Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traditional Martial Arts

• 09-01-2006 2:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭

Anyone intrested in tradional Ninpo (not ninjutsu), Ju Jutsu, Karate and tradional weapons training, please contact;
    Tony on 087 243 2572 or
    Dave on 086 073 8653

We run classes every day and beginners are always welcome. There are two dojos. One in Lucan (between the foxhunter and Superquinn) and the other at Mountjoy Square, city centre.
    We have no glory or trophies to offer you, just hard work. But you will learn true martial arts and have a direct link to a living grand master in Japan.

We hope to see you on the mats

Dave Gordon
    Ryoshin Dojo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Would this be genbukan ? And if so where you at the japan taikai ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭ninjawitatitude

Yes it would. And yes I was. Stayed on for a month afterward too. Fantastic. Words can not describe. Took twenty rolls of film. Will have them as a bit torrent soon.

Dave Gordon
    Ryoshin Dojo

Would you be one of these four likely lads ?

ninja_sm.jpg

I would remind you that one samurai took out three of these boyo before a cowardly attack from behind killed him. Thats aikido vs ninpo :p

It might be nice to anctually provide a bit of info as well:

The offical genbukan site is http://www.genbukan.com
    There is irish site but its a bit *ahem* bare: http://www.genbukan.ie

Additionally for those of you on the northside there is another genbukan dojo which has just opened in the raheny area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

there's a guy teaching it in the hall i train in also (the glen cork).

i trained with a guy that was from the uk who was one of the first instructors of the style here!! not all that sure of his name though??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

Bare is not the word chief.

What kind of emphasis do you place on the beliefs in Ninpo during training Ninja?

What are these "secret scrolls" that have been "veiled in darkness through history"? I tried to read it through but I couldn't figure it out from the site.

Thanks,
    Cabelo

Firstly; Hellfire. Lol. Nice pic. I have three rolls from Edo wonderland. Will be ready to share soon enough. Which dojo are you from? I'm guessing Sanzen. Also, who is teaching in Raheny? I know Brian Duffy has started a Ninpo class in the school on Griffith Avenue. (Monday nights) but wasn't aware that there was a class in raheny.
    Secondly; Cabelo, Not sure what you mean by your first remark. The teachings of Ninpo are the essence of the ninja but I'm not sure that's what you mean. Feel free to private message me if you like. Also, the scrolls that are mentioned would be the densho (kind of like an instruction manual) of the traditional ryu-ha, and of Amatsu Tatara which is the oldest known martial arts scroll (around 2000 years, possibly more but unverifiable). Tanemura Sensei is the first Soke (Grand Master) to share these teachings with non-Japanese students.
    And finally; Pma, there are three schools in Cork. Two in city centre and one in Blarney. Details are on the website.

Hope this helps.

Dave Gordon
    Ryoshin Dojo

Pma, there are three schools in Cork. Two in city centre and one in Blarney. Details are on the website.
    I know there are!

There is one on the Tuesday nights in the hall I teach in :D

From looking at the site I see that it was Martin I trained with all those years ago! The Kung Fu school I was with at the time had him do a seminar! WE also had Kung Fu Korner and Martin came in alot at the time!! Sound bloke!!

opps got my geography off it is griffith avenue I was thinking off.

Careful Cabelo or this will be u, this is ninja stuff.
    Cabelo_sm.jpg

I for one will be watching the shadows on the way home tonight.

I really like this moive...

http://www.genbukan.ie/DakenTaijutsu1.mpeg

It shows a really nice Nerve Point strike at the end!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

pma-ire wrote:
    From looking at the site I see that it was Martin I trained with all those years ago! The Kung Fu school I was with at the time had him do a seminar! WE also had Kung Fu Korner and Martin came in alot at the time!! Sound bloke!!

Paul,
    I was at that seminar, and from what i remember, he was far from sound, very far infact. We were doing a stick fighting thing where you had to hit your opponent on the wrist(to simulate a cut with a sword). He went out and did a demo on Shane, and he battered the wrist off him, left his hand black and blue for weeks. Might i add Shane and myself were only 15 at the time, so hadnt the cop on to know how stupid this was.

