Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My single greatest call of all time

• 03-02-2006 12:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭

and possibly the silliest, but villain in this hand was a complete donkey who had just limped with aces the hand before and got beaten badly when i hit two pair on the river. He's giving abuse, so i presume he's really tilting- hence the reason i made this highly call.
    But in all fairness, who would actually make this river bet with a made hand?

ull Tilt Poker Game #417094069: Table Pacific Palisades - $0.10/$0.25 - No Limit Hold'em - 19:12:32 ET - 2006/02/02
    Seat 1: rockbilly ($14.65)
    Seat 2: Nikkis Boy ($10)
    Seat 3: JMitch ($12.95)
    Seat 4: poker-dis ($11.75)
    Seat 5: GUYBUY ($10.85)
    Seat 6: popper_2 ($6.85)
    Seat 7: dafonz330 ($22.30)
    Seat 8: Jonzey ($6.85)
    Seat 9: Jizem ($24.75)
    poker-dis posts the small blind of $0.10
    GUYBUY posts the big blind of $0.25
    The button is in seat #3
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to poker-dis [9d Jd]
    popper_2 folds
    dafonz330 folds
    Jonzey calls $0.25
    Jizem folds
    rockbilly folds
    Nikkis Boy folds
    JMitch calls $0.25
    poker-dis calls $0.15
    GUYBUY checks
    *** FLOP *** [8s 6c Tc]
    poker-dis checks
    GUYBUY checks
    Jonzey bets $0.50
    JMitch folds
    poker-dis calls $0.50
    GUYBUY folds
    *** TURN *** [8s 6c Tc] [Qc]
    poker-dis checks
    Jonzey bets $0.50
    poker-dis calls $0.50
    *** RIVER *** [8s 6c Tc Qc] [7c]
    poker-dis checks
    Jonzey bets $5.60, and is all in
    poker-dis calls $5.60
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    Jonzey shows [Th Ah] (a pair of Tens)
    poker-dis shows [9d Jd] (a straight, Queen high)
    poker-dis wins the pot ($13.50) with a straight, Queen high
    Jonzey is sitting out
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot $14.20 | Rake $0.70
    Board: [8s 6c Tc Qc 7c]
    Seat 1: rockbilly didn't bet (folded)
    Seat 2: Nikkis Boy didn't bet (folded)
    Seat 3: JMitch (button) folded on the Flop
    Seat 4: poker-dis (small blind) showed [9d Jd] and won ($13.50) with a straight, Queen high
    Seat 5: GUYBUY (big blind) folded on the Flop
    Seat 6: popper_2 didn't bet (folded)
    Seat 7: dafonz330 didn't bet (folded)
    Seat 8: Jonzey showed [Th Ah] and lost with a pair of Tens
    Seat 9: Jizem didn't bet (folded)

In hindsight it was criminal for me to not bet the turn harder, but as soon as that river bet appeared, my instinct told me insta-call.

Please feel free to comment on how i played this hand.
    How many of you could call here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

four clubs - into a limped pot - and you don't have a club - if you didn't consistenly take money off me when i play Oscar's €30 freezeout on Sundays, i'd call you a lot more often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

ah now i made the call. not a bet. If i ,make a bet, you should definitely call it though. Don't think you ever caught me with junk though. See it's all selective aggression!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I was looking at this hand and thought it was a joke. You had the nut straight and were calling it the greatest call of all time. Then I saw the four clubs. :o
    Just in college after an all-nighter in the 50 omaha game in the fitz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i dont think the call wa great at all to honest.
    he could have easily have 2 of clubs or another small club and try to make you think that he has the nut flush with a big bet like that.
    the call looks like some one who cant fold a made str against a fout flush board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Lads, slightly OT (only just)

Anyone know how much snot is in the human body, I've been blowing my nose for the last 2 weeks and my ears hurt.

Probably should have put this is Social and Non Poker, but the thread is going nowhere anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Culchie wrote:
    Lads, slightly OT (only just)

Anyone know how much snot is in the human body, I've been blowing my nose for the last 2 weeks and my ears hurt.

Probably should have put this is Social and Non Poker, but the thread is going nowhere anyway.

Ya, did a study on it once in college. It comes down to your body mass index and such things. I think the scientific result that we came up with was ' a **** load'. Hope that helps.

careca wrote:
    Ya, did a study on it once in college. It comes down to your body mass index and such things. I think the scientific result that we came up with was ' a **** load'. Hope that helps.

Cheers. I'm quite impressed actually with the production line.

Anyone on the doss today or not at work ... private game somewhere????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

While we're talking about snot, can someone answer me a question I've always wondered,

What actually is Snot??
    EDIT: And not some smart arse answer, like the stuff that comes out of your nose..... :rolleyes:

And to the OP, good call, presumably you made a read, trusted it and so fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Back OT, I prefer to bet the flop in this situation, though I bet with a good draw 75% of the time. Call was fine, but 9 times out of ten you're going to lose money by making that call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

ianmc38 wrote:
    Call was fine, but 9 times out of ten you're going to lose money by making that call.

So that's fine then? By my basic reasoning that would make it a bad call.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Call was fine, but 9 times out of ten you're going to lose money by making that call.

????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Culchie wrote:
    Cheers. I'm quite impressed actually with the production line.

Anyone on the doss today or not at work ... private game somewhere????

wanna practice some heads up?

take a few quid off ye while your sick :)

*is on the doss*

brianmc wrote:
    So that's fine then? By my basic reasoning that would make it a bad call.

In that scenario it was fine ie player on tilt, micro-limit etc. Generally, it's a donkey call, but given the situation it isn't too bad. If it was an all-in for $500 rather than $5, then its totally different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Ste05 wrote:
    While we're talking about snot, can someone answer me a question I've always wondered,

What actually is Snot??
    EDIT: And not some smart arse answer, like the stuff that comes out of your nose..... :rolleyes:

And to the OP, good call, presumably you made a read, trusted it and so fair play.

The mucous membranes (or mucosae; singular: mucosa) are linings of ectodermic origin, covered in epithelium, and are involved in absorption and secretion. They line various body cavities that are exposed to the external environment and internal organs. It is at several places continuous with skin: at the nostrils, the lips, the ears, the genital area, and the anus. The sticky, thick fluid secreted by the mucous membranes and gland is termed mucus (note the spelling difference). The term 'mucous membrane' refers to where they are found in the body and not every mucous membrane secretes mucus

Iago wrote:
    The mucous membranes (or mucosae; singular: mucosa) are linings of ectodermic origin, covered in epithelium, and are involved in absorption and secretion. They line various body cavities that are exposed to the external environment and internal organs. It is at several places continuous with skin: at the nostrils, the lips, the ears, the genital area, and the anus. The sticky, thick fluid secreted by the mucous membranes and gland is termed mucus (note the spelling difference). The term 'mucous membrane' refers to where they are found in the body and not every mucous membrane secretes mucus
    Very thorough answer, thank you Iago, now I just have to get out my medical dictionary and translate it into English :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

Iago wrote:

Bluffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

brianmc wrote:

gc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

brianmc wrote:

well I didn't want to brag by linking my article, but if you insist...

Iago wrote:
    well I didn't want to brag by linking my article, but if you insist...
    LOLOLOL

brianmc wrote:

Good check out of position.

Gholimoli wrote:
    the call looks like some one who cant fold a made str against a fout flush board.

eh no. the reason i thought it was a good call because it's a read based call. i'd been watching this guy for a long time.
    and no, i'm pretty sure i can lay down a straight on a four flush board.
    The fact that i posted meant it was an out of the ordinary call. Thought it might be interesting, because situations like these don't arise that often.

this post looks like someone who automatically assumes an obviously tilted donkey (at micro-limits i might add) MUST have a hand if they make a ridiculous bet on the river.

I was looking at this hand and thought it was a joke. You had the nut straight and were calling it the greatest call of all time. Then I saw the four clubs. :o
    Just in college after an all-nighter in the 50 omaha game in the fitz.

And how did that go reggie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Ah profit. A really swingy night as usual though but a good night nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Back on topic you muppets. Take your questions to the snot forum.

Back to the original poster: I think it's a bad call. The only reasons for calling is that you say Villain is on tilt, and that his overbet on the river is a bit silly if he actually has a flush.
    I have a feeling that your opinion that this is a great call is results based.