Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Years eve for over 18's

• 27-12-2005 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭

Right saw a thread for under 18's....

Well what about the rest of us... is there anything good really going on in Dublin on Saturday, or will we all be resorting to last minute dive into the pub....

Any ideas anyone ??? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

party on hoath head...bring several layers of clothing an a crate of buckfast, but shhhh...its a secret!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

any other ideas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

well i know despite my best intentions i'll end up in the local nightclub like every other saturday cept this time paying 20yoyos.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

this year will be my first one to spend at home i think i dono . i wont be doing anything i think. would like to be going out in carlow tho ... lucky scraggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

What nightclub is that? ;)

Myself, I'll be going to some sort of house party. Roll on New Years!

Scraggs wrote:
    well i know despite my best intentions i'll end up in the local nightclub like every other saturday cept this time paying 20yoyos.......

So the old foundry will be calling your name.... I ve heard that is a really good place. Really mixed crowd.

Heyes wrote:
    So the old foundry will be calling your name.... I ve heard that is a really good place. Really mixed crowd.

yep but goin there practically every saturday since i was 16... kinda loses its flavour... meh its allright

Scraggs wrote:
    yep but goin there practically every saturday since i was 16... kinda loses its flavour... meh its allright

Suppose, sure that would be the same for anywhere... Dublin is crying out for a place that you can go to more than a handful of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

ferdi wrote:
    party on hoath head...bring several layers of clothing an a crate of buckfast, but shhhh...its a secret!

Hey that sounds pretty cool!! Any more info? Is it all welcome? Never been to Hoath Head, is it dodgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

House party somewhere. Bring Jagermeister and some other stuff, and then pass out. Excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Headin' back down to Waterford, going to the Forum... If it's anything like last year, the New Years Ball will be class!

Anyone else from Waterford about actually?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Just another one of the 365 nights in a year for me. :v:

party in einsturzendes hse...bring jagermeister and some other stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

house party/home, i ain't got money to be splashing about to go anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Was sick last New Years eve, so will hopefully make up for it this year.
    As to what I'm doing, I don't know yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Maybe spirit but I heard it's like €35 this year.. probably just end up in the pod!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Either go out here in Blanch or head down the country. Wouldnt risk town, collective bouncer wankerism at any decent spot could make it a wasted trip, on NYE they can afford to be choosy as fcuk, especially against under 21s. Id nearly rather sit at home than be forced into Redz, Tramcos etc etc (correction- i actually would rather sit at home, on my own, during a power cut, crying to myself, on NYE than go to Tramcos). Probably giving town a go Thursday night so.

I wouldnt pay 35 euro into Spirit if I needed a life saving kidney transplant in the place. Its grand enough, but its just about/barely worth the usual 20, let alone 35.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Either go out here in Blanch or head down the country. Wouldnt risk town, collective bouncer wankerism at any decent spot could make it a wasted trip, on NYE they can afford to be choosy as fcuk, especially against under 21s. Id nearly rather sit at home than be forced into Redz, Tramcos etc etc (correction- i actually would rather sit at home, on my own, during a power cut, crying to myself, on NYE than go to Tramcos). Probably giving town a go Thursday night so.

I wouldnt pay 35 euro into Spirit if I needed a life saving kidney transplant in the place. Its grand enough, but its just about/barely worth the usual 20, let alone 35.

What are you on about lol, if the bouncers refuse you in 1 club in town, you can just try 1 of the other 100 clubs in the area. If the ****ers on the door in Heaven refuse you, you're screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Trip Hazard

Well i'll be watching the fire works going off at the Harbour bridge!!!!!!!!
    Oh did I mention i'm in Sydney this new years, Waa Hoo!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

New Year's Ball in the Galway Radisson. Quite looking forward to it actually, haven't donned the ol' tux since college!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Firesuite

I'm undecided between going out in town or a house party. Doesn't sound like there's too much positive stuff being said about clubs in town.. anyone had a _good_ experience of a night out in town on new year's or is that too much to ask? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Repli wrote:
    What are you on about lol, if the bouncers refuse you in 1 club in town, you can just try 1 of the other 100 clubs in the area. If the ****ers on the door in Heaven refuse you, you're screwed.

Hundred me bollix, the amt of clubs in Dublin seems to have actually declined. Fact is theres an awful lot of them you wouldnt actually want to go to (such as the aforementioned). I say alot of town is working on the pre- bought ticket system this year, id say its booked out already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭the_menace

I'm getting out of this crap country and going to Liverpool. Much cheaper and better than Dublin and I got my return flight for 60 Europes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

Back to deise for me.. probably the forum -> drunk -> renew old enemy acquaintances outside ze local chipper by pissing on their girlfriend by accident again-> bish bash bosh -> ding dang do -> ride a foul drooling slobbering hound -> lose a tooth -> and wake up in the certain knowledge thats its a new year and last nite never existed. ahhh fatty fkin lewis and the lewis twins ahhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

House party for me! Tis my birthday!

