complain and make it known that the Garda where in the wrong, but I do not know how to do it!!

Has anyone here ever had to complain about the Garda? If so can you please give me any advice you have.

Cheers,
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Pataman wrote:
    Why does everybody automatically think of getting a solicitor. Go to the local super give the man( or woman) a chance to fix the damage, explain what happened and apologise. The guy in the helicopter obviously made a mistake and the guys on the ground acted on it. mistakes happen every day, let the Gardai fix the problem. If they dont then make a complaint to the garda ombudsman.

Best advice I've read here Pataman, what's the point of getting your knickers in a twist. It's the same on teh rip-off Ireland thread as soon as someone says they bought something and there was a slight fault, most of boards seems to form a KKK styled lynch-mob to burn out the company in question. In my experierence, most of the time all it takes is a little diplomacey (spelling???) to sort things out.

Anyone who dosen't agree, "Talk to Joe"

the helipcoter could not of seen them enter the house because it was not at the seen until after the cars arrived so in my opinion it was unlawfull as there was no evidence that they were in the the house the gaurds presumed and they were and were wrong. so this is far from end of f**king story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Were the people in your house by any chance, or have the Gardai had cause to enter your house on a different occasion.

Something is not adding up right here.

no they werent in the house they left a car in the middle of the road and ran up the road i seen them. I live 4 doors away from my mother. the gaurds had no idea were they were thety just took a guess. they said the copper seen them but the gaurds were on the seen before the copper was any were to be seen

Brener wrote:
    no they werent in the house they left a car in the middle of the road and ran up the road i seen them. I live 4 doors away from my mother. the gaurds had no idea were they were thety just took a guess. they said the copper seen them but the gaurds were on the seen before the copper was any were to be seen

i know it dosent add up thats why im angry about this my parents are know to the gaurds in any criminal way no reason to be suspected and terrorised in this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'm not sure how long this thread has left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

smacks of compo culture brener,

the guards were only doing their job - would you want to sue the fire brigade for damage done if they broke your door down because phonewatch told them your smoke alarm was activated?

If the guards were chasing a few punks that had stolen your car you'd be bitching if they didn't agressively persue them.

mistakes happen, they're only human.

get it repaired, send them the bill, get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Dylan_James

do the Garda not need a search warrent or you too invite them in to enter your house?

Let us know what happens Brener when you go to the garda station

A Search warrant, what world do you live in, A world where you wacth far 2 much tv I think.

We have grounds to enter where we see a suspect enter a premises or to proctect life or property. Stop wacthing Reno 911

And with all the good advice people are given you Brener you seem to want one thing and one thing only To cause problems I hope the skipper tells you how to deal with the complaint and breaks his hole laughin about it at the meal break where we all can have a good laugh at your expense. Go waste your money on a solictor, at the end of the day its the state your fighting so why should it make us lose sleep, but it has made you lose sleep so at least some one is happy.

deputydugs wrote:
    A Search warrant, what world do you live in, A world where you wacth far 2 much tv I think.

We have grounds to enter where we see a suspect enter a premises or to proctect life or property. Stop wacthing Reno 911

And with all the good advice people are given you Brener you seem to want one thing and one thing only To cause problems I hope the skipper tells you how to deal with the complaint and breaks his hole laughin about it at the meak break where we all can have a good laugh at your expense go waste your money on a solictor t the end of the day its the stae your fighting you why should it make us lose sleep, but it has made you lose sleep.

i'm so glad you are out there protecting us from the "bad guys"....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

deputydugs wrote:

And with all the good advice people are given you Brener you seem to want one thing and one thing only To cause problems I hope the skipper tells you how to deal with the complaint and breaks his hole laughin about it at the meal break where we all can have a good laugh at your expense. Go waste your money on a solictor, at the end of the day its the state your fighting so why should it make us lose sleep, but it has made you lose sleep so at least some one is happy.

Christ your a bell-end.

No wonder everyone hates the guards when tossers like yourself work for them.

