Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse power.

• 08-01-2006 2:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭

I was having a browse last night on http://www.musclecarclub.com/main.shtml, I had been wondering for a while what HP my car was because by Christ it's fast. The engine is a 351 V8 2 valve, that makes it a 5.8 litre in our money,imagine my suprise and dissapointment when I discovered that it has only 177 HP.72' was coming to the end of the muscle car era and horse power was coming down so hence the drop. I was even more dissapointed to realise that if my car was a 4 valve engine the HP would rise to 265 and 275, depending on the model. Now as I said my car is fast, fast from a standstill and I'm ashamed to say that I have done 120 mph in it:eek: which is as far a the clock goes, I would have gone faster but I didn't want to break the clock, ahem,anyway, what difference would that extra 100 HP make, would it only make the car reach the 120 quicker. I must add that the max speed for the 275 HP model is listed as 120 mph. And I know that in the Muscle car heyday 400 Hp and more were common in some cars, surley they were lethal, do any members have a Muscle with insane HP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

The 70's 400 cubic inch motors were less powerful than many 60's small blocks. The compression ratios went to hell between emissions equipment and the fuel crisis meant that just before the end of the muscle car era many were trying to get better fuel mileage by basically factory de-tuning the motors.

Buy a set of Edelbrock or AFR heads for the 351 if you REALLY want power!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Con_316

dubtom wrote:
    I was having a browse last night on http://www.musclecarclub.com/main.shtml, I had been wondering for a while what HP my car was because by Christ it's fast. The engine is a 351 V8 2 valve, that makes it a 5.8 litre in our money,imagine my suprise and dissapointment when I discovered that it has only 177 HP.72' was coming to the end of the muscle car era and horse power was coming down so hence the drop. I was even more dissapointed to realise that if my car was a 4 valve engine the HP would rise to 265 and 275, depending on the model. Now as I said my car is fast, fast from a standstill and I'm ashamed to say that I have done 120 mph in it:eek: which is as far a the clock goes, I would have gone faster but I didn't want to break the clock, ahem,anyway, what difference would that extra 100 HP make, would it only make the car reach the 120 quicker. I must add that the max speed for the 275 HP model is listed as 120 mph. And I know that in the Muscle car heyday 400 Hp and more were common in some cars, surley they were lethal, do any members have a Muscle with insane HP.

American V8's dont often have output figures as high as skylines etc or top speeds as high but they've got loads of easy to access torque and acceleration and they benefit fom not having to rev too high to get power. Your car probably has about 180/ 185-ish if it's set up right . this would be due to us having 95 octane petrol and in america they only usually had 92 when those engines came out. I'd put a fair bet down that your 177hp car with a V8 would accelerate faster weight for weight with a similar domestic market car, as in same power and weight. A bmw w525 lets say. And bloody hell a 400 horsepower ford Cobra Jet or something like that would , as you say be lethal if you didnt treat it properly.
    I Spent some time in america and Almost all standard Late 60s and early 70s cars i drove had crap brakes, that's the worst part.
    Was driving a late 70s Camaro with a tuned engine that had 331hp for couple of months over there and it was the most entertaining car i've ever driven.
    I've driven a '92 R32 SKyline over here with similar power to the old Camaro and I have to say, the Camaro would top out around 130-ish but Jaysus it went like a demon in terms of acceleration. The skyline in theory could do about 150mph, is "safer", more comfortable and modern but far less fun and with it's revvy engine rater than a big lumbering V8 it was a car you'd to really push to get power.
    I think with the V8's the power is way easier to use and come in quickly from a standstill withuot revveng like mad. Useless for fuel economy though , i think i must have been getting about 10mpg. That's not the point though really....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Buy a set of Edelbrock or AFR heads for the 351 if you REALLY want power!

I think I have enough, the notion of 275 is nice but really my car is fast enough.

