Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Country Lads vs City Lads

• 26-01-2006 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Which is better ladies? Easy as zat! I'm from the country & I get complimented on not having de massive ego that City (especialy Dublin lads) seem to ave. but then maybe u enjoy dat ego? Are Dublin lads more obsessed wiv money? The floor is urs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Go back to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

it's a proven fact that people from the city are more sophisticated than muck juicers from the bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

stp wrote:
    it's a proven fact that people from the city are more sophisticated than muck juicers from the bog.
    Yaw, loike totally :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

stp wrote:
    And your from the city yeah?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

This vs this... Tough call...

And your from the city yeah?..

i am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭morlan

To the OP. Are you sure you're not from East London? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Yaw, loike totally :rolleyes:
    hit a nerve have we muckers?:D

im from the country myself (female)..i feel that lads in the country are more genuine and down to earth than lads in the city..They're not all boggers/filthy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

Stupid question:

Not all country lads are farmers, & not all city lads are scumbags!

I like non farmers & non scumbags, doesn't matter where they come from after that!!!

I'm a culchie btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

ey_man wrote:
    Which is better ladies? Easy as zat! I'm from the country & I get complimented on not having de massive ego that City (especialy Dublin lads) seem to ave. but then maybe u enjoy dat ego? Are Dublin lads more obsessed wiv money? The floor is urs...

Oh we do enjoy dat massive ego alright. Its masssive.

morlan wrote:
    Are you sure you're not from East London? :/

yes, i'm sure

Stupid question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

ey_man wrote:

Better at what exactly? - in bed, dancing, singing, driving, ???

Having gone out with quite a few men I would say that it doesn't matter where you come from. There are all types of men in each area. You can meet a right pain in the arse from Dublin, Cork, Kerry or any where in the world to be honest and for everyone one of these in that area there is a nice decent one too.

Personally though I prefer men who don't stereotype people and treat each person as an individual..

stp wrote:
    yes, i'm sure

No, that was for the OP. He used words like 'wiv', 'ave' and 'zat'.

morlan wrote:
    No, that was for the OP. He used words like 'wiv', 'ave' and 'zat'.

sorry, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

You have not lived until you have seen a farmer and a skanger sing Ebony & Ivory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

*Admires own sig

Best of both worlds? :D

My missus plucked me from the wilderness, and I had a mad country accent. I'm all sophisticae now and can swing either a country or Dub accent.. she says she still likes me though :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

ok first off I'm a city boy. I can only talk for really small towns in ireland but here goes. There are FAR more boy racers per capita in the country. They go around in souped up Toyota Starlets etc. blasting awful "dance" music, e.g. Country Anthems 2005 dance mix of the fields of athenry. They are more nationalist than we are, e.g. playing the national anthem at the end of the local "disco", and they sing along drunkenly standing up. Their dress sense is appauling - they wear shirts too big for them (akin to shirts that lads from the english midlands wear on stag parties) not tucked in, with jeans and a pair of black shoes :o. They get really drunk and irritatingly loud in pubs that aren't even busy, so you have to listen to them, and they take offence when you don't join in their mindless banter. They are all overweight. They hate Dubs because of an inferiority complex - actually it's not a complex they ARE inferior. Anyway that's my impression of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

ok first off I'm a city boy. I can only talk for really small towns in ireland but here goes. There are FAR more boy racers per capita in the country. They go around in souped up Toyota Starlets etc. blasting awful "dance" music, e.g. Country Anthems 2005 dance mix of the fields of athenry. They are more nationalist than we are, e.g. playing the national anthem at the end of the local "disco", and they sing along drunkenly standing up. Their dress sense is appauling - they wear shirts too big for them (akin to shirts that lads from the english midlands wear on stag parties) not tucked in, with jeans and a pair of black shoes :o. They get really drunk and irritatingly loud in pubs that aren't even busy, so you have to listen to them, and they take offence when you don't join in their mindless banter. They are all overweight. They hate Dubs because of an inferiority complex - actually it's not a complex they ARE inferior. Anyway that's my impression of them.