RuggieBear wrote:
    i'm so glad you are out there protecting us from the "bad guys"....

Sum1 has to do it. Why just catch bad guys when you have people who you try to help bicthin hence me handin tickets to people who do 110 kmh in a 100 zone, Screw the public I say, As we only get abuse for doing our job anyway

Christ your a bell-end.

No wonder everyone hates the guards when tossers like yourself work for them.

Yet I can bet that any person I dealt with, they would say I was highly professional and courtisos. And that came from a pole at our local station. Amazing how I have changed with people like brener slaging us. And the more the public bad mouth us the more pissed off we get. The new Penaltypoints were great news for us and I swear as soon as I get my new book I will hammer people. Yet this is what we are ment to do and yet the public complain when we do it and they also complain about the number of road deaths so as I said before screw the public your dammed if you do and dammed if you dont

what an poor attitude you have. I really do hope it's not prevelent through out the force? You should be ashamed of yourself for writting such a statement

RuggieBear wrote:
    what an poor attitude you have. I really do hope it's not prevelent through out the force? You should be ashamed of yourself for writting such a statement

Ashamed that I wrote it, No, Ashamed that I have to write **** like it, YA. Look at the USA things differ. Can you imagine them having the public and media bad mouth them like ye do here. I think not. We are a target for everthing that goes wrong and I for one am sick of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

deputydugs wrote:
    Yet I can bet that any person I dealt with, they would say I was highly professional and courtisos. And that came from a pole at our local station. Amazing how I have changed with people like brener slaging us. And the more the public bad mouth us the more pissed off we get. The new Penaltypoints were great news for us and I swear as soon as I get my new book I will hammer people. Yet this is what we are ment to do and yet the public complain when we do it and they also complain about the number of road deaths so as I said before screw the public your dammed if you do and dammed if you dont

Man i actually feel sorry for you. You seem to hate your job, so why do? If you hate dealing with the public, why work as a guard?

People complain because of your attitudes, as it clear to see why they would complain about you. The only reason you seem you want to enforce the law is so you can act all smug and piss the publiv off, then of course go back to the station and have a laugh about it with the lads on your tea breaks.

Do you blame brener for slagging you? YOu broke his door down. Did you not ask yourself why he posted the original question?

Surely if the cop who did it had explained to him how he could go about claiming for the property damage he wouldnt need to ask questions here, or need to consider a solicitor? But infairness to the cop, he was probaly dying to get back to the station to tell everyone how he got the chance to kick in a innocent persons door and piss off another member of the public.

deputydugs wrote:
    Ashamed that I wrote it, No, Ashamed that I have to write **** like it, YA. Look at the USA things differ. Can you imagine them having the public and media bad mouth them like ye do here. I think not. We are a target for everthing that goes wrong and I for one am sick of it!

Then resign.

If your job serving the people of ireland is making you think like this then i suggest you find another career.

RuggieBear wrote:
    Then resign.

If your job serving the people of ireland is making you think like this then i suggest you find another career.

I would love for ye to try our job for a day, You would say ye love it, Give it a week and you would see how little respect the public have for the Gardai. You give it a year and come back to me and tell me that way I think is wrong. I help alot of people and get 100 times more abuse than thanks.

deputydugs wrote:
    I would love for ye to try our job for a day, You would say ye love it, Give it a week and you would see how little respect the public have for the Gardai. You give it a year and come back to me and tell me that way I think is wrong. I help alot of people and get 100 times more abuse than thanks.

it doesn't seem that you are capable of doing your own job for the right reasons...why not look at yourself. Again i'll say if you find the job is making you think like this...resign and do a job that gives you more satisfaction.

I have always respected for the Gardai but your attitude is eroding that respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭nowuckenfurries

Gardai MUST have a search warrant to enter.... http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA28Y2000S261.html

Gardai MUST have a search warrant to enter.... http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA28Y2000S261.html[/QUOTE

you are telling me that I hear you screaming inside your house and hear a loud bang and I have to get a warrant to enter?

Ya Right.

