Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chip on shoulder

• 16-12-2005 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭

This morning while walking into DCU along Collins Avenue. This fella comes up behind me and starts shout "Are you taking the piss? Are you taking the Piss?!" and I'm like, "What?" He keeps shouting this at me getting all in my face. At this stage he has put me in a bad mood and stop and ask him directly what he's talking about? He tells me to walk on but I'm having none of it I take my hat and headphones off and tell him that he has pissed me off and demand again what he wants. He asks again if I am taking the piss. I say no, and then he comes back in a mocking voice to walk on. At this stage I'm sick of this so I start walking on. I glance back then I notice as he keeps walking after me that he has a sizeable limp, his right leg was longer than his left. He must have thought that I was taking the piss out of his walk. I realise that the hem of my jeans is under my right runner and that this have giving me a limp, and "angry man" thought I was taking the piss. Understandable.

But, and this is to you angry man, you shouldn't go round with such a chip on your shoulder. In general if there is something wrong with your body, limp facial disfiguration etc then most people don't give a shít. You are just paranoid and self-concious, your problem, not mine. Get over it. Apart from a few scumbags who don't matter you are the only one who takes note of it. In the future don't be so aggressive to people either most deserve the benefit of the doubt. If people have been rude to you in the past that is no reason to be rude to people in the present or future. Face it you're not that special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Ever notice small people have major chips on their shoulders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Certain people from outside of Dublin too.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Its called short arse syndrome!

But seriously do the man has probably been getting abuse all his life over his limp. It be hard not to have a chip on your shoulder if all you get day in day out is abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I get small person agro all the time, it can be hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I totally agree with you One thing that I have noticed is that it is rarely the 'big' lads that start a fight, its more often then not, the skinny, mouthy small guy.

Why is this?

I totally agree with you One thing that I have noticed is that it is rarely the 'big' lads that start a fight, its more often then not, the skinny, mouthy small guy.

Why is this?

They feel chalanged, they are automatically placed below the tall or big guy and feel they need to prove their worth by challenging the Alpha male. These **** are to be seen everywhere, and as the big guy if you try to back away and calm them down they get worse. There is no avoiding them. The best thing you can do is compare them to the Harry Enfield Small Angry Man scetch.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Why is this?

They fell they have something to prove. Best way to prove it is to start a fight and see who's the man!

kearnsr wrote:
    They fell they have something to prove. Best way to prove it is to start a fight and see who's the man!

See who is the fool more like. The worst thing is they are dragging the bigger guy down to their level since he looks like a muppet when smally is on the ground unconcious

joejoem wrote:
    See who is the fool more like. The worst thing is they are dragging the bigger guy down to their level since he looks like a muppet when smally is on the ground unconcious

I'd be about 6'1" the amount of times playing football espically the amount of smaller people who have tried to start fights is unreal.

I've a firend who is about 5-6 and when he gets drunk he runs his mouth of like I dunno what. Thats usually when I get the bus home cause for some reason trouble just finds him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My boyfriend is 6'2 and a a fairly big lad. He is also the most calm and gentle fella you could meet. He hates fighting, and avoids it at all costs, yet for some reason, he has had his fair share of run ins with little guys.
    When it all kicks off, he doesn't even hit them back, he defends himself and tries to restrain them, or calm them down, but this just seems to make the situation worse, its like they feel embarrassed by the fact that he wont 'take them on'.
    Same thing happens my brother, he's about 6'1 and fairly well built, he also seems to be the target of short, angry men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

you've some cheek!!!! ever notice people all heights have a chip on there shoulder!!! God why do some of ye fell that ye have to comment & make fun of people like this.

GET REAL!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Angels wrote:
    you've some cheek!!!! ever notice people all heights have a chip on there shoulder!!! God why do some of ye fell that ye have to comment & make fun of people like this.

GET REAL!!!

I'm trying to work out if this is irony on not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Angels wrote:

GET REAL!!!

feeling a little short changed? (hohoho)

Kali wrote:

Its a pity you missed the British Comedy Awards during the week!

If you take down the biggest perosn you can see I think it builds you up confidence wise and makes you fell "big". It usually only happens when people have had a few which seems to be the case with many of Irelands social problems.

Kali wrote:

Not at all. Never have never will be!

I don't go around with a chip on my shoulder because of my height & looking at every person i see to combat my paranoia.

Im proud of my height 4'9 to be exact, and there are many people my height smaller even who don't think height is an issue, beause it's not. My boyfriend is 6ft 2 height is never an issue.

It's very sad people who have nothing else to do that make the issue about people being small in height.

So ya must be bored in life Honey!!!!:D

Angels wrote:
    Not at all. Never have never will be!

I don't go around with a chip on my shoulder because of my height & looking at every person i see to combat my paranoia.

Im proud of my height 4'9 to be exact, and there of many people my height smaller even who don't think height is an issue, beause it's not. My boyfriend is 6ft 2 height is never an issue.

It's very sad people who have nothing else to do that make the issue about people being small in height.

So ya must be bored in life Honey!!!!:D

Who said that?:D :D:D:D:D:D

ahhh i believe you did !!

caught amnesia have you???

Who said that?:D :D:D:D:D:D

lol, watch your ankles!

Santas little helpers getting angry

Ah your taking this a little bit far now. The amount of small minded people on this website!

joejoem wrote:
    lol, watch your ankles!
    Extremely Childish comment

your even more pathetic & childish

joejoem wrote:
    Ah your taking this a little bit far now. The amount of small minded people on this website!

