Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats best way/place to learn how to dance real well in clubs?

• 15-12-2005 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

Im very bad dancer but i would like to dance better in a club so where should i learn this quickest apart from just dancing a lot in the actual club?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Home, mirror, music?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

I'm an incredibly bad dancer too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Why bother ? I think its more about having fun than impressing everyone with your moves. Practice I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you really want to dance, watch what the other people are doing, and just copy them.

If you have little or no sense of rhythym, stay off the dancefloor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭xxxxx

Tusky wrote:
    Why bother ? I think its more about having fun than impressing everyone with your moves. Practice I suppose.
    well thats ur opinion.

i am male.

"home, mirror, music" ok but how i know whether i do it good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

xxxxx wrote:
    well thats ur opinion.

i am male.

Oh, you'll know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Puff Puff Pass

xxxxx wrote:
    well thats ur opinion.

i am male.

Mate, most people in a club are **** faced and couldnt give a toss whether ur dancing decent. Just follow the beat, don't do anything mad with your arms and ur away.
    Don't worry about everyone else on the dance floor. Do your own thing - worry more about getting close to some of the female species on the floor. Rememer it's not a dance competition - it's a drunken mating session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

big difference between dancing as a mating ritual and dancing with your mates coz your wasted and dont give a flying feck.
    Which do you need help with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Watch and learn from James Brown and Michael Jackson tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

xxxxx wrote:
    well thats ur opinion.

i am male.

It certainly is. People who dance to impress people with their moves are usually tossers anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭solicitous

seamus wrote:
    If you really want to dance, watch what the other people are doing, and just copy them.
    If you have little or no sense of rhythym, stay off the dancefloor.

I dont think I would advise using the dancefloor as a practice space.

Assuming you listen to music at home, why not there. I dont mean in front of a mirror or anything, just while you are doing stuff.

As corny as this sounds you literally have to feel the music, close your eyes if it helps to get into the vibe. Try keep up with the latest dance tracks, if you heard the song before you will be more confident, you know where the beat/music changes are.

I for one love dancing, damn good at it too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

[hippy] Just feel the music mahn! [/hippy]

Otherwise, take some salsa classes or something, they'll make you more co-ordinated and less self conscious on the dancefloor so you won't waste so much time worrying about how you look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Bit a speed, few bangers and away ya go:D , you'll think you were **** hot on de dancefloor and go home delighted with yourself,lmao!

Whatever you do don't end up like this though: http://www.kingkurt.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Suicide_Girls/2f4ea196d8c2ab3ff35a05e7019ca2d10_full.jpg

LMFAO!!! :D

For more of her type "Mosh Girl" into google images. hehehehehe:D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Ga boy Mossy, that's the very guy i was thinkin of,lol!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

Mate, most people in a club are **** faced and couldnt give a toss whether ur dancing decent. Just follow the beat, don't do anything mad with your arms and ur away.
    Don't worry about everyone else on the dance floor. Do your own thing - worry more about getting close to some of the female species on the floor. Rememer it's not a dance competition - it's a drunken mating session

HaHa -best advise yet!! I totally agree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I'm not the best dancer either, I try to stand at the bar and look pretty.

I allways find it hillarious when some tubby knob* says to me "Oh yeah the dance floor is my place, the birds all love the way I dance" - ten minutes later you see a gap in the dance floor where he is dancing with his arse pointing west pushing everyone out of his way while his brylcream drips with sweat down his forhead. And no the "birds" dont love him. Eventually, through the numbers game some drunk girl will eventually sucumb to his greasy love powers and give him a snog. More than likely she will walk away with her chin and mouth covered in grease like she just ate a bag of chips with no hands.

