Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh my god I'm so old...

• 28-12-2005 9:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Well it's my birthday. Gone is the teenage Nala of yesteryear, it's a case of out with the new and in with the old as I turn 20 today. I didn't want this to happen. I went to bed before midnight and did 5 hours straight of studying immunology from 7.30-12.30 this morning but there was no escaping it, I am now a year older, none the wiser and much the depressed-er.
    Is it normal to hate your birthday so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Ah hahah ahahahah hahahahahah!
    You think you're old now. Wait til after you're 21. Nothin to look forward to then until you're 30! :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Most people go through this when there 40. They Buy a sports car, Ditch the wife and marry the babysitter!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Old? At 20?

It's true what they say, all things *are* relative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

wow, 20 is old now. good to know i turned old 5 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

It's all down hill from here!

I remembered today that I'm 20
    twas a bit of a shock
    I'm old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Nala wrote:
    Well it's my birthday. Gone is the teenage Nala of yesteryear, it's a case of out with the new and in with the old as I turn 20 today. I didn't want this to happen. I went to bed before midnight and did 5 hours straight of studying immunology from 7.30-12.30 this morning but there was no escaping it, I am now a year older, none the wiser and much the depressed-er.

Don't drag us down with you oldie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Nala wrote:

Jeebus, would you give over.

You're 20. You aren't old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

there's nothing like a bit of strings free sex with a randomer off the interweb to make you feel young again...

*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Get real Nala, and enjoy your youth, instead of pissing about thinking you're old at 20. Because, pretty soon you will be getting older - for real! And it won't be possible to get 20 back.

Live life to the max!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

embee wrote:

I sure feel it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

wait till you hit 25, then the shock factor sets in.... :(

... now unfortunatly nearly 26..:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Happy Birthday Nala. I know the feeling. I've recently turned 19 and I can already feel the effects of aging. I find myself drinking glasses of warm milk before I go to bed at 9:00 every night. I fell in the bath and I think I need a hip replacement. I'll be on to my first set of false teeth soon enough if people don't start pre-chewing my food. It's a horrible life after 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

no your old if the cold weather affects you hip and if you scared of teenagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

no your old if the cold weather affects you hip and if you scared of teenagers.
    Oh, God! It gets worse!

teenagers can be awfully scary! o.O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Heyes wrote:
    Ain't that the truth, omg 25 was the most depressing birthday ever. :(
    Dunno about 26 yet either, so I can't help ye there.
    25 is the new midlife crisis tbh!

Binomate wrote:
    Happy Birthday Nala. I know the feeling. I've recently turned 19 and I can already feel the effects of aging. I find myself drinking glasses of warm milk before I go to bed at 9:00 every night. I fell in the bath and I think I need a hip replacement. I'll be on to my first set of false teeth soon enough if people don't start pre-chewing my food. It's a horrible life after 18.

Lol!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Heyes wrote:

... now unfortunatly nearly 26..:eek:

Yeas.. turned 25 a couple of weeks ago and it was like a lightswitch turning on.. "Ohh jesus I've hardly any savings", "Oh God I need to find out about getting a mortgage", "Ohhh lordy I must start paying into a pension" and so on.

No, I did say 25, not 35..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

wow i was kind of looking forward to turning 20 - in april - so i can finally get rid of this teenager tag, this however has depressed me.
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Wow look like I'm due for early retirement any day now that I'm heading for the unimaginable 40!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭micosavo

ahhh...

i remember when I turned twenty...

All those years ago!

it's normal, I'll be hitting thirty soon and I feel exactly the same way when I was 19 going on 20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

jesus 20 is old now?, bloody hell i thought old began at 40, or as someone once said to me old is when you have your house, your wife and your kids, have worked your arse off and am now showing it all in your new sports car, because afterall you cant feel young again, unless your old to start with ;)

Its all ahead of me....so im old in a year eh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Ain't that the truth, omg 25 was the most depressing birthday ever. :(
    Dunno about 26 yet either, so I can't help ye there.
    25 is the new midlife crisis tbh!

gotta totally agree, i was so miserable... i think everyone notices some sort of difference at that stage... im thinking 26 wont be as bad. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Yeah!!!...stop depressing us you horrible person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i do hope life will be better for me at 25, but i get everyone saying ireland will be worse then, get out while you can.