Get a grip!!!!

Inferior my arse!!

It's because of opinions like that from obnoxious Dubs that us culchies generally hate ye!!!

(not saying that I do or anything)

But that was just so full of horse manure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

That is probably true, fischerspooner, but if you replaced 'in the country' with 'in Dublin' in your post, and compared it to one of Ireland's smaller cities, such as Galway, it would also be true! There are far more skangers, boy racers, nationalists, inbred fuglies and fatties in Dublin than in Galway...the only thing that might not be true is the inferiority complex, the Dubs visiting Galway certainly don't have that!

That said, parts of Dublin are filled with pockets of sophistication and class, Rathmines and Ranelagh for example...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Well I could talk about how dubs are poncy, stuck up, arrogant assholes that haven't a clue what goes on outside the pale, but I'm afraid fischerspooner beat me to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

COUNTRY Vs. CITY

There is no way we can compare
    The country and the city life;
    There is a difference in the air,
    Where peace replaces city strife.

Where fragrant treasures all abound,
    The eyes regaled with greenery;
    Where solitude, if sought, is found,
    The soul enjoys the scenery.

The pace of life is more serene,
    Although the chores do never end;
    Our very thoughts the air will clean,
    As nature soon becomes a friend.

Sol

Give me a country lad any day of the week. And I am not just saying that because my BF happens to be from the country, I have always preferred country boys to Dublin boys!

I am from Dublin myself, and my experience of Dublin boys leaves a lot to be desired.

As a kid and early teen, I noticed ALL boys in my area were skinny little runts, who, for someone reason, honestly believed that the sun shone from their malnutritioned backsides!

Honestly, the bigger the skanger they were, the cockier they were, and the more the retarded local girls flocked around them.

As I got older I realised that this wasn't a passing phase, ok physically, they may have changed slightly, but ultimately they remained arrogant, ignorant and vain.

Of course I realise there are some genuinely gorgeous and lovely Dublin men out there; I just haven't encountered them yet.

Also, physically, Dublin lads don't seem to be as tall and broad as country lads, and personally, I like my men tall and broad, so for me, its culchies till the cows come home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

They go around in souped up Toyota Starlets etc. blasting awful "dance" music, e.g. Country Anthems 2005 dance mix of the fields of athenry.

*hides face ashamedly :o

It was a Golf GTi (right) and The Fields of Athenry is a timeless classic (right). Some people just don't understand art appreciation pffft :D
    Half your point is right, as in there are a lot of muppets down the sticks, but there are just as many up here. Since when is/are a Ben Sherman shirt (checked), jeans and Nike Air MAXXX runners all the rage?

'Before you acuse me, take a look at yourself'

:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

ey_man wrote:
    Are Dublin lads more obsessed wiv money?
    I'm not even going there in light of recent threads.

I'm all for a bit of country boy :D;)

BoozyBabe wrote:
    It's because of opinions like that from obnoxious Dubs that us culchies generally hate ye!!!

every much juicer secretly wishes he was from dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

are u fu(king joking!!
    first off, i'm a country girl, but from cork, not dublin. being in the country , yes we do have a fair few "boy racers" but not as much as in the city, and no they dont go around "blasting awful "dance" music, e.g. Country Anthems 2005 dance mix of the fields of athenry" they play the music they like, which every person on this planet is entited to do.
    Yes, in our local pub (not disco's and clubs) the national anthem is played, we do song along because its our national anthem and we know the words and we show respect by standing up and singing it.
    you cant say anything about their dress sence because as u may know, everyone is a different individual. some guys here wear tracksuits, and its okay because they are not called "skangers" like they do in dublin, some wear shirts (not too big).
    Country folk get as drunk as city folk do, maybe we can actually hold our drink better. i challenge you to a drinkathon anyday and i bet i would drink you under the table.
    we are not ALL over weight. we prb get more exercise then lazy city people who would hop on a bus in the city centre to go 100 yrds down the road.

the end.

Go Femmy-You tell him!!

