Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

men / women. Are we even MENT to like each other?

• 26-01-2006 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭

just something that occured to me when reading some of the other threads out there

who exactly said men were ment to like women and women were ment to like men?
    as far as i can tell this whole "love" lark is all about finding WOMAN singular. it doesnt say anything about the gender as a whole so what do you think?
    (should point out im about to pass out from sleep deprevation so dont take this too seriously :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Eh,same species,so i suspect yes.

We're still an early prototype, remember....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

just something that occured to me when reading some of the other threads out there

who exactly said men were ment to like women and women were ment to like men?
    as far as i can tell this whole "love" lark is all about finding WOMAN singular. it doesnt say anything about the gender as a whole so what do you think?
    (should point out im about to pass out from sleep deprevation so dont take this too seriously :) )

Yeah were ment to like eachother:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

The human body is like a jigsaw, male and female fit togather, so yeah we generally are meAnt to like eachother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Constitutionus old boy, I'll back you up, but only if you'll agree to vote on my hybrid sheep vs. lemmings bill! (not saying which gender is which)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Great book by John Gray confirms that Men ARE from Mars and Women ARE from Venus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

That the "Dr." John Gray that bought his doctorate from a degree mill?

That book is complete and utter crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

I know i FANCY women!

a lot of people say they find it easier to get to know people of the same sex because they have more similar interests that they can relate to on a general level quicker than that of when getting to know the opposite sex.

But to be honest any real relationshp i have struck up with the fairer sex has meant more to me than any of those of the same sex. Not just talking about girlfriends but also other female friends, where u get in to a comfort zone and are able to be yourself without niggling thought that you may offend or put the person off you!

but it is all about the individuals perception of how others see them whether that be the person who they are interacting with or the general public looking in on the interaction. If you are generalising so much, why should you like the same sex over the opposite??

i dont think you can generalise what sex you should get on better with. I dont think it SHOULD have any bearing on if you like the person but it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

well my male screw fits into a females bolt, so yeah :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

yeah think we are "meant" to like each other.. but if you think about it.. the old saying opposites attract.. well men and women are different. We have different emotional and physical needs, but can balance each other out!! It is statistically proven (cso.ie) that married men live longer.. and that is not purely down to care.. it is companionship. So yeah, the aggravation and the hassles and nagging.. it's all just to keep you guys on your tip-toes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

its like that movie twins where scientists were trying to make the perfect human but the eggs split...

i'm generalising on purpose here so don't comment righ :D.men are physically strong and women are naturally maternal and emotionally open (as i said generalisations)...so while the man puts up a shelf the woman baths the kids etc etc...

unfortunatly its not that basic anymore and it does seem like there is only 1 person for everyone but its not the case...

almost any 2 healthy minds can form a sufficient and caring relationship IMO

if it was left up to blokes nothin would get done but women can't do what they do without our support... think its called a symbiotic relationship in biological terms is it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

jcoote wrote:
    think its called a symbiotic relationship in biological terms is it
    Mmm, in Stargate terms too. :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Learn To Spell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

Well I know I like men a LOT!!! :D

Nah, seriously, I do tend to get on better with men than I do with women. They're generally just a better laugh, or the guys I get to know at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

BoozyBabe wrote:
    Well I know I like men a LOT!!! :D

Nah, seriously, I do tend to get on better with men than I do with women. They're generally just a better laugh, or the guys I get to know at least

no ur gettin mixed up. men are just better than women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

The_B_Man wrote:
    no ur gettin mixed up. men are just better than women!

oooooooooooh..You gonna get burned for that one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Primate needs (in most) of us mean that yes we need each other. Untill Fem Bots are a reality anyway ;)

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I think this discussion is mooted by the fact that homosexual people exist.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,383 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Disagreements are all part of the fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Nobody is going to have the exact same opinons as you, right across the board. Of course disagreements will occur. its up to the couple in question to hear the other out, and comprimise.

So long as there is a solid friendship foundation, you can overcome most obstacles that you cross as a couple.

Life would be so much easier for couples if they just talked to one another as opposed to game-playing.

