Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anybody here into drifting

• 05-01-2006 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭

the motorsport section is fairly small for such a big site i though there would have been more interest..

anyway is there anybody here into drifting?

its a relatively new sport but im hooked on it from the first event i was at... was buildin a rally car at the time (an xr3i) well i got rid of that car within a wek and was building myself a drift car for next season.. i had a 320i bmw..

very addictive sport...

for those of you that dont know the idea is that you loose traction and try control the angle of your car while tryin to clip the racing lines..

ireland are ranked very well in the worl rankings..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

All that I have seen of it is the stuff they show on the discovery channel and Need for speed underground.
    Any links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

I wouldnt go as far as calling it motorsport...

Honestly, its the kind of thing more associated with boy-racers. Probably get more interest in the Modified Cars forum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

I was gonna say that... :p . I dont class motorsport scored by judging a sport at all, its about speed, with lines and timing to decide who wins.
    That said, its good to watch, and some of the mods to the cars are interesting. Its a good spectacle, but its not a motorsport in the true sense of the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mussha

how can you say its not a motor sport......?????

it tusido battles if you can pass your the other car is an instant win...

@ kersh... there is judges in every form of motorsport is some way or other...

most ppl do think of driftin and think boy racers but everyone of them ppl change there mind once they see it...

this is a serious sport with serious speed and serious cars... and i would rank the drivers higher skilled than rally or race drivers...

here is a link to a run made in cork is the last round this year
    http://media.putfile.com/Johnny-P-Vs-Damien-Mulvey

here a link to the irish drift series site...

http://www.d1driftseries.com/

No way are they higher skilled, not even close - anyone can hang the back out on a car with bald rear tyres and slick front tyres.... precise, keep the speed up or get passed driving takes way more skill. Rally drivers are the most skilled in the world, circuit next. Drifting is way down im afraid. Yes there are judges, but they are rule judges/judges of fact, they dont decide the score, or the outcome, the drivers do....and provided they won within the rules, they won, ie beat everybody in a staright fight, not some judge who docked points cos a slide ended early.
    I have seen drifting - I work at mondello, and the crowds they attract arent any better than the trackday scum that race home and give the circuit a bad name. Im not saying all do it, the rallying attracts then too, thank god circuit racing has been left alone, probably cos they cant re-enact precise driving.... cos its too hard maybe - its so much easier to wheelspin everywhere and act the arse.

this is a serious sport with serious speed and serious cars... and i would rank the drivers higher skilled than rally or race drivers...

I'm not going to even bother.....
    there is judges in every form of motorsport is some way or other..

Yes, in form of timing beams and electronic scoring devices. Not some guy going "gee, it was a close call, but Anto's car has more cool stickers - winner!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Scober11

Everyone to their own i say! Wouldn't mind a go all the same to sample it. Surely Rallycross would be a bit better, you get to race and drift..Anyone know what entry fees are for Drifting?? because we're well rode in circuit racing....

Agreed on the being ridden for race entry scober... 195eu.... boooo

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Kersh wrote:
    Agreed on the being ridden for race entry scober... 195eu.... boooo
    Made all the more ridiculous by Kirkistown being 100 sterling...

Personally, I find drifting to be mildly interesting as a hobby but faintly ridiculous as a sport. But then that's me, and I haven't been a teenager for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I could imagine an "average" rally driver getting the hang of drifting within a day. Not a hope in hell of the opposite! Rallying is much more complicated, drifting is only one part of rallying! I have been impressed with some of the drifing in Japan I must say. In my experience, it MUCH easier to drift than to drive quickly and consistantly.

Drifting is alright to watch, but its not what id call motorsport. Its more of a demonstration of showmanship than anything else.

first off the entry for the driftin for last year was 50 yo for the qualfying day

@ kersh... all to there own opinions but driftin is not car with bald tyres sliding around.... if this is what you think you know yery little about drifting or what it consists of... and because you work in mondello does not mean you know anything extra.. on the contary some ppl would say that workin there would be a down fall...( no offence)

and as for rally drivers been able to drift within a day... drift cars vrs rally cars has been on for the last 2 years and not one rally driver can do anything that resembels what the drift guys are at.
    a very good friend of mine has been rally drivin for years and finds it very hard to get to grips with..

a lot of the guys driftin at the mo in the irish championship have raced in different forms of motorsport and they all think driftin is the best fun they ever had in a car...

and as for the cars not been serious... you really need to inspect the cars... most of the pro class cars in the irish drift series are worth 20k - 30k...

i would be well below pro class at the mo but the car i runnin next year will be costing me about 16 - 18 grand.. so they are by no means bangers or hot rods the average car costin about 15k and putting out about 300 bhp is a serious car..

just before ye pass judgement get into a drift car and see what drifting is first hand...

