Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people with disabilities make you laugh?

• 27-12-2005 12:30pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭

some of the more hardcore comedians stray down the path of disability for its pure comic value. John Lennon had a thing against people with disabilities also. Ill post a couple of his quotes.

question: its okay for people with diabilities to laugh at themselves and the disability itself i.e. separate the malfunction with the personality/spirit but what about the people without obvious ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Post reported (are the Mods gone till Jan the 3rd or something? :rolleyes: )

Disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

They dont, if ever ill try and help them, than laugh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

its a figurative statement and its just typical someone like you with the stence of righteousous pompously replies straightaway.

its not a statement of my moral conduct. i have come across this watching andrew dice clay - a pretty vulgar comedian and it a bit taboo still so its worth debating pal.

furthermore report the post all you want - i have worked with people with mental and physical disabilities albeit a short time.

pcwares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Ricky Gervais does some good sketches with/about disabled people, but mainly because he adopts an ignorant "persona" and raises some awareness about what these people go through.

Can't say "people with disabilities make me laugh" though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Disgraceful

Oh dear.....

Why do people that get offended this easily even use Internet message boards?!:confused:

The first post was a question, not a statement and your overly PC attitude is whats wrong with a lot of people these days, the mere mention of anything that could result in a conversation with any kind of non PC element has to be stopped and instantly! :rolleyes:

thanks - i think its bang out of order you cant delve into contentious issues without the crosier of bishop balderdash being levelled down upon my boards reputation.

jasus

cant say 'people with diabiltities make me laugh'

thats a starting point for the debate..what about the incomplete pete joke that is seriously funny joke. Abstract and not specificially directed at for instance someone walking down the road.

I'm afraid I don't know that joke, but I reckon that you may have worded the thread title a bit too quickly.

"Why do people with disabilities make you laugh?"

... I can see how people would take that the wrong way, perhaps it should have been ...

"Why do we laugh at jokes about disabled people?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

pcwares wrote:

coz they're gas! :v:

thats a point joe but i aimed it to get both sides of the glass curtain onto this one.. its reminiiscent of the writer in the irish times who referred to single mothers...raising bas*tards and leeching off the state..etc. not quoted exactly there. Kevin Myers wasnt it.

Rid wrote:
    coz they're gas! :v:

Get back in your box you.

Bloody trolls. :mad:

just im'ing him :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭tonymontana

I was wathcing Ricky Gervais "Politics" over Christmas and he starts out by taking the piss out of disabled people, just wasn't funny, easiest thing to slag, doesn't show any genius or anything, and then he went on to the next easiest thing, gays, just turned it off, a load of sh*t.

pcwares wrote:
    thats a point joe but i aimed it to get both sides of the glass curtain onto this one.. its reminiiscent of the writer in the irish times who referred to single mothers...raising bas*tards and leeching off the state..etc. not quoted exactly there. Kevin Myers wasnt it.

Yeah I suppose you're right, people will see the title and be offended and be compelled to reply, but hopefully see the point you are making (unlike the first reply hopefully).

It was Kevin Myers too, but I don't really think he had a decent point to make...
    I was wathcing Ricky Gervais "Politics" over Christmas and he starts out by taking the piss out of disabled people, just wasn't funny, easiest thing to slag, doesn't show any genius or anything, and then he went on to the next easiest thing, gays, just turned it off, a load of sh*t.

Good job you didn't keep watching so, he moved on to Nazi's and Jews, the elderly, etc...

yeah i agree about gervais' attitude. Its scraping each barrell and is not imaginative or formulated at all.

i liked the idea in the film about the 2 lads who turn diability on its head and go on a session rampage. Cant recall the name of the film - its won a load of awards - thinks its set in sweden or another scandi country..filled with comedy in relation to their disability. Havint seen it on the shelves though ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I guess it's all a case of schadenfreude.

