Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money,money,money!

• 16-01-2006 8:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭

What is the most money anybody found? I found fifty Euros last night in Tescos which was great because I had only four Euros in change on me and both cash-machines were out of order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

I found €80 on Halloween walking past the off license with a mate, split it with him 2 tho to be fair. Went towards paying for the booze!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Found €200 in a bookies, 3 years ago. 2 sets of €100 in the same day. 2 €50's at the counter, 5 €20s rolled up in the bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Found a wallet with over a hundred quid in it, when I worked in a pub. It was a old man's, so I turned it in and he gave me 20 quid! :D

Honesty is the best policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Demetrius wrote:
    What is the most money anybody found? I found fifty Euros last night in Tescos which was great because I had only four Euros in change on me and both cash-machines were out of order.

Sorry for being a prick, but the plural of Euro is "Euro".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

No true qz, the plural or euro and cent can be either euro and cent or euros and cents

I was wondering how long it would take someone to pick that out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Demetrius wrote:

I lost fifty euros at tesco the other night, PM'ed :D

chump wrote:
    No true qz, the plural or euro and cent can be either euro and cent or euros and cents
    As the euro was being adopted in the Republic of Ireland, however, the Ministry for Finance decided to use the word euro as both the singular and plural forms of the currency, and because Irish broadcasters took their cue from the Ministry, the "legislative plurals" tend to also be used on the news and in much Irish advertising. This has the effect of reinforcing the s-less plurals, though many advertisers (particularly those in the United Kingdom) prefer the "natural" plurals: euros and cents. (This is in line with ECTS recommendations.)

http://europa.eu.int/comm/economy_finance/euro/faqs/spelling_en.pdf

Again, sorry for being a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Sorry about that qz. It seems ze Germans are influencing everysing ve say.

Demetrius wrote:
    Sorry about that qz. It seems ze Germans are influencing everysing ve say.
    ha ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

qz wrote:

nothing wrong with being right

Does the latter part of the above statement not mean it is acceptable to use the plural s's?

This has the effect of reinforcing the s-less plurals, though many advertisers (particularly those in the United Kingdom) prefer the "natural" plurals: euros and cents. (This is in line with ECTS recommendations.)

both are acceptable, the minister was hardly going to use both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

I found a 200 euro note in my department building and I handed it in. The person who claimed it didn't even mail me to thank me, the ****er.

chump wrote:
    Does the latter part of the above statement not mean it is acceptable to use the plural s's?

This has the effect of reinforcing the s-less plurals, though many advertisers (particularly those in the United Kingdom) prefer the "natural" plurals: euros and cents. (This is in line with ECTS recommendations.)

both are acceptable, the minister was hardly going to use both

The key term there is "prefer". It doesn't neceassarily mean that it's the correct form, it's more colloquial.

Nonsense qz, both are correct, sure even on the link you provided both are listed (under different countries), plus during the introduction of the euro the minister and other wise folk were in the press (papers and radio) saying how both were right. You're just being a turd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Liesia

I believe both are correct!!! Had to be to stop arguments :D

chump wrote:
    You're just being a turd.

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

i found 50euro(s?) in the hospital on christmas day-i needed it to pay the insane taxi fare home! though i did ask around had anybody lost anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

the plural is euro. because its being used in so many countries which all pluralise in different ways it was decided that they should just leave it. otherwise we'd be buying our stuff with euroaí in connemara

i found 5 euro on the ground outside the blanchardstown centre. paid for my lunch. made my day :) found a few wallets and phones but i always got them back to the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

Both are NOT correct. Like Commander Vimes said, the plural would be different in all the different languages so to avoid confusion the ECB decided to use the same word for singular and plural.

I seem to lose a lot more money than I find :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Isn't cent short for precent? Say precents or cents doesn't make cents (sense), do you see?

Anyway.. I once found a wallet with €100 in it. It was just lying there in some guys pocket...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

Found fifty euro in the door of the Gate Cinema in Cork. Went straight to the Brog and bought drinks for my friends. So sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I found over ten grand. It was in my bank account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Found a wallet once, looked up the name on the Laser Card in the phone book but found nothing. Luckily the girl had a doctor's receipt in there with her address on it. Found £20 cash once, was the best thing that ever happened in my life up until that point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

I often find money on dancefloors, as I tend to look on the ground when dancing. Its usually just coins, but I've found the odd fiver. I once found twenty euro in Whelans, and then five minutes later I found another twenty in a different spot. I kept those. That same night, I found a cloakroom ticket. That I gave to the guy at the cloakroom, and I explained that I found it and that someone would be pleading that they lost their coat. Taking money i one thing; no way would I take some randomers jacket.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Found or "found"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

Isn't cent short for precent? Say precents or cents doesn't make cents (sense), do you see?
    :confused: Eh, OK.

Officially the unit is eurocent - because in french cent means a hundred. In practice the french probably still say centime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Found fifty just lying on O'Connell Street. The streets of Dublin are paved with gold!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I was walking behind a lady in Dunnes about 3 months ago, she dropped a roll of 20's (guesstimate about 200euro) from her pocket as she pushed her freind in a wheel-chair, I lifted it and tapped her on the shoulder, she nearly went into shock when when I handed them to her *warm feeling inside*

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I found £200 (punts) in the back of a taxi years ago... I was flat broke at the time.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

qz wrote:
    http://evertype.com/standards/euro/cox.html

Talliesin wrote:
    Thats it please, no more posts about Euro/s. Iesus Christ, Ill be watching mw spelin frome now one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Sparks400 wrote:
    I was walking behind a lady in Dunnes about 3 months ago, she dropped a roll of 20's (guesstimate about 200euro) from her pocket as she pushed her freind in a wheel-chair, I lifted it and tapped her on the shoulder, she nearly went into shock when when I handed them to her *warm feeling inside*

similar thing happened to me the other day only i was on the other side of it.the ring i got for my gf for christmas (270 euro) had just come back from resizing and i had it in a little bag. went into a shop and put it down on the counter so i could read the catalogue. then i walked out without the feckin thing. i realised after about two minutes and ran back, nearly getting knocked down by a car because i ran through a zebra crossing. got back to the shop and basically pushed some woman out of where i was standing so i could see if it was there. turns out someone had handed it in. i shouldn't be trusted with nice things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

qz wrote:

Feck sake... there's always one isn't there...

Are you a member of the PC Brigade too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Found €20 in the underground carpark at work one morning

Buzzed myself into the building and was just thinking "now where's the nearest chocolate vending machine" when some guy came bounding down the stairs - he was really flustered.

I said "Hey, have you lost something ?" and he replied "20 quid". I just gave him the 20 out of my pocket, felt sorry for him, big unhappy head on him.

I should have asked for a finder's fee - or a packet of Maltesers.

franksm wrote:
    Found €20 in the underground carpark at work one morning

Buzzed myself into the building and was just thinking "now where's the nearest chocolate vending machine" when some guy came bounding down the stairs - he was really flustered.

I said "Hey, have you lost something ?" and he replied "20 quid". I just gave him the 20 out of my pocket, felt sorry for him, big unhappy head on him.

I should have asked for a finder's fee - or a packet of Maltesers.
    Ah yes but I bet you at least got a warm fuzzy feeling inside when he was reunited with his money.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

found two wallets in my life, both with several hundred in them, credit cards etc, got them back to the people though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

£60 years ago, when that was more than a kebab and a taxi fare. Around 15 years ago when money was money. I think I bought a pair of Nike runners and something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

found two wallets in my life, both with several hundred in them, credit cards etc, got them back to the people though.

Friendlier than your average lesbian

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭jptk

joejoem wrote:
    Friendlier than your average lesbian

.........I dont get it?
    I found 20 euro in a newsagents, then bought 60 smokes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I found €100 in Basil airport - just handed it to the girl on the desk...much to my later annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

started a new job in a pub about three weeks ago. the third night working there i found €200 in 50's while sweeping up. didi the honest (i.e. keep my job) thing and handed them in. lady who lost it came back and i got €50 out of it...

This is reminding me of "My Name is Earl"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I found £500 in Trabolgan about 14 years ago!

Nightwish wrote:
    I found £500 in Trabolgan about 14 years ago!
    Did you keep it or did you find the person it belonged to? (Possibly a stupid question)