If you are going to read and quote the law get a qulificaton to do so. Understand simple english "SEARCH warrant" what do you think that means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Did you even read the link you posted?

"COPYRIGHT AND RELATED RIGHTS ACT 2000"

Don't think it's relevant here!
    Gardai MUST have a search warrant to enter.... http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA28Y2000S261.html

RuggieBear wrote:
    it doesn't seem that you are capable of doing your own job for the right reasons...why not look at yourself. Again i'll say if you find the job is making you think like this...resign and do a job that gives you more satisfaction.

I have always respected for the Gardai but your attitude is eroding that respect

SO what are the right reasons for my job and dont give me american bull**** such as to protect and serve because this is not the USA as you may notice

What do you think we are and what do we do. And the answer will give you a good idea as to why we entered that premises. Casue we did not entrer it to tuck him into his bed

deputydugs wrote:
    SO what are the right reasons for my job and dont give me american bull**** such as to protect and serve because this is not the USA as you may notice

What do you think we are and what do we do.

but sure only a few moments ago you wished you were a police officer in America where the police were respected....:rolleyes:

erm...well something along the lines of community commitment, personal protection and state security would be nice but it doesn't seem you want to protect people within the community in this state...

you just want to write up tickets and piss the community, you are there to protect, off

RuggieBear wrote:
    but sure only a few moments ago you wished you were a police officer in America where the police were respected....:rolleyes:

erm...well something along the lines of community commitment, personal protection and state security would be nice but it doesn't seem you want to protect people within the community in this state...

you just want to write up tickets and piss the community, you are there to protect, off

community commitment, thats why I spend numbers of personal hours each week helping the youth in a drop in centre.

personal protection. protecting people like brener by putting in his door to proctect lfe and property

state security, detecting and prventing crimes which involves what I do best in my day to day work

And I would not have to give out tickets if arses like you stayed within the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

deputydugs wrote:
    I help alot of people and get 100 times more abuse than thanks.
    And you get your fu*king wages. Cop on.

Assume here, as we should, that what the OP said is the complete truth. You (not personally) barged into his house at 4am. Not only did you cause damage to the door, but you interfered with his life.

Now I'm very pro-Statist. I understand the necessity of doing as much, and generally defend the Gardaí. But look at it from his point of view. A guard burst through his door in the middle of the night for, from his perspective, no reason.

And you show him nothing but contempt.

You applied to join the Gardaí. You sat those assessment tests. You went through the pigsty voluntarily. You're employed by the State to do what you're told, like all other employees of the State. The State is telling you to not show contempt for the public, no matter how much criticism you get.

And you get your fu*king wages. Cop on.

Assume here, as we should, that what the OP said is the complete truth. You (not personally) barged into his house at 4am. Not only did you cause damage to the door, but you interfered with his life.

Now I'm very pro-Statist. I understand the necessity of doing as much, and generally defend the Gardaí. But look at it from his point of view. A guard burst through his door in the middle of the night for, from his perspective, no reason.

And you show him nothing but contempt.

You applied to join the Gardaí. You sat those assessment tests. You went through the pigsty voluntarily. You're employed by the State to do what you're told, like all other employees of the State. The State is telling you to not show contempt for the public, no matter how much criticism you get.

Contempt. I posted a post telling him what to do, He is the one who thinks he is a victim in a big big crime, He should open hie eyes and see what is going on in the real world. To be honest I dont give a rats arse

deputydugs wrote:
    community commitment, thats why I spend numbers of personal hours each week helping the youth in a drop in centre.

personal protection. protecting people like brener by putting in his door to proctect lfe and property

state security, detecting and prventing crimes which involves what I do best in my day to day work

And I would not have to give out tickets if arses like you stayed within the law
    less of the persoanl abuse mon ami....i've never received a ticket in my life. But hey, i'm just one of the many arses that make up the general public who you (much to your obvious resentment) are paid by the State to protect.

