Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you left or right handed?

• 14-01-2006 8:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭

Just want to know?

As for me im Right handed but I can use both feet.

Which are you? 95 votes

Right Handed/Right Footed
    0%
    Left Handed/Right Footed
    77%
    StephengandalfDaveazezilDEmeant0rScarinaekaimeraGoodshapeChinafootking_of_inismacstormkeeperRobertFosterCrucifixtuxyBlistermannetwhizkidDampsquidFast_Moversteviecmodular 74 votes
    Right Handed/Left Footed
    11%
    Creamy GoodnessShamoDrag00n79cregserIDMimpr0vSquirrelstrassenwolfbutters scotchTheVanGinger83 11 votes
    Left Handed/Left Footed
    10%
    omb0wyn5ehpij9SparkydceireliamskatercaesarLundiMardistag39NoDayBut2Daydédéthewools 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Left Handed/Left Footed
    eamoss wrote:
    Just want to know?

whats this about exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

total lefty myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Left Handed/Right Footed
    im right handed, but can use both feet playing soccer. Used to be just righty all the way, but over the years my left has grown stronger and is nearly, if not already, stronger than my right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭liamskater

Left Handed/Left Footed
    right hand left foot

county wrote:
    total lefty myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

Right Handed/Left Footed
    I'm fecked up is what I am:

writing - left handed
    guitar - right
    snooker - left
    golf - right
    baseball - left
    tennis - mainly right
    football - mainly right
    DIY - don't know, keep swapping
    computers - right (out of convenience)
    choking the chicken - either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

I write with my left hand, but play things like golf and tennis with my left hand. No idea why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

cregser wrote:

fair play,what a guy:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Right Handed/Left Footed
    Left handed and primarily right footed but can kick well enough with the left to be a left-corner back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Shamo

Right Handed/Left Footed
    cregser wrote:

writing - left handed
    guitar - right
    snooker - left
    golf - right
    baseball - left
    tennis - mainly right
    football - mainly right
    DIY - don't know, keep swapping
    computers - right (out of convenience)

Pretty much the same as you there apart from right handed when playing baseball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Left Handed/Right Footed
    I'm Right Handed, but my Left arm is stronger, than my right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

Right Handed/Left Footed
    I write with my left hand, but do most other things with my right. I was originally left footed, but got trained out of that, so am now right footed, since I've given up football my left has being getting better. Just mess about with a ball and use both feet so it's working for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Left Handed/Left Footed
    Right-handed for writing and for everything else.

I put "left-footed".. I'm not sure exactly, but I find myself putting on my left shoe first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

complete leftist :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Am left-handed but play golf right-handed. Probably because the first golf clubs I had were right-handed and I adapted.

Better off my right side in hurling also.

Shamo wrote:
    Pretty much the same as you there apart from right handed when playing baseball!

Played a few practice games of baseball years ago in secondary school. Where are you? Are there baseball clubs in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Right Handed/Left Footed
    everything left handed bar using the mouse and playing guitar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Left Handed/Right Footed
    im right handed but play golf, hurling, baseball on my left hand side..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

right handed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Ambigious Thread Title Unambiguated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Left Handed/Right Footed
    Right footed completely, but im stronger and more defined with my left hand despite using my right hand out of habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭twentycentshift

left handed.
    i play guitar right handed, but i play drums left handed/footed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Mostly, I use the third tentacle from the right.

But on special occasions, the fourth. ;-) :€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭elurhs

I'm a total lefty for everything bar using the mouse, cos that's the way I first learned it.

I take an interest in this cos I'm a lefty so here are a few lefty facts:

Sinister comes from the latin word "sinistre" meaning left-handed.
    Approximately 9% of people are left handed.
    Medieval spiral staircases usually spiral to the right as you go up, giving the predominantly right handed defenders room to swing their swords at the disadvantaged attackers, who would have to swing their swords left handed.
    Scientists reckon lefties prospered during times of war, as most people expect to be attacked using the right hand and not the left.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

writing - left handed
    guitar/bass - right
    snooker - left
    golf - right
    tennis - left
    football - mainly left

elurhs wrote:
    I'm a total lefty for everything bar using the mouse, cos that's the way I first learned it.

I take an interest in this cos I'm a lefty so here are a few lefty facts:

Sinister comes from the latin word "sinistre" meaning left-handed.
    Medieval spiral staircases usually spiral to the right as you go up, giving the predominantly right handed defenders room to swing their swords at the disadvantaged attackers, who would have to swing their swords left handed.
    Scientists reckon lefties prospered during times of war, as most people expect to be attacked using the right hand and not the left.

Maybe so, but when I was interested in joining the FCA I was told that I'd have to shoot right-handed.I've a fair bit of experience of shooting from being in gun clubs but I wouldn't be at all confident firing right-handed.

You've very interesting points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Left Handed/Right Footed
    elurhs wrote:
    not of the posters so far!
    im right handed, when i was younger i wanted to be a lefty cos i thought they were cool :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Good Question

not of the posters so far!
    im right handed, when i was younger i wanted to be a lefty cos i thought they were cool :rolleyes:

we ARE cool.......(jk)!

Left Handed/Right Footed
    yea sure...ive wised up to 'you lot' at the grand ol age of 19 :D you cant make me feel inferior, i wasted enough years..ahem i mean days wishing i were a lefty....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭elurhs

we ARE cool.......(jk)!

Damn you beat me to it...:D

The 9% is true if you have a big sample and its random. I think a bigger percentage of lefties would be attracted to this post than righties, but maybe I'm just crazy...
    I passed the odd lecture counting the amount of lefties in the lecture hall. If you sit at the back its easy cos everyone is writing so you can see what hand they use. It usually came out at 10%. What an exciting life I lead.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Left handed.

Is this important?

yea sure...ive wised up to 'you lot' at the grand ol age of 19 :D you cant make me feel inferior, i wasted enough years..ahem i mean days wishing i were a lefty....

yeah, you're right. we lefties are in such a minority we have to try to be cool to overocme our insecurities.....but we are kind of smart and we do show off a lot.......for what that's worth.......

embee wrote:
    Left handed.

Is this important?

no...

:cool:

Left Handed/Right Footed
    you were the one grouping you together as 'cool' people :eek: :D
    i just said that there seemed to be more than 9% of the posters (not the voters) who were left handed, but then as someone said, it would make sence that they would actually post..if that makes sence (?) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Left Handed/Right Footed
    right handed right footed

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Right handed, but play flute and most instruments with left hand.

Same with forks and knifes, I use them the "wrong" way around.

Wonder what it all means...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭dédé

Left Handed/Left Footed
    Your choices are not complete. I voted right handed left footed but I'm actually right/left handed and right/left footed! It was very handy when I broke my arm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Left Handed/Left Footed
    right handed, left footed i am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

Left Handed/Right Footed
    Right handed and right footed but I do some things, like deal cards with my left. :confused:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Right handed & Right footed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Left Handed/Left Footed
    I'm right handed and left footed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

im an out and out lefty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

eamoss wrote:
    To do what precisely? Make a sandwhich ? :D

You should add ambidexterous to the poll.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Left Handed/Right Footed
    I am both right handed and right footed. Why you want to know that is beyond me. I barely want to know.