Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas Baby !

• 22-12-2005 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

No I haven't qualified for the WSOP just yet :rolleyes: ...but I have gone and done something a little mad.

I've gone and bought a poker 'skin' !

I've called it ....Vegas Baby Poker ! http://www.vegasbabypoker.com

I had a few quid from my live winnings this year that I haven't touched, and rather use this as some sort of bankroll, I've decided to gamble with it in another manner.

http://www.lvfh.com/ provide the software, and has received some very good reviews.
    Tiger gaming, Nine Sportsbook https://www.nine.com/ and the Island Network are customers of theirs as well.
    I like the software and was one of the reasons I went for it. They have 24 hour support as well.
    They have an upgrade coming shortly that should mean private tourneys can be organised.

Player liquidity ranges between 1000 and 4000 per day, this isn't great, and where it is understrength at the moment, but it's not far behind where Tribeca was 18 months ago, and is consistently growing, so hopefully I'm getting in on the 'ground floor'.
    The vast majority of players are Canadian (Tiger Gaming), and they are Terrible with a capital T. Obviously the time zone difference means it's far more busier late at night our time, but hopefully that will change:)

Like anything else owning a skin has strengths and weaknesses, but when I weighed up all the pros and cons, I came to the conclusion that it was worth doing, I've no overheads, so that's good.

I have a few ideas how and where I'm going to promote www.vegasbabypoker.com, obviously I'm aware of the competition in the market.

I don't have direct access to player stats so I don't know how well (or bad) players are running, so your confidentiality is safe.

Anyways that's the craic.

BTW ..... 1% of all my rake is going to Big Dragons charity, and also if any of you fellahs do sign up to play, you can use the refer a friend system to also help Big Dragon's charity at $25 per person.
    If you want to help Big D's charity, please PM him your e-mail address (or me), as you will then receive an invite to sign up from him, connecting you with the charity player name he has set up "1PERCENT"....and the ensuing bonus once you have qualified (easily done).

A little bit of a different thread anyway :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

wow!
    very best of luck!

ps make em have auction 15 tables!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

so am i right in saying you own vegas baby online poker?

Different way of investing your money

Good lluck with it and as soon as I start making money I'll make a lodgement and start playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

emm whats a skin? and emm how do we withdraw money if we win..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Empire poker was a 'skin' of Party Poker .... 'Skins' are different poker sites that operate on a inclusive network.

e.g Tribeca has VC, PPP, Doyles Room etc.... Cryptologic has Betfair, Littlewoods, William Hill etc...

They all use the same software, RNG and share the same player base

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

If anyone's considering playing on Culchies site then I can confirm that the network has probably the worst players on the Internet. There are a good few people like Culchie who have forked out a few quid for a skin on the network (it's actually like an affiliate deal with the buzz of your own skin name) but what kinda happens is that the people who do it rope their friends and family and stuff into playing on it to generate some rake. This results in a lot of terrible players on the network who wouldn't necessarily be playing elsewhere but are just there because someone they know owns a skin.
    The best of luck with it Culchie, I might play for a while at your skin early in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

that is such a funky way of making money from poker. will definitely put some of my next paycheck into neteller and then into the skin...

hotspur wrote:
    If anyone's considering playing on Culchies site then I can confirm that the network has probably the worst players on the Internet. There are a good few people like Culchie who have forked out a few quid for a skin on the network (it's actually like an affiliate deal with the buzz of your own skin name) but what kinda happens is that the people who do it rope their friends and family and stuff into playing on it to generate some rake. This results in a lot of terrible players on the network who wouldn't necessarily be playing elsewhere but are just there because someone they know owns a skin.
    The best of luck with it Culchie, I might play for a while at your skin early in the new year.

Cheers hotspur .... I'm not daft enough to think I'll rope anyone in (for significant period anyway)... the site/players/playability/service etc....will have to stand on it's own two feet at the end of the day.
    I don't see Greg Raymer or Phil Helmuth hammering it out head to head just yet on Vegas Baby ... but that's not the plan either.
    And yes, man, the players are terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Well done Culchie your a good prospector, i hope it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Thats savage man, ill try check it out over xmas, besta luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

so how do we withdraw money. will it be just like ppp ?

Credit Card or Neteller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

Congrats Culchie!

It's great to see initiative being taken! Best of luck with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

So what you are saying is that we can use neteller on your skin, but we can't use it on PPP? :D

Congrats Culchie, will set up account to witness these awful players first hand at some stage over the festive period.

