Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Backers for EPT Deauville??

• 25-01-2006 12:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭

I'm thinking of heading over to this in early February to have another shot at this EPT lark. I've been running pretty well lately, but still can't really justify putting up the entire €4k out of my own pocket, so thought that maybe some of you might be interested in buying a small share in me? I reckon the easiest way to do it would be to sell shares of myself at €100 a piece, so whoever's interested can buy as little as €100, or as much as they like:D :D .
    €100 would work out as 1.75pc of whatever I may win. This isn't an even ratio, €100 is actually 2.5 pc of the buy in, but I need to keep a slight margin (30%) for my own profit and to cover expenses etc.
    So that's it, €100 will buy you 1.75% of whatever I may win. If you're interested pm me how much you want to buy etc.
    Thanks, Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Put me down for €200 worth Dave.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I too may take 200 worth. Let me check bank balance when (if) I get home.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Will do Mike cheers!

Cool Dev, whatever suits. I'll give you a discount if you promise to be ultra biased in the reports. :p

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

cos that will be different from our regular report exactly how?! lol

of course if you dont make the money, I'll call you the worlds biggest donkey!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

I'll take 200 also Dave, cant refuse you with all the bloody winning your doing lately.

Just dont make that move with 7 2 again.lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Whats the prize pool and payouts for Deauville

(Estimate of course)

Yeah, no seven-twoeyness!! lol!

DeV.

two first days means there will be about 400 players. Expect it to be full too. 1.6M prize pool with the winner taking about 600k would be my guess.

DeV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

What the hell, I'll take 1%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I'll take €200 too.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

fair play to you Daithio... this share per player thing could be a thing of the future at boards... i'm selling 95% of any winnings at the wsop, it'll cost you about $10,000 but i'm planning on finishing a respectable 31st, so you'll make some good money!! no all i need is a very rich boardsters with more money than sense!

best of luck daithio

ditpoker wrote:
    fair play to you Daithio... this share per player thing could be a thing of the future at boards... i'm selling 95% of any winnings at the wsop, it'll cost you about $10,000 but i'm planning on finishing a respectable 31st, so you'll make some good money!! no all i need is a very rich boardsters with more money than sense!

best of luck daithio

I brought this up last year.

The boardsters that play the WSOP should set themselves up as a syndicate.....and issues shares in themselves (as a group).

So that way, we peasant boardsters who are stuck in Ireland, could have some money riding on all the boardsters and make it bloody interesting.

e.g

20 boardsters*$10000 wsop entry = $200000

add 10% margin $220000 players equity

1000 (0.1%)shares @ $220 each ... so you'd have a .1% interest in 20 players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Culchie wrote:
    I brought this up last year.

The boardsters that play the WSOP should set themselves up as a syndicate.....and issues shares in themselves (as a group).

So that way, we peasant boardsters who are stuck in Ireland, could have some money riding on all the boardsters and make it bloody interesting.

e.g

20 boardsters*$10000 wsop entry = $200000

add 10% margin $220000 players equity

1000 (0.1%)shares @ $220 each ... so you'd have a .1% interest in 20 players

Does that mean we need 200 backers at €1000 each?

Cant really see us getting that much support.

Sending 2-5 players might be a realistic target. But a good idea and would like to follow it up.

Maybe make a shortlists of players....?

Me and you first do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

stick me on the shortlist!! although i cant even afford the airfair, i just wanna play cards!!! WONT SOMEBODY THINK OF THE STUDENTS!!!

Ollieboy wrote:
    Does that mean we need 200 backers at €1000 each?

Cant really see us getting that much support.

Sending 2-5 players might be a realistic target. But a good idea and would like to follow it up.

Maybe make a shortlists of players....?

Me and you first do...

Well for a start, I'd say the lads would only sell a few % of themselves anyway...otherwise why would they bother going.

So a more practical outcome would be that say 20 boardsters made 10% of themelves available.

$10000/10 = $1000 + 10% fee = $1100 for 10% of one player

=> $1100 * 20 = $22000 (20 players)

Divide into 100 shares = $220 each for a 1% piece of 20 players.

Methinks that's all worked out correctly anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

To completely hijack Daves thread my idea for the WSOP is to play 6events at $20,000 - sell off 50% at 200euro per %. A whole months entertainment for 200euro and better odds than the bookies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

bohsman wrote:
    To completely hijack Daves thread my idea for the WSOP is to play 6events at $20,000 - sell off 50% at 200euro per %. A whole months entertainment for 200euro and better odds than the bookies

Excellent idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Ok Dave, i'll back you for €100. PM me for details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

I'll defo back you as discussed dave!

Good plan Oscar! And you could have a blog or something similar (eg Tom ;) ) to keep people up to date on their balance while you're over there.

btw, who is heading over this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

ocallagh wrote:
    I'll defo back you as discussed dave!
    Don't you brothers live together?

I'll be in vegas this summer. think I'm staying with roundtower, but all details are subject to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Marq wrote:

I have three brothers. I don't live with any of them.

I know I thought it was kind of funny too. We do live together yeah, but in fairness probably only see each other a couple of times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Marq wrote:

I'll be in vegas this summer. think I'm staying with roundtower, but all details are subject to change.

I suppose I must be going to Vegas this summer too, so.

RoundTower wrote:
    I suppose I must be going to Vegas this summer too, so.

lol - I'll be heading over too - applied for redundancy a few weeks ago and find out if I get it tomorrow.. so fingers crossed! If I get it I'll be in Vegas for the month.

I wonder how much SSIA money will end up as poker currency this summer.. :D

Niall how much do you want to buy for Deauville?

Daithio wrote:
    Niall how much do you want to buy for Deauville?
    I'll give u a shout later - prob 300.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I'll offer €400. PM me with details of the drop (where, when).

I think Eamonn Dunphy has a place in Deauville. Phone him for the keys. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

kincsem wrote:
    I think Eamonn Dunphy has a place in Deauville. Phone him for the keys. :)

Eamo and Keno may be having a love in that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

ocallagh wrote:
    lol - I'll be heading over too - applied for redundancy a few weeks ago and find out if I get it tomorrow.. so fingers crossed! If I get it I'll be in Vegas for the month.

I wonder how much SSIA money will end up as poker currency this summer.. :D

So is this it Niall? Is this the big push? i love u man! gl. scary mary.

yes!! it sure is - 31st March will be my final day as a 9 to 5'r.. 5yrs 5 months in the same job. I got the news this evening from my boss. I still have 2 weeks to decline the offer, but I don't think that's an option. I'll be pawning off my alarm clock and ordering in a hammock... oh, and a ticket to vegas this summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

ocallagh wrote:
    yes!! it sure is - 31st March will be my final day as a 9 to 5'r.. 5yrs 5 months in the same job. I got the news this evening from my boss. I still have 2 weeks to decline the offer, but I don't think that's an option. I'll be pawning off my alarm clock and ordering in a hammock... oh, and a ticket to vegas this summer!

well if i had the cash u and ur brother would be two of only half a dozen i'd be willing to invest in. u have the experience now to be the man. I hope it works out and if I'm playing i hope u get at least 2nd prize!

gl man with ur new and highly volatile career!
    d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Marq wrote:

What are you doing as regards Accomodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

What are you doing as regards Accomodation?

We're looking into getting apartments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

bohsman wrote:
    We're looking into getting apartments.

If you find anywhere good will you let me know?