Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guys: make-up or no make-up

• 09-02-2006 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭laluna

Hi

Girl with pretty good skin, do guys prefer a lot or a little make-up. Is lipstick and lip gloss enough?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

laluna
    this is hardly a personal issue now is it?
    please read the forum charter
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭laluna

What is personal to me may not be personal to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

a liitle Bit of makeup does the trick... Once your enhancing and not disgiusing...
    Nothing worse than girls who use a trowel to put their makeup on.
    And obviously, waking up with some houndog after going to bed with a cracker the night before sucks ass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭gibo_ie

less is always better in my opinion, maybe some lippy and gloss but dont go oompa loompa with tan or concealer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Like Keyzer said - no covering up, just enhance what you have .... personally I hate the stuff on a girl. Most girls look way better with the stuff off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

As has been said, less is better. It should be used to enhance the ladies own beauty and not to disguise her under a mountain of foundation, fake tan, mascara etc etc etc................

Seems every guy here is saying less is better and that it should enhance, so there's your answer I guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

laluna wrote:
    What is personal to me may not be personal to you.

Such is the meaning of the word personal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭lazydaisy

Who cares what they think. Do it for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShayHT

I think you'll find thats the beer!!:D
    Keyzer wrote:
    waking up with some houndog after going to bed with a cracker the night before sucks ass...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Very little!
    I like it around the eyes, dark. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The best applied cosmetics make it look like you're not wearing any.

Stick to that maxim and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭munkee

Have yet to meet a woman who looked better with more make-up.
    Less is best, teeny bit of mascara and lip gloss at most. Possibly eyeshadow, tastefully applied. (Just my opinion- I don't know about make-up but I know what I like)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I wear a good bit of make up and I seem to get a lot of complements about my look.
    It's all just opinion tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sleepy wrote:
    The best applied cosmetics make it look like you're not wearing any.

I agree, its not about the amount you apply its how you apply it. A lot of girls could do with going into MAC/Pout etc and getting showed how to apply it properly, it really makes a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

Def without make-up infact it's unheard of or a man to actually fancy girls who wear make-up
    Look at the examples of these poor specimens; they wear make-up and lots of it and no man alive would fancy them

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/celeb.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

Def without make-up infact it's unheard of or a man to actually fancy girls who wear make-up
    Look at the examples of these poor specimens; they wear make-up and lots of it and no man alive would fancy them

omg, look at j-lo and christiana on page 4! especially christina!

Back on topic: I wear founation, powder to keep it in place, mascara & eyeliner more or less every day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

PlayGirl wrote:
    omg, look at j-lo and christiana on page 4! especially christina!

Back on topic: I wear founation, powder to keep it in place, mascara & eyeliner more or less every day!

Look at Oprah Winfrey on page 3, its hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I like a bit of make up on a woman, especially when they do something a bit different, I dig a lot of the goth eye makeup styles.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

:eek: That just made my day :D Thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Rockstar*

some but not that much--once your face doesnt change colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

If a girl has light blemishes or anything(9/10 girls do, who cares?), I'd rather see them than have them covered up.
    Id rather anything to waking up with my pillows/face partially covered in foundation. No foundation, IMO is far sexier.

Lipgloss/eye makeup are cool, as they enhance whats there, but anything else is pushing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭megameaty

Is it just me or does christina aguilera look alot better with without makeup? I think the worst makeup on woman is foundation. I mean how hard is it to find a colour that matches your complexion??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Pythia wrote:
    I wear a good bit of make up and I seem to get a lot of complements about my look.
    It's all just opinion tbh...
    That's because you're a plastic barbie. It's not a good look for people with a bit of taste...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

girls with make-up well applied and in reasonable quantities can look good and blokes will find them attractive. the important thing is that blokes know that its make-up, they know its a fantasy. a girl all dolled up is good for a poke but thats it. made-up girls are a passing hard on, a fleeting fancy. nothing more.

a girl who wears little or no make-up will always be more deeply attractive and worth going after. they exude more inner confidence, sexuality and comfort with their own body.

its up to you girls - do you want a proverbial grope behind the bikeshed or are you worth more than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

sinecurea wrote:
    That's because you're a plastic barbie. It's not a good look for people with a bit of taste...

