Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lets do a deal! Call the dealmeister!

• 17-12-2005 4:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭

Friday 50 scalp game, shared by four, 1150 each with option to buy a ticket for this thursdays game for 350, a 190 discount, thanks Luke.

First of all, ul Big Dragon, he went to the final table chip leader and simply got ul to get knocked out sixth. Also Culchie on the 2nd last table who got crappy cards for hours (although you still managed to hit your straight with four two!)

Also Ollyk, most welcome player at a table (and not for the way he plays which is fearsome) got very unlucky to go out on the bubble when his ace queen bumped into the bb's queens.

So skinny Ronan, lovely guy, plays all the time, one of the dealers, cool guy, Paul i think his name is (also incredibly lucky to have kept doubling up!) a guy who thought he was Elvis, ballsy but inexperienced and this old guy here writing split it.

The chance of winning it outright was realistically about 8 to one i think due to the blinds (obviously it was 4 to 1 but i'm factoring in the crazy all in jopke variables), a three way split would have only been another 150 euro so four ways it went. I'm justifying it to myself coz i think i shoulda actually played on, but what the hell at least my 2nd last table streak is on temporary hiatus. ah well at least i didnt bring up the idea of a deal and there was no monkeying around with silly percentages extra for anyone. (oh god, why do i love deals. i need help dammit!)

And i got my ticket for the 550 game next Thursday with an expected pool of 30-40 grand. sweet.
    now whats 30 grand split 14 ways....?

see u there big dragon.

the doctor of jazz hands. (thats jazz with an a not an i)

and 5starpool also made the final table, it was looking very boardsy there for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Ahem....5th :( wp m8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

sorry, er, 5th.

by the time i got the chips to start attacking the two inexperienced guys the blinds where 4-8 and they were just going all in so once it was even stevens i took the deal. god forgive me. i'm unclean.

i thought u were going to take this tourney down to Chinatown big d. u just couldn't nail those flops.

talk later, d.

good luck tomorrow of course and I'm glad to say that I owe ur charity 11.50 as soon as its up and running. get the jamjars and stickytape going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Someday soon.....hopefully tomorrow.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

nice one doc!

did no one ask for the blinds to be frozen? seems crazy in allowing an otherwise great tournament to descend into a crapshoot just when there's big money at stake.

gl on thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Good Man Doc,

1st time at this tournament, and it was great craic.

I've never ever seen such a bad run of cards in my life. I didn't think it could be statistically possible;) to go 4 orbits of a table with no single card higher than a 9 (with a 2 kicker). At no stage were they anyway suited or really playable , 7 2, 7 3, 8 3 etc....
    It was funny really.

So I had 2 4 in the BB and flopped a straight (holding the monster 2 4)to keep me alive for another orbit, blinds 1500/3000 and I have 12000 left .... not much, but enough to hurt others, which is what I was trading on.

I was still getting the same muck, but all I wanted was the opportunity to stick them in being first into the pot, which was difficult with Doc on my right, as he kept putting the squeeze on me, and my 7 2's etc... is really a raising hand rather than a callling hand:D

So UTG+1, at last Doc doesn't raise, things are desperate now, I look at lovely 2 4 again...Karma methinks .... so I push my 12k ... get called by 5starpool (oh oh) ...so hoping that it's not a pair. He turns of a crappy AK .... not so bad methinks. I put my 2 4 out, and of course Big Dragon who was on walkabout from the other table as he had a massive stack spots it, and gets a bloddy audience for me, and blows my cover for future tourneys with bloody 2 4 out on the table.

Flop 2 5 5 ...... turn 5 :D ...... river 2 ...... goddammit .... the board plays and a split pot. Robbed !

So splitting that pot, and the fact no-one tackled my blinds kept me allive for one more orbit (still nothing above a 9 !) ...until it comes to my BB again, and it's going to be an auto all-in ....and fair play to the dealer he did give me a face card at last , a Q with a 3 kicker (sooooted though), Doc raises:rolleyes: with 9 10, I call and he fills a straight.

I think I went out in 12th (or 11th?)

Great Tourney, will be in again, and well done Doc!

P.S ...I don't know if it's possible to get such a stat through Poker tracker, but if it is so, what are the odds of not being dealt a card above 9 in say 40 hands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Nice one, Des

Things can change quickly. I seem to remember something like...
    but yes, i'm more than happy to sign up. however 1% of my winnings at the moment wouldnt buy a bag of pork scratchings!

Hold that order for pork scratchings, bring out the caviar.:) :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Well done Des. Delighted to hear you got a nice score out of the game and considering the factors around a deal some hot 4-way dealing action sounds fine by me!! ;) Beats being the bubble king I tell ya!!:D

I really enjoyed the game - played in a great spirit with some very good players (of course no one from boards let themselves down). I played one particular hand poorly that I'm disappointed about, not that it cost me much chips but I passed what turned out to be a 60/40 edge that could have put me right back in the game and something I should have got the cards all-in on in the long run. :o

The words fearsome and me in the same sentence just seems wrong btw.

Unlucky BigD I can imagine it stings a bit:rolleyes:

P.S.

Kinaldo the blinds were frozen when we had 16 players until the final table at 1500/3000 which was great because it meant their was a bit of wiggle room at a critical stage. Final table started at 2.30 and I don't know if the blinds were frozen at any later stage but I can honestly say their was a lot of play in the game while I was there but you can't stay playing forever - unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

cheers guys, a little live win has been a long time coming, about 3 months i think.

Kinaldo, Luke was very cool about the blinds, we played each blind level for an hour each and only put them up when two got knocked out. but it was 4.15 when they went to 4000-8000. ty for ur congrats btw.

Culchie makes me sound better than i am, i was hitting aces and pocket pairs on the second last table, it got so i had to fold or limp with aces and bad kickers coz i had been raising too many hands previously and someone was gonna go over the top outta frustration.

i was gonna buy in to the SE game but the 190 discount was too good to pass up so the Fitz next Thursday it is. I'm also selling half my ticket to some pals for 300 so in effect its costing me 50 euro to play. I'll be looking to make upwards of 40-45 euro profit on the night.

i have a european beer expedition on tonight but I think i might go a little crazy in the 6pm sunday freeroll tomorrow just for the craic.

There were a lot of class acts playing last night on the last two tables. When u play as much as we do its savagely important to set the right example for newer players. So thanks for a great night lads.
    the code of etiquette that all tournament directors should hold to is Churchills famous line: 'If you have to kill a man it costs nothing to be polite.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Well done all! Missed a good night it seems, the scalps tournie is my favourite tournament bar none, always a good laugh and it is great collecting the scalps of your friends / opponents!