Ok, seriously - what most people like myself dont get about drifting is the fact that there is no concrete definition of who wins and looses; it about judges as someone said. In rallying, racing, etc its all about who gets there FIRST or FASTEST, or variations thereof. If its judged, then the entire point is to show off, no? Certainly cant be about whos fastest as obviously the fastest way around Mondello would be racing line and a whole lot of traction. :)

I agree with the above post, there is no definitive 'who wins' - On the subject of the cars , i know there is a lot of work put into some cars, diffs, suspension etc, im sure these mods make the car easier to hold in a drift, right? That being the idea of modifying them. So what of all these 'get into drifting' articles I have read that say 'go get some worn rear tyres, and grippy front tyres etc'.
    Im sure drifting is fun, and being a competitor (as souper was, and scober is) the fun is much better when you win, and i would rather not leave that bit in the hands of a judge. I couldnt justify spending heaps of money on a car to have the winning taken out of my hands.
    The 20-30k? is that what its worth , or thats what it cost to build? If its the former, its only worth what someone pays for it, if its the latter the money has to be spent in the right areas, 300bhp alone doesnt equal great drift car, but im sure you know this.
    As for working in mondello, I see the 'spectator' element of drifting , they are the same as rallying ones, and they will give your events a bad name. Well, some of them will.
    I have no doubts it is a skill orientated sport, and I would love a go for the laugh.
    I remember reading a competition report fromUK a while back, and Fairuz Fauzy came 2nd or 3rd in his first competition in a scooby - He raced in British F3 for a couple of years, and mightily impressed the judges.

20k - 30k question.. cars like altezza,s and s 15 that are runnin in the series are worth between 20 and 30 grand as road cars with no mods.. personally my car in a standard road condition is worth about 6 - 9 grand but will have about the same in parts and labour put into it...

i understand what your sayin about the crouds who attend but the crowds are changing and there are now familys and older ppl coming to watch.. for example my dad went to the last meeting last year which was ireland v,s england and he had a very diff view of drifting leaving as he just thought it was messin on a track but i can tell ya 60-70+ mph and pullin the hand brake to get a drift started is not messin...

i have always been a motor sport fan and in the last few years it just starts to get boring and for me drifting is exciting to watch and it is a real spectator sport...

and as for bald tyres on the back and a bit of grip in the front and goin driftin... i can tell you now that is a load of crap...in street legal class your tryes must match all round ie same make front and rear and tyre thread must be at least of road legal depth.. and most of the lads would go through mabe 3 set of new tyres in one day..

you know the besds we were using in mondello.. well martin Ffrench had 2 new tyres on his car( put em on myself) and did the series of bends 4 times as his first run was a draw and his tyres were gone and he had to forfit..

as for judging well there is always goin to be an arguement over who wins and who dosent but hey thats just the way the sport is but if you can pass the car infront of ya you win no judge can take victory from ya..lol

i organise track days for beguinners in drifting so if any of ye wanna try your hand at it let me know and we try fit ya in..

Up to 3 sets of tyres a day:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

No wonder theres a hole in the ozone..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭molateen

Just watched that link:D :D what a pack of nut jobs....I say if you went to mondello next year you might see a F5 doing a lot of that:D

Thats cos theyll be trying real hard t catch me.... isnt that what you meant..:p :):D

OH yeah!!

Just heard that Fvee festival has been cancelled for this year!

Boooo, thats a disappointment. :mad:

the subject of rallying\drifting, theres a valiant effort at the end of this:

http://www.allmotorlink.com/galli_video/gigi_6.wmv

^borrowed from modifed forum.

WOW :eek:

Now thats sideways and totally in control!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Alot of luck involved there as well tho.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

the subject of rallying\drifting, theres a valiant effort at the end of this:

http://www.allmotorlink.com/galli_video/gigi_6.wmv

^borrowed from modifed forum.
    Deserves points even for trying such a thing. Sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

drifting doesnt appeal to me in the slightest as a motorsport. Sure its great watching it with a few friends while having a few drinks but the entertainment value of it dies extremely quickly imo