Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rub a dub-dub- how do you clean yours?

• 18-12-2005 11:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭

Hey,
    While in conversation recently about hygiene habits I was surprised to find out a girl I know does not use shower gel in the shower, just water. She says sometimes she'll use shampoo to wash herself but that's it. I was surprised at this, I shower with shower gel almost every morning and thought that for girls at least, that was the norm. I'd feel awful if I didn't shower unless I hadn't been sweating/been near smelly stuff the day before. Sometimes I'll shower twice in one day, like my morning shower as normal and then another if I'm hitting the disco and feel a bit clammy. Or if I was near smelly stuff like if I'd cleaned out my rabbit hutch, I don't wanna smell like hay or rabbit poo so I'll have a wash. I haven't got OCD or anything like that, I just love being nice and clean and fresh, a nice hot shower always makes me feel better. Hell, I even have dry shampoo for Phoebe the cat (she gets a bit smelly sometimes). Anyways a long conversation ensued between us all about each other's washing habits so now I'm curious and have posted a poll.

Shower gel/soap- do you use it? 134 votes

I'm a fella, yes I always use shower gel.
    0% 0 votes
    I'm a fella, no you don't need shower gel etc.
    66% 89 votes
    I'm a girl, yes I always use shower gel.
    10% 14 votes
    I'm a girl, no you don't need shower gel etc.
    23% 31 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Surely she uses soap or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Crucifix wrote:
    Surely she uses soap or something?

Just shampoo if she's feeling fancy.
    The rest of my friends said I shouldn't be using so much shower gek cos it'll dry out my skin but my skin is really soft. And the shower gel I use isn't a fancy one, it's the "Regal" one (99c at an Aldi near you).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Nala wrote:
    Just shampoo if she's feeling fancy.
    Like only on occasion? Is her hair not really greasy looking all the time?
    I'm really horrified here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I really cant understand this !!! why doesn't she use soap ?? Does she smell a bit ?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Does she not stink??

Crucifix wrote:
    Like only on occasion? Is her hair not really greasy looking all the time?
    I'm really horrified here.

I was horrified too. She says most of the time she only uses water.

In what could be a coincidence, she was recently voted the smelliest person in her house.
    Bear in mind she lives with both lads and girls.
    Sorry boys but aren't fellas supposed to smell more than girls cos they sweat more?

Thats disgusting... Im glad I dont live with her...

Buy her a shower gel set for crimbo.. Not even a fancy one, just wrap up some shower gel and give it to her.. Maybe she'll take the hint

:eek: :o

xzanti wrote:
    Thats disgusting... Im glad I dont live with her...

Buy her a shower gel set for crimbo.. Not even a fancy one, just wrap up some shower gel and give it to her.. Maybe she'll take the hint

:eek: :o

I told her how gross I thought it was that she doesn't use shower gel but she says you don't need it.

Ah she sounds like a weirdo.. Just water?? She'd just smell like someone whos got caught in the rain :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Nala wrote:
    I told her how gross I thought it was that she doesn't use shower gel but she says you don't need it.

F*cking hell, leave the girl alone... You haven't mentioned that you yourself think there's a smell off her -- you even said that you're "surprised" that she doesn't use shower gel. So, what's the problem? I'm sure she doesn't appreciate being called gross just because you happen to scrub yourself with a wire brush every 5 minutes.

On a side note,
    Nala wrote:
    if I'd cleaned out my rabbit hutch

I thought that this was some sort of metaphore! :eek:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

My mum's convinced she's allergic to soap, so she uses other stuff instead, like fruit juices and other non-soap stuff.

But then, my mum's crackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

You shouldn't use gels etc everytime you shower, they're bad for your skin in the long term, sometimes you should just wash yourself solely with water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Yeah - agreed. Excess shower gel is bad for you - you shouldn't use it all the time. I often shower using just soap. Incidentally - showering every day is also not great for you, you should only shower when you need a shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

I knew a guy like that once. Smelly b*****d!
    Honestly,i dont see the problem showering (with gel/soap) daily,or twice daily. There's no reason in this day and age to smell. It's not only bad hygiene,it's bad manners to force anyone else to smell you(now *that* sounds dirty:v:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

No i don't see any problem with it either! I shower every morning without fail and use shower gel...that's just my basic hygiene

She should be using some kind of soap ect. occasionally imo but as long as she isn't noticably smelly, let her be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I like bubbles...and I find shower gel makes everything a lot, erm, smoother...
    DaveMcG wrote:
    I thought that this was some sort of metaphore! :eek:
    So did I :eek: :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

thats horrible... water wont make ya smell nice.. i go ott when im in the shower.. youd swear i was having my last shower with all the cleaning i do... dove is the best for me.. dosent dry my skin out like some other soaps

DaveMcG wrote:
    F*cking hell, leave the girl alone... You haven't mentioned that you yourself think there's a smell off her

Yes, she does smell. I don't know about you, but to me that's not nice.
    DaveMcG wrote:
    So, what's the problem?
    She has really bad personal hygiene and smells.
    DaveMcG wrote:
    I'm sure she doesn't appreciate being called gross

She seems to find it funny that she smells.
    DaveMcG wrote:
    just because you happen to scrub yourself with a wire brush every 5 minutes.

As I said in my original post, I shower almost every morning, maybe again later that day. Not every 5 minutes. How often do you shower? Do people sit near you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

In what could be a coincidence, she was recently voted the smelliest person in her house.

that sounds like a fun house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

I shower generally 2 times a day, about twice a week that becomes 3, and once or twice a month I'd have 4 in the one day. In Portugal with my running club I have 4 showers a day for 2 weeks. I use shower gel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Unpleasant body odour is caused by bacteria. Bacterial activity on sweat that has dried on the skin can make it - and you - smell bad.

Having your digestive system in balance can help you smell better, as can showering to wash dried sweat off your skin.

Unless you're some total minger with a diet like a farmyard pig who spends their day on passtimes where you get totally filthy, you really don't need to use as much shower gel as you think. Any kind of soap - milder the better for the sake of your skin - will cut through any grease or oil on your body.

If you eat junk, you'll smell bad. Your body needs to get rid of the unnatural additives, flavourings and preservatives somehow, so it utilises every available avenue - including your sweat.

If you eat well, look after your digestive system, do some exercise and wash yourself with a mild soap whenever you need a wash than you should have no BO problems. If they persist, they can be an indication of a problem with your health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭solicitous

Once to twice a day, depending on how crazy the day is.

I add a little fun to my wash by using Mint Source.. any other takers on that one?? lovely tingling sensation :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

I shower on average once every two days. I think.
    Also - if you eat healthy enough, there isn't really any need for anti-persperant or deoderant. I dont eat healthy enough for that tho.
    I use shower gel.

Edit - I dont know anyone who has a problem with how I smell. I know if I did small then my girlfriend or someone else would do me the favour of telling me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

Some people just need to shower more than others! (All to do with your diet and what you get up to during the day in general!)
    For me I shower every morning without fail! It's not because I need to I just like being squeeky clean! Also a shower in the mornings is about the only thing that will wake me up!!!
    I always use shower gels & body scrubs, usually whatever my mam has in the shower!!
    I know a girl who used to go to school with me, she was allergic to soap and stuff so she used to just wash with water & she never smelled to be honest? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lost_soul

I shower every day but i never ever use deodrant..... is that minging?

solicitous wrote:
    I add a little fun to my wash by using Mint Source.. any other takers on that one?? lovely tingling sensation :D

Oh their shampoo is the best...really wakes you up!
    And it's not tested on animals. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Nala wrote:

Yes, I'm a fan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Nala wrote:

"We test all our perfume on animals. Then when we run out of the perfume, we throw the empty bottles at them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

lost_soul wrote:
    I shower every day but i never ever use deodrant..... is that minging?

I dont think so (see my previous post for a slight elaboration)

Nala wrote:

I havent actually seen it in the shampoo yet, but will keep my eyes open for it now. I find the lavender one crap.. your skin literally tingles after a wash in the mint ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Just out of the shower.couldn't imagine not useing shower gel just wouldn't feel clean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 mk sbgn

Just out of the shower.couldn't imagine not useing shower gel just wouldn't feel clean
    same here just wouldn feel clean....cant think of not usin shower gel its a must have while showerin...especially lynx africa:D :D:D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I personally wouldn't feel clean at all if I didn't use shower gel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

I used to live with a guy that showered every day but still stank. Dunno whether he used shower gel or not, but he'd be in and out of the shower in about 3 mnutes. Must have just feckin wetted himself and then got out.

mk sbgn wrote:
    same here just wouldn feel clean....cant think of not usin shower gel its a must have while showerin...especially lynx africa:D :D:D

Its sooooooooo old school, but i succumb to its evil scent. hands down...
    a.rse in the air ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 mk sbgn

solicitous wrote:
    Its sooooooooo old school, but i succumb to its evil scent. hands down...
    a.rse in the air ;)
    ye i know spray more get more...in this case wash more get more:D :D oh its not old school its classic;) :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

Does she have a hairy body,that would explain all the shampoo

I don't think she's hairy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

That is just puke-inducingly gross!! :eek: No wonder she stinks. As someone said earlier, I'd get her some shower/soapy stuff as a gift. Doesn't she actually realise she smells?

Miss Fluff wrote:
    That is just puke-inducingly gross!! :eek: No wonder she stinks. As someone said earlier, I'd get her some shower/soapy stuff as a gift. Doesn't she actually realise she smells?

Yeah, she laughs at it. She was voted the smelliest person in her house!

Nala wrote:
    I don't think she's hairy.

Shes definitely not :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

I shower daily and use both soap and shower gel each time. My skinn is fine, becasue I use a moisteriser afterwards. If you are worried about your skin drying out just get some vitamin e lotion ;)