Dont suppose you have any deposit bonus' or rakeback deals?:D

30% Deposit bonus is there, just click on link when making your first lodgment for code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Best of luck with the new venture.I was thinking of going doing this but the biggest problem is getting clients.Btw how much did it cost.the site i was planning to go with had a price range from $999 to 12K with the bottom 1 being skin only and the top including casino software . What percentage of profits are the parent company offering ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Well Done Mate, You told me about this a couple of weeks ago and I knew if anyone would do it, you would.

Good luck with and I'll give it a go when I get back from Christmas.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Nice one Culchie,you have your fingers in many pies fair play its the only way to make serious cash.

I have never played on this Network before,anybody know what the MTTs and STTs are like....?

They are slow enough until about midnight Paul ... Mtt's get about 100-130 then.
    Nice structure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

like the range of different poker games available (in addition to the hold-em and omaha)

Culchie wrote:
    They are slow enough until about midnight Paul ... Mtt's get about 100-130 then.
    Nice structure though.

I play alot late at night and I like to double table different sites so I will be checking it out soon.Is there much work involved for you...?sure what else will you be doing when you move back "out west".

ps:sorry to hear about your wasted trip last night....I got all wound up when I heard this yesterday and I was not even planing on playing last night.I hope you found a game somewhere.

Guts, Chinese Poker, Big2, 7 card stud ... it's something different anyway.

Dub13 wrote:
    ps:sorry to hear about your wasted trip last night....I got all wound up when I heard this yesterday and I was not even planing on playing last night.I hope you found a game somewhere.

Yeh, I seen your 'ranting and raving' last night ! ... must be the on the job stress this week:p

Went straight home, might have been no harm, town was looking pretty rough last night even at 8.30pm

Vegas Nights have a €40 rebuy + 1 top up tonight, no rake and two free pints, so will play either that or the scalps tourney tonight.

How is this going...?I have not played it yet but will soon.

Will start doing some marketing later this month Paul, getting a few things worked up now.

The site has terrible players, that's for sure.

Watch this space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Love the advertising hook....
    Play Vegas Baby....their fecking brutal!

Good man yerself...I'll throw a few euro into it

How much control do you have...?can you setup your own private games and satellites...?I know this is not your top priority now but further down the line it could come in handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Weird looking skin...
    though to be fair Im mostly a tribecca or partypoker man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Best of luck with this Mick. Now if you can talk them into making a version for my Mac so I won't have to buy a PC it'd be great.

edit: On second thoughts, never mind. One less crappy player won't make much difference :o

DeadParrot wrote:
    Weird looking skin...
    though to be fair Im mostly a tribecca or partypoker man

More Paradise than any of them, and variety is the spice of life ....

As for Tribeca and Party I'm working on a hostile takeover ;)

has anyone signed up for this and want to refer me to avail of the $25 refer a friend bonus??

This isnt taking away from you culchie is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

shoutman wrote:
    has anyone signed up for this and want to refer me to avail of the $25 refer a friend bonus??

Ye love to - I think you need to PM me your e-mail address and I send a referral??? Culchie...

You can put in "1percent" in the bonus field and it will go to Big Dragon's charity fund if you want.....otherwise just put in the players name in the sign up bonus field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

shoutman wrote:

use bigdragons referral option, all that money is going to charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Iago wrote:
    use bigdragons referral option, all that money is going to charity
    Ye good idea

will do thanks people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Very interesting Culchie, best of luck with this project.

Are you able to alter the skin? Going to download it now and check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭Ronan

Culchie wrote:
    The site has terrible players, that's for sure.

Now this is a good marketing hook :) I might bung in a few quid and try a few STTs. Good luck with the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Ronan wrote:
    Now this is a good marketing hook :) I might bung in a few quid and try a few STTs. Good luck with the site.

Hi Ronan,
    Did you go out to City West on Saturday or Sunday?? You made the right decision not playing on Friday, although I thought the buzz of the game was unreal and I got a wealth of experience from it. Never seen AA cracked so much in my life (not that I had them once)

Hey there smurph, think you have the wrong Ronan :) I've never been to City West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Ronan wrote:
    Hey there smurph, think you have the wrong Ronan :) I've never been to City West.

Sorry bout that. The guy i was talking to in City West is actually called Ronan....... thought he was using his real name.......

looks like I'll have to put a ™ after my name!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

smurph wrote:
    Sorry bout that. The guy i was talking to in City West is actually called Ronan....... thought he was using his real name.......

That Ronan that you are referring to doesn't post here Smurph.