Also, when we broke for lunch, one of his students had to stay in a kneeling position next to the SPECIAL scroll to guard it:D I find it comical looking back on crap like that. Admittedly i loved all that stuff when i was younger, SPECIAL SCROLLS, SECRET MOVES, HIGH GRADE KATAS, DEATH TOUCHES:eek: . In fairness though once you reach 16/17 you have to stop playing make believe, and either quit or go learn something good

Well thats my 2 cents, feel free to quote the hell out of it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

opps got my geography off it is griffith avenue I was thinking off.

Careful Cabelo or this will be u, this is ninja stuff.
    Cabelo_sm.jpg

I for one will be watching the shadows on the way home tonight.

It's cool Rev, I did Ninjutsu for a bit mysel'... I can fend off those sprightly wee mans if it means losing my heid.

I must say though, in my time doing Ninjutsu I never heard tell of scrolls or anything. It all sounds a little "Complete the quest and use the scrolls to unlock power!" to me. I don't mean to offend but sin é.

Also, re: the video... anyone else not entirely convinced? Maybe I'm wrong, I'm not in the game as long as the rest of the lads.

..posted same thing twice (duh)

Andrew_M wrote:
    Paul,
    I was at that seminar, and from what i remember, he was far from sound, very far infact. We were doing a stick fighting thing where you had to hit your opponent on the wrist(to simulate a cut with a sword). He went out and did a demo on Shane, and he battered the wrist off him, left his hand black and blue for weeks. Might i add Shane and myself were only 15 at the time, so hadnt the cop on to know how stupid this was.

Also, when we broke for lunch, one of his students had to stay in a kneeling position next to the SPECIAL scroll to guard it:D I find it comical looking back on crap like that. Admittedly i loved all that stuff when i was younger, SPECIAL SCROLLS, SECRET MOVES, HIGH GRADE KATAS, DEATH TOUCHES:eek: . In fairness though once you reach 16/17 you have to stop playing make believe, and either quit or go learn something good

Well thats my 2 cents, feel free to quote the hell out of it:)
    Jees man the only thing I really remember about it was the flips and that stance they went into with the hands held out!

I don't remember what happened to Shane? But that don't mean that it did'int happen!!

I remember the guy was totally different in the seminar than he was calling into the shop though and thats what I'm basing my 'he was sound' comment on.

I really don't remember the student sitting next to the flag either?? But I may have needed those brain cells for more important information at a later date :D

Hey Andrew-M,
    I'm genuinly sorry that your introduction to Genbukan was marred by this experience. For my part I have seen Tanemura Sensei perform Ki Ai Jutsu and knock a guy down with nought but a shout. As for secret moves and so on, I believe every martial art has some variation on this. Let's face it, no one is shown how to kill on day one.

Dave Gordon
    Ryoshin Dojo

Ki Ai Jutsu and knock a guy down with nought but a shout.
    Dave! Dave! Dave!

Ki Ai Jutsu is a jump too far man!!

Hey Paul,
    Sorry, I don't understand. I know it sounds like bollox but I'm sure you'll find plenty of people who have seen this. Anyway, wheter you believe or not is your own business. I know my ass is safe when everything goes crazy.

Dave Gordon
    Ryoshin Dojo

Hey Paul,
    Sorry, I don't understand. I know it sounds like bollox but I'm sure you'll find plenty of people who have seen this. Anyway, wheter you believe or not is your own business. I know my ass is safe when everything goes crazy.

Dave Gordon
    Ryoshin Dojo
    Dave,

I'm a member of Ao Denkou Jitsu which is headed by Prof.Rick Clark 8th dan in Ryu Kyu Kempo (among other stuff). We study such things...

Ki Ai Justu is a show of control by the practioner over the student. As in the student is hyper-reacting to the will (as in hero worship) of the instructor.

Same with no touch KO's and the like. No practicality to the application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

I have to agree with pma-ire. All this no touch KO stuff is just BS that people use to attract people who dont know any better. George Dillman is another such person who uses these tactics. Whats more, word has it that Dillman has never KO'd a sceptic. This topic has been discussed alot on Yahoo and what people who actually train in real martial arts agreed on was...if you believe that you are going to be knocked out so much, in the end its actually your own mind that knocks itself out as opposed to what the other guy does to you. I believe that what ever is contained in any secret scrolls will not be revealed to anyone. And will certainly not be taught to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

No touch knock out's are false. Fake. Impossible. Not feasible. BS. I'll give 500 euro to anyone who proves me wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

I have seen.......knock a guy down with nought but a shout.

