Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought BF2 and have some questions

• 09-02-2006 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭

OK after long temptaion, I finally gave in. Bought a game that has been tickling me for ages.

Some little points though.

I bought it second hand of a friend in college. When I log online, will i only be able to play his account that his stats had, or can i make like a fresh one?

Does the game use its own browers to search games or do you use gamespy? Cause i hate that wretched leech device.

Are the stats and badges things official or optional mods people made? If official what sort of sites can i check my stats on, and for instance get those stats for my sig.

Whats the best irish server for ping and skill?

Cheers.

DOC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

You can create a fresh one

Yes, it uses its own built in browser (although I'm not a huge fan of it)

Stats and Badges are official and you can check your stats on sites like http://www.bf2s.com and http://bf2tracker.com/, I think both those sites do sigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

:cool: 1. No you cant use his Username unless you know it and the password to go with it. You acn create a new one for youself though, theres no limit on the amount you can create.:) N.B. Make sure he didnt just get a No CD and is using the same Serial Code, otherwise yous both wont be able to play online at the same time.:eek:

2.Game has its own browser in it, its what i use, or else i follow my mates in through XFire:D

3.Stats are official. Youll recieve points etc only for playing on ranked server though, so make sure your filter is set up for ranked servers.;)

Have found most of the Irish servers to be empty most of the time.:(
    Though the busiest would have to be {GrIM}-[NOG]...86.53.238.61:16567
    Good people on there, been on a few times and enjoyed it :D
    Skill will vary with every server, dont be fooled by ranks either.:rolleyes: Just cause someones a high rank doesnt mean theyre good. They could just have no life and sit playin there all day.:p So dont be intimidated if you go into one where everybody is real high ranking

Best way to enjoy the game is to play with online mates, and be on voice comms if you got em.

Seans tip for the ultimate online experience for fun : Join a Clan:D :D

Hope ye enjoy the game, its the best online game since MOH:AA

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

This page will explain all about rankings, weapons and awards...

ubar.bf2s.com

The internal game browser is pretty much crap IMHO but is due to be fixed with next weeks patch.
    If I search for servers with a ping of under 100 I get about 25 results. if I use All Seeing Eye I get over 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

nah its no cd stuff hes selling me the full game and hes giving me his password and logins for online so grand can make a freshy, cheers boys

another question is how wil lthe gmae run on my machine currently have

2ghz amd
    512mb ram
    64mb geforce 64mb

Now i know this is nothing special but yet i run **** like doom 3 on med specs at good fps. I play counter strike source at like 50 fps at good visuals.

I'm getting a new pc in 2 weeks that is

3.4ghz p4
    1gb inferion ram
    gefroce 6600gt 128mb pci express

I'm assuming this will play it relitivly high spec and look and run smooth.

Sorry but your gefroce 6600gt won't play with everything set at High. Maybe medium though with AA at 2x.

My 9800GT doesn't manage with *everything* at high :)

You could set it to High with Terrain on medium, and Texture on medium, Shadows on OFF, Dynamic lighting on Off.

What gfx card do you have at the moment?
    We're missing a little info in the '64mb geforce 64mb':)

Check out this thread for 6600GT users. It lists exactly what all their settings are

http://www.totalbf2.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12287

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

The one you have at the mo wont run the game :eek:
    Its your GFX card, BF2 specs require a minimum of a 128 Gfx card
    Another 512Ram and a Gfx card for that PC and itll be np runnin it

New one should run it fine, though not everything on high as the man said

its a geforce ti4200

the setup sounds poor i know, but yet i have everything set so it plays thing swlel, it has served me well. If it can play farcry and cs source it will defo play bf2 im assuming....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

its a geforce ti4200

the setup sounds poor i know, but yet i have everything set so it plays thing swlel, it has served me well. If it can play farcry and cs source it will defo play bf2 im assuming....

LOl ask Syco about that, the 4 series misses some shader support so no you cant play it at all.

kdjac

KdjaC is right. None of the Geforce 4 series are good enough (well they probably are but don't support directx9.0c) which gives you an idea of how demanding the game really is.

i dont get how i can play every other gmae with it =/ crap. maybe thats why the demo wouldnt work =(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

SeantheMan wrote:
    Its your GFX card, BF2 specs require a minimum of a 128 Gfx card

It ran on low on my old Ati 9000 Series! (all because of that shader support)

i dont get how i can play every other gmae with it =/ crap. maybe thats why the demo wouldnt work =(

It's easy. BF2 needs more than your card could possibly offer. The 6600 will maybe allow you to play in medium. Times change and gfx cards cost up to €500 :)

Well i can play cs source,farcry doom 3 and half life 2 at med specs running high fps, so battlefield better blow my nuts off tbh, cause i cant play it now till march if this is so a true case, ill be getting the game in hand on monday and will install and see.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i got an x800rx (ragextreme) from komplett for €163. runs bf2 on full with no probs whatsoever. you don't need to shell out crazy money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭[AK47][JONNYNEW

Nividia are in E.A pockes so to speak,

It will run on are G-Force 4 i ran bf2 with a 4600ti and i got it to run with a lot of messin about,

Nividia just gave E.A lot of monie not to let the game run on anything less
    than a G-Force5 5700

P.S iv got a 6800 ultra Pci-e, 512 jobby and it runs on full but at 20 fps.
    Turned texturs to medeum and i get 100+ fps

Minimum Specification:
    CPU: 1.7 Ghz
    RAM: 512 Mb
    Video Card: NVidia GeForce FX 5700, ATI Radeon 8500 or ATI Radeon 9500
    with 128 Mb of RAM

Recommended Specification:
    CPU: 2.4 Ghz
    RAM: 1 Gb
    Video Card with at least 256 Mb of RAM

Video Cards
    Battlefield 2 only supports the following video cards:
    Radeon X700 (PCIe)
    Radeon X600 (PCIe)
    GeForce 6600 (PCIe)
    GeForce PCX 5900 (PCIe)
    GeForce 5800 Series (AGP)
    ATI Radeon X800 XT Platinum Edition
    ATI Radeon X800 PRO
    ATI Radeon 9800 Series
    ATI Radeon 9600 Series
    ATI Radeon 9550 (RV350LX)
    ATI Radeon 9500 / 9700 Series
    ATI Radeon 8500 Series
    ATI Radeon X300 Series
    NVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra
    NVidia GeForce 6800 GT
    NVidia GeForce 6800
    NVidia GeForce FX 5950 Series
    NVidia GeForce FX 5900 Series
    NVidia GeForce FX 5700 Series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Thats not a lot of cards. It is the only game out there to warrent spending money on yer PC upgrades. SInce it came out I had to get a new GFX card, I also went in for more ram 1 gig just wasent enough really. I also got a faster CPU all to stop that load in lag ya get and I still get it just not as bad. Be nice if one of the patches found ways to improve the game engine or allow the game to support more cards.
    EA are taking a hit on loosing out to the mid spec machines and only higher ones will run it. Nvidia must have made up the difference for them me thinks.

Someone somehwre went over the Valve PC survey and out of nearly a million people 80% could support Hl2 and Bf2 with their pcs.

People who play games on Pc have the ability to play them, its new PC gamers that have issues.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

What about all those PC last year from dell and the likes that shiped with Gforce 5200 and Ive seen very few laptops that could run it. My old vif card will run every game I through at it bar BF2, even half life 2/Doom 3 ran great on my gforce 4. COD2/BFV run well on my laptop.

like BF2 is at this stage a year old game.......im so schoked that icant play it, im still gna give it a pop in the next few days see if im lucky somehow......i really dont believe it tbh....

Im selling a 9800XT if you need one, 4 ppl offered to buy it then realised they were poor.

kdjac