Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nadi or surrounding islands ??

• 09-01-2006 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

Going to Fiji on my way to Oz next month. From what I've heard it's best to get off the mainland but I wont have much time (only 2-3 days) and prefer to stay near the airport I will be flying out of. Has anyone stayed around Nadi and is it that bad ? Any good points ? I wont be looking to do the whole scuba-diving/tour thing, maybe just a bit of snorkelling. Any ideas on where to stay or sites for cheap accom. ? I don't need flight details and don't want to do a packaged deal.
    Any advice appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

My best friend and her boyfriend went to Fiji last year to do scuba diving, they had a blast. I can find out from them where they stayed, taking into consideration that you won't be there that long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

That would be great, cuz I don't have a clue ! Thanks a mil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

Ok, this is the email I just got back from my friend....

"We did stay near Nadi. But there is no where to snorkel in that area (no
    beaches, just mud flats).

His best bet is to do a day trip from Denaru marina out to the islands.
    They are really good and he will get to snorkel as some beautiful reefs
    and see the prettier side of Fiji.

Nadi is not a very pretty area, it's a rural area and there is a lot of
    poverty (the mountains are beautiful though, he should go to the garden
    of the sleeping giant)."

Sorry, I cant be more help regarding accommodation etc, but I sussed out this link, hope it helps

http://www.hostels.com/en/hosteldetails.php/HostelNumber.1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

I did the same thing back in July 2003, was en route to Oz, also stopped in LA for a couple of days initially which was interesting too

anyway, we arrived in Nadi very early in the morning, had nothing booked but managed to book a place

wew were trying to go to one of the most popular island resorts which is called Beachcomber island www.beachcomberfiji.com because we were meeting friends there but ended up going to a diffferent place called (believe it or not) Robinson Crusoe island (www.robinsoncrusoeislandfiji.com) which was a bit newer and smaller

anyway, we loved both places, maybe even preferred robinson crusoe (oh yeah, after 3 nights we ended up getting a place on Beachcomber so we went there to meet our friends for the 2nd 3 nights)
    Robinson Crusoe was less developed, no electricity after 10pm, 1 bucket of cold water for a shower per day, but, it was great, and good craic.

if you don't have much time you can go there on a day trip (and am sure the same is for Beachcomber). I didn't snorkel unfortunately but as far as I can remember you could do all of that stuff from both islands, it'll all be on their websites. It depends what you are looking for, for us we were 3 lads, looking to take it easy but also have the craic before arriving in Australia to start straight into our jobs the following week, so it was perfect for us

on the last night we stayed in Nadi Bay hotel I think which is grand but we were basically only there cos we had to get an early flight. Nadi is interesting for a half day or so to wander around but not much to stay there for I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭lazygit

My self and the GF stayed on Beachcomber aswell for 4 nights http://www.beachcomberfiji.com/ we rented one of the beech huts (Bure ) , it had a double and single bed, bathroom, shower etc.. we loved every min of it and were sad to leave, i think its about 2hrs from the airport, we spent the last night on Nadi at an airport near the hotel ( about 5mins from it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

Cool, thanks for the info. will check it out :)