Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's Going Skiing this Season?

• 03-01-2006 12:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

im heading off on the 27th for one week just wondering if anyone else is going to Austria skiing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Not Austria, going to Les Menuires in France on the 14th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Just back from almost a week in Saalbach. Getting there was a nightmare but the skiing was unreal. Loads of snow last weekend meant some really good off-piste skiing but rather heavy on-piste skiing early in the week. Wednesday until today was super, really sunny and surprisingly few people for a bank holiday weekend (friday was a bank holiday in most of europe). Now if only my muscles weren't in so much pain.

There's also a similar thread here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

I'm just back from La Thuile in Italy. Had a great week. The snow was great although the resort sucks cuz there is no buzz and the food in the restaurants sucks....the runs are great tho. You can ski into France tho which is quite cool.

Goin to Livigno in March which I can't wait for should be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

I'm going skiing alright, but not in Austria.

Myself and the fiancee have rented a place beside Zweisimmen in the Bernese Alps, and head up there most weekends.

Its not a big touristy area (although the Gstaad side of the pistes is much moreso), but that suits us cause we're too old and boring for a party scene. We'll take quieter slopes any day :)

While not living near an ocean any more is a bit of a bummer at times, having the Alps nearby is a great compensator :)

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Spent Christmas in Geneva and went skiing two days in Lelex/Le Crozet which is 15 mins drive from Meyrin. Have been ordered back by my offspring for a week in February and I I decide to go it will be the Grand Massif. Great nightlife in Geneva, the son buys the drink and the daughter pays the resto. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Just The One

where is the best place to get insurance for skiing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

In France you can get the "forfait" with or without assurance. This assurance will get you scraped off the pistes and bundled into a luge, stretcher, helicopter etc. so that proper skiers will not be running into people lying on the snow.

Look up some skiing sites to make your mouth water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭HarryD

Going to Slovakia tomorrow for the weekend,
    then Morzine, France on 29th for a week.

Slopes on Sloakia dont compare to western slopes.
    Food/service is similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭nj23

was in soll last week for first skiing holiday, excellent craic. place is really picturesque, good nightlife and as for skiing, i'm only a beginner but seemed pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

I got a good deal the last time from RyanAir.com. Think it was half of what the travel agent charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

Myself and my three sisters are looking to head skiing in the beginning of March. Three of us haven't skiied since we were little and one is slightly more experienced but we are soooo confused as to where to go!!! We're looking for reasonable skiing, good craic and food, not too expensive and shortere transfer times as the youngest (21 btw) gets car/ coach sick. HELPPPPPPP!
    Can anyone suggest resorts/ hotels ????
    Thanks,
    Ah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Jesper

Myself and my three sisters are looking to head skiing in the beginning of March. Three of us haven't skiied since we were little and one is slightly more experienced but we are soooo confused as to where to go!!! We're looking for reasonable skiing, good craic and food, not too expensive and shortere transfer times as the youngest (21 btw) gets car/ coach sick. HELPPPPPPP!
    Can anyone suggest resorts/ hotels ????
    Thanks,
    Ah
    I'm just back from Italy, Milan/Bergamo in MONTECAMPIONE ski resort. went from Shannon to Milan from Friday evening to 11pm last night €55 return. and got a ski package with most things included for €200 from ActivityBreaks.com (was very satisified with service).
    Went with 5 friends all 24/25 It was our first time sking and by the end we managed to do every slope besides a few black ones. Bit black and blue but we all loved it. Its a 45 minute drive from airport to Boario Terme where the hotel is and a 25minute drive every morning to the slopes where you get collected form hotel. Town was quiet I found and we ended up in the Irish pub every night which was a bit of fun. Food was ok but not many places to choose from.
    If you want any other information no problems.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Going in 10 days in slovenia...thing is dont know if I should go snowboarding or skiing or both.

Total beginner here so what would ye recommend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭vms7ply9t6dw4b

Imposter wrote:
    Just back from almost a week in Saalbach. Getting there was a nightmare but the skiing was unreal. Loads of snow last weekend meant some really good off-piste skiing but rather heavy on-piste skiing early in the week. Wednesday until today was super, really sunny and surprisingly few people for a bank holiday weekend (friday was a bank holiday in most of europe). Now if only my muscles weren't in so much pain.

There's also a similar thread here

Was there over christmas and have to say the sking was the best ive ever had in europe! 2nd time there aswell and first time didnt even compare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Was there over christmas and have to say the sking was the best ive ever had in europe! 2nd time there aswell and first time didnt even compare!

Excellent, I'm heading to Saalbach, unfortunately not until March so it won't be as good but hopefully it'll be ok. Parents recently acquired a property there. Mmmmm free accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

Jesper wrote:
    I'm just back from Italy, Milan/Bergamo in MONTECAMPIONE ski resort.

Me and my friend went there, stayed in Hotel Armonia in Boario Terme for a few nights around New Year's.
    Didn't get much skiing done to be honest, but we got there a day late and we were dying New Year'S day.
    Got stuck up the top of the nursery slope for like an hour, couldn't get one of my skis back on. So really didn't learn much but had a deadly time.

Everyone was so nice, the ski instructor (Fodestal school) was really good, and tge bus ride up was very scenic and kinda scary.

jank wrote:
    Going in 10 days in slovenia...thing is dont know if I should go snowboarding or skiing or both.