Of course you have, would you like to buy some magic beans?

Secret Scrolls? LOL

I know my ass is safe when everything goes crazy.

Good for you

pma-ire wrote:
    Jees man the only thing I really remember about it was the flips and that stance they went into with the hands held out!

I don't remember what happened to Shane? But that don't mean that it did'int happen!!

Well paul i remember it, was talking to Shane earlier and he remembers it too, so yep in my book that means it happend. As for doing flips, impressive gymnastics:eek:

Had a look at that video aswell:p Ah come on, you're a grown man, you can't actually believe that stuff will work in a fight.

Dont mean this as a personal attack either, it just annoyed me when you said he was sound...peace:cool:

Andrew_M wrote:
    Well paul i remember it, was talking to Shane earlier and he remembers it too, so yep in my book that means it happend.
    I did'int mean to make it look like it did not happen bud! I really don't remember much of what we done at that seminar??
    Andrew_M wrote:
    As for doing flips, impressive gymnastics:eek:
    I totally agree! I don't his student could do them either at the time??
    Andrew_M wrote:
    Had a look at that video aswell:p Ah come on, you're a grown man, you can't actually believe that stuff will work in a fight.
    Just the last strike was nice! I do think that the uke went down a bit suss though!! But I did like the strike.
    Andrew_M wrote:
    Dont mean this as a personal attack either, it just annoyed me when you said he was sound...peace:cool:
    Nah man! No skin ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Dave Gordon,

Welcome to the boards. Since you wholeheartedly believe in no touch KOs would you like to earn one million dollars....?

James Randi has a one million dollar challenge for this kind of activity

www.randi.org

Colum

pma-ire wrote:
    I do think that the uke went down a bit suss though!!
    The uke did go down since only light contact is made. The purpose of those demonstrations is to show the technique rather than to injure the uke he/she will go down to allow for the completion of the technique where appropriate.

Ah come on lads, this is the real world, that stuff is for kung fu movies and kids. if all those pressure points and no touch KO's worked then the guys doing them world be loaded from fighting in UFC, Pride etc. And anyone who thinks these guys they are too proud or respectable, to enter such a competition, are just believing the crap spouted by these so called untouchables

We've had guys come up training, and try out their pressure points while going for a roll, and i can honestly say ive never been KO'd by a pressure point strike and i havent died 6 months later( well at least i hope not:rolleyes: ) And i wouldnt class myself as any great shakes at stand up or grappling, but guys that believe in that stuff are living in a fairlyland...

Quote away:D

Andrew, I'd agree that a rational thinking person would be just a little bit skeptical of no touch knock outs, but are you saying that there's no such things as pressure points or that there are; but that in a real situation they aren't effective ?

Regardless of pressure points existing I've never seen anyone able to effectively apply a pressure point (in their traditional meaning) in a sparring situation.

EDIT: If anyone feels that they can prove the effectiveness of PPs in a sparring environment I'd be happy to glove up and have a bash at my own risk...

and there traditional use is ? I'm assuming that they aren't used or taught in mma from what you're saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

columok wrote:
    EDIT: If anyone feels that they can prove the effectiveness of PPs in a sparring environment I'd be happy to glove up and have a bash at my own risk...

Okay!

Rev dont you know, anything that isnt taught in MMA doesnt actually work?

lol, just kidding...:p

I've had seen many traditional martial artists sparring, many high ranking, and I've never seen them work tbh.

They aren't taught in MMA schools cause they by and large cant be proven to work. So.... if pressure points work why not use them to KO people in the ring and make some money.

You that thing for opening the guard, where you stick your elbows into their thighs. Is that not using pressure points, or am I missing something?

I wouldnt consider that a pressure point no more than using the forearm saw. Its just digging a sharp elbow into someones muscle rather than a set "meridian" or location. Hardly a precision KO pressure point. Also you dont tap the spot like many Dillman afficianados do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

You that thing for opening the guard, where you stick your elbows into their thighs. Is that not using pressure points, or am I missing something?

old skool judu! doesn't work on anyone with even a small amount of pain tolerence

I believe pressure points do work. Its just people now days dont train enough to be able to use them in sparring and mainly only use them for demos.

Dave,

Would you be willing to validate your claims to us non-believers?