Your attitude is appaling.....i still reckon the Gardai is not the place for you to be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

You're some bitter tool dugs - not too late for a career change. ;)

I hear Draper are taking on tools like yourself.

deputydugs wrote:
    To be honest I dont give a rats arse

ah..that would be contempt for another of the arses...erm...citizens....you are paid to protect and make sure we can lead our lifes without fear of crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

hehe Ruggie, I can't believe I'm reading this tbh.Smells of fish though.

RuggieBear wrote:
    less of the persoanl abuse mon ami....i've never received a ticket in my life. But hey, i'm just one of the many arses that make up the general public who you (much to your obvious resentment) are paid by the State to protect.

Your attitude is appaling.....i still reckon the Gardai is not the place for you to be...

YEP, you think that. At the end of the day I get on well in my job becasue I do it well and if my skippers and cig are happy with me then thats all I give a ****e about. I will still spend my money in my account that I get each Thursday. I will still pay my tax and I will also enjoy my state pension. And I will still enjoy giving out tickets for speeding. Lot of the job I wont like doing but thats my job. Deputydugs OUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

deputydugs if i was you i would quit while im ahead.Yes the op is agreived but wouldnt you if someone broke your door down in the middle of the night. No wonder the guards have a bad name if they all have the same attitude as you. You are employed to protect the public.

Lets hope your sargent or some noisy journalist isnt reading this thread.

deputydugs wrote:
    YEP, you think that. At the end of the day I get on well in my job becasue I do it well and if my skippers and cig are happy with me then thats all I give a ****e about. I will still spend my money in my account that I get each Thursday. I will still pay my tax and I will also enjoy my state pension. And I will still enjoy giving out tickets for speeding. Lot of the job I wont like doing but thats my job. Deputydugs OUT!

so to reiterate my orginal comment to you....

i'm so glad you are out there protecting me from the "bad guys"

Anyway, best of luck and stay safe

galwaydude wrote:
    deputydugs if i was you i would quit while im ahead.Yes the op is agreived but wouldnt you if someone broke your door down in the middle of the night. No wonder the guards have a bad name if they all have the same attitude as you. You are employed to protect the public.

Lets hope your sargent or some noisy journalist isnt reading this thread.

My "sargent" ROTFL

Ahh the joys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭coolhandluke

Deputydugs,your some tool your barely even in the polis.Your job is to protect the public not wind them up on internet chat boards,cop yourself on !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

deputydugs wrote:
    And that came from a pole at our local station.

ALL hail the pole! Giver of all justice

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

deputydugs wrote:
    at the end of the day its the state your fighting so why should it make us lose sleep, but it has made you lose sleep so at least some one is happy.

who is happy deputydugs?
    I have got to ask you this question, why did you join the force?

I look at cops all the time, I think not for love nor money would I be one, it's a thankless, hard tough job.
    I imagined that it was a vocation, a person joined because they wanted to help make this country a better place to live.
    From your posts, you come across tired, agressive and bitter.
    I well understand that if a cop suspects that someone is in a particular house then something must be done, but if they pick the wrong house and distress innocent people, surely they do their best to make things right afterwards? Isn't that what they are there for at the end of the day?
    You have a real 'us against them' attitude, but shouldn't that be 'us against the bad guys' and not the good ones?
    It makes me feel sad to think that this is what our force has come to, I do hope that not all cops have your attitude.

now
    can everyone calm down please and we try and get back to a civil conversation
    thanks
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 eeyore's mate

deputydugs wrote:
    Amazing how I have changed with people like brener slaging us. And the more the public bad mouth us the more pissed off we get.
    I really don't think brener was slagging the Gardaí. He was on here looking for advice for his parents.. The Gardaí (in dublin, so not you) got it wrong.. he wanted advice and to vent his anger!
    Get down of your high horse.. The public mad mouth you because you get a lot of things wrong.. they also praise you when you do something right!
    You are not the type of person I would want in my area "protecting the public" if that is your attitude..
    I know a few members of the gardai and they love their jobs and just get on with it when they are critisied! Why can't you??