Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Afraid of the dentist

• 01-02-2006 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Is there any way i can be put to sleep or sedated when i go to the dentist. My teeth are getting pretty bad now and i really need to go. I just have a genuine fear of the dentist. Please don;t tell me it's not as bad as i think as i have been before and it was horrrrrrrrrrrible. And also, i know, i know, .... i'm a wuss.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

haha, that post may as well have come from me. I need to go to the dentist too but I'm too afraid. I hear back in the day they used to gas you and put you to sleep. I would much prefer this. I'm a wuss too and will faint at the drop of a hat when it comes to surgery:o No matter what's said I will still fear it. Same with blood tests, I get them quite regularly and every time I'm afraid and have to lie down to get it taken, have a glass of water on hand and look away, yes it's only a pinch but it's not that that bothers me, it's the fact I'm undergoing a medical procedure. So hopefully there will be some advice for the two of us:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Firstly, let me state that you are both exhibiting perfectly understandable fears, particularly if a previous experience was horrible.

However, if you explain ' in simple direct language to the practioner ' All your fears or to the receptionist. Then there are painless procedures which can be implemented which should ensure that all your treatment is practically totally painless.

Remember medical practioners are 'professionals', but they are NOT mindreaders as well, so telling them in advance is helping them to help you.

So, jump in, be honest and all should be well :) .

P.:cool:

But even sitting there letting the dentist do a painless procedure will still get to me. So the gas... has it been banned or is it still an option? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

im a dentist and i can assure u that u are not in the minority. everyone fears the unknown myself included. fear is a natural reflex that acts as a first line of self defense.
    the vast majority of patients i have met are scared. one way around fear is to act in a professional manner. if u are genuinly afraid, and you dont have a patient/doctor relationship yet, get a couple of opinions from two seperate dentists and compare them. then run with whoever you feel comfortable with. theres no need for sedation in my opinion for regular stuff, just confidence in the operator which unfortuantely takes time as a majority of people have no preexisting relationship with a practitioner..

cormie wrote:
    But even sitting there letting the dentist do a painless procedure will still get to me. So the gas... has it been banned or is it still an option? :)

Gas, I do not know of a Dental surgeon, in my area that use's it. I remember it from childhood [A very long time ago]. A good dentist should be able to relax you, as I already explained before.

However, if your dentist is not professional enough to be a humanatarian, then get out of their surgery, and find a really professional human being.
    /B].

Usually, if you ask around, someone will suggest a good dentist, and well GAS ?, to me that is something from 'the dark ages'.

Just be strong for yourself, and do not tolerate any pain or bull****!. Dentistry today should be something not worthy of a second thought.

Times have changed for the better, provided you do not put up with being treated as a gormless idiot.

Good luck.:)

P.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭hollyhamill

get drunk before you go! just conk out in the chair! hope this wont sound rude but im serious!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

i love my dentist. hes a lovely oul fella, wonky teeth comin out all sides of his head and a habit of holding conversation while he has his fingers in your gob. can do a fillin w/o an injection and it dont hurt! Only time he ever hurt was when i had an absecss ot be drained and there wasnt much he could do for the pain, but he sorted it and i was grand after a bit. sadly he's comin up to retiring soon.

dentists are real ppl, doin their job, and most of em are really nice (ignore the dentist in the little shop of horrors :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Pinx

UpsideDown, I completely understand your fear of dentists. I've been putting off a visit for quite some time now, as I've always been absolutely terrified.

However, my boyfriend was recently reccommended a really great dentist and through some gentle encouragement I finally plucked up the courage to go. I had my appointment this morning and am now back at work feeling more relaxed than I have in ages.

I had "the visit" built up in my head so much that I was even starting to dream about dentists and teeth. I had a vision that the dentist would berate me for not having visited in so long, but it was nothing of the kind. She put me completely at ease, explained everything and was SO gentle.

I have to return next week and I can truthfully say that I don't mind at all. Once you find a nice dentist who'll understand your anxiety, you should be fine. Ask your friends / family which dentists they go to and make an appointment. You'll feel a whole lot better - honest!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

i too had a dreaded fear of the dentist , i had a male dentist for years and i can only describe him as a "butcher "
    Avoided going unless really necessary
    Changed to a female dentist ,so gentle and kind when rooting around in my mouth
    She advised me to get root canal treatment done and going on what my mates had told me ,was going to be a horribly painful experience .
    Got it done with the female dentist and hardly felt a thing
    Now i gladly skip along to my 6 month check ups without any fear at all

It helps that she aint half bad looking either !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭incisor71

I too hate dental procedures!!! It's ok when the guy is careful, but the orthodontist I went to in my teens immediately recognised our local dentist's style of fillings - he had a penchant for massive and messy-looking pre-molar fillings.