Personally Timmy and Jimmy on South Park crack me up.

another reason why i brought this up was because i was in city centre a while back and chanced upon two physically disabled lads who were drunk and were sporting all the scanger accessories ..hoods, tracksuites, peakcaps and they came out of the alleyway beside the aib bank machine just beside the central bar there on o connel street. They were killing each other over which way to go and it was absoutlutely hilarious. Myself and my friend could barely contain ourselves. Id say those two lads could make a boxoffice film hit given the Rright script. What'd you thnik monkeyfudge - ur into film aint ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

i dont think its the fact that they are disabled, its the funny ironic situations that you can get in to if you have a disability.

i have an uncle with a disability, i will still crack jokes about diabled people because at the end of the day, if you cant laugh, you'll cry! and whats the point in crying if you can laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

pcwares wrote:
    John Lennon had a thing against people with disabilities also. Ill post a couple of his quotes.
    wheres the quotes?

just mailed my mate who has read most stuff there is to read thats worth reading about lennon. shuold be posted soon.

catsmokingpot -> its is the situational comic value or the shock value of utilising diabilty for gain remember kaiser sosa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭OsamaBinLaden

some things are just funny.
    i laugh at jimmy and timmy on south park. i laugh at joe swanson on family guy. it's funny. it's even funnier when you're in a room with someone who has spina bifida and looks like timmy and he's laughing along with you.
    thing is, some handicapped people do actually have a sense of humour. they're not all completely helpless.
    here's my friend damien doing an impression of timmy on the way home from the pub one night. http://homepage.eircom.net/~teryu2/jerome.damo.3gp
    damien is the one in the wheel chair.
    he was in my house on christmas night laughing at joe swanson on family guy.
    all you uber-pc types need to remember that handicapped people can actually laugh at their own disability. damien's philosophy is that life is too short to be moping about and whining because he can't walk.

sorry about the poor quality. 1.3 megapixel camera phone and shot at night. not the best resolution. opens in real player or quicktime.

thats great stuff osama..

one of the cousins has spina bifida also but he does go a bit over board sometimes when hes down as in he would say to my uncle when hes giving him a hand out of car 'what the fk are you doing, does it look like im an invalid'. Then theyre silence followed by sniggers and then everyone bursts out laughing...

its making the most out of life no matter what the fk god or whatever has laid on for you.

i have something of a disability too. i suffer from agorophobia and i have really bad panic attacks if i outside of a 1/4 mile radius of my house. even going to the shops can be a struggle for me. i'm fine after a few beers and my friends regulaly take the piss out of me in the pub about my condition. simple jokes like "oh, there's no point in asking Terry if he's coming to the village with us. he'll just get a nose bleed" i laugh along with them. if you can't laugh at yourself, then you can't laugh at anyone else.

in fairness, humour is subjective. some people don't find humour in disabilities and that's fair enough. i just don't think that we should all be villified for laughing at someone's misfortune if it genuinely tickles our funny bone.

however, i wouldn't be the kind of person who goes around teasing every handicapped (or handicapable if you're living the the naziesque pc land of america) person i see. i personally don't find it funny. it's just that sometimes someone does have a condition that is funny and i'll laugh along with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭the_jocky

most popular comedy this year is........
    andy in the wheelchair.little britain
    great topic i often wondered why this was

i nearly pissed myself the first time i saw him get out of the chair. that was ****ing brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭the_jocky

but as the topic suggests why is it funny not just that but all the replys above.
    ive a mate with a lisp and a stutter and when i was a kid i used to ring him to take the p_i_ss and make any excuse to talk to him...lol.
    crazy only the irish ehhhhh americans would not think these things were funny personal expeience .

and he probably genuinely loved your phone calls.

its a unique part of being irish - our inate ability to cope in otherwise dreadful situations which would lapse other races into guilt and shame or worse still pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

in fairness, humour is subjective. some people don't find humour in disabilities and that's fair enough. i just don't think that we should all be villified for laughing at someone's misfortune if it genuinely tickles our funny bone.
    There's laughing @ a general handicap, and there's laughing at someone's handicap. The former is ok, the latter is not.

To laugh @ the joke about "what do you call an epaleptic in a wheelchair?" joke would be humour, but to laugh at at an epaleptic in a wheelchair, its not funny. Its cruel.

Also, it has to funny. Its useless making a joke about a minority [because they're a minority, but if its about a weird way they do something that we see as "normal", its funny.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I'm a person with generally broad and tolerant views, and I am not at all easily offended. In fact, some of my friends think I am too hard to offend for my own good! I don't mind Southpark/Family Guy etc slagging people with disabilities, even if it is a bit tasteless, at least it's funny.

However, my Dad is wheelchair-bound, and from the first line of this thread that I read, I have been deeply and personally offended.