Yes, men are meant to like women and vice versa. (obviously both parties hetro :rolleyes: )

Although men and women today should learn to take a slice of humble pie every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

I think this discussion is mooted by the fact that homosexual people exist.

but homosexual people still like the opposite sex. just don't have the sexual desire...

i think you'd probably find more gay men have female friends then male friends.

with all these threads the perspective changes depending on the person's situation. i'm going out with someone, so naturally i'm gonna say women are great. if i broke up with her recently, i'd have a different opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

of course we are meant to like each other, without it, human life could not be sustained. It's instinctive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well some of my best friends are girls, so I say yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

I much prefer the company of men to be honest, I have more fun with the lads then with women. I've never had any female friends really, one or two, I think the fact that I went to an all boys catholic school all my life kind of alienates me, although most of you probably did too. Anyway it's never impacted the girlfriends situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Angry sex.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

but homosexual people still like the opposite sex. just don't have the sexual desire...
    Ah, I see. When the OP said "likes" he doesn't mean fancy is it? He did make the distinction in his post, I just missed it.

In that case. I can see where the question comes from. I would say that men and women are indeed supposed to get along with one another, but in some circumstances, a man-woman friendship is more likely to encounter conflict than a man-man one.

That said, I also think that conflict is even more likely in most woman-woman friendships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

wow, considering i was about to pass out im glad to see what a response this got.
    just in case i confused people i ment in a social sense. think about it before puberty boys pretty much played with boys you couldnt PAY them to play with girls (and i am generalising here) and vice versa for the girl .
    hell even our playtime was different ie girls with dolls and wendy houses and make up and such stuff and blokes with ,well torturing insects and beating the **** out of each other. suddenly puberty happens sex enters the equation and suddenly were all ment to be interested in each others social circles:D
    i 'll lay my card on the table, i LOVE the company of women but i have to admit that some of it comes from the fact ive got a lateral thinking brain and quite honestly i find the way they think FASCINATING. from a normal blokes point of view its borderline insane.( hence why we have trouble relating:D )so trying to figure you girls out is a source of unending enjoyment to me.

the problem is while i DO think were ment to relate to each other en mass, theres OBVIOUS problems. for instance in work there was a point where i was the ONLY guy in the company and because of that EVERYTIME i came into the room the conversation changed simply because a male entered the room. the girls just acted differently, probably subconsiously i mean im not going to make a pass at any of em, but this happen nonetheless.
    but when were on a session ,while the night starts out the same ,as the girls get locked they forget im a bloke and act normally and it was just like being out with the lads:) great craic TBH i cant help thinking if girls acted MORE like this all the time HALF the problem between us would fade away.

i guess what im TRYING to say is that while we all LOVE each others company there DO seem to be times when the girls just want to be in the company of other girls simply because the very PRESENCE of a guy changes the dynamic and vice versa. i have to be honest , while i LOVE the girls in work i was going MENTAL not being able to talk to a bloke about the tits on the new sales girl across the way. any time i tried that with even the most progressive girls i got dirty looks, blokes would just take it as it was. a compliment about the girl, and i think bloke need this enviroment,shorn of girls, so we can actually relate what we think with out being condemed as preverts (particulaly considering my time as an "honorary" girl i know you girls talk about the same thing too ,only not about tits :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

Man + Man = Extinction
    Woman + Woman = Extinction
    Man + Woman = Survival.
    It's nature's way that most of us like the opposite sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

We have our run-ins with the lay-deez but ya gotta love em nonetheless. What a lovely crowd of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

No one said you have to like her...or even respect her...but you can still have sex with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

DubGuy wrote:
    No one said you have to like her...or even respect her...but you can still have sex with her.
    start runnin boy...

Daddio wrote:
    start runnin boy...

HOOO WHEEEEEEEE!!!:D

(cue banjo music :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Daddio wrote:
    start runnin boy...
    HOOO WHEEEEEEEE!!!:D

(cue banjo music :) )

*Dons her tight denim shorts and rolled up shirt*
    Can I be Daisy?:rolleyes:

Stop with the hard man act, ye pair o' pups..

*Dons her tight denim shorts and rolled up shirt*
    Can I be Daisy?:rolleyes:

good ol' double d's , ya cant go wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

DubGuy wrote:

I spose you can even get her to turn around so you don't have to look at her face huh? :p