Thanks,

Colum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

We have one pressure point in WingTsun and Escrima. Its called the face. Keep slamming fists, elbows, knees, feet and if you are fighting orcs, sticks, knives and swords into it and you should be ok. :D

Regards,

Michael O'Leary
    www.wingtsun-escrima.ie

Colum, buy me a few drinks next time you're over and I'll show you all the pressure points you want!

Well my last comment was purely based on what Ive seen, and Ive only ever seen PP strikes done in demos on stationary people. I personally dont know any PP strikes, but I do believe that they work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

You dont know any pressure point strikes, but you believe they work??? On what grounds were you persuaded that they work if you dont know any!! That just makes no sense to me.
    Personally..I've had a few guys come and train and talk about pressure points and ask if they can use 'em during a roll ....as of yet I havent been persuaded they work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

pma-ire wrote:

ROFL @ the guy falling on his ass at the end :D:D

I know ninjutsu is an easy target for ridicule and all, but this mpeg looks like something out of a looney tunes cartoon... Maybe this guy just needs some acting lessons?

And what's with the hands being held out at full stretch all about? And the kiais before striking? :confused:

On the subject of pressure points; it depends on what you'd consider a pressure point. Some people will describe PP fighting as jabbing a finger into a crevice under the collarbone designated Lung 5 or whatever. I'd consider a punch in the nose a rough example of using a pressure point. I'd consider the solar plexus, throat, eyes, sack, kneecaps and temples to be good targets.

Im not a little skeptical, im completely skeptical:D Im simply saying that anyone who teaches pressure points to people, claiming that they work(as in a fight situation), is either living in a far off galaxy or just trying to cash in on people that dont know enough to see he's full of crap...

As for saying that people dont train properly these days as an excuse, that is just more blind faith, and i honestly pity any grown man that believes that rubbish

Wake up lads, come out of the rabbit hole,or click your heels together 3 times, "theres no place like home, theres no place like home"...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

Andrew_M wrote:
    Wake up lads, come out of the rabbit hole,or click your heels together 3 times, "theres no place like home, theres no place like home"...:cool:

You better watch your mouth Andrew_M or a ninja might just flip out and kill you without you even knowing. If you doubt me see http://www.realultimatepower.net/

Wear sunglasses least the shine of their suits blinds you !

Ninja's icon_ninja.png

The uke did go down since only light contact is made. The purpose of those demonstrations is to show the technique rather than to injure the uke he/she will go down to allow for the completion of the technique where appropriate.
    I fully understand the situation that the moive was made in! The problem is (and this is even for the moives on my own site) that alot of people don't have faith in the effectiveness of PP's due to the soft presentation of them in action. In actual fact if the uke was hit on or near the points being struck by the "blocks" of the tori then the reaction would be evident.
    Regardless of pressure points existing I've never seen anyone able to effectively apply a pressure point (in their traditional meaning) in a sparring situation.
    Colum, Could you tell me what you mean by "traditional" in this context so I can maybe reply??
    I wouldnt consider that a pressure point no more than using the forearm saw. Its just digging a sharp elbow into someones muscle rather than a set "meridian" or location.
    Here is a classic use of a PP! What I draw from your post Colum is that you may think that every point that Kyusho people talk about and use is a KO point? This is not the case, PP's are points of pain that can be used to cause a reatractive or distractive action from the body. In some people a few points can cause TKO's (stun) I've never came across someone that goes out cold from a "tap".

liv10Meridian.jpg

This is the location of the point (or the two next to it) that causes pain to the uke when you are digging in elbows to release the guard.

Also the dead leg point (GB31)

gb31Meridian.jpg
    Used by Thai Boxers and school kids! These are examples of Pain Points that we would be fairly used to seeing but may not have associated them with Kyusho Jitsu.
    Also you dont tap the spot like many Dillman afficianados do.
    See this the problem with the image of Kyusho Jitsu and DKI have both done much to promote it while also damaging the impression of the MA and general public.

PP's can be mixed into anyones fighting system. The hit rate of just basic knowledge is seen pretty quickly in that it seems that once someone just knows that there is a spot (area) in the area they are blocking/striking/grabbing they tend to hit it without thinking too much about it or changing there game plan.