Currently I'm nervously awaiting the full results of the dental X-rays from two weeks back, having not been seated in the dentist's chair in a couple of years. One of the five X-ray films didn't expose properly and had to be taken again, but the other (successful) four showed up nothing worrying... let's hope the fifth is equally ok.

Perhaps it's a case of bolting the stable door after the horse has eloped with new bloodstock, but I've taken to flossing in a big way. It's peculiarly interesting that the initial bleeding ceases by one continuing to floss, and the clean feeling afterwards is like none other.

Would it be bad to mention that I've NEVER actually been to the dentist:eek:

So where are these great dentists above situated? I'm in Bray, Co. Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Pinx

My great dentist is in Blackrock, Co. Dublin, so not too far from you Cormie! Considering how much at ease they made me feel (and I was VERY nervous), I would have no hesitation in recommending them. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 UpsideDown

So what ye are saying is that i can't be put to sleep. Have been to a few different dentist and none of them were "nice".

I heard that in s[ecial circumstances one can be put to sleep.... yes no.

Upside down we should go in together and just knock eachother out, that'll learn em;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭apprentice

chicken !!!

UpsideDown wrote:
    So what ye are saying is that i can't be put to sleep. Have been to a few different dentist and none of them were "nice".

I heard that in s[ecial circumstances one can be put to sleep.... yes no.

Yes In certain circumstances, your GP or local dentist can refer you for dental treatment in your local Dental Clinic at your local Hospital.

Some patients do have a full ' General anaesthetic ' where they are completely knocked out, while others are heavily sedated under the supervision of a professional anaesthitist.

However, this is a professional decision, based on a patients overall general health and and past medical history !, as the cost is high.

P. :cool:

Hmm.. Cost is high alright, I remember I was under GA for an operation and I think the charge for the supervision while I was under GA was about £500 or something:eek:

It's circumstances like this that a certain leaf should be legal here;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Don't forget the waiting list is also long as are bed shortages.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Oddly enough a couple of years ago I was in a dentists chair relaxing cos the job I was in at the time was so stressful. It's a freaky feeling.

"Is it safe ?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I often have patients having treatment falling asleep in the chair. They have rushed to the surgery after a busy day and cause dental chairs are so comfy and local anaesthetic works so well they just nod off and I have to wake them up after a while. (mostly during root canals cause they are quiet also).

It is perfectly normal to be afraid or nervious of the dentist. It is usually best to just get an examination and cleaning the first time and get any fillings or what not done in small short visits and work your self up to it slowey. A sympathetic dentist and dental nurse are usefull also.

Most nervious people who go to the dentist are amazed after and cant figure what they were so worried about. Remember that the memories you have of that bad dentist who put his leg on your chest (how many time have I heard this...but no dentist has ever done this because it would not help you take out a tooth in the slightest) are exaggerated and warped by time and embelished by retelling. Modern dentistry is painless...some proceedures can be uncomfortable but painless (holding your mouth open can be uncomfortable after a while)

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

I was totally petrified to go to the dentist for years until I went to a dentist in Newry and had a fair amount of work done with IV Sedation - worked a trick. I wasn't fully asleep but the time compressed and I was totally relaxed. After a few treatments I wasn't even afraid before arriving. Since then I've been seeing a dentist in dublin and if I need anything heavy done I attend the surgery an hour before and take an oral seditive (a largish dose of valium). Makes it all better! Being comfortable with the dentist is so important also.

My advise would be to try for a small amount of work with oral sedation and if that doesn't work go for the IV.

As I get more relaxed I figure I'll need it less and less and probibly wont need anything in the future.

What exactly is IV? How do you take it? Same question with local anasthetic:) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I assume IV = IntraVenous?, ie needle in the arm.

Was gassed for my back teeth as they didnt grow properly and was semi concious throughout.,.never ever ever fupping again, being semi consious during an operation is very very unpleasant.

Had IV for implant which involved lots of nasty bone cutting which was a joy (i was asleep), surgery in the morning and walked home in the afternoon, no semi conciousness hell like on gas.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Bettyboop

cormie wrote:
    Would it be bad to mention that I've NEVER actually been to the dentist:eek:

So where are these great dentists above situated? I'm in Bray, Co. Wicklow.
    great dentist in tesco S.C. Greystones although I think hes great cause
    I get sedated and dont remember a thing afterwards not even how I got
    home.Best sleep I ever have:D Suffer panic attacks as soon as I hear the
    name dentist.

How does he sedate you? How do you get home?

cormie wrote:
    How does he sedate you? How do you get home?
    a quick injection and you have to have someone to drive you home
    ie. someone has to accompany you I felt great afterwards:)

I'm terrified of injections too:(

cormie wrote:
    I'm terrified of injections too:(
    you wont even feel it. look away:D :D only takes a sec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I can take the drills etc..but the fupping injections..*shivers*

The only remedy I have is to look away and fantisise about a big breasted girl I should have taken advantage of many years ago (emotional hook makes the fantisy better, do not look at the dentists arm as it moves in for the kill)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭humaxf1

Upto last year, I hadnt been to the dentist for ages. My teeth were in bad shape and something had to be done. My brother sat me down and said, "i think it's time you made a visit, things will only get worse". After he said that, I got this most horrible feeling in my stomach...the thoughts of going to the dentist and been told what will have to be done scared the hell out of me.

