Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women's sports on TV...ban it!!!!

• 19-01-2006 4:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭

Hope I'm not breaching copyright here but I'm pasting a letter that was in todays Irish Indo. Fairly candid stuff....surprised it made it into a national paper in this day and age, where liberals and the PC brigade run the show.

This guy even gave his name and address....womens lib will be burning their bra's outside his gaff as we speak......What do ye think of it!!!!!

There is one key factor explaining the low level of women's
    sport in the national media and that is simply the poor standard of it.

People enjoy watching professional sports on television as they
    get to witness superhuman efforts at a level which the average man or
    woman can only dream about.

The 100m men's final is the blue riband event of any
    championship as the public gets a chance to see the fastest human beings
    on the earth.

The sight of eight men racing from one end of the track to the
    other in under 10 seconds is quite awesome. On the other hand if we
    wanted to see people sprinting down the track in over 11 seconds (like
    most women finals) why not just go down to Santry any Saturday morning
    and watch Gary Ryan putting the junior boys through their paces.

Nobody likes watching a match of poor quality in any sport
    whether it be between Liverpool and Chelsea or a junior B final down the
    country.

The fact is that most women's football matches fail to even
    reach the standard of a poor quality junior B yet you never hear calls
    from the latter for their efforts to be covered in the national media.

It is nice to see Setanta covering grass roots GAA with the
    girls' and boys' primary school finals, yet if one is to be honest the
    girls' matches would have been more at home on the comedy channel.

Irish women (especially compared with their North American
    counterparts) are simply not interested in sport, a fact which is
    exhibited by current obesity levels.

When the average girl gets up on a Saturday morning, goes off
    training and then rushes back to catch Football Focus or Grandstand,
    then and only then should the coverage of their sports increase.

At the moment neither they nor Irish men are in the slightest
    bit interested (with the obvious exception being beach volleyball!).
    Johnny Finegan
    Ardmulcan,
    Navan, Co Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Have a mental image of Johnny being a rather portly gentleman that couldn't run the 100m dash in 10 mins never mind 10 secs............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

he's just saying what a hell of a lot of people are thinking.
    I do think womens tennis is more watchable then mens mind you..as a sport that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Roffle over the GAA comments and comedy channel :)

EDIT: I agree with him, watching women play sport is usually very funny, specially when it's soccer.

On the other hand watching them play tennis is alot of fun as the males strength of serving has taken alot of fun out of that game. There ARE sports that are just as watchable by both men and women and some are even better because they are played by women. The problem is these sports are usually more obscure like fencing and volleyball etc, not exactly mainstream stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

rubbish i was watching the solheim cup with great interest this year and not just for kirstie kerr and paula creamer
    and some of the girls football on setanta was better than the standard of play ion some of the lads games, at that age noone is up to johnnys standard to be on tv.
    johnny obviously has a major problem with physical activity as he won't even move his fat thumb to change the channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I agree with the exception of tennis, volleyball and swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭elurhs

Play to your strengths:

Sports that require agility and balance are better with women, eg tennis, gymnastics, volleyball
    Sports that require strength are better with men eg most ball sports.