So i wonder what 2011 will be like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Dilly

Oh bugger!! and there's me about to turn 29 in January!! Seriously though Nala, there is nothing at all old about where you are in life, you have some much ahead of you that I am nearly jealous!! Even though I am perfectly happy to be the age I am..

You should learn to relax and take as much happiness from where you are right now because, Heaven knows!, everything passes so quickly these days.

Enjoy it, Nala, because it will be gone before you know what has happened :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Feownah

Tick tock...tick tock, i turn 21 soon feck it anyway its not that i feel old really its just that i think people expect you to have your sh*t together a lot more but hey im still acting the maggot, it really annoys me when people tell me i look older i was told i look 28 the other day not that theres anything wrong with being 28 but that means when im 40 i'll look nearly 50....were all gona be going six feet under someday anyway hee hee and no more a word about us! Happy Birthday :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Its all reletive, you're only a baby FFS!

Wait till you hit 27 and try to figure out what pension plan is best for you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

congrats on the birthday Nala,

I always considered old to be the year after my age, so currently 26 is old, ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

Happy Birthday Nala, you old hag!!! ;);)

Seriously love, I had a one year old baby the time I was 20...I am now into my 30's and I would love more than anything to go back in time and enjoy myself a bit more........ :)

20 is young, very young!!! As the other 'oldies' have said, just enjoy your youth when you have it......sometimes I feel like I blinked and missed 10 or so years of my life (or maybe that was the drugs and grog!! ;);) Kidding....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

I've never been depressed on a birthday... apart from my 20th

Every birthday since (only 4) have been *fine so i think its only the big 0 in the number that scares me

*well apart from the time i forgot one... maybe 20 is old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Happy birthday!

I'll be 18 in 3 weeks! :D

I'll be a grown-up :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

These everyone look at me threads are getting boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

fade2black wrote:
    These everyone look at me threads are getting boring.

Too true

"omigod, I'm like, 20, like, omigod, thats so old like.(And I'm studying immunology too, so I'm clever as well as young, sorry "old". Just ask me how hot I am please)";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

hepcat wrote:
    Too true

"omigod, I'm like, 20, like, omigod, thats so old like.(And I'm studying immunology too, so I'm clever as well as young, sorry "old". Just ask me how hot I am please)";)

Jeez, saucer of milk for hepcat!!! :D

(How hot are you???)

OP:- 20 is not old:eek: , everyone else, including me, 25 is not old either (I hope!!!):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Get a grip on yourself, 20 is YOUNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

25 sure feels old though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 shifty sparrow

Old gray billionare men marry 20 years olds, so work on that and you'll have no need to worry about pensions or growing old because when everthing starts to drop get it surgically lifted. You'll be so rich you can get €500 notes tatooed on you forehead.

The the nursing home driver, make haste!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

embee wrote:

Yeah!!! Well said embee.

I'm just turned 29 and I'm not old either!

Hurrah!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Sleepy wrote:
    25 sure feels old though...

Its one of those ages that makes you take stock and think you need to have certain boxes ticked in your life. I feel younger at 27 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

Age? As long as you're not fat and able to get 20 year olds into bed, that's all that matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I turn 25 this year, that makes me a sad panda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I'm 22 and don't feel old at all...
    How in the name of god is 20 old? get over it cos you'll only be feeling worse and worse with every birthday you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Bard wrote:
    Yeah!!! Well said embee.

I'm just turned 29 and I'm not old either!

Hurrah!
    MY JESUS YOU'RE OLD!!

Meanwhile 20, pfft you're only starting to mature, still a weee whipper snapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Meh, she just wanted a birthday thread ;).

hepcat wrote:
    Too true

"omigod, I'm studying immunology too, so I'm clever as well as young, sorry "old". Just ask me how hot I am please)";)

I think someone's bitter.

Oh and can I have fries with that?

:v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Why is it that a woman's midlife crisis begins in the early twenties? Must be the TV they are watching. :p
    Men wait till 40 and then they act up with a vengeance. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

twenteen???? :D surely i am the oldest teenager goin then!

i felt the same but now that i am quickly approaching twenteen-one so its getting worse

aw well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

yeah but men acting up means buying an overly expensive and flashy car. tbh, that's not something i'd regret.

anyways, i'm 21 next week. couldn't give a rats ass. had a bad few weeks now, so it can't get any worse. if you feel old, get drunk. then realise a few years ago you couldn't do that... in a warm club/pub