My Dad would be too if he was reading it, and he's more than well able to laugh at himself. My mum got him a "The Office" dvd for Christmas and he keeps going around saying to everyone; "There are limits to my comedy. Like I don't slag handicappeds. I don't see a little handicapped and go 'Oh I can walk, you can't walk, I'm prejudiced'. They might be leg-mental but not head-mental, although, it's hard to tell with the wheelchair ones"

That's pure comic genius, but this thread is abhorrent.

youre deeply offended. Well i am sorry that you feel offended about this thread. Its intend to provoke debate not offence but then all debate can be passionate affairs and not everyone will have the same reaction. But does that mean we shuold neve debate these types of issues. I think thats probabaly for another thread. I will not apologise for the thread or my aim. But i will apologise to you that it caused you offence and hurt. I think the thread itself speaks volumes for irish peoples changing attitudes and value systems from the silent bad olde days.

The title is to captured both sets of voices.However in hindsight i could have toned it down a piece.

pcwares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

well tommy ternan ( sp ) starts off his dvd with jokes about the holocost (sp). i dont find them very funny but he did have a point about people take some things way to seriously .

watch it hes got a good point about the bible .

rest of his jokes apart from the one about irish oylimpians are crap

dono why you would report this thread to the admins . nothing wrong with what he said

comming from the dyslexic poster with a blonde gf that used to suffer from epilepsy who likes to hear jokes about blonds dyslexic people and epileptic badgers on smack

comming from the dyslexic poster with a blonde gf that used to suffer from epilepsy who likes to hear jokes about blonds dyslexic people and epileptic badgers on smack[/QUOTE]

class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Laughing at disabled people ... not funny for anyone above 5, I would hope.

Laughing at the strange ways in which disabled people are sometimes treated by able people - can be funny because it shows up hypocrasies and the gap between what people say and do.

That's pure comic genius, but this thread is abhorrent.
    could you point out what it is that you find abhorrent in this thread?
    i only ask because i don't see anything wrong with it.
    handicaps are something that need to be spoken about and not buried under the carpet. are we supposed to ignore the guy in the wheelchair? are we to look past the autistic kid down the road? (that would be my cousins kid). these people exist and we can't ignore the fact that they are different to the majority of us, and they are different. laughing at things that are different is human nature. i'm not saying that's it's right, but it does happen. i'm also not saying that i'm gonna point at the guy with downs syndrome and start laughing at him. i will laugh though if he does something that i find funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The only thing I would have a problem with is the title
    "Why do people with disabilities make you laugh?"
    Which is presuming that everybody does laugh at them. Sort of like the joke question "are you still riding dogs?", if you answer "no" the reply is "oh you finally gave it up, good for you"

cop on for yourself and get over yourself. Take part in it or dont. Title has been dealth with. Your about as perceptive as mo in the stoges, ya clownbag!

And ithink if a title draws more people to it like the honeypot effect then it makes for a more interesting resultant debate or view stance etc

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

could you point out what it is that you find abhorrent in this thread.
    You.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

rubadub wrote:
    Sort of like the joke question "are you still riding dogs?", if you answer "no" the reply is "oh you finally gave it up, good for you"
    Or you could answer "yes, yore ma...".

Oh, and elexes, PM me that joke about the epileptic badgers on smack, will ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

I have a sick sense of humour and I find a lot of that stuff funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Disgraceful

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

i know fighting irish but what ya going do ..some people pulpit bash their way through life. This is not in reference to one of the poster who was genuinely upset by this btw.

pcwares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Disgraceful

you post 3 minutes after OP and wonder why the thread is open?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Having worked with kids with special needs and mental and physical disabilities, I was massively tickled by a story related to me by a friend recently. A school nativity play was arranged in a special school recently where a child with Down's Syndrome, lets call him James, having difficulty learning his lines being given the part of Joseph was "demoted" to the part of Inn-Keeper. He was NOT happy. :mad: In front of a packed hall of proud parents, siblings and teachers, the Virgin Mary and the newly appointed Joseph came to the Inn and asked whether there was any room.....James replied, "There's plenty of room for Mary, but that Joseph can go F*CK OFF".....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

Miss Fluff wrote:
    Having worked with kids with special needs and mental and physical disabilities, I was massively tickled by a story related to me by a friend recently. A school nativity play was arranged in a special school recently where a child with Down's Syndrome, lets call him James, having difficulty learning his lines being given the part of Joseph was "demoted" to the part of Inn-Keeper. He was NOT happy. :mad: In front of a packed hall of proud parents, siblings and teachers, the Virgin Mary and the newly appointed Joseph came to the Inn and asked whether there was any room.....James replied, "There's plenty of room for Mary, but that Joseph can go F*CK OFF".....:D

lol class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Miss Fluff wrote:
    lol. thats brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

I don't see how anyone could be surprised that this type of thread would cause offense; it's obviously going to upset people. As I said earlier, I have a sick and twisted sense of humour and the kind of things I find funny would upset and anger a lot of people. For that very reason I try to keep my humour to myself unless I'm in the company of someone who I know has a similar taste in jokes.