Spot on Con, the V8 power really is there all the time. Whether cruising at 70 or taking off, there just seems to be no end to it. My only real gripe with the car is the 3 speed auto. It will travel in 3rd at 30 mph and the engine barley seems to tick over, it's actually quite nice, get it up to 60 and it seems to roar as if it needs another gear, then at 70 it's back to it's smooth self again. Their is drum brakes all round on mine and they are quite good, takes a bit of getting used to though, we're spoiled with these antilocks now.

Oh a question, today the term brake horse power seems to be used instead of just horse power, is it the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

low compression engine = ideal for forced induction!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭69 mustang

dubtom wrote:
    Oh a question, today the term brake horse power seems to be used instead of just horse power, is it the same thing.

I asked the same question here before and was told in summery YES give or take a % and that HP was more accurate method of measuring.BHP(USA)HP (UK)

My 351c 4v is churning out about the 350 HP roughly. The last guy that had it spent more time and money on the engine than the rest of the car.
    Would of preferred a more equal balance.
    Don't know what the top end is never tried it.
    But it sounds gift!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Con_316

low compression engine = ideal for forced induction!!

Indeed. The Camaro i mentioned above is now owned by a friend over there and has been fitted with a supercharger and a few other things. Makes about 500Hp now.

@Dubtom:
    The 3 Speed auto would take a bit of getting used to. They do tend to operate in a different way to auto boxes we normally have here. Although, seeing as lots of muscle cars got autos, they were made in such a way as to be real handy for overtaking etc.
    With those autos you (generally) are never far off full power if you want it. Just Mash the go pedal to the floor in third and you'll drop down a gear and go flying off past anything you're passing. Great for if you're stuck behind a horrible smoky bus for ages then finally get a chance to pass. Where a normal car couldn't pull past it, a big V8 is perfect for that.

My 351c 4v is churning out about the 350 HP roughly.

You have a 4v, you lucky son of a gun.So yours has twice the power as mine, it would be interesting to see what the difference is like power wise.Love to see your car sometime 69, we will have to arrange a meetup. I have mine 6 months and haven't met a single Mustang owner, I've seen a few around the town but not when the owner is sitting in it.

dubtom, Its not just the 4v that gives me the extra whack this block has a list of toys added.
    Waiting for some parts from NPD but will give you a shout when I've got them in there's a 68 that I'm sure will join in too:)

Nice one, actually I thought of your car today 69, read in Classic and sports mag that a 69 boss fastback in suberb/ restored condition sold for 127,977 sterling. I dont think that car will ever touch tarmac again.

That's stupid money to pay for a car that was meant to be an affordable family sports car in its day.
    I'd rather a £20000stg boss clone in A condition and use it.
    Like with the AC Cobra, as soon as I find a house with a large enough garage
    I'm going to hunt down a kit Cobra as the original car was practically a kit any way
    I value nostalgia but not at 200,000 euro.:)

Agreed,I'd be happy spending 2 grand on a car that drove, I think the more money spent on a classic the less likely to take it out for a rip and just enjoy. The trend now seems to buying Classics for investment or a pension, not me, I just want to fire it up and listen to it purr.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

I'll take the bait!!

I would be quite happy to meet up for a spin some day and get some mustangs out in force, its nice to meet people with the same car and have a look.

Brilliant 68, look forward to meeting up.

69 mustang wrote:
    dubtom, Its not just the 4v that gives me the extra whack this block has a list of toys added.
    Waiting for some parts from NPD but will give you a shout when I've got them in there's a 68 that I'm sure will join in too:)

Got parts and fitted the ones that make to go.
    So Saturday looks like its going to be dry if you want to meet up for a run.
    Maybe popes cross car park as it is central if anyone else wants to make it out too. About 12 or 1.:)

Perfect, 12 would suit as I have to work from about 4/5 on.

cool 12 is good for me too :)

You got me too

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

My RS2000 engine is 110bhp as standard. It's never been modified at all.

The thing is the car is very light, it has never even had a radio fitted, and can accelerate well.