Total beginner here so what would ye recommend?
    Do one. 10 days should have you going pretty well in one of them but doing that learning thing twice in a few days ain't going ot be fun!
    Excellent, I'm heading to Saalbach, unfortunately not until March so it won't be as good but hopefully it'll be ok. Parents recently acquired a property there. Mmmmm free accommodation.
    Was skiing again yesterday and there's been no fresh snow since around the new year. Pistes are really hard and that takes it's toll over a day. Off-piste is a no-no are every possible piece of snow is 'used' or extremely crispy. There was a little snow last night but only an inch or 2. A big dump is badly needed.

edit: Scratch that there was a good 4 inches or so here last night and it's raining now so there was probably more in the mountains. I should get out of my flat more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Jesper

Fridge wrote:
    Me and my friend went there, stayed in Hotel Armonia in Boario Terme for a few nights around New Year's.
    Didn't get much skiing done to be honest, but we got there a day late and we were dying New Year'S day.
    Got stuck up the top of the nursery slope for like an hour, couldn't get one of my skis back on. So really didn't learn much but had a deadly time.

Everyone was so nice, the ski instructor (Fodestal school) was really good, and tge bus ride up was very scenic and kinda scary.

Hi Fridge,
    Just after seeing this post. I did the exact same holiday just back Monday night. Very friendly in the hotel and good service. Pity you didn't get much skiing done. 6 of us went and it was the first time any of us attempted skiing. We got two hours ski lessons with Fodestal (Mino) and after our second day skiing we attempted every slope bar 2 black one (Nice bit black and blue all right).
    Did you find the "Village" a bit quiet as well? Seems like the only place to eat is that pizza place Mintola (or something). Have you done any other holidays with Activity Breaks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

Jesper wrote:
    Very friendly in the hotel and good service.
    Yeah they were really dedicated. I don't think those people ever sleep.
    I didn't think half board meant breakfast and dinner, so that was a nice surprise. Didn't really spend much on the holiday at all, except for getting there. The New Year's Gala Dinner was absolutely fab - 10 courses, including octopus.

Pity you didn't get much skiing done. 6 of us went and it was the first time any of us attempted skiing. We got two hours ski lessons with Fodestal (Mino) and after our second day skiing we attempted every slope bar 2 black one (Nice bit black and blue all right).
    Cool, it's better to be brave and just do it. I couldn't convince my friend to even go on the nursery slope. She just whinged cos it was so hard. But I said **** it, I paid for the holiday, and I'd be wasting it if I didn't go up on the chair lift once. It was worth it even though I got stuck.
    Did you find the "Village" a bit quiet as well? Seems like the only place to eat is that pizza place Mintola (or something). Have you done any other holidays with Activity Breaks?
    Yeah it was really empty, but sure we were always up the mountain when any of the shops in Boario were open anyway. Apparently it's a lot busier in the summer time.
    No, haven't done any other holidays with them, but might in the future anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Off to Bulgaria tomor, staying at the hotel Evridika in Pamporovo. First time skiing so will prob spent most of the time on my ass. :D

Anyway did anyone ever stay here or go skiing? hotel is supposed to be half board so if you did what is food like? I would say terrible but any nice restaurants?

Cost was 620 for everything which was decent. Friend of mine paid 1100 for 7 days:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

And I'm just back from Les Menuires. Pistes were a bit hard for the first day but around lunchtime on the second it started snowing and it didn't stop until lunchtime of the fourth day. The pistes for the last couple of days were great.

Les Menuires itself is a really great resort. It's a bit quiet at night, but it has a great selection of pistes for all levels and it's in Les Trois Vallees meaning you can ski all the way from Les Menuires over to Courcheval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭cerebus

Off to Whistler this weekend, try to downhill Saturday and maybe some XC on Sunday.

XC last weekend as well...

The joys of living near big mountains.

I'm off to Saalbach again from Thursday to Saturday. It's going to be ccccooooooooolld. -12 here in the city (nowhere near mountains) that last few days. Much [strike]alcohol[/strike] antifreeze required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Going to the French Alpes on Saturday! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Just back on Sat, had a great time but God was very cold some of the days. -25 to -30 on Mon-Wed. Have pics but all you can see is clothes on everyone and there nose pocking out. Looks very funny. Slopes where ok, snowed from Mon to Wed so some good skiing even thou I was only a beginner. Ended up fairly good and could do the green slope in 5 mins, slot less than first time which took me nearly 30 mins. Tried the blue slope but was pure ice, 2 people fell and where 2 sore to go down again so I stuck to green. Food in hotel was ok, got bumped up to a 4 star hotel because 3 star had heating problem. This was sound. Went to Italian and the White Horse most nights for dinner. Food was grand but one person with us got sick, think it was the cream thou. People are nice and all try to talk english. Will prob go back next year if still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭cerebus

cerebus wrote:
    Off to Whistler this weekend, try to downhill Saturday and maybe some XC on Sunday.

Just an update - 25cm of fresh snow Friday night, made for an epic day on Saturday. It got a bit lumpy towards the end of the day, but still pretty fantastic.

Caught our last lift back up the mountain just before it closed at 3.30pm. Final run from close to the top of Blackcomb back to the car park (lot 8 for those who know the village) took us over 30 minutes, with almost nobody else on the runs until we got lower down. Magic.