Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where did the PP Job Vacancies thread go?

• 01-02-2006 1:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭

Has it been deleted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Presume so, I was just writing my results of a phone call to Paddy Power. But I won't post it as there has obviously been some sort of ramifications.

Mods, delete this post if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Fire ahead and post.

This has been a thread that has had everyone engaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭marius

Damn,

Only got about half way through it before it went - does it turn out that Dublindave is a ghost?

I think it was the second best thread ever....just behind the 'Boards people hate the Merrion' thread ...that was a cracker :D

marius wrote:
    Damn,

Only got about half way through it before it went - does it turn out that Dublindave is a ghost?

I think it was the second best thread ever....just behind the 'Boards people hate the Merrion' thread ...that was a cracker :D

oooh oooh oooh I missed that, where's that one?

Give me a pointer for my search anyway.

Culchie wrote:
    oooh oooh oooh I missed that, where's that one?

Give me a pointer for my search anyway.

Cant remember the title - but is was from about 3 years ago! It was brilliant...it resurfaced a while ago - much to De Vores chagrain :D

People were getting very heated - there was abuse flying all over the place (not that I condone that sort of thing;) but it is always fun to read)

I think it started with someone giving out about a torney run in the merrion and the the bandwagon merchants got on it.....brilliant

Culchie wrote:
    Fire ahead and post.

This has been a thread that has had everyone engaged.
    Ye 'twas a cracker...

Better not until a mod gives the all clear, but basically they didn't confirm what they were supposed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Ste05 wrote:
    Ye 'twas a cracker...

Better not until a mod gives the all clear, but basically they didn't confirm what they were supposed to.

They said it's not true, or they said we cannot confirm that/no comment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Cant remember the title - but is was from about 3 years ago! It was brilliant...it resurfaced a while ago - much to De Vores chagrain

twas one of those 'omg, what have I started' ones...

Search for my posts - title - More Merrion messing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I heard karlh eats small children, and PPP-Pitboss is planning on stealing christmas.

marius wrote:
    Damn,

Most people started agreeing with me (they used to work in Bookies etc.) White Knight turns out he works for PP.

Nikka from PP (PPP-Pitboss) started hurling vicious personal abuse at me. I'm assuming that's why the topic was deleted.

MadsL wrote:
    twas one of those 'omg, what have I started' ones...

Search for my posts - title - More Merrion messing

Found it, on page 3 now, you spoon stirring bad boy, gotta go, I'm on the "I'd rather play in a warehouse than go back to the merrion" post now

dublindude wrote:
    They said it's not true, or they said we cannot confirm that/no comment?
    Not sure we're allowed to discuss it, but basically the girl I was talking to said she'd bever heard of such a policy, and was kinda bewildered by the question. Anywho, it made for an enjoyable thread.

gg dublindude. :D

dublindude wrote:
    Most people started agreeing with me (they used to work in Bookies etc.) White Knight turns out he works for PP.

Nikka from PP (PPP-Pitboss) started hurling vicious personal abuse at me. I'm assuming that's why the topic was deleted.

So no Sixth Sense type ending - pity:)

For the record - I was with you, thought the abuse was ridiculous. Although I would think it would be very difficult to prove that employees were encouraged not to delve into the customers gambling problems.....
    If I should not be bringing this up - let me know n i'll leave it alone.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

dublindude wrote:

Ah, personal abuse allegations, this keeps getting better and better. I'm sure if vicious abuse PM's were sent DeV or some other mods would like to investigate.

Edit: Just reread, no mention of PM's at all, Dammit, I should read things properly first time.

As an aside I noticed that the thread where some guy promised to give the secret to winning play and how he made thousands reliable every month disappeared a few weeks ago all of a sudden. He never did supply us with the holy grail of poker play, did he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

Fee Fi Fo Fum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Ed

i head you had to make a deal with the devil (aka gamblor) to work at paddy power??

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I moved it to the admins area for safe keeping (its where the bad threads go in case we need to produce them for evidence).

Sorry, no great conspiracy theory but firstly, its off topic. Secondly I happen to know the proceedures inside PPP as I've worked for them and some of the direct accusations (like they target and promote gambling addictions) are so completely false they are actionable. (Libel requires three things, falsehood, publication and damage to their good name. Bingo!).
    PPP didnt once mention this to me, I completely missed the thread until it was reported to me by a user and I have taken this action as our usual response to this sort of thing. (Meteor being shut down allegations etc).

If you want to continue this argument, and grind whatever axe you have with PP then I think it might be better off on an "ihatepaddypower.com" site of your own. This has nothing to do with Poker imho. I barely let the vacancy post go because it would be interesting information for the users of this site but this sort of flame war is too much for me to stand by.

Finally, inevitably someone will say "well you work with PPP, you're protecting them from criticism". Rubbish. PPP-PitBoss is more then capable of standing her ground as are PPP. This is an action I would take any time someone decides to make accusations at a commercial entity that they can't prove. I happen to know he's wrong. Certainly in my experience. After that I'm no longer willing to expose myself or this site in this manner or to provide someone with a platform for what appears to me to be a vendetta.
    We've done it before (often) and will do it again. I only noticed it today, it would have been gone long ago and I don't apologise for depriving the baying crowd of their bloodsport, I ain't no hare.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

I just opened an account with Paddy's yesterday, and made a €10.00 accum which won me €4000 plus my stake. My account was closed within a matter of minutes.

Apparently Paddy's close down hundreds of accounts everyday and dont like taking bets.