The 4 speed close ratio gearbox is superb - it has a real rifle bolt action, and has a factory quickshift.

0 -60 mph in about 8.5 seconds, and tops is just over 110 mph.

Cool:)
    Popes cross car park Phoenix park if anyone else wants to make it out too. 12pm Saturday
    It doesn't have to be only pony grazing.

We met up in the park and the weather was lovely, I had some fun getting the car to the park, trying to get it through all the small roads and huge hills from Clonsilla to the park. (Does anyone else find speedramps a pain in the a$$ in classics?)

Pulled into the car park to see two great looking Mustangs, I'm familiar with 69Mustangs car, which was as always in great condition, and met dubtom for the first time, lovely car, great smooth sound off the engine, you could really see the refinements over the our year age gap between our cars.

We took a spin into town, turning a few heads as we went though, we all decided to check the clearance under out accelertor pedel once or twice through town ;)

All in all a great spin, swapped ideas about the cars and resolved to meet up again soon

It was great meeting up and seeing your cars 68. It has inspired me to actually get stuck in to my car and do a few bit's. I had been afraid to touch anything up to now for fear of breaking something, just seeing how doing a little work and spending a few bob, eg, the engine bay,can tranform a car was great. Look forward to meeting up again soon.

Yep good crack. Did you place any detailing orders yet dubtom?
    If you have any questions or problems give us a shout be glad help out.
    We'll have to a range another meet.:)
    www.npdlink.com = cheap
    www.cal-mustang.com = cheap in bulk
    www.mustangsplus.com = expensive

69 mustang wrote:
    Yep good crack. Did you place any detailing orders yet dubtom?
    If you have any questions or problems give us a shout be glad help out.
    We'll have to a range another meet.:)
    www.npdlink.com = cheap
    www.cal-mustang.com = cheap in bulk
    www.mustangsplus.com = expensive

Yea, ordered the steering wheel(can't believe the price of that,$117 , 3-400 else where), chrome valve covers, ( not sure about them, maybe a wee bit bright, but the only ones they had for the 351C) but only $39 the pair, Chrome air cleaner, $39 and gaskets/ nuts etc.
    I was in rickards today asking about replacment rad hoses (originals are fierce expensive,$60-70 each and they are getting in a dress up kit for the hoses,chrome slip on's, 25 quid, I'm gonna give them a shot and see how they look, Looking forward to getting started on it, the engine bay will either be very tasty or like something out of chitty chitty bang bang.

Just checked up my visa to see how much NPD had charged me for my bits,the bill in $ was 274.85 and he said it could about $100 for carriage, which surprised me.So a total of approx $370 but yet they only charged 220 euro to my card, do the carrier charge seperatly or am I very happy boy.

You'll be charged later for the carriage, when they process the order they charge you for the parts, but will only charge you for post when it leaves the building.

The other thing most people forget is the tax on the way in. Because it wasn't bought in the EU, no tax was paid, so when the nice UPS/DHL/Fed ex person shows up, they'll demand the tax (that they have already paid), or else they won't give you the box. sometimes they ring you to let you know how much it will be. Once one of my deliveries got though with no tax at all :D

Got my stuff today, surprisingly, 92 quid vat ouch. Wasn't expecting it for a week at least. I'm wondering does the $300 free shipping offer apply to us in Europe, probably not. Anyway, I'll let yis know how I get on with the bits.
    (I think I should have ordered two valve breather thingys, problems already:rolleyes: )

dubtom wrote:
    Got my stuff today, surprisingly, 92 quid vat ouch. Wasn't expecting it for a week at least. I'm wondering does the $300 free shipping offer apply to us in Europe, probably not. Anyway, I'll let yis know how I get on with the bits.
    (I think I should have ordered two valve breather thingys, problems already:rolleyes: )

The free shipping is only 48 American states you should only need one valve breather and a PCV valve just move the valve to the back and the breather to the front (drivers side).