If there was a specific thread for sick jokes or politically incorrect jokes I would post there straight away, but I would be wary of starting such a thread or sharing my humour without being asked.

I think there are loads of people who find certain things funny that strictly speaking are wrong to laugh about or in bad taste. I am one of these people, and while I make no apologies for my taste in humour, I'll try not to inflict it on other people wherever possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Hehehe.........Been following this thread with great interest and amusement. :p

(The only stuff that even comes close to offensive to me in it so far is the terminologies that have been used by some....."Wheelchair Bound"...."Handicapped"........."Invalid".....thought they had gone out with liza minelli *sigh)

Anyone here who knows me, (an there are quite a few lol), can verify I have "quite a few" disabilities :p And yes, Im an electric wheelchair user with Spina-bifida, Multiple Sclerosis, epilepsy and asthma (tho i still smoke 20 a day hehe), as somone wiki'd recently, if there is a minority group I prolly am in it. :p

There is somthing Iv noticed over the years on this topic, the majority of PWD's (people with disabilities) seem to be of the opinion that if the person *making* the joke has a disability then it is *more* ok, than if not. Personally I dont agree, to me its more *how* its made.

Personally, if it makes me laugh, it makes me laugh. If It dosent then Ill say it dosent. If I dont have the balls to object if I want to, then I cant complain about the attitude of the joke-teller.

I tend to topple more towards the "screw political correctness, it originated from a great concept but (imho) has gone way overboard over the years", camp.

If somthing is obviously wrong, (as was refferred to earlier),like jokes about the holocaust, or priests / abuse, an such, or based on such things like the colour of somones skin, etc, then hell yeah, that is NOT accecptable, and I am perfectly capable of there an then making my opinions clear on it.

Of course, I can only speak for myself but, its not about anything other than the context the joke is told in,............For example, a friend of mine has emphysema (sp?), and in her presence I wouldnt (need to) think twice about making a quip such as "Eh wheezy, use yer inhaler"..... as I say, context.
    And, on that, I spose I tend to think a joke, if made as a general lash at a particular disability, is *very* dodgy, whereas a joke about a particular person in their presence Is usually harmless fun. In the same way as I would slag a friend about being a blonde, or saying somthing funny unintentionally. :) In a good natured, way.

Now, anyways..........

A priest, a rabbi, a bishop, a transexual, a wheelchair user, a blonde, a homosexual & a epileptic walk into a bar.........................

b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

I told like wise that it was not very funny, however I was watch the dvd in a friends house and if you go to the extras with the bit were he is interviewing his producer its hilarous
    best bit of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

theres this mildly mentally impaired lad living in my area,he's about 13 looks a bit like the devil and he stands at the entrance to his estate and sticks his fingers up at everyone,i think he knows well what he's doing and trys to get away with everything,he goes into local shops with a couple of 5 cent pieces and trys to buy things costing far more than what he throws at the shop staff,he's hillarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Re: the insult 'spastic'.

I've never seen a an actual spastic being called one - only able-bodied people who do/say something stupid (in the eyes of the person throwing the insult).

Why is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

here's my tuppence worth.... I have cerebral palsy and I went to a 'Normal' school some of the students gave me a hard time especially as my second name was Browne and My left foot came out around the time. It got me down BIG TIME i even considered suacide because of it, then one night while watching TV I saw a comedian in a wheelchair on TV, to this day have no idea who she was, but she was making disabled jokes. It turned a key for me, you can cry or laugh about it. So I decided to laugh, next time i was slagged I said wait I have a better one then that......... The guy nearly sh*t himself cause he had no reponse for it.

It is like Eddie Murphy using the N word, he gets away with it cause he is Black,

On the other hand laughing at someone's disability just cause you can is just unitelligent, and ur the fool.

I recekon it all comes down to if the person sets out to cause offence, for instance my best friend would get away with alot more then a complete stranger would.