Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muppet of the year

• 20-01-2006 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭

I'm not in this hand and its not a bad beat story, rather an amusing tale of reward for muppetry.

16 players left in Drogheda Tourney ( 9 paid ) 5ish limpers @ 3k see a flop of 225 rainbow muppet in bb bets 5k UTG raises all in for 22k folded back to muppet who calls. UTG 77 muppet Q4o:confused:
    Turn Q. :eek: river is rag and muppet takes it down.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Was he drunk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Did the 22K have him covered. I think his initial play was fine, trying to take that flop down with a big blind limping hand is not unreasonable. If he had less then the 22K he may have felt he had to call the all in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

lol, he was obviously thinking he was a shoe-in with a live overcard and a backdoor draw to the wheel!! :rolleyes: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Waylander wrote:
    Did the 22K have him covered. I think his initial play was fine, trying to take that flop down with a big blind limping hand is not unreasonable. If he had less then the 22K he may have felt he had to call the all in.

I am key eye witness to this crime, I'm still in shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Bit of a muppet play by UTG too it could be argued. Moving with about 4 others in the pot and bb indicating strenght. I wonder what made him so sure the player/players in the blinds couldnt have a 2 which is a more likely holding in the blinds. i presume sb completed, if so sb could/should have easily checked if he had a 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

A couple of hands later he called an all in with Q 3 against 10's. He not only caught two 3's but two Q's also. But the best was on the final table. Two runners Flp is 9 2 2 Utg goes all in ( I forget how much but big enough) Muppet calls with A Jo or similar. Utg turns a two....and what happens???

Turn=9 River=9 Split pot

This guy was catching everything but what annoyed me was he didn't even realise it was LUCK!!.

PS. Culchie well done on 2nd. Super start to the new year and I hope it continues as I'm sure it will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Bit of a muppet play by UTG too it could be argued. Moving with about 4 others in the pot and bb indicating strenght. I wonder what made him so sure the player/players in the blinds couldnt have a 2 which is a more likely holding in the blinds. i presume sb completed, if so sb could/should have easily checked if he had a 2.

Blinds too big for fancy slowplaying Rounders, the table was pretty much like a warzone, so I think Steven was expecting a raise preflop and would have been willing to race with his 77.

Whether Steven played the hand optimally or not is not really the question here, when he did push for 22K, everyone folded round to him, the guy called (he had about 30K) at the time with absolutely zip, nada, zilch.

He busted out another guy (the Q3 hand) Scotty mentioned for another 50K or so within 5 mins. It didn't quite happen that way Scotty, that was the other fellahs stupid call, villan called a 10K preflop raise alright with Q3, he then led out with a 50K bet, and yerman made a terrible call I thought with his 10 10 on a Q high board, he could have cruised to final table.

He had about 60% of the total final table chips when we sat down. An ATM machine;)

P.S Thanks Scotty, you know yerself though, you crack AA with KK on the final table, you're getting a fair rub of the green, as well as a fair few chips. It was a matter then of withdrawing chips from the big stacked ATM then.

Ah yeah theres no doubt yer man in the bb was a proper maniac, im just saying what would utg be thinking about himself if either player in the blinds(esp bb) called with a 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

Ah yeah theres no doubt yer man in the bb was a proper maniac, im just saying what would utg be thinking about himself if either player in the blinds(esp bb) called with a 2.

UTG did'nt have time to wait for a better situation than this. Also Sb/BB were very unlikely to make a trap type play here as have it bet it type players

fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

still a bit of a bad beat, even though its not about you imho...