Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Violence

• 17-12-2005 9:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭

Ever been a victim of random violence?

Last night, while with my friends, some guy came up to me and headbutted me in the face. Hard. I'd never seen him before and wouldn't recognise him at all again.

I managed to catch him, give him a few punches on the ground, but some idiot came over and started saying I was a dry bastard, hitting a defenseless guy on the ground and took me off him. I think some of my friends started kicking him but to be honest, headbutting a random person, someone with that mentality deserves every bit of a kicking he gets.

To be short, the damage done will require a fair bit of money to fix. And my face, is....sore. Very sore.

I'm sure at some stage alot of people must have experienced scumbags like this, and I am curious after last night, what other acts of Random violence have people had themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭December Son

When i was a teenager, drinking in st. annes park before the grove, someone just ran up behind me and walloped me across the back of the head with a plank of wood. fortunately, i was so drunk by then i didnt really feel it til the next day, i just assumed someone had kicked a football at my head :confused:
    Sorry to hear that mobile, good luck with the nose fixing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

What an asshole, what's the point in randomly headbutting someone?

Was he drunk or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I hope the police caught him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

"Dry bastard"? What an idiot.. I don't like to advocate violence, but in my book, when somebody attacks you for no reason like that they've pretty much waivered any right to sympathetic understanding. So "fair play" (haha sorry)

Nobody's ever hit me for no reason. Though once a guy tried to check my pockets for cigarettes and I headbutted him.. Then his pals jumped on me like a pack of hounds! You weren't searching his pockets were you, you rascal you!? :)

Seriously though, sorry to hear that buddy, I hate scumbags like that :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Yes there was drink taken, but thats hardly a reason for headbutting a random person. I was drunk myself but the thought of headbutting a random person.... it just wouldn't happen.

Someone I was out with thinks he knows who the guy is, and when I find out who he is, I'll be going to the police.

And eh no, wasnt searching his pockets ;)

Yeah even with alcohol that was a ****e thing to do. What was goin through his mind though?

<hmmm... feel like headbutting a randomer>

wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ah that sucks :(

Maybe it was mistaken identity or somethin? Doubt it though, these scumbags just do things for the craic...

Hope you find him anyway

Ok that's allowed then :)

You're right Daddio. Good, intelligent people don't do stuff like that.. Who knows why some dickhead would just decide to hit an innocent bystander.
    Stupidity I guess! Lack of conscience... selfishness... bad upbringing... some more stupidity :v:

Yeah I doubt it Dave, wouldn't be the first time some knacker hit a stranger!

Hope you feel better anyway MI

When i woke up this morning I had dried streaks of blood up my hands and arm. My face is just....ugh. Like - not visually ugh or anything but I feel like crap. Broken tooth, swollen mouth....I'm glad it happened when I was drunk though, because that way, what would have been the worse of the pain never materialised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Jesus thats terrible mobilee,e make sure you get the cops after him and keep the pressure on him to get charged. Society needs to be strict on people like that, word has to get around that behaviour like that will not be tolerated. Even if he is charged he will more than likely just get a fine. You should take photos of the damage if any of it is still visable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Got into a few fights myself, mostly in Dublin, when accosted by the usual scum out looking for trouble. I find a lot of such people generally don't bother me these days though, as I'm quite a big fellow.

It was another story altogether when I was 14 though. Some local scumbag mugged me, and decided it would be fun to shove a knife through my face when all I had on me was my bus money. The scar has never healed though.

When I was even younger, can't remember when exactly, about 8 or so, another kid in school took a rock upside my head, and split my ear apart. I needed reconstructive surgery after that one. I think that was one definetly the most senseless and random attack, every other attack was pretty much scumbags out looking for a fight.

I find these days though, I can get them to back down pretty damned fast without much effort. Most recently I was carrying a 12 pack of Stella (Bottles) from the offie over to a friend's house, and two of the usual type came my way and asked me if I wanted to give them the beer. I said I'd rather break them over their heads than let them have it, to which they replied something along the lines of calm down, we're only joking!

It's a pile of ****, but there's just plain scum in the world who love nothing more than kick the **** out of someone just for the fun of it.

Hmmm. Some bad stories there Karl. Luckily enough outside of them I've only been in very minor scrapes as by nature I'm not a fighter.

However I think the guy that headbutted me was rather surpised to see me get up straight away and go after him. Again, I'm just so annoyed that after all my efforts of catching him and knocking him to the ground, some tit comes over and literally starts lecturing me about how I'm hitting a defenseless guy and getting his friends to take me off him while he makes good his escape.

