Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

judge makes teenager stand in town centre with sign

• 25-12-2005 10:25am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭

Have you read that judgement that was handed out by a judge in the west recently. The young lad was caught urinating in a public place and the judge gave him the customary drunk and disorderly charge and made him wear a sign apologising for it in the main street.

tough justice. - record and now the village idiot -

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I know a bloke who had to do this on O' Connell Street about 8 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

And a Garda has to stand there with him and make sure he does it.

That's a great use of state resources... well done Judge!

Also... he never stipulated what size the sign had to be either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Serves him right, but still: Christmas!!!! Ja!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

lads its christmas were else will he pee lol

In fairness there are absolutely no public toilets in this city. Some people could probably be a bit more descrete about the whole public urination thing though.

And Dub13, are you talking about the guy who pissed on an ATM? That was pretty obnoxious.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Dub13, are you talking about the guy who pissed on an ATM? That was pretty obnoxious.

No that was not him......never heard of anyone pissing on an ATM,thats sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Haha!

He certainly would learn a lesson and be more public than a small section of the courts section in the local newspaper!

Dub13 wrote:
    No that was not him......never heard of anyone pissing on an ATM,thats sick.
    Yeah.. the first time I heard about one of these silly punishments was because the guy used an ATM as a toilet. Would have been about 8 or so years ago too.

Ha.. I'm glad you keep better company than that... just regular public urination isn't too bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

im always try at least a couple of times every few months to go into easons and try and pick up a copy of the munster express to see the court pages for waterford. Absoulutlely hilarious stuff that goes on....i may post some of these later.

ive been to court a few times (educational) and most of the time the courtroom and judge were in stitches. The gardai showed no sign of decorum - standing around like school kids yapping and giggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

this reminds me of die hard, where willis has to wear a big sign thats offensive to black people, right in the middle of harlem :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

The Four Courts are much more serious and sombre though. I went with my Legal Studies class in the summer and we made a sign saying "Guilty" on one side and "Innocent" on the other which we thought we should hold up like the green peppers and red tomatos on ready steady cook to vote on whether the accused was guilty or innocent. We got given out to so much :P Luckily Neither the Jury nor the Judge saw it.

ready steady cook - thats deadly, i might engage my legal studies class to do the same in the coming year. Who admonished you for doing it ?Your lecs or court attendents etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭OsamaBinLaden

you've got to go to kilmainham some day. it's a f*cking scream. i went i with a friend one day. saw some scumbag being sent down and then his girlfriend freaked out. "YOU CAN'T SEND HIM DOWN. HE'S SICK. DON'T TAKE HIM. PLEASE!
    OK TAKE HIM THEN YIS F*CKIN' BASTARDS. YIS ARE ALL F*CKIN' BASTARDS. I'LL GET YOU FOR DIS. YOU JUST WAIT. I'LL GET YE." then she was sent down too. that was a funny day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ida told the judge to fcuk off, id sooner do a week or two in prison., Scandalous ruling- where in the fcuk are ya meant to piss after the pubs and chippers are shut?

and after serving 2 weeks in the joy youd have wished you kept the mouth well shut i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

pcwares wrote:
    Have you read that judgement that was handed out by a judge in the west recently. The young lad was caught urinating in a public place and the judge gave him the customary drunk and disorderly charge and made him wear a sign apologising for it in the main street.

QUOTE]

It's currently under appeal so he hasn't had to wear any sign yet. It was in Co Cavan, not the "West". What media source has given you this incorrect info ??!!!!

just remembered a snippet of it - cannot recall where.

soffy if i offended your sensibilities

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Wow, what a knobhead judge. Surely thats a breach of some human rights? Anyway irregardless its hardly going to make him not want to do it again. Give him 5 years!

judges can basically do what they please and can direct a jury if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Dude, piss in a side street. Or at least look both ways if pissing in the middle of the road:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

pcwares wrote:
    just remembered a snippet of it - cannot recall where.

soffy if i offended your sensibilities

No offence taken - I'm only passing the time.