They should never be left to do the job on their own! As in hitting one or two points and wait for the KO! Cause if they don't work then your buggered!!
    They aren't taught in MMA schools cause they by and large cant be proven to work. So.... if pressure points work why not use them to KO people in the ring and make some money.
    Thats a very good point (pun :D )

A few months ago I found this rather interesting information...
    Ref: http://www.everything2.com/index.pl?node_id=110495
    Rules
    the events may be single elimination tournaments, or a series of bouts. bout lengths are at the discretion of the promoter, but championship and superfight bouts are usually 20 minutes.

fighters must wear mouthguards and groin protection.

fouls result in fines and disqualification after any combination of three fouls. fines are $500.00 for the first, $500.00 for the second, and $1000.00 for the third. all of the following can result in a foul:

biting
    eye gouging
    throat strikes
    fish hooking
    hair pulling
    head butting
    elbow strikes to the back of the head
    pressure point strikes
    groin attack
    small joint manipulation
    kicking a downed opponent
    holding the fence
    faking an injury
    unwillingness to fight
    throwing the opponent out of the ring.
    So the Japanese UFC seem to think that PP's are a serious enough threat to ban them from the fights?

There is a lot of BS and smoke and mirrors in the world of PP's and Kyusho Jitsu. The underlying fact is that they alone will not make you a superman, or Kane from the Kung Fu series :D If you don't have a serious thought out delivery system then they are just parlour tricks.

We use the TCM terms to help in location while in conversation. Some of these I have mentioned above (GB31 etc). In other Kyusho styles they take these TCM references to mean the exact meaning used by TCM and accupressure/puncture. With best times of day for most effect and combining points on meridans to effect a "KO". I am from the "Just Hit Here" camp and don't even learn many of the point names, just that it hurts if I hit it this way and will usually get this type of reaction.

Static practice of Kyusho is required at the beggining to learn location and activation. This must progress to practice in motion sparring. But within the bounds of function I have already mentioned (ie. not the only goal of your defence).

Sorry for taking so long to write :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

While writing my response I missed Pauls reply above me. I just wanted to say I agree completely with his interpretation and approach in regards to Kyusho and in the sense he illustrates does not represent a problem...that said...

Quick question, did anyone see Darren Browns Hiest Tv Special. Aside form being extremely entertaining he featured brifely what he called an esoteric martial arts trick. He convinced a group of four people that they could project their Ki, chi or anyohter name you give to energy and cause people to fall over without touching them.

Two volunteers then did this. The two people who went over later testified to feeling an overwhelming feeling to drop like they were physically puchsed over.

Darren was laughing off camera. Apparently its suprisingly easy to convince people they have paranormal abilities.

I've seen pressure points applied in all the various styles and systems, Kyusho Jutsu, Dillman's stuff, genbukan, budo taijutsu and more. I'm a third year acupuncture student and obviously have a healthy belief in the existence and movement of energy. (Lung 5 by the way is located in the cubital crease of the elbow in the depression at the radial side of the tendon biceps brachaii).

I'm a big fan of traditional martial arts and I know theory and practice of pressue point fighting. That said I DO NOT endorse it as a system of self defence. It is HIGHLY UNLIKELY, if not out right impossible to utilise in a realistic confrontation.

Many people are fascinated with points such as LU-5 (and if used in combitantion with LU-1 and LU-4 will result in a knock out) and there is a lot of mystecism surrounding them. Overloading a nerve will cause knockout - nothing really mystical there.

Can you overload a nerve in a street fight? Yes, its called a good right cross to the chin.

If I have a static co-operative opponent with no protection of the arm (except a light karate suit) I can effect a nerve knockout. Not on everybody, but on some who are receptive. (I actually demonstrate that to make a point in my classes).

You cannot do that to a fully clothed agressive opponent say in a leather biker jacket. Of course, if as suggested earlier I repeatedly hit him in the face until he stops resisting that to me is a pressure point technique.

So what has this to do with Traditional Martial Arts and the Genbukan as originaly posted in this thread.

Earlier in this thread Mr. Gordon said

"I know my ass is safe when everything goes crazy"

this represents, to me, and I want to clarify this is my own baised opinion and not indicative of the board, the single greatest threat to the safety of every traditional martial artist. I'm sorry its not true.

The reason I am writing this is not to convince anyone to stop traditional martial arts, don't they're great, but they will not train you to keep your ass safe when everything goes crazy.The Genbukan is a great system (though I admit I prefer Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu).

My problem is I see statements like that and then I see another news repots about a martial artist you got himself killed.

TMA's teach excellent principals of body movement and fantastic methods of preserving history. They do not train you to defend yourself regardless of what they may advertise.

I'm sure you are capable of defending yourself but ask yourself a question.. if you are attacked will you A). formally bow and step back into Ichimonji no Kamae then accept the attack and counter it (in keeping with TMA) or B). React instinctively and punch and kick till he's run away or you have?

Enjoy the arts for what they are not for what they aren't.

Boru. its a shame you had to end your post with a stupid comment like

"I'm sure you are capable of defending yourself but ask yourself a question.. if you are attacked will you A). formally bow and step back into Ichimonji no Kamae then accept the attack and counter it (in keeping with TMA) or B). React instinctively and punch and kick till he's run away or you have?"

This suggests to me that you actually dont know much about how traditional styles are taught. Anyone who does the above in a sd situation must have trained in a McDojo and not a real Martial Arts school.
    No martial art works by itself. All styles, whether TMA or MMA, will only work if the person makes them work. Of course, this does require that they have been instructed properly. But there are plenty of TMA instructors out there that actually do know how to fight. And of course martial artists get beaten up, they are only human. Even MMA champions can get beaten up. No one is invincible.

kenpo_dave wrote:
    Even MMA champions can get beaten up.

It was the dress shoes! :D

Colum, Could you tell me what you mean by "traditional" in this context so I can maybe reply??
    By traditional I am referring to the TMA training method of practising PP skills in static situations like wrist grab escapes etc. etc.

As for the guard opener PP usage if you call it a PP attack (and lets assume you do) it must be backed up by decent ground skills and can easily be countered with experience. As JK said the old school judo stuff can be ignored if you have a low to average pain threshold especially under the influence of adrenaline. So assuming that this is an example of a PP application (which I contest ;)) the delivery system of BJJ/Wrestling/Judo is needed to apply it as someone with no ground skills will get swept, pulled down or held before they can even posture up to a good base in the guard. And... the people who could actually apply such a guard opener, cause they have the bjj skills, dont focus their time on pressure point techniques but instead train the main higher percentage bjj guard passes.

Also I accept that the face and the thigh are valid nerve targets yet many PP instructors are pretty poor thigh kickers and face punchers (as in demonstrating them in sparring) so Hmmmmm.

Boru,

well said and excellent contribution.

Kenpodave,

dismissive as ever. I've seen many ineffective TMAs that are taught by genuine decent instructors in non Mc Dojos.

columok wrote:
    By traditional I am referring to the TMA training method of practising PP skills in static situations like wrist grab escapes etc. etc.
    This is (as stated before) the first stage of location and activation! Used at many seminars! But never progressed from due to many people only attending one seminar (if any) at most and take the imformation in that context only. Training must progress from here to make PP's practical if to be used at all.
    columok wrote:
    As for the guard opener PP usage if you call it a PP attack (and lets assume you do) it must be backed up by decent ground skills and can easily be countered with experience. As JK said the old school judo stuff can be ignored if you have a low to average pain threshold especially under the influence of adrenaline. So assuming that this is an example of a PP application (which I contest ;)) the delivery system of BJJ/Wrestling/Judo is needed to apply it as someone with no ground skills will get swept, pulled down or held before they can even posture up to a good base in the guard. And... the people who could actually apply such a guard opener, cause they have the bjj skills, dont focus their time on pressure point techniques but instead train the main higher percentage bjj guard passes.
    That I can refer to a point in the location used to open the guard again does not mean that detracts from the basic function of the move. Just that if you know that there are pain points in that area that can be activated in the practice of that move may add to and get a quicker reaction.

I always say that a delivery system is required! And that means all the ranges. From your comment Colum I take it that you still think that the use of the PP is the move? No thats not what I said man! PP's can be used along with the usual movements in anyones skill set.

Why do not think that this is not a use of PP's??
    columok wrote:
    Also I accept that the face and the thigh are valid nerve targets yet many PP instructors are pretty poor thigh kickers and face punchers (as in demonstrating them in sparring) so Hmmmmm.
    Are you a good thigh kicker and face puncher? Then you would have no problem with hitting the points I've referenced!! And would be better than me at it!!