Anyway, I just don't understand the mentality of someone like that. I mean, its not so much my tooth, I'll fix it, the swelling will go down, etc....but just absolutely puzzles me as to why an earth someone would be such a **** as to do something like that.

I'm not a small guy either, I'm an average or so 6 foot, but I'm quite broad. I just really want to find out who the guy was. Orginally I wanted to find out who he was to go and break his teeth in return (he was a rather thin, tall guy - maybe this would explain why he had to headbutt a stranger and attempt to run away as opposed to starting a fight) but now all I want to do is find out who he is, and report him.

Funny enough the exact same thing happened to my friend a few weeks ago. He was out, and some polish guy came over, tapped him on the shoulder, and on turning around, headbutted him full force in the face. He also broke teeth. Now, at the time, I was rather sceptic, saying sure, I'm sure some random guy headbutted you for no apparent reason :rolleyes:

But now I truly realise the level of some scum that is out there.

Most recently I was carrying a 12 pack of Stella (Bottles) from the offie over to a friend's house, and two of the usual type came my way and asked me if I wanted to give them the beer. I said I'd rather break them over their heads than let them have it, to which they replied something along the lines of calm down, we're only joking!
    Hehe! Much respect to the Hungus! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Anyway, I just don't understand the mentality of someone like that.

Don't try to. They're just scum, and it doesn't bare thinking about. I used to try and think about it, and wonder why would someone do something like that to someone else? But it really gets you nowhere. Just accept that it happens, and be aware of any peaked caps headed your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

The exact same thing happened to me and 3 friends walking down Swords main street, about 9 years ago now. Some scumbag (little ginger fuk named ) ran up and skulled my mate in the face, who then fell over, I grabbed yer man, and his mate () stopped me swinging at him (i so nearly connected), and it just pissed me off. I found out there names after, and I kept a good lookout for them after, so I could exact my revenge, but after a while you get over the shock. then fell into the heroin dealing/using trap, and how i laugh now. hahahahahahahaha.
    But, ye there are scum like this. All you can do is hope they die soon.
    * We had long hair at the time (slayer slayer slayer), maybe that had something to do with it, you know the 'hippy' chants from cap wearing scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

Sh!t buzz M.I.
    Something similar happened to me a few years ago on suffolk street. A few of us were headin to pizza hut and one of a passing group of skangers just planted his fist into my face. They got away unfortunately, and I was sitting in pizza hut with a swolen face.
    Hope you heal up quick man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Bout 3 years ago, st. stephens day, was drinkin all day and at 3 in the morning fell out of the night club on my own and started headin towards the girlfriends. Was headin up a small dark road when two scumbags walked up behind me and asked me for a fag, i gave it to them cause i was friends with one of their friends. Kept goin, a few mins later one of em clattered me over the head with a full can, i turned and started to kick the s*** out of him (he's a joke, i was off my face and a 5 year old could have hammered me) While i had him on the ground his friend ran at me and kicked me into the face, then the two of them kicked me up and down the road for about 5 mins. Then i heard a roar, a crowd of about 10 scumbags(all friends with them) came running up the road and all decided to start kicking(very hard to kick a busted up drunk on the ground!).That was seriously scary, i couldn't avoid the kicks at all at that stage and was getting destroyed.I remember one of them jumping up and down on my face.Then one of them who used to be friends with my brother realised who i was(face covered in blood so wasn't easy) and he dragged me out. They all legged it and i started trying to walk back to town. One of my friends found me a while later, covered in blood, shirt ripped to bits, Lumps all over my head and face, cuts and bruises everywhere and two busted knees(could barely walk for a few days) I couldn't believe i wasn't worse though. I had either a fractured rib(or a broken one) two sprained fingers and my jaw was busted, couldn't talk properly or eat anything too hard for bout two weeks after.
    Couldn't go near the two pricks that had done it either, even if i had got a load of the lads and gone lookin for em they'd have pulled out knives so twasn't worth it. But like Kersh it killed me that i couldn't have a proper chance to kick the f--- out of em, if i had been sober i would have destroyed the two little s---- put together.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Was it amp?

Seriously though mate, that's a bit fucked up. Fair play to ya for running after him anyway. Probably some skanger off his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I managed to catch him, give him a few punches on the ground, but some idiot came over and started saying I was a dry bastard, hitting a defenseless guy on the ground and took me off him. I think some of my friends started kicking him but to be honest, headbutting a random person, someone with that mentality deserves every bit of a kicking he gets.

