Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cascarino Scoooooores!!

• 08-12-2005 7:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭

The fecker just took down €100,000 in the caribbean pro challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Fair play to him, he might finally have found something he's good at ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Fair play to him, he might finally have found something he's good at ;)

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

how many goals have you scored for Ireland bill? Cause Tony has scored (1)9 you know. You cant argue with (1)9 international goals , and back them the fields were a lot tougher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

how many goals have you scored for Ireland bill? Cause Tony has scored (1)9 you know. You cant argue with (1)9 international goals , and back them the fields were a lot tougher.

and he wasn't even irish....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

But Cascarino played in every single Ireland match for years and years to score those (1)9 goals. Anyone could have scored (1)9 goals playing in that many matches. Overall, he probably cost the team more goals than he scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Crumbs wrote:
    But Cascarino played in every single Ireland match for years and years to score those (1)9 goals. Anyone could have scored (1)9 goals playing in that many matches. Overall, he probably cost the team more goals than he scored.

You are a jopke if you think Cascarino isnt the greatest footballer to ever play for Ireland. How many goals for Ireland have you scored by the way? None yeah thats right. Come back and tell us how good he is when you've scored one you internet dojnkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Cascarinos autobiography book has to be one of the best ever books written....class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Culchie wrote:
    Cascarinos autobiography book has to be one of the best ever books written....class.
    Any poker in it? ;)

You know I don't think so, maybe a passing reference

It's a brilliant read about the career of a journeyman pro. The end of his career in France, where he was a legend (believe it or not) is really great stuff, on and off the pitch.

Would highly recommend it for a christmas read, it really will surprise you how good it is.

I'd say you'd pick it up in the bargain basements at this stage for half nothing.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

He was an ok footballer....but you are all forgetting one thing,he is not even Irish.Which comes in handy when you are playing for the Irish national team.

Dub13 wrote:
    He was an ok footballer....but you are all forgetting one thing,he is not even Irish.Which comes in handy when you are playing for the Irish national team.

Never bothered me I must say.
    If they qualify, they qualify for a reason...and that reason is because they have Irish heritage and want to play for Ireland. Parents or Grandparents emigrated because thier families couldn't feed them, not enough food to go around.

I'd rather have those people representing Ireland than players born in Ireland, and not giving 100%.

Anyways, the book is a good read, and he must be quite a good poker player as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

If they qualify, they qualify for a reason...and that reason is because they have Irish heritage and want to play for Ireland.

More like they couldn't get their game for the ENGLISH, SCOTTISH OR WELSH
    teams so they pick Ireland instead. :o

I have no problem with non Irish born players playing but it turns out that Big tony had NO Irish in him.

Anybody not aware of the full facts read this.
    http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2000/10/31/current/ppage_6.htm

ps:he is still a top bloke but should have said something...and not when he had a book out.

okidoki987 wrote:
    More like they couldn't get their game for the ENGLISH, SCOTTISH OR WELSH
    teams so they pick Ireland instead. :o

Now you would want to be bloody mad to choose Wales or Scotland in all fairness:v:

Agree with you Dub13 on the declaration of Irishness issue ... my point is a general one rather than specific to Ice Cream Man

Culchie wrote:
    Agree with you Dub13 on the declaration of Irishness issue ... my point is a general one rather than specific to Ice Cream Man

I am all for the "grab a granny" rule sure we have some great Irish descendant players such as John Aldridge,Andy Townsend,Ray Houghton,Mark Lawrenson and we cant forget Clinton "the mint" Morrison.

Has anybody played with him (poker)....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

dojnkey.
    Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I bet Tony Cascarino frequents some of the finest nightclubs in the world and drinks Dom Perignon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

Biologically, Tony Cascarino is his own step-father

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Culchie wrote:
    If they qualify, they qualify for a reason...and that reason is because they have Irish heritage and want to play for Ireland. Parents or Grandparents emigrated because thier families couldn't feed them, not enough food to go around.

I'd rather have those people representing Ireland than players born in Ireland, and not giving 100%.

Anyways, the book is a good read, and he must be quite a good poker player as well.

When I was on the cruise with Ladbrokes, Tony was also on that cruise. Ireland had played (Israel) I think that afternoon and I already knew the result but out of curiosity I asked Tony if he knew what the score in the Ireland game was. His reply was

"dunno mate, but England won 2-0".

He could not care less about Ireland now his career is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Waylander wrote:
    When I was on the cruise with Ladbrokes, Tony was also on that cruise. Ireland had played (Israel) I think that afternoon and I already knew the result but out of curiosity I asked Tony if he knew what the score in the Ireland game was. His reply was

Classic
    I admire him even more now. A true ronin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Dub13 wrote:
    Has anybody played with him (poker)....?

I played with him in France earlier this year. He is not a bad player. he cashed in one of the EPT supporting tournaments in Deaville I think. I spent a bit of time chatting to him and he is probably one of the best 'celeb' poker players.

I think him and Michael Greco are about the only celebrity players who have a good game of poker in them.

Ken Doherty has improved a lot since I first played with him, Tommy Tiernan has a good game also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Dub