Tubby knob usually wears black/blue/occasionally white jeans, a soccer jersey or checkered shirt under a cream wooley le coq sportif jumper. Hair is short back and sides and on a night out has anywhere between 1 + 6 tubs of brylcream preventing an alphalfa style hair boner, with a nice sheen off his scalp. Avoid this twat with all your strenth!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

OP, what do you mean by 'dance well', what type of music / clubs are you talking about? In my expert opinion the music that allows the best dancing is not the music most people know as 'dance' music! I think most people with a proper sense of rhythm and beat would be better off dancing to R'n'B or funk than hardcore dance music :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Chavster

deisedevil wrote:
    Whatever you do don't end up like this though: http://www.kingkurt.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Suicide_Girls/2f4ea196d8c2ab3ff35a05e7019ca2d10_full.jpg

The look of sheer terror on the guy behind her is priceless :eek:
    Mossy Monk wrote:

He reminds me of Dhalsim from street fighter :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

simple rule about dancing:
    no matter what you do with your upper body, if you don't move your hips you'll look like a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Join a morris dancing club :

http://www.bbc.co.uk/coventry/music/stories/2002/07/warwick-folk-gallery/wff-white-morris-150.jpg

Or perhaps the Billy Barry school?

It's been a while since I went to a discotech though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

simple rule about dancing:
    no matter what you do with your upper body, if you don't move your hips you'll look like a twat.

http://dilbertblog.typepad.com/the_dilbert_blog/2005/12/how_to_dance.html

That's exactly what Scott Adams says...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

And it's true, (I'd heard him say that before, and thought that it was an apt steal:D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

deisedevil wrote:

Classic!! seen that photoshopped so many times never fails LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

watch save d last dance some good moves in that but really your best just go to club, have a few drinks and then copy some others?
    has anyone ever actually told you that your not good at it? Im just asking cos I used to be convinced i was dreadful and id be mortified in clubs but it turned out that loadsa people thoguht i was really good!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Chavster

Classic!! seen that photoshopped so many times never fails LOL

for a collection of photoshopped mosh girl pics head here

There are some beauties :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah, basically have a few drinks and then start copying everyone else... Nobody notices what you're doing unless you're doing something really extravagent (like a friend of a friend who kept going down and touching his ass off the floor and then coming back up -- and was dead serious about it!) and wierd. Just move your feet in time with the music and don't do the robot or any sh!t like that (there's a time and a place for that!:D), and you'll be grand!

You ever see the movie 'Hitch' with Will Smith in it? There's a scene where Hitch teaches the fat bloke how to dance -- do that! Nice and controlled!

Really the only thing that matters is you have fun, tbh. You'll see the amount of fat-bodies on the dance floor spinning around on circles on their back, and you'll realise that you're not a bad dancer at all at all. Chances are you won't see 99% of the people in the club again, and if you do, you won't realise it, and vice versa.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Well I'm told i'm a good dancer (by very drunk people), I just watched a lot of music videos and tried to copy some of the moves.

Just go with the rythm. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Failing any of the above, drink more, and you'll just stop caring.

Yeah this is also good advise.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I think Im a good dancer.. Everytime Im out dancing people stand around and look at me...

Or wait now..

Hold on..

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

get a DVD of Footloose and you'll be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

The best tactic is to find a fire hydrant thats spraying water all of the vicintiy and gyrate in front of that. 2nd rate dancers with woolly ankle-warmers and space-boppers will soon dance around on the periphery of your dance area. People will arrive with a skipping rope and dance while skipping with orgasmic looks on there faces. Soon all the women fortunate enough to be in the area will be smitten and wet from your clever ploy, and the fire hydrant of course.

Your are now a slick moving, dancing winner.

whiskeyman wrote:
    big difference between dancing as a mating ritual and dancing with your mates coz your wasted and dont give a flying feck.
    Which do you need help with?
    Definately the mating ritual one.

DaveMcG wrote:
    You ever see the movie 'Hitch' with Will Smith in it? There's a scene where Hitch teaches the fat bloke how to dance -- do that! Nice and controlled!
    Enjoy!
    OK but i cant rent it for certain reasons is there anyway i can get this scene or something similar off the net?

Yeah coz i have speech impediment, a lisp and certain mental problems i have a chanth to impreth birds and stuff without talking or speaking coz i odnt like talking i find it gay. Also dancing, but less gay.

xxxxx wrote:
    OK but i cant rent it for certain reasons is there anyway i can get this scene or something similar off the net?
    Hah, didn't think I'd be able to find it, but it's all over the place

If you have RealPlayer, go here(have to go to the site, can't save it):
    http://movies.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ&sdn=movies&zu=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sonypictures.com%2Fmovies%2Fhitch%2Fvideo%2Fclips%2Fclip6_high.ram

If that doesn't work, try one of these
    http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=video+clips+Hitch+Will+Smith+dance+lesson&meta=

wow thank you its so hard to find simple stuff on google and i never thought something as obscure as that could be found.

anyways i have some questions ill start from bottom up:
    how do your toes move? do your balls of feet ever move off the ground much?
    what about your knees? how often do they move or bend and how do you know in which direction they move in time with the music? You all saying move in time with music, but in which direction adn when?
    also your hips same questinos and also all the other parts.

by the way it is r n b music.

xxxxx wrote:
    wow thank you its so hard to find simple stuff on google and i never thought something as obscure as that could be found.

what about your knees? how often do they move or bend and how do you know in which direction they move in time with the music? You all saying move in time with music, but in which direction adn when?

Instructions for that 'Hitch' clip.

Have your feet at shoulder width apart. Get in time with the beat. Take one step to the right in time with the music and click your fingers. Take one step to the left in time with the music and click your fingers. Couldn't be any simpler.

Practice with a song with real strong base and rythem, like Janet Jackson - Rythm Nation or something like that.

do u actually do that on a dancefloor with rnb music in front of a partner? wouldnt that get monotonous after 3 minutes? do you just keep doing that forever is it ok?

xxxxx wrote:

I downloaded this stick figure animation program and haven't used it yet, so here's some samples of me dancing! :D

dave_dancing2.gif

dave_dancing.gif

Note that I don't actually look like that and I don't know how to work the program! :D

Here is a sample of one of my friends dancing

friends_dancing.gif

Note how I look so much cooler! :D

lol, ok I'm having too much fun with this program, I really have to study...:v:

how do your toes move? -- they don't, nobody sees your toes...
    do your balls of feet ever move off the ground much? -- yeah, when you're moving from side to side
    what about your knees? -- mine tend to come up a bit when I'm moving around, yer... just bend them a bit!
    how often do they move or bend and how do you know in which direction they move in time with the music? -- like I say, just keep them bent a bit so you're not like a robot... and they move when you're moving around
    You all saying move in time with music, but in which direction adn when? -- listen to the drums and the beat of the song...
    take eg. the Killers - somebody told me... click along kinda...
    breaking my back just to know your* name*, seventeen tracks and I've had it* with this* gameeee...
    Click on the boldened words/symbols(the beat isn't always on a word).
    Kinda move from side to side and move your hands a bit (keep them around {your} nipple level) in time with the drums/beat. Hope I expained that ok...! :|
    also your hips same questinos and also all the other parts -- my hips are generally fairly stationary. Don't be robotic, but don't have them flayling all over the place like you're a stripper or something!

Ok hope that made sense/helped -- remember I don't know a thing about dancing though, this is just what I do when I'm drunk! :D

xxxxx wrote:
    do u actually do that on a dancefloor with rnb music in front of a partner? wouldnt that get monotonous after 3 minutes? do you just keep doing that forever is it ok?

Well when you're starting that's fine, once you're not swinging from the ceiling they'll be grateful -- most lads don't dance or can't dance! As you get better/more confident, you can be a bit more adventurous or whatever. Just go with the flow!

BTW, you don't have to be dancing with a girl or anyone at all! Don't feel like a gobsh!te for dancing on your own or with your male friend, I do it all the time! :D Just make sure you're drunk/tipsy.

xxxxx wrote:
    It's just to get you started. Once you feel comfortable with that you can try other different things. Watch Michael Jackson's music video for 'Rock with You' or 'Don't Stop Till You Get Enough' and you'll be able to incorporate a few subtle dance moves into the Hitch moves. Lifting your right foot in off the ground and ever so slightly bending the leg you're standing on is another simple move.

Watch the master in action:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-1036518351901743124&q=Michael+Jackson

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight