Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photo Challenge 8: Judging

• 21-12-2005 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭

Perhaps a more difficult or strange theme for this month but the photos turned out well anyway They are here -> http://photos.rymus.net/thumbnails.php?album=1 for the remainer of the month.

As a side note; a couple of you may notice that your entered photos don't appear in this months challenge. The reason for this is that they broke the 1mb size limit.

Ohh and given that this is the last challenge of 2005, happy christmas & new year. See ye all in 2006

Pick your winner 35 votes

merrion
    0% 0 votes
    conorgrif
    2% 1 vote
    Johnny_Fontane
    5% 2 votes
    muttzer
    5% 2 votes
    sean b
    0% 0 votes
    rymus
    0% 0 votes
    john w
    2% 1 vote
    Flipflip
    22% 8 votes
    Dedalus05
    8% 3 votes
    rosco
    2% 1 vote
    Slumped
    8% 3 votes
    eas
    8% 3 votes
    jamescrombie
    11% 4 votes
    Enygma
    0% 0 votes
    whyulittle
    2% 1 vote
    Ro
    14% 5 votes
    edanto
    2% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

1,2,3,4 all spectacular.
    No. 2 gets it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

16 raises some questions ... like who is she, and how much did you have to pay/drug her?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

No. 10 just stands out for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭patzer117

It's between 10, 12, and 7, for me, and 7 just gets it because it says the most about the weather of those three methinks. Good work by all though.

PS you might want to change the way the file number comes up when you view the files individually because i made my choice on that, and almost voted for the wrong picture as a result. Hope noone else is as clumsy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

Number eight for me. Pity so many went for clouds/sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Why the **** isn't my picture there. This is the second comp this has happened Ryan!

That's very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I can only enter what I find in the gmail account when I login to it... and don't swear at me again or you'll be looking at the fat end of a ****ing lifetime ban bitch

contradiction cat himself.

Maybe you should think about a new method of entering them. Because I don't know how this could happen twice. I sent it, and it send sent! I'm sure you can see why I'd find it annoying. I know it's not really your fault, but surely somethings wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Ooh, it was so hard to choose between Pic 1 and 11. Went for 1 in the end though, it just appealed to me more
    patzer117 wrote:
    PS you might want to change the way the file number comes up when you view the files individually because i made my choice on that, and almost voted for the wrong picture as a result. Hope noone else is as clumsy!

I agree that the file number thing is confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

I like 4 and 7 as photographs, but I'm thinking of going for one of the fun in the snow pictures.

(Well done Rymus on setting up the Coppermine gallery thing.)

Earthhorse wrote:
    I agree that the file number thing is confusing.

I'm going for a whole 'Florida electronic voting' thing this time around...It's being changed for the next challenge to make turnaround from entry to voting a little less tasking. It's like Fianna Fail 'alot done, alot more to do' (and couldnt be arsed spending huge amounts of time or money on it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

the 'playing in the snow' (frost!) ones look a tad too staged in my opinion. 7 is nice..looks like Stradbally strand on the Dingle Peninsula...

Just wondering, what's with the votes under the photos on the actual Coppermine page itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

I think pic 15 is amazing.

Picture 8 is very good because its different. (hope the camera didnt get wet!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Yeah, nice one for putting the gallery together.

Couple of great shots there - I think rosco's was my favourite in thumbnail, it looked like a reflection on a lake.

For impact up close though, it has to be john w's. It's a great mix of sun and clouds with the rain in the distance and it's amazing how well you picked out the family in silouette (sp?!). My favourite.

just to screw all your brains over once more numbers now replaced with names. So now you can choose not to vote for someone just because you don't like them! Yay! \o/

rymus wrote:
    just to screw all your brains over once more numbers now replaced with names. So now you can choose not to vote for someone just because you don't like them! Yay! \o/

But you didn't let shrimp enter this one! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

Dedalus05 has got to be one of the most puke inducing ones ever! imo.

IMO John W shows weather the best. Damn I'm annoyed about my pic not getting in..

whyulittle wrote:
    But you didn't let shrimp enter this one! :p

arf arf :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Dedalus05

Sirpsycho,

Puke inducing ! ? Thats my ****ing sister your talking about :D

I would have though at the very least a bit of nudity.... jeez. Or humour...

Where's your ****ing picture? Why don't you post one of your Mamma? I can lend you a wide angle lens ;)

Dedalus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

No 17 for me, well composed, well shot. I'd hang it on my wall.No 7 jumped out at me also, intruiging picture, the thing that put me off was what looks like bleeding on the left hand side, don't know if it's from the resizing of the picture or my monitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭conorgriff

Some great entries, my one was taken in Skerries, dunno why but I thought it was Irish weather that the pics were to be about, had a few cool shots from ibiza that would have been contenders too, ah well, good luck guys, John W got my vote too

all done.. results are there -> http://photos.rymus.net/thumbnails.php?album=11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭waldo

Finally I won a boards challenge :) Thanks for all the votes guys.
    The photo (http://flickr.com/photos/jwallace/27660682/in/set-954133/) was taken at Gaulane Beach, near Stradbally/Castlegregory in West Kerry after a day climbing Brandon last summer.

congratulations on the win

Well done waldo!

I'm delighted with my second place, so thanks everyone who voted. Makes going into town in the freezing fog at 3 in the morning all the more worth it!

Cheers rymus for running the comp again.

Yeah, cheers ryan............ :cool:

Fair play for the win! and u to mr. runner up.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Congratulations:)