ROFL:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

my friends (female) dont like being tall..(5-11, 6ft) im 5-6 or so, average height id say, but is that the case generally with tall girls? they make sure im wearing heels, and they wear flat shoes so the difference isnt as obvous. i like my height its just right imo :D

I'd rather go out with a tall girl. You get a very sore neck if you go out with some one a good few inches short than you!

I'd rather a tall girl too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Certain people from outside of Dublin too.....
    oh nail on the head! It really gets me. "Jackeen" - Buddy I couldn't care less where you're from. Get over it. Why does it matter to you that I'm from Dublin?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I can't decide which is better, this:
    Angels wrote:

GET REAL!!!

or this:
    Kali wrote:

Bravo to the both of you!

PS:Angels, seriously. Lighten up. Life is too short.

ZZzzzziiing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

Zulu wrote:
    PS:Angels, seriously. Lighten up. Life is too short.

ZZzzzziiing!
    Bam!

but i think she is missing the point a bit, small guys usually have a chip on their shoulder just the other day at my christmas party our resident shortman tried to cause a fight for no real reason, its just been put down to short man syndrome :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Angels wrote:
    Im proud of my height 4'9 to be exact, and there are many people my height smaller even who don't think height is an issue, beause it's not. My boyfriend is 6ft 2 height is never an issue.

How can you be proud of being 4'9'? That makes no sense.
    1) It doesn't make you any better
    2) You had no control in it

Next you'll be telling me you're proud of being white.
    Racists like you disgust me.

Sangre wrote:
    How can you be proud of being 4'9'? That makes no sense.
    1) It doesn't make you any better
    2) You had no control in it

Next you'll be telling me you're proud of being white.
    Racists like you disgust me.
    Excuse me & i don't like your tone at all 'saggie'. You have absolutely no right watsoever to call me racist. How dare you think you can make a comment like this when you DONT EVEN KNOW WHO THE HELL I AM!!!!

I was posting about my height not the colour of someones skin etc etc

You shouldn't make comments like this as your not in a position to ok!!!

Yes im proud of my height there is nothing wrong with it.

Make all the jokes ye want at the end of the day ye'r being racist mocking people who are small in height.

I didn't realise this 'thread' would turn into an issue about height, but there you go 'Change the feckin subject'!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Angels wrote:
    Excuse me & i don't like your tone at all 'saggie'. You have absolutely no right watsoever to call me racist. How dare you think you can make a comment like this when you DONT EVEN KNOW WHO THE HELL I AM!!!!

I was posting about my height not the colour of someones skin etc etc

You shouldn't make comments like this as your not in a position to ok!!!

Yes im proud of my height there is nothing wrong with it.

Make all the jokes ye want at the end of the day ye'r being racist mocking people who are small in height.

I didn't realise this 'thread' would turn into an issue about height, but there you go 'Change the feckin subject'!!!!

There there little lady, I think you're taking this a WEE bit too seriously. *pats head*

Kernel wrote:
    There there little lady, I think you're taking this a WEE bit too seriously. *pats head*
    To be honest little wee man, im not.

But i dont' like being called racist in public, i feel very strongly about a comment like that.

My head is always dry when it rains, you guys must get soaked!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Angels wrote:

But i dont' like being called racist in public, i feel very strongly about a comment like that.

Seriously, lighten up.

I personally prefer short girls, they're more 'petit' and stuff... I like that.

...I have a feeling that's gonna be taken in a bad way by some people...

:|

Angels wrote:

My head is always dry when it rains, you guys must get soaked!!!

Is that because your afraid to leave the house incase you drown in a stray puddle or incase you get washed into cracks in the pavement?

:v:

DaveMcG wrote:
    Seriously, lighten up.

Did you just call me fat?

DaveMcG wrote:
    Seriously, lighten up.

*Backs away slowly*

joejoem wrote:
    Is that because your afraid to leave the house incase you drown in a stray puddle or incase you get washed into cracks in the pavement?

:v:
    Ahhh how i love the sound of a sad little man with nothing else to say awwwwwwwww!!!!!

Did someone hear something.. is there a mouse in here? :D

DaveMcG wrote:
    Seriously, lighten up.

thats the way my boyfriend is & thats why we make a perfect match

Angels wrote:
    thats the way my boyfriend is & thats why we make a perfect match

Is he Gary Glitter?

Kernel wrote:
    Did someone hear something.. is there a mouse in here? :D
    oh jesus ur a feckin scream LOOK LOOK IM OVER HERE HAHAHAHAHA!!

Kernel wrote:
    Is he Gary Glitter?
    YOUR SICK IN THE HEAD!!

Are u Gary Glitter???

Angels wrote:
    YOUR SICK IN THE HEAD!!

Are u Gary Glitter???

No, I'm Kernel - The Legend.

Angels wrote:

Quoted just in case anyone missed this gem.

Angels wrote:
    Ahhh how i love the sound of a sad little man with nothing else to say awwwwwwwww!!!!!

lol, how right you are Ms Macpherson, how right you are

Sangre wrote:
    Quoted just in case anyone missed this gem.
    Im sure people can read sunshine

Angels, when did you leave the Shire? :D

Angels wrote:
    Im sure people can read sunshine
    Don't get short with me

Sangre wrote:
    Don't get short with me
    Don't call me racist!!