And another thing, especially people from cork, sort your accents out, they're a disgrace, I hang my head in shame when I hear one abroad, I can't believe you hold the same passport I do. As for you Kiera, no idea why all the men were skinny were you came from, I certainly ain't small and skinny.

Femmy wrote:
    i challenge you to a drinkathon anyday and i bet i would drink you under the table.

Time and place dear, you don't know what you're messing with.

And another thing, especially people from cork, sort your accents out, they're a disgrace, I hang my head in shame when I hear one abroad, I can't believe you hold the same passport I do..
    Says the person who's from Dublin!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭IceHawk

stp wrote:
    every much juicer secretly wishes he was from dublin.

What's strange is that many people from Dublin actually believe this. Anyway, I'm not from Dublin but I'm not from the country either, so what category do I fall into? I'd be a culchie according to many Dubs and a townie according to the people from the country.

I've got to say I detest Dublin city. Every time I've been there, the impression I've gotten of the locals has been of snobby rich kids or total scumbags.

That said, I know some Dubliners who are sound, but I've never met them in Dublin, so that doesn't apply. Maybe they're knobs when they're at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Forget the Country savage -V- City gob$hite palaver,
    all the girls know us Northen men are the best :p
    End of.

Yes El Tel you're not that bad, you and your people may want to work on the old English though, we just can't understand you down here, sorry.

IceHawk wrote:
    I'm not from Dublin but I'm not from the country either, so what category do I fall into? I'd be a culchie according to many Dubs and a townie according to the people from the country.

not from dublin = muck juicer

accept it, you'll feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Asok wrote:
    You have not lived until you have seen a farmer and a skanger sing Ebony & Ivory

And you no longer want to live after you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭IceHawk

Hmm... I do spend a lot of my time juicing muck....

I stand by my point, though. Whatever that was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭baby*cham*bell

Femmy wrote:
    .....its okay because they are not called "skangers"....

........just because they're not "called" skangers doesn't mean they're not actually skangers...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Girls don't give into stereotypes......look out for nice guys no matter where they are from!

Except Ballinasloe....yuk....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

How many threads are started about dublin being a ****hole, skanger this and D4 retard that, dublin bouncers, price of drink in dublin, ****in dublin bus, ignorance of people in dublin blah blah blah

"But at least we're not muck savages (bud)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I'm not even going there in light of recent threads.

I'm all for a bit of country boy :D;)

Gowan the country boy's (boy) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

ey_man wrote:

What do ya mean city lads (especially Dublin) there is only one City!!!

and whats all this lark about egos??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Doctor Fell

I'm a bit suspicious and think that ey_man may in fact be one of the female posters from the previous threads, trying to divert the attention onto Irish men. I mean this was ey_man's first post, right? The timing is a bit convenient I think.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

yes they are a crafty bunch them ladies........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

toffeapple wrote:
    yes they are a crafty bunch them ladies........

Would that be Muck Savage Ladies, or the Dublin City variety?!

:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

To me its half and half to be honest :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

i just have to say that if the fellas nice I don't care where hes from:D (unless he's from cork:p ).

But I like the culchie accent and they always seem so innocent.

i like the fact that dubs know whats going on and find myself attracted to scanger scumbags though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

People from outside Ireland think the whole country are muck farmers including Dublin, they have a point on a worldwide scale the difference between country and city Irish people is tiny. I like livin in dublin and like dubs but also like goin down home, capitol city verses the rest of country is such a cliche...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

TheVan wrote:
    Girls don't give into stereotypes......look out for nice guys no matter where they are from!

Except Ballinasloe....yuk....:D

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH sorry,but that town! It's like ballyfermot, and it's between a rock and a hard place : Athlone(not too bad) and cockrea(worst.town.ever).

Eh,i think the REAL question here is which country fella's are the best? For some strange girls take an interest when Galway is mentioned..not that they're not interested in the first place :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I'm a dub but I think Cork girls have the most sexy accent in Ireland, so in conclusion erm..up Cork girls!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/