Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annacotty, your views

• 12-01-2006 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭

Heya people,

I used to live in Annacotty and have since moved on due to an increasing about of scumbags frequenting the area.
    20 of them had a bloody boxing match in the carpark the other night before getting moved on by the Gardai.
    Was it always like this? I only was there for 6 months or so but it was fine for a while after I moved in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭sarah lk

where did this boxing match happen?also what other things have you seen going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Annacotty used have a very good reputation, pity to see going downhill, hopefully it's a temporary thing. Has anyone else noticed it's nearly in the city now? Back 10 years ago it was surronded by nothing but farms etc, now it looks like it's about to swallowed by the suburbs. Good to see coherent planned development eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

I believe there's a few undesirable families who moved into the area in the last while. This is according to an ex-garda I know who had dealings with some of them in the past. A current Garda I know says he's spending quite a bit of time in the area at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

sarah lk wrote:
    where did this boxing match happen?also what other things have you seen going on

This was last week. About 8pm in the car park area to the left as you pass under the arch from the mill bar side.
    Those feckers on the mopeds that burn around the area were involved in that one.

Went on for about 30 mins until the Gardai arrived.

I have heard scumbags outside my place discussing breaking into it. They wimped out when I turned the light on.
    Car windows broken, several cars have been stolen in the estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

Sarah .... if your going over there dress for the occassion and take your Mob..... :p

k37tqp.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Sunn

all those people need better things to do.. it infuriates me people acting like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

I had a dodgy moment walking home from a house party in the Annacotty region, outside that shop vivo I nearly had my phone stolen, but was brave and ran away, amazing seeing as I was blind drunk at the time.

It could be worse, you could live in ballinacurra!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Sunn

lol.. ballincurra isnt that bad..

it could be worse running away though.. they might recognise you the next time and feel your an "easy" target..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

They probably thought I was a easy target seeing as I was walking sideways, I only ran away cause I was drunk, if I had been sober I would have taken them :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Carter76

Hi Folks,
    Just wondering about this topic and whether people have seen any change in the last few months. Reason being is that I'm thinking about moving to Annacotty and was looking at the Riverbank estate as there's a few for sale at the mo. (Maybe a few too many though, I'm thinking!)

I've heard a few stories about "undesirables" living in the estate but nothing concrete!

Any views would be appreciated.

Carter76 wrote:
    Hi Folks,
    Just wondering about this topic and whether people have seen any change in the last few months. Reason being is that I'm thinking about moving to Annacotty and was looking at the Riverbank estate as there's a few for sale at the mo. (Maybe a few too many though, I'm thinking!)

I've heard a few stories about "undesirables" living in the estate but nothing concrete!

Any views would be appreciated.

Salmon Weir was fine, all the scumbags used to come over from Riverbank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

ya same thing has happened to caherconlish a lot of kn**kers from the city (excuse my language but thats the best way to describe them) moved there and they place is getting really big and fairly rough
    a lot of people who are orignally from caherconlish (still living there) go to school with me in Hospital and even they say there town has gone to the sh**s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

my family lived there for two years, me for one (salmon weir to be precise) and we never had any problem with dodgy feckers. not to say that they werent there, we just never had crap from them. theyre everywhere so if you were to not move into an area because of it you'd never find somewhere to live!i used to walk through the estates to salmon weir (the back way i spose it is..) at night and only ever once felt unsafe. there are the odd gatherings of teenagers but most of them are castletroy college kids and they are harmless.
    there are a lot of families in salmon weir and close by the river in general and they show no signs of moving so they must feel ok bringing up their kids there?

i liked living down that way but the only bad thing is that its a bit of a struggle to get home on public transport..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

****e..definitely not buying a house now in annacotty...if you look at all the big towns in county limerick you'll see a lot of scumbags in each of them..where I'm originally from in east lim is full of scumbags now..looks like the city is deporting all the undesirables to the county areas..the good thing is that the city centre is a lot safer now than it was 10/15 years ago...

Salmon Weir itself is great, I just wish they never put in the open green area linking it to Riverbank. If there was a wall there then there would have been no problem.
    I dont know how it is now, I have been out of there since the beginning of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 munster65

been here in salmon weir for 8 yrs ,, great place to live , all families ,, loads of young kids , and right of entry to castletroy college as well , house prices are still good value , around 340 for a 4 bed . no rough element here in salmon weir , and the wall between riverbank and salmon weir is suposed to be blocked up , as it was only opened for the building in riverbank ...

river bank is a no go area ,, too rough:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 1234556789

munster65 wrote:
    been here in salmon weir for 8 yrs ,, great place to live , all families ,, loads of young kids , and right of entry to castletroy college as well , house prices are still good value , around 340 for a 4 bed . no rough element here in salmon weir , and the wall between riverbank and salmon weir is suposed to be blocked up , as it was only opened for the building in riverbank ...

river bank is a no go area ,, too rough:)

Hi Munster65,

I've been living in Riverbank for the last two years and I find your comments offensive. If you want to make WILD comments about the area, I strongly suggest that you back them up!!

Regards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭theblackstuff

1234556789 wrote:
    Hi Munster65,

I've been living in Riverbank for the last two years and I find your comments offensive. If you want to make WILD comments about the area, I strongly suggest that you back them up!!

Regards.

i echo the above comment

i have lived in Riverbank for 5 years, and havent had any problems........
    this holier than thou attitude about salmon weir is a bit much....
    every estate has its problems and to say otherwise your fooling yourselves..

limerick people are quick to defend their city when it is slagged off by outsiders but looking at this thread some of these outsiders would think annacotty was as bad as any other place and that riverbank was second only to moyross......... lads cop on

what about a bit of positivity about annacotty..
    copper and spice one of the best restraunts about
    the black swan a great pub
    proximity to the city and the country
    nearby ammenities such as the cinema and superquinn..
    i could go on

as for the green area between the two estates,
    a concrete footpath has been put down.......
    its part of the old right of way the fisherman have for the river
    interrupted only by those blasted apartments built right up to the river edge...
    (but thats a different story)

although if you would prefer a 10ft high wall with barbed wire on it right down into the river .......

1234556789 wrote:
    Hi Munster65,

Regards.

I hardly think they are wild. Its his opinion. I moved out because of the scummers coming over from riverbank, so I hardly think anything needs backing up.