Anyway, that day he had a tooth twinge himself and said if i would like him to make an appointment for me while he made his. After a think about it, I said OK, go on so. For the rest of the day I was trying to take my mind off it.

I had a morning appt, 8.30am. I duly arrived and filled out a few forms etc and into the waiting room i went. Few mins later i was called into the surgery. The dentist, (female), welcomed me and asked me to have the 'seat'. "So, what can we do for you today?". "Well, to be honest with you, i havent been to dentist for ages and it's about time i got things sorted out". So she had a good poke around, good few x-rays and another poke.

At the end of all that, she did say things are not good, but with a bit of work and time we can get you sorted out. I had broken/decayed teeth up top which needed removing, fillings etc. She thought it best to get the extractions over and done with first. I had the option of local anaestethic or sedation, but would have to goto the dental hosp for sedation<6month waiting list apparently> SO, made an appointment and had a think in the mean time of which to go for.

I was a nervous wreck next appointment, luckily the ESB was out, so made another appointment. Next appt, nervous wreck again. I was like a washing machine on spin-dry in the chair. I decided to give the local anasthetic a go. She told me what she was going to do, if i wasnt happy to raise my arm and she would stop. Injection time...piece of hard cotton wool with a jelly substance on it to numb the gum for the injection. First one wasnt too bad, could feel it goin in alright. The one in the palette wasnt nice, but plenty of deep breathing through my nose helped. The actual tooth was an easy one to take out, all i felt was pushing and pulling, but no pain. Was a great relief. I'll always remember it as it was the day of burial for Pope John Paul II.

To make a long story short, after SEVERAL and i mean SEVERAL fortnightly visits lasting upto november/december 2005 including a root-canal, I am glad now that I bit the bullet and made that appointment. Trust me, you will never regret it, plus, your teeth will only get worse if you do not get them sorted, so you must make the first move!

I'm sorry if this is a long post, but i'm a lil proud of myself for making the decision to visit the dentist and get my teeth back in shape. Yes, it is expensive, but at least try to hang onto what teeth you have and save them. I had to get a partial denture to fill gaps at the back on the top. It's quite hard getting used to eating and speaking, but i'm getting there!

Unfortunately, the female dentist who i saw first had to leave the practice for personal reasons, but the other dentist took me under his wing, finished my root canal, did a few fillings and did the denture. I'm all finished bar a checkup in the near future. Trust me, you will never look back and having a caring dentist will help alot. I have to travel from Dun Laoghaire to Bray for visits, but it's worth it.

Good night all.

Who do you go to in Bray?Do you reckon they are any good? I think my teeth are in pretty good shape for the fact I've never been, I'm 21 by the way. I don't eat a lot of sugary foods (I used to though).. Never have toothaches or anything and my teeth are pretty clean, never smoked, always brush etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭humaxf1

I goto Fergus Duddy on Novara rd, or is it ave...anyway, travelling up the main street in bray, turn left at budget travel, continue on, pass the carlton clinic on the left, keep going and its the second last house on the left before the school on the right. Just Look out for the swingin' dentist sign in the garden.

For someone who was scared sh*tless, I am alot more relaxed now. The female dentist, Jane Montague was very nice and pleasant. Plus, the fact that I had so many visits kinda helped too. It wasnt as if it was every 6 months ish. Pity she had to leave though.

I would recommend no problem at all. I only had one bad experience which could have been my own fault after an extraction. There was a bit of an issue with bleeding next day saturday, so my bro rang for me and they said to come in there and then. I arrived and was seen to immediately. The next extraction, she said she would like me to stay until the bleeding had stopped sufficiently after biting on the cotton wool packs. I was there 1/2 hour max extra but was worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Im feeling the need to post here as i have a huge fear of them too don't know why maybe all that drilling & stuff. :eek:

Recently i got an abcess in my tooth & went to the dentist she had a look (only a look, i can cope with that) & said i needed 2 of them pulled as they are destroying the rest of my teeth. This dentist doesn't do full anastethic so i had to ring another dentist who does this, it was €200 quid a tooth omg!!

Now i've let it go a month i've still done nothing & im not paying that much to get 2 teeth pulled. Yet i have this huge fear my boyfriend keeps giving out that i should just go & get them pulled but i can't bring myself to get over my fear that quick. I just don't know what to do im at my whitts end with my teeth!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

i dunno it's worth it to me, i payed 500 to have two wisdom teeth out two weeks ago.