Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm coming home I've done my time....

• 20-01-2006 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

Bishop Casey is on the way back and about time too, he shouldn't have ran off in the first place and should have addressed his flock and repented and just said "I'm human, I don't think it's natural for a man to be celibate.. Forgive me. Can we just get on with things and sing and dance at the crossroads again".

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0120/casey.html

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

honestly
    who gives a toss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Beruthiel wrote:
    honestly
    who gives a toss?

Catholics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Beruthiel wrote:
    honestly
    who gives a toss?

Well obviously not you anyway, so that's fine... Lovely hurling. move along, nothing to see here then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not being celibate is something to celebrate? For a Bish? In Oireland?

At least he had the courage of his convictions not to use un-naatural methods of contraception.

Total hypocrite - he should be glad there is no dog.

Gaybo, Casey, Dana and Daniel should be locked in a room. No, lock Dana in the room next door, just so they can 'talk' to each other.

IDGAT.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

It may seem normal for a man to want to **** a woman senseless, I know it's a hobby of mine, but you need to understand that when said man decides to make a commitment to God & the Church, then it's like a marriage.

If a priest decides to then fornicate, then he is, in essence, committing adultery - or a similar thing. He is breaking a commitment to his chosen bride (the Church), that's why there is still - rightly - a stigma attached to this behaviour. And that's why I'm not a priest! ;)

Although, hey, 'Let he who is without sin cast the first stone'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Kernel wrote:
    you need to understand that when said man decides to make a commitment to God & the Church, then it's like a marriage.
    Ah yea, but when you've got such an understanding and forgiving partner as 'Himself'.. sure you'd get a bit adventurous :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Goodshape wrote:
    Ah yea, but when you've got such an understanding and forgiving partner as 'Himself'.. sure you'd get a bit adventurous :v:

True enough, He's too forgiving! No wonder the muslims are taking over. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Goodshape wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Beruthiel wrote:
    who gives a toss?

Clearly not the AnnieMurphy. Tho had she just given him one he might have saved himself a lot of bother.

Which leads me to my next question. Which is worse in the eyes of God? A bishop fathering a child or a bishop wasting his 'seed'? Being that it's catholic I'm sure it's whichever is the more unreasonable.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

IMHO... Priests should be able to marry....

He did nothing wrong in my eyes...

From what I have seen... Priests who have abused children in the past are afforded more protection from the media than Eamon Casey was...

IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

alleepally wrote:
    Bishop Casey is on the way back and about time too, he shouldn't have ran off in the first place and should have addressed his flock and repented and just said "I'm human, I don't think it's natural for a man to be celibate.. Forgive me. Can we just get on with things and sing and dance at the crossroads again".

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0120/casey.html
    You have no understanding of the catholic church and its influence in Ireland at the time. Everything wasn't as fine and dandy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

You have no understanding of the catholic church and its influence in Ireland at the time. Everything wasn't as fine and dandy.

Stall the ball there for a second.... I'm quite aware of the situation in the country at the time and in my opinion the influence of the Church at the time was overstated. I'm stating my belief that if the Church (and obviously I am talking about the institution and hierarchy) addressed issues such as this is in a more pragmatic way, people wouldn't have lost faith in the institution as opposed to the faith...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

In hindsight I think he was badly treated by the catholic church's hierarchy who were only a shower of hypocrites when we now see how much the church protected the paedophiles. They knew about his affair and did the unusual thing of moving him to Galway. They covered it up. It was only when it came to light that Casey used church funds to support the child that they became outraged and had him moved to south america as a punishment.

I think what angered people when the scandal broke was 2 weeks before the sh*t hit the fan Casey had a letter read out at mass telling people how to lead a good catholic life. He also went on about people not contributing enough money to the church. There were at least 3 different things he wanted money for.

He was and possibly still is a very charasmatic man. He also knew the "power" he had over people and get away with things that mere mortals wouldn't. For example he was known for his speeding ability both at home and in UK, he knew the Gardai wouldn't book him for speeding (unlike UK) and could drive from Galway to Gort in 15 mins.