That's a bit harsh! Some girls look good with a fair bit of make-up on while others look good with the less-is-more approach. Different strokes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Some girls look good with a fair bit of make-up on
    ugly girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

sinecurea wrote:

Oi! Be nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

I wear make-up everyday, foundation and mascara, lipgloss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭Faerie

There's nothing wrong with make-up if it's done correctly.
    Orange foundation, obvious fake tan, over-glossed and lined lips, and eye make-up that's threatening to take over the face -not a good look (think Jodie Marsh lookalikes) but at the same time I don't think you should judge a girl's character because of it. Many girls just don't know better, it doesn't mean they are sluts or knackers.
    I think that foundation is grand if it matches the skin tone and it's not caked on. All you guys who say you don't like foundation - well I don't hear you saying Angelina Jolie or Charlize Theron look awful with foundation and they wear far more than most women.
    You might agree Christina Aguilera's make-up looks awful but then hers is obviously bad. Most guys like Gwen Stefani, and she's incredibly made-up, and even Britney Spears, even though her make-up doesn't look that great.
    Most women look a lot better with subtle make-up and I bet most guys don't even realise how many women around them are wearing make-up.
    In my opinion to make assumptions about someone's character because of her make-up is terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

megameaty wrote:
    I think the worst makeup on woman is foundation. I mean how hard is it to find a colour that matches your complexion??

You'd be surprised! I picked up a foundation that looked pale enough- it was called ivory, but it still had an orange tinge to it. :mad:
    Another thing with many foundations that I've found, such as Rimmel, is that they don't have much pigment in them, which makes it hard to cover blemishes, so we end up slapping more of the stuff on then we should.
    Theres a gazillion different foundations out there, but I don't think any of them are fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

sinecurea wrote:

Now, now, jealousy will get you nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Pythia wrote:
    Now, now, jealousy will get you nowhere.

I saw your pic on boards somewhere, he's right.

Makeup-loving ladies, bear in mind that most men are morons. Also, they have bad taste; they're told by 'Nuts' and 'FHM' what to find attractive. You can try to fool yourselves into believing these lads who think Jordan and Christina Aguilera are ideal women if you like - ignorance is apparently bliss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Faerie wrote:
    and I bet most guys don't even realise how many women around them are wearing make-up.
    A common misconception among women... especially those who're convinced that eye-brow pencil will cover up the fact that they've way overplucked.
    Yeah, let me get a big black marker and draw on a six-pack and rock hard pecks... I bet most women won't even notice the difference. :rolleyes:
    I take your point though - makeup, if done correctly, should look like no makeup is there at all.
    Unfortunately, Irish women are by and large brutal at applying makeup and subscribe to the bobo-the-clown/oompa-lumpa school of makeup.
    I dunno, maybe some guys like the whore/clown look, but personally I think less is more... stop trying to hide the ugly, it only makes matters worse.

If its obvious - then there's something wrong [except for dramatic evening makeup].

Bu foundation is something you should never buy cheap [or wear in the summer].

The ladies in BT are dire in giving out makeup advice. They always try to give you shades 3 x too dark for your skin. If you notice, the companies in there which are mostly French and American, are manufacturing make up for a huge range of skin tones, because these countries have so many different skin tones. Most Irish skin will fall into the top three fairest shades. I would even guess that some Irish skin is too fair for anything they produce.

The first thing you have to figure out is whether your skin has blue or yellow undertones and then go from there. [The ladies at presciptives can tell you that - go do it even if you dont buy the product].