Yay!

All welcome. Bring your own defibrillators!

what age are you - id say about 37 or 38 DameJ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

No no,11 on Sunday.

20 actually.

Where's the party? Some how I think it would be quite fun to go to a party full of complete strangers:D

well cormie the waterford expats in dublin have built a stage and dj booth and have invited a load of trad bands + a couple of good djs (dance)

location : tbposted for new years eve...all are welcome - i may head back for that one. SHould be a ripper

dress code : crusty to professional to fancy dress.
    entry fee : bag of alcohol

trad as in "hup ya boya jigs and reels" ?? I love it:) A mix of trad and dance, good stuff. But I don't drink so can't get in:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

party in my sister's place most likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

don't got to town (dublin) if can help it...

any new years there is always a bit dud, and town is frighteningly empty...
    (there last year)

this year, down the bog, probably we'll end up in some old-mans pub :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Well i'll be watching the fire works going off at the Harbour bridge!!!!!!!!
    Oh did I mention i'm in Sydney this new years, Waa Hoo!!!!

go away, your not welcome here if your going to be making statements like that

pcwares wrote:
    Back to deise for me.. probably the forum -> drunk -> renew old enemy acquaintances outside ze local chipper by pissing on their girlfriend by accident again-> bish bash bosh -> ding dang do -> ride a foul drooling slobbering hound -> lose a tooth -> and wake up in the certain knowledge thats its a new year and last nite never existed. ahhh fatty fkin lewis and the lewis twins ahhh.

Good plan.

Pity there's a 1.50 booking fee for your tickets...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Skitbra

Party in my mates place. Any suggestions for making it a fun party? Any games, drinking or otherwise to suggest?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

harrys pub, sligo.
    Bring all your friends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Palace on camden street is free in 2moro night. And its open til 3!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Was the op hoping someone here would organise something for us all to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

if anyone wants to keep me company online just let me know... I'm one of the suckers who got stuck working.... *sigh*

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ah yes I remember that you do, that sucks...oooh drink is wearing of...may aswell go to bed soon...
    (try an american forum :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

the_menace wrote:
    I'm getting out of this crap country and going to Liverpool. Much cheaper and better than Dublin and I got my return flight for 60 Europes.

wow Liverpool. You have opened my eyes!

if anyone wants to keep me company online just let me know... I'm one of the suckers who got stuck working.... *sigh*

Ouch! What time you working til?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Skitbra wrote:
    Party in my mates place. Any suggestions for making it a fun party? Any games, drinking or otherwise to suggest?

Give them the wrong address, drink so much you have imaginary friends and stick on some funky 70's music.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Palace on camden street is free in 2moro night.

Theres a good reason for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Skitbra wrote:
    Put on goldfrapp ooh la la-everytime she says la...take a drink.
    Find more songs with extremely repetitve lyrics...It's fun
    Play the cereal box game. Basically you put a cereal box on the floor and have to pick it up only using your teeth. Make it smaller as each roud progresses. Makes for some very amusing trip ups.
    When yis all get proper drunk dance to cheesey music. AKA Billy Idol or something equally funny and have a dance off. Priceless. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Honestly, a party doesn't exist until Madness is played. I promise you, the place will be a cartoon ball of arms and legs, with the shouting and the singing and the laughing and the jumping.

Any tips on taking over a house to House Party in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Daddio wrote:
    Honestly, a party doesn't exist until Madness is played. I promise you, the place will be a cartoon ball of arms and legs, with the shouting and the singing and the laughing and the jumping.

Any tips on taking over a house to House Party in?

Arrive at the door with a bottle of something strong. Give it to the person who opened the door for you...they'll run off to drink it and you can saunter in...if anyone asks who you are, point to a random group of people and point out no one in particular.
    Note..this probably won't work. It's just an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Headin in the Dublin city centre tonight.
    Anyone know what time is best to head in?

Would like to get a bit of a pub crawl in before settling down in somewhere thats decent (or feels decent by the state we'll be in....).
    Am thinking heading in for 8 (prob 9 by the time the gf gets ready).
    Sound alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Fajitas! wrote:
    Ouch! What time you working til?
    7pm - 7am... have my Pringles, my Diet Coke and half my selection box to celebrate!

Happy New Year everyone, have a drink for me too!