Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EuroMillions up to 125m euro. What would you do?

• 16-01-2006 1:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭

It's coming up people!!!!

What would you do. Would you tell anyone, try to stay anonymous?

What would be the first thing you'd buy? I'd buy a load of drink, buy about 20 good DVDs, a load of food, get the friends round with more drink and ahem, maybe more... And just stay in for the night planning my future!!!

Long term: buy a mansion down in West Cork and one of those expensive apartments in Cork City Centre.. Also, I'd buy a really cool car, An Aston Martin Vanquish and close down HMV for a day to spend a few grand.

Then after that, never work a day in your life ever again. Travel all over the world and come home to your nice mansion before jetting off again. Buy a whole new wardrobe of the best clothes and set up a mammoth home entertainment system.... Oh Yeah!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Atrocity wrote:
    What would you do. Would you tell anyone, try to stay anonymous?

I wouldnt want all that tbh. Just enough to set myself up homewise a new car, set up my own business, sort all my family out and pay the rest of their mortgages, those who dont have houses in the family i'd pay for and give the rest to assorted charities, starting with med research.
    Too much money can ruin you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

I'd go to Zaytoon and buy a kebab. Mmmm kebab.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Id buy a week in bed with Shock Treatment followed by the best medical care money can buy that Id need after said week.

*runs*

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Id buy a week in bed with Shock Treatment followed by the best medical care money can buy that Id need after said week.
    *runs*

lmfao in the words of Bros "I owe you nothing"
    now who has the last laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

Oh I'd like that one ;) Wow!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭embraer170

Definitely anonymous.

Buy an Ibook, move into a new apartment and hire a secretary ... right now I'm happy with the rest (though I bet that would change quickly with x money to my name)

IvaBigWun wrote:
    Id buy a week in bed with Shock Treatment
    A win at the bingo would get you that :p

:eek: is my back hurting your knife :(

lmfao in the words of Bros "I owe you nothing"
    now who has the last laugh :D

Edit:

Emmmmm ....... I love my brick?

*runs*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Anon, without a doubt.
    I'd give a fair chunk to my family and close friends, buy a house I have my eye on in Dublin, get a few holiday homes and probably eventually set up some companies.
    I'd want to have a career though, I wouldn't quit college but once I finished I'd have a more relaxed experience job hunting!

I'd hire Eddie Hobbs as my personal assistant. Not just finances, he'd cook and model underwear for me as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

Hehe!!

Man, you don't need 125million to watch a few DVDs!
    I've thought about this many, many times...

I'd buy Eddie Irvine's gaff in Dalkey, then knock it down - Just cos i can! :p
    I'd ship an Eygptian pyramid over, on my new CRUISESHIP of course (Which would have a diamond encrusted toiletbowl).

I'd go kinda crazy on cocain, and nice lookin Page 3 models! I'd donate some to Rehab, and ask them to keep a bed for me!! :p

I'd buy this car... 01large.jpg
    And a tuxedo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

<Snip Snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

I would buy my local soccer team Dundalk Fc and make them the chelsea of the eircom league!

Man, you don't need 125million to watch a few DVDs!
    I've thought about this many, many times...

that would just be the first nite, before I'd collected the money. Put all that on the credit card and have a great party. Then you get thinking about what you're really gonna do!!

Atrocity wrote:
    I'd hire Eddie Hobbs as my personal assistant. Not just finances, he'd cook and model underwear for me as well

lmao

what an image ;)

Sarge wrote:
    I would buy my local soccer team Dundalk Fc and make them the chelsea of the eircom league!

pffft thats like renovating the titanic mate. your money :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

if I won I would set myself up, nothing too fancy, help out any of my family/friends and donate the rest to charities of my choice (easier said than done, I know) but at the end of the day, you can't take fame and fortune with you, only your conscience, and money ruins you, as already stated. I don't care how much you say you wouldn't change, you would! I mean I could say I would do x shots of heroin and then be able to drop it like a cheap hat, not a chance, boyo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'd eat my own head.

pay R.T.E. to take Stew and Shortland Street off the air and replace them with Weird Science and Italian Stripping Housewives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

pffft thats like renovating the titanic mate. your money :rolleyes:

Its how i would get my fun in fairness , i wouldnt give any of it to charity i would spend it all on family friends and my football club!

Atrocity wrote:
    pay R.T.E. to take Stew and Shortland Street off the air and replace them with Weird Science and Italian Stripping Housewives

Id do something similar except Id have Ann Doyle naked doing laps of the studio chasing after Bosco and giggling like a school girl all the way.

Just cos.

I'd pay RTE to hire some of the naked news girls instead of Ann Doyle and Co.

pay a gangster to kneecap Gay Byrne

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Dye my hair blonde and move to Limerick :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Buy an Island beside Marlon Brandos and live over there in the sun on the beach. After 6 months Id get lonely, sell up and move to the mainland somewhere and live inbetween there (in my beach house) and Ireland. I'd have a few houses in other countries too, property all over the world rented out but available whenever I wanted to stay there. Id buy an apartment in the palms or the globe in Dubai aswell of course, an apartment in Sydney Harbour, an apartment in Manhatten and a few others I'm sure.

Wow, spending imaginary money takes it out of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Two words.....Aston Martin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I'd buy boards.ie and replace it with an image of me wiping my arse with a €500 note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Comfortable shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I would have to halve it with my BF, so I would get 62.5million
    So, out of that I would give my folks 10million, I would give my my brother and sisters 5million each, so thats 25million gone.
    I would give 5 million to the CRC charity. 30 Million Gone
    I would give me best friend a million. 31 million gone
    I would buy a house/appartment in Dublin, Portarlington (because I have friends there), Galway, France, Spain, Algarve, Cyprus, Crete, New York, bulgaria, and maybe some other countries. Say 4 million for all that, so thats 35million gone.
    I would stick 5 million in investments schemes. - 40 million gone.
    I would buy a car, and shop till I exploded buying all the things I have ever dreamed of, so another million for that - thats 41 million gone.
    Mmmm, I would start up my own event management business, so I would invest 2 million in that.
    I would buy my own Nightclub, do it up and market it like fook, so say another 5million there - thats 48million gone.
    Mmm, I guess I would live incredibly comfortably off the rest of it, and maybe give a bit more to charity, and my family.

I would have to halve it with my BF

Do you think thats wise? Kelly Brook herself might just give him a second glance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Do you think thats wise? Kelly Brook herself might just give him a second glance :D
    Ha ha ha, you might be onto something there :D

ya see? have to think on girl. gotta keep the situ under contol.
    Send him off to work and all, with nothing but a kiss and his sambos in tin-foil, while you go off shopping for clothes and shoes go lunching blah blah blah ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Buy a big farm and grow turnips.

on second thoughts I would buy an island off the coast of Ireland and re-name it Craggy Island, I'd have to cut off the west side tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

I'd invest in some long term, high yield bond and wait for an extremely rainy day ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭liamskater

Id buy a house in rural dublin :D and build a massive indoor skatepark!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boardy

Sorry lads and lassies. No need to post anymore 'cause I just bought the winning ticket today.

I only buy lottery tickets when the prize exceeds 100 Million, and I gave the last ticket I bought to a blond girl in Limerick who seemed down in her luck. She did send me back a thank you card and a couple of scratch cards after she won (God Bless her).

Anyhow. I've decided that I am going to give all of it away, but in an unusual way. Remember, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory? Well, I am going to do something similar and hundreds of lucky recipients will receive a gold ticket in a Mars Bar. I will probably have to spend 100 Mil on marketing, but who cares .... it's for a good cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I'd give everyone in the family a couple of mil in the hope that they would buzz off and give me some peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

move to a far off land

does anyone know how much interest you would earn daily if you put 125 million into a current account? You could easily live off the interest day to day. I wouldn't bother investing the money in a savings account or anything like that. What would be the point? Invest it so you could make another million or two? 125m would be more than enough for anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Give some to charities
    Buy couple wicked cars
    buy some properties all over the world
    invest some (Dolores Mc Namara is getting something like 8grand interest a day on hers!)
    give couple mil to the parents/GF/friends
    buy shares in Man Utd and Celtic
    Buy few more cars

Seriously the first thing I would do is get the money out of Ireland and into a tax haven. Monaco would be nice.
    I'll figure out what do do with it after I've made sure no grasping taxman could get his greasy paws on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

isnt it tax free anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

First, I'd defo go anon.

I hav a mate in GMIT, another in Sligo and a few down here in Carlow. I'd get a helicopter to turn up at me mate in Galways gaf, and mate in sligo and fly them back to dublin wit just their passport. get the boys from c-c-c-carlow up to dublin too and fly them all to Vegas for a week or so, buying them all tuxes and clothes n such. after that week or so, i'd get down to sum proper business.

Mmove to Monaco and class that as my primary home. It costs 5k a day to moor ur yacht in the harbour so the interest cud pay for that. oh ye and i'd buy a yacht! lol

then i'd also give me mates some. one of the boys is engaged so i'd buy him a gaf and giv him some spending money, same with the others. i'd make sure they;re all in no danger of bankruptcy anyway. i'd also sort out me immediate family by buyin them gafs, aswell as sending anonymous cheques to my aunts uncles cousins and grandparents stating "A family member has come into money and would like you to accept this cheque for xxx amount".

then i'd get a personal trainer coz i'll need one after all the celebrating. i'd get me drivers licence and buy a piece of **** car and do it up like a liitle boy racer until im good enuff at drivin to buy a Bugatti Veyron.

then i'd roide half of europe and take it easy in monaco wit the boys.

sorted.

The initial prize money is.
    All earned interest or income from shares, investments etc will be nailed big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

id buy 120,000,000euros worth of lotto tickets :)

Ri_Nollaig wrote:
    id buy 120,000,000euros worth of lotto tickets :)
    LOL! about 100 of them are statistically winners, so basically, if you shared them among different lotto's, you would make your money back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

The_B_Man wrote:
    First, I'd defo go anon.

Mmove to Monaco and class that as my primary home. It costs 5k a day to moor ur yacht in the harbour so the interest cud pay for that. oh ye and i'd buy a yacht! lol

... enuff at drivin to buy a Bugatti Veyron.

sorted.
    You so want to be me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

u wish. they're sound ideas. anyone wud want them. plus theres no way u'd be as generous as me with friends! ;)

oh and dont worry, u'd get ur Audi TT.