It's all consumer brainwashing tbh... buy this - be beautiful... starve yourself - anorexia is attractive ... it doesn't matter how you wear your clothes - only how much they cost... what?! you don't have a tan in the middle of winter in Ireland? - then you need our fake tan... no of course you don't look orange.
    I dunno, maybe I'm just crazy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

especially those who're convinced that eye-brow pencil will cover up the fact that they've way overplucked.
    Why do women pluck their eyebrows so much...as if any man ever looks there...
    Also less is always better with the make up.
    Pale ftw!
    I saw your pic on boards somewhere, he's right.

Makeup-loving ladies, bear in mind that most men are morons. Also, they have bad taste; they're told by 'Nuts' and 'FHM' what to find attractive. You can try to fool yourselves into believing these lads who think Jordan and Christina Aguilera are ideal women if you like - ignorance is apparently bliss.
    true.

I would even guess that some Irish skin is too fair for anything they produce.
    Mine certainly is - I just automatically buy the palest of whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Women's eyebrows never look right. Ever.
    As for make up, always err on the side of caution.

Why do women pluck their eyebrows so much...as if any man ever looks there...
    Well a woman with a uni-brow will have a very lonely life :v:
    But I think the problem is that Woman X has big bushy man eye-brows, has them professioanly plucked/waxed/whatever, notices an improvement in appearance, then applys the foobar formula of more is more and just keeps going... the shape changes so gradually over time that she can no longer see it objectively and doesn't notice how stupid they eventually look.
    Or the eyebrows just grow back and they think they can re-create what the salon has done, she makes an absolute balls of one eyebrow, then has to pluck the other one to match... makes a balls of that one, and before you know it, she's got no eyebrows left and just decides "f*ck it, I'll just stencil them on with a crayon".

Well a woman with a uni-brow will have a very lonely life :v:
    But I think the problem is that Woman X has big bushy man eye-brows, has them professioanly plucked/waxed/whatever, notices an improvement in appearance, then applys the foobar formula of more is more and just keeps going... the shape changes so gradually over time that she can no longer see it objectively and doesn't notice how stupid they eventually look.
    Or the eyebrows just grow back and they think they can re-create what the salon has done, she makes an absolute balls of one eyebrow, then has to pluck the other one to match... makes a balls of that one, and before you know it, she's got no eyebrows left and just decides "f*ck it, I'll just stencil them on with a crayon".
    Guess what, I never notice, somehow :v:
    although looking around now i can see some funky attempts all right, heh, what was she at...

It's all consumer brainwashing tbh... buy this - be beautiful... starve yourself - anorexia is attractive ... it doesn't matter how you wear your clothes - only how much they cost... what?! you don't have a tan in the middle of winter in Ireland? - then you need our fake tan... no of course you don't look orange.
    I dunno, maybe I'm just crazy.

Yes indeed. And some of that makeup cost more per ounce than gold. Do you know there are certain french makeup companies that buy in bulk "leftovers" from abortion clinics and put it in their anti-ageing moisturisers. I cant provide a link to this because It was something I was told not something I read about.

But there's a book called The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf if you want to read more about this crazyness.

Humans have always adorned the body and decorated themselves but certainly there are ridiculous extremes we've taken it to.

Eyebrows - yes women should get them professionally done. We are not all Greta Garbo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

A bit of slap never hurt anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

If you have good skin then there is no need to wear make-up during the day!!
    My skin is ok so I don't usually wear any foundation during the day!! Unless I look too washed out I might apply a tiny amount of blush or bronzer! If I'm going on a night out on the town I would apply tan and wear make-up!!!

There is nothing worse than someone who wears orange make up during the day but have this big orange line around their faces with a big white neck!! EEwwwwwwww!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

There is nothing worse than someone who wears orange make up during the day but have this big orange line around their faces with a big white neck!! EEwwwwwwww!!
    Hehe yea i know - blend blend blend girls!!! :rolleyes: