Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What should I eat?

• 06-02-2006 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

I'm hungover as hell, thanks to lots of Arthur's finest and a Jager bomb or two, and now I'm starving.

I've tried toast, but it's not greasy enough. I'm still hungry.

I'm thinking of going completely calorific and grabbing a Jumbo Breakfast Roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

hoody wrote:
    I'm hungover as hell, thanks to lots of Arthur's finest and a Jager bomb or two, and now I'm starving.

I've tried toast, but it's not greasy enough. I'm still hungry.

I'm thinking of going completely calorific and grabbing a Jumbo Breakfast Roll.

Water, water, water. Then some nice vegetables. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

You need some vitamin graese... A full Irish brekkie will sort you right out

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Its nearly 4pm and you're still hung over? :eek: What time did you stop drinking at? Go to your local pub and get a carvery lunch and a pint of bud.. always works for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

Might as well go for the Jumbo Breakfast Roll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Water, water, water. Then some nice vegetables. :D

Milk is better! believe it or not drinkin loads of water when your hammered in order to Sober up is not a good idea as it can react with the alcohol in your stomach increasing the chances of throwing up so not such a good idea if you sleep on your back.

also the morning after drinking water can make you kinda drunk again, but not a good kinda drunk making a hangover often worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Muckmagnet

the jumbo breakfast roll will either cure ya or kill ya....... it could go either way .

maccy d's or kfc
    or abrakedabra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Cry until your hangover goes away. That's what i do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

xzanti wrote:
    Its nearly 4pm and you're still hung over? :eek: What time did you stop drinking at? Go to your local pub and get a carvery lunch and a pint of bud.. always works for me :D

Well I hadn't been drinking in ages, and I slept until after two. And, as I said, Jagerbombs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It's ok to be hungover for the whole day. I usually am. My recovery system is dismal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

Oh noooo don't eat a breakfast roll!! It is definatly the worst thing you could have!!! Drink lots of water or try a mac Donalds!!!! Breakfast rolls kill me after a night out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Definately not good for you, but the one I always swear by is:
    Scrambled eggs, fried mushrooms, 2 rashers, 2 slices of toast and a nice strong cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Mmm, hangover food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

You may think I'm mad but my cure is a fishfinger sandwhich with white bread, has to be white bread!! With ketchup and a big mug of tea, a huge glass of water and a multivitamin tablet...wakes me up anyway...well it doesn't wake me up, it makes me feel more human :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

curry chips and a 50 dolla will sort u out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Skitbra

Burger King bacon double cheese burger with Coke.
    Great for hangovers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

loads of water, then wash it down with a jumbo breakfast roll . . . . . .
    . . . . . in the words of Pat Short:

Two eggs, two sausage, two rasher, two bacon, two puddin’, one black, one white
    All stacked like a tower on top of each other, and rowelled up good and tight
    If you’re havin’ some tay, the milk’s over there….find sugar in a bowl,
    Says she: “Do you want some sauce on that?”. Says I: “ I do in my…….roll”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

Try these guys
    ..........V..........
    I find I'm getting drunk and hoping for a hangover just for an excuse to get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭jimbono1

Kp meanies, believe me, I think its something to do with the sodium but they make me feel better and less sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

burnt toast. the carbon or "black" as i like to call it, de-blackifies the hangover cells in ur upper aboreteum and quasi-fenestrates the alco-rific nucleotides, thus curing the hangover.

ye, burnt (ish) toast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

orange lucozade sport and brown hula hoops and an apple nutrigrain bar...dunno why but that always works for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

two packs of snax tayto and a bottle of lucozade sport,

that'll rehydrate ya like a modafukr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fireblade1

def supermacs
    mighty mac meal with garlic cheese chips and the biggest coke you can get
    yum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The ebst hang over cure, or atleast tastiest, was a fry from Millers café in Swords.
    Nothign beats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

The ebst hang over cure, or atleast tastiest, was a fry from Millers café in Swords.
    Nothign beats it.

that's some good typing there :cool:

i just had a lovely bowl of pears.

that is all.

- bo - wrote:
    that's some good typing there :cool:

Uh huh...from Cpt. Perfect here?

man in fairness, that was all over the shop :p

anyways, let's not let this argument boil over :D

I see no more mistakes than is in your post. And how was it 'all over the place'?

i was on about the first post.

anyway, let's just get over it now yeah...?

So was I.

- bo - wrote:
    anyway, let's just get over it now yeah...?

Well, if you didn't want to make a big deal out of it why did you feel the need to point it out?

because it was meant to be just light-hearted :(

ok so eh, i'm just gonna go now and not post in this thread again...not for a while anyways.

bye now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

sausage sandwich, white bread, butter...mmm only thing i can eat on a hungover stomach ;)

• Kebab? Works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

McDonalds before you go home, 2 burgers large fries medium Sprite. Then a pnt of water first thing when you wake up and a smoke aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Banana smoothie or milkshake.

Followed up by meaty goodness, whether that be fry or burger, preferably with a cup of tea. Then keep some Lucozade Sport Orange with you for the rest of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

large pack of walkers sensations thai sweet chili flavour and a couple of pints of coke always makes me feel better. that or a mcdonalds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I really feel like something greasy after reading this thread!!!

I used to find a toasted sausage sandwich on brown bread with some ketchup from the cafe beside my old job was great cure for a hangover when i was in work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

spiderlegs wrote:
    You may think I'm mad but my cure is a fishfinger sandwhich with white bread, has to be white bread!! With ketchup and a big mug of tea, a huge glass of water and a multivitamin tablet...wakes me up anyway...well it doesn't wake me up, it makes me feel more human :o

i nearly puked just reading that and i havn't had a drink in nearly 2 weeks.

OT: Black toast thing works. make a fry and just over cook your toast a little and you'll be grand.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

a lot of people are mentioning lucozade sport, is it good for hangovers :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 cakehole

a lot of people are mentioning lucozade sport, is it good for hangovers :cool:

yeah good sugar fix....any liquid helps rehydrate...apart from engine oil don't try that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

A dirty great big fry with bread and tea always works for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

sausage sandwich, white bread, butter...mmm only thing i can eat on a hungover stomach ;)

There is a cafe opposite the hospital on the dublin road in dundalk. They do a massive breakfast for about 7 yoyos and the white pudding is the best I have ever tasted. It is the best hangover cure by far. But only if you live near it!:)

The shop beside the murhevnah had great brekkie rolls as well but that was a long time ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 cakehole

There is a cafe opposite the hospital on the dublin road in dundalk. They do a massive breakfast for about 7 yoyos and the white pudding is the best I have ever tasted. It is the best hangover cure by far. But only if you live near it!:)

The shop beside the murhevnah had great brekkie rolls as well but that was a long time ago...

Location.......france

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Two rashers fried til chewy
    One runny fried egg
    One tomato sliced and fried
    One generous dollop of mayonaise
    betweeen two pieces of lightly toasted bread.

Serve with a glass of orange and cranberry juice mixed 50/50

hangover gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Was very hungover yesterday and tried eating didn't work at all now I had a big night out last night and felt so bad this morning and I have just had a nice big fry and it has fixed me right up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Sleepy wrote:
    Two rashers fried til chewy
    One runny fried egg
    One tomato sliced and fried
    One generous dollop of mayonaisebetweeen two pieces of lightly toasted bread.

Serve with a glass of orange and cranberry juice mixed 50/50

hangover gone.

Mayonaise?? you can't do that to a feckin fry. Ketchup maybe..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

A big plate of bacon and cabbage will sort ya right out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

KevIRL wrote:
    A big plate of bacon and cabbage will sort ya right out

bogger :p