I agree wholeheartedly - but remember 3 people got sent to prison for taking this line with a drunken fool who started a fight outside Annabels not so long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I asked this a few months ago... got a huge response.
    It seems a lot of us have been victims.

Read all the stories here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=263927

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

That's terrible MI. I'm sorry to hear about it.

From my own experiences and reading the other posts I looks as if drink plays a major part in these attacks. Now I know that you have no control over the actions of drunken scumbags but if you have drink taken yourself you are already falling into the victim/target category. Your awareness of your surroundings or any threats present plus your ability to avoid conflict/defend yourself is lessened by drink.

For your own safety don't drink in dangerous surroundings.

Thanks whiskeyman.

Hagar, I was outside a nightclub on a main street in Galway. I can't really think of a "Safer" place relatively speaking without not going out at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hagar wrote:
    From my own experiences and reading the other posts I looks as if drink plays a major part in these attacks.

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/news/story.asp?j=165730676&p=y6573y38z
    Research commissioned by the Government has reportedly found that almost one-third of all A&E admissions in Ireland are a result of alcohol-related injuries...... It also found that 35% of these injuries had been caused by a third party.

More here:
    http://www.healthhub.ie/index.cfm/loc/2-1/articleId/55C9EA65-CE96-4066-8490B4AF868222E8.htm
    The highest prevalence of alcohol-related injuries were cuts, bites and penetrating injuries, which were at almost twice the rate of non-alcohol-related injuries.
    I know we all think our drinking culture is "great craic", but we really have to wake up to this epidemic.
    It's now out of control, and more and more of us are finding out the hard way.

BTW, I hope you're alright MI.
    Physically its tough, but it's often hard mentally to get over such a thing.
    Don't let it get you down and keep going out and enjoying your life.
    You're better than the scum ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Don't get me wrong I'm not condemning you, you have been the victim here and you genuinely have my sympathy. It was ment as a general thing. I've seen lots of sh1t but luckily I didn't drink till I was about 25 so I was probably saved from a few situations in my younger years simply because I was stone cold sober and not seen as an easy target.

I think I will live. I'm just still burning with rage over the fact that someone is so pathetic, and so low, to do such a thing. As said before the swelling will be gone by tomorrow or Monday, will get my teeth fixed, and in a few weeks it'll be forgotten about.

At least I can, pathetic as it sounds, take solace in the fact that if someone has such a mentality, then bets are hes got just as pathetic a life and a future ahead of him.

Nothing is stopping me from going to see King Kong tonight. :)

But this obviously has put a downer on both my weekend and the week approaching christmas.

Again though, apparently someone knows who he is. I hope I find out.

The worst this is though, from Whiskeymans thread, Karl Hungus' post, its obvious this is a regular occurance on the streets in Ireland regardless of where you live and people have gotten much, much worse then I have. I almost feel lucky.

In fact, last night, when walking down the street, wiping streams of blood from my nose, I walked past a guy on the ground pummeling another guy senseless. Having just been senselessly attacked myself, I went, with the assistance of my friend, and pulled the guy off. I couldn't bear to see someone beaten like that for no reason - It's one thing if the guy had hit him first, but the attacker was roaring about how the guy had bumped into him while hitting him? What kind of sick bastard beats someone senseless in this fashion for what was in 99% probability a case of somebody accidently bumping into somebody while under the influence?

Already after the attack, the guy had what looked like a broken nose, two black eyes, blood all over the shop, and various cuts. I'd hate to see him this morning.

Irish society in hand with drink seems to be really getting out of control.

its strange!galway is ussually quiet enough but you are fifth person i heard got beaten up in last two weeks there.

Hey now! I wasn't beaten up! Rather the opposite in fact, the offending part was rather battered, but he instigated a totally random attack on an equally random stranger.

Speaking of which, probably no better place to ask this really, does anyone know how much it will cost to cap teeth? Half my front tooth is missing, others chipped, unfortunately I hit the curb on the way down which is what caused the damage. (although bizarrely, didn't feel a thing and was able to get up straight away, for that, I am truly glad I was drunk)

Capping a tooth - It depends on how much you want to spend on the tooth. I had four done (scumbag in a hurling match) and it cost all together about 8k. You can get one done and to a fairly high standard for about €800 depending on where you go it could be more or maybe even less. You can go to Bulgaria on really cheap flights and get a dentist over there (I have heard they are better trained than here, I could be wrong though) to do it for next to nothing. Holiday and dentist work done for half the price. If your tooth is broken its important to get to a dentist soon before an infection gets loose. If the nerve is exposed or your worried about infection, chew sugar free gum and then cover the hole with it. It stops air and bacteria from your mouth getting in.

Thanks joejoem.

When capping a tooth, how strong is it? I mean, its not gonna fall out at the slightest hint of chewing anything other then baby food? :)

Hopefully will get to the dentist monday - my tooth isn't very sore, but its hyper sensitive at the break point....can an infection set in quickly in a tooth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

On the last day of my Summer holliers I got decked by a fisherman who thought I called him a 'bogger'. He had been looking for a fight all night and he sure as hell didn't get one from me. I'd never fight back. Just walk away and know you're better than him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

'i'd never fight back'

would that be in every situation or just the friendly fisherman case.

Thanks joejoem.

When capping a tooth, how strong is it? I mean, its not gonna fall out at the slightest hint of chewing anything other then baby food? :)

Hopefully will get to the dentist monday - my tooth isn't very sore, but its hyper sensitive at the break point....can an infection set in quickly in a tooth?

No not at all, when I was having mine done they gave me 4 temporary teeth (horrible ciggarette butt yellow things) that would break off if I sneezed so I was very worried about that too. To be honest I wouldnt be able to tell the difference between my real and capped ones now. I eat tons of difficult foods (as you will see in the fitness forum) foods that I have to rip from (meats etc) and fruit and I never have a problem.

You are about to have one of the most horrible experiences though, that moment after you leave the dentist, your mouth is swolen, your lips look like you have had collogen implants and unbeknownst to you you are dribbeling profusly. No one is available to pick you up, and because of the anistethic that makes you look like chunk from the gooneys you cant drive. As written in the law of murphy, the first person you meet is a girl you have allways had a thing for and havent met in years. Trying to explain what wrong is like tring to order a chinese with four fingers in your mouth. Inevatably you will meet seeral other people you have to talk to on the way home. Eventually when you get home you make a cup of tea, sit down and the ordeal is over. You go to take a drink of tea, but because your face is numb and your lips are swolen scoulding hot tea pours down your cheeks, all over yourself. You go to say fúck but you just say flubsdjjjkh and tea and saliva come flying out of your mouth with one giant dribble extending from your bottom lip to your waist. The best thing to do is leave it there, lie down and cry.

Best of luck! I've had it many times, you learn to appreciate your teeth a whole lot more!

pcwares wrote:
    'i'd never fight back'

mmmmmm fishermans friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

pcwares wrote:
    'i'd never fight back'

Every case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Mobile - Next time something like that happens go straight for their nose. Bite it like youve never bitten before. I swear by that method, no matter how tough someone is, when you lock-jaw onto their nose they arent long wimping.

I only had to do it once, but it worked to my advantage. Also, people are afraid to even start an argument with me cause they think im a psycho fighter who'll bite yer nose off (eventhough id never bite *that* hard tbh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

walking down maynooth main street and three guys much bigger than me asked me if i was from Leixlip. i said i was and they proceeded to kick the **** out of me.
    sitting in a chipper on Leixlip main street and some guy comes in, taps me on the shoulder and sticks me a loaf when i turn around. him and his friend then kicked the **** out of me as i curled up in a ball on the ground. then they waited outside with four or five others and waited for me to leave. nobody came to my aid (the chipper was fairly full) and i just had to wait for them to leave.

both of those events were 12 years ago. i'm a lot bigger now and scumbags tend to leave me alone. (6'2" 17 stone) thing is, they're out there and will jump anyone who looks like an easy target. your best bet is to be in a group of three or more if you're going to be out at 3am. those cowards tend to shy away from large groups.

well picture this scenario which was reported in the papers a while ago - a couple are going for a country drive and pull in to a piece of idylic forest etc.. 4 scangers accost them in their car. While one holds the male the other three sexually assault the girl. That was in limerick.

Picture some big cnt restraining you as his mates are running up the road to finish you, rob you etc.

Now im just setting a context with this. But Jcleary has the right idea. Someone holds you - restrains you - you should treat it as if they it was life and death bite their ear off in a tearing snarling fashion or trachea. Its base, its primal aggression but it would :

a) instill fear and confusion into the enemy - the single agressor would release you whereby you finish will a well executed move.
    b) raise your aggression levels to a maximum where you could possibly get out of it with your life etc against the others.

The thing about these acts of mindless brutality by deranged scumbags is that you may walk through your life unknowingly avoiding being stabbed, beaten, hospitalised by these agressors. However one night that may change and you may be with a loved one - such as your girlfriend or best mate -. Being passive wont be much consolation if your friend is dead or you.

julep wrote:
    thing is, they're out there and will jump anyone who looks like an easy target. your best bet is to be in a group of three or more if you're going to be out at 3am. those cowards tend to shy away from large groups.

I'm 14 stone and about 6 1 or so, I'm a fairly beefy guy. I don't look like an easy target, and added to that, I was in a large group with about 5 other guys.

Ultimately I don't know what he was thinking, as soon as we caught him we gave him a good hiding, but what would posess someone to attack a larger, stronger male (I know this because when I caught up to him I found it easy to knock him to the ground and stay on top of him) in a group on their lonesome???

edit: Just to be clear, I am not an aggressor. I can defend myself very well but am certainly no instigator of fights and never have been.

you sure it wasnt someone with a grudge?

seems a little mental he picked you out in a group..

How many of the scumbags were there?

Had a self-defence class, part of our transition year a few years ago and our teacher told us all these stories about when he was jumped by scumbags. He ended up beating the crap out of them, great stories they were. :D

My cousin a few years ago had her nose broken by some hussey outside a club in town. She had bumped into a girl in a queue to get in, and the big mess flipped. It's way too hard to try and chase it up with the police though, I can't imagine the Gardai having great success catching them.

I'm going to the guards shortly, they confirmed they have gardai cctv on the location it happened.

Definately not someone with a grudge, only caught a good look at him very briefly, and had definately never seen him before.

No one else with him. Which makes it even more bizarre given:

1) I was stronger and bigger then he was
    2) I had about 5 other guys with me

Its quite a mystery that leaves me very puzzled.

Obviously no grey matter then, probs sold it to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Random violence? Maybe he just recognised you from this site.

Mobile - Be careful about involving the gardai. you mentioned that your mates may have kicked him on the ground etc. In the current climate i would drop it if thats the case. Get yourself fixed up and move on.

PcWares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

pcwares wrote:
    Mobile - Be careful about involving the gardai. you mentioned that your mates may have kicked him on the ground etc. In the current climate i would drop it if thats the case. Get yourself fixed up and move on.

Why so the scumbag can headbutt some other innocent guy? I think if the Guards can nab this guy through CCTV he should proceed with it.

So the guy was kicked. Big deal. It was an unprovoked attack.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

The gards even if they try are over rated. I was punched in the face while cycling past a knacker and then had the **** kicked out of me while I was on the floor for a good ten minutes almost a year ago. I missed a lot of school, had a face like a pumpkin, have spent over 1k on my teeth and have a scar on my lip. Went straight to the gards the next day and am still waiting on the case to be brought to court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

tell the gardai. same reason that pcwares gave.
    I reckon the guy was blind and you just walked into him.
    5 guys kicking one guy on the ground? It is not the guy on the ground who is the scumbag there you know.

whats the point - you will be swinging for damages of that fker.

Are you legally trained? Im havnt studied criminal law yet.

All im saying is be careful mobile - it could backfire and gardai in general cannot be trusted unless there you know them personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Simona1986 wrote:
    The gards even if they try are over rated. I was punched in the face while cycling past a knacker and then had the **** kicked out of me while I was on the floor for a good ten minutes almost a year ago. I missed a lot of school, had a face like a pumpkin, have spent over 1k on my teeth and have a scar on my lip. Went straight to the gards the next day and am still waiting on the case to be brought to court.

Sorry to hear about that. A similar thing happened to me a couple of years ago. Was attacked by 3 fat farmers outside a chipper. Luckily a cop shop was just around the corner. Went in and reported it. Copper came outside and the 3 farmers were still there and proceded to give the copper abuse. They were issued with a summons and fined €500 and i got paid €50 by the Gardai for going to court and missing work. Didn't have to give evidence so me and a friend went to the pub! Sometimes justice can be done
    joejoem wrote:
    Capping a tooth - It depends on how much you want to spend on the tooth. I had four done (scumbag in a hurling match) and it cost all together about 8k. You can get one done and to a fairly high standard for about €800 depending on where you go it could be more or maybe even less.

I got a tooth capped in Cootehill, Co Cavan. Only cost me €60 on prsi. Ask a dentist. Down the country its a lot cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

3 Fat Farmers - I don't know why but that's cracking me up :D