</sarcasm>

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Comment on this admin action is off topic and belongs in Feedback. I'll give this thread 24 hours but returning to the topic of the thread that has been removed will initiate a month bad from this forum. Repeats will manifest a site ban.
    Paddys, use a banner from now on to promote job vacancies. Mods, remove any thread promoting job vacancies from the forum from any source without Admin approval, they are off topic. Thanks (sorry to give you guys more work :( )

Everyone else please stop chewing popcorn and baying for blood. Beyond questioning the admin decision (in this thread for the next 24 hours or after that in the feedback forum) this is over.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

DeVore wrote:
    Comment on this admin action is off topic and belongs in Feedback. I'll give this thread 24 hours but returning to the topic of the thread that has been removed will initiate a month bad from this forum. Repeats will manifest a site ban.
    Paddys, use a banner from now on to promote job vacancies. Mods, remove any thread promoting job vacancies from the forum from any source without Admin approval, they are off topic. Thanks (sorry to give you guys more work :( )

Everyone else please stop chewing popcorn and baying for blood. Beyond questioning the admin decision (in this thread for the next 24 hours or after that in the feedback forum) this is over.

DeV.

Can't believe Muso let it run so long but then I always suspected he was a liberal at heart!! :v: Wouldn't have lasted 2 minutes on Lafortezza's watch!!

Mods make their own calls and to be fair, its a tough one to call. We have to weigh a line between fair criticism (which has rightfully been a feature of this forum and long may it continue) and unfair libelous comment/hurtful vendetta.
    Thats a ropey decision to make as an admin let alone a mod.

DeV.
    ps: it doesnt need saying that the mods on this forum are some of the best on the site. We as a community are very lucky to have them and their energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

/cut to image of Muso and Laf slumped on their respective keyboards after a long night at the tables :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

DeVore wrote:
    Mods make their own calls and to be fair, its a tough one to call. We have to weigh a line between fair criticism (which has rightfully been a feature of this forum and long may it continue) and unfair libelous comment/hurtful vendetta.
    Thats a ropey decision to make as an admin let alone a mod.

DeV.
    ps: it doesnt need saying that the mods on this forum are two of the best on the site. We as a community are very lucky to have them and their energy.

Agreed and understood. I think the mods do a great job and I for one appreciate it. I just prefer Lafortezza's hard line that way he doesn't have to make as many tricky decisions post flop (how's that for getting back on topic! :cool: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Like it.

DeV: I always stated I was NOT referring to the Poker element of the business. And I do not think it was off-topic: there ARE ethical considerations to take into account when working for a gambling company. I have nothing personal against PP - they were lovely to me when I was there - it's their ethics I have a problem with.

Also, please bear in mind a lot of people responded saying they work/worked in the gambling (non-poker) industry and agreed with my points.

PS As stated already, I would love PP to sue me over this. They will lose (and they know it.)

/this is my last comment on this matter. please no one ask me a question so I have to return!! :)

I always stated I was NOT referring to the Poker element of the business. And I do not think it was off-topic

BUT THIS IS THE £$(&^%* POKER FORUM!!!

*boggle*

PPP havent threatened to sue ANYONE over this and I could care less if they sued you or if you won or not. But what you don't realise is that we also get sued with you? This might be your crusade. It sure as sh*t isnt mine.

DeV.

Yes, I understand your position. No worries... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I am going to stay silent on this one, having worked for ppp i have alot of valid points (that is not to say they are negative the majority would be positive)

From a legal point of view Dev is protecting his interests and rightly so.

In reality, i can't see ppp taking action against boards in this particular case... we all know why :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Sue Samba!

Samba wrote:
    In reality, i can't see ppp taking action against boards... we all know why :)

Sweet... does that mean we can say pretty much anything we want and they wont sue?:D
    We could have some form of boards competition to see who can say the most slanderous thing and not get sued!

I'll start. Paddy Power himself ate my children. FACT!

marius wrote:
    Sweet... does that mean we can say pretty much anything we want and they wont sue?:D
    We could have some form of boards competition to see who can say the most slanderous thing and not get sued!

I'll start. Paddy Power himself ate my children. FACT!
    In reality, i can't see ppp taking action against boards in this particular case

Samba,

Did you edit that or did I fcuk up the quoting???

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

ollyk1 wrote:
    Can't believe Muso let it run so long but then I always suspected he was a liberal at heart!! :v: Wouldn't have lasted 2 minutes on Lafortezza's watch!!

True if I lived in the US I would probably call myself a liberal because I would be arrested for being any further to the left. Over here I can get away with being a socialist because there is no such thing anymore so folks can just laugh at me.
    In any case I responded to the one comment that I had difficulty with and that was dublindude saying it was fact. The rest of the discussion from then seemed balanced and without anything too bad. I may have missed what followed but right from the beginning I did consider deleting the thread. You tend to get murdered if you delete a thread so I took the easy way out and waited for Dev to step in. I possibly should have pm'd him but I always kind of think of Dev as omnipresent :) You can't win.

no, i just made you look like a big eejit :D

Samba wrote:
    no, i just made you look like a big eejit :D

Right - thats it - you're going on the LIST!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Jebus, I miss all the good stuff when I don't log on for a couple of days. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

just as a matter of interest, what was said in the thread? Just a general idea. Don't want to get y'all in a heap more trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

It started with Paddy Power offering a job. Dublindude (who used to work for them) replied about how he thought the gambling industry was incredibly immoral, and was warning that if you took a job with paddy power you wouldn't be able to sleep at night because of all the terrible things they do to make money. To support this he said that the accounts of winning players were closed down, which basically means there is no point in sports betting at all if this is the case. Not that there was a point in the first place. A few people on the forum denied that this was the case and for some reason it all got pretty heated. That was about the gist of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

thanks daithio : )

c[_] <- #include storm.h

DeV.

Muso I thought how you handled the thread was fine btw. If anything I think our opinions are quite close on the matter and in matters in general. Reading it all in one go probably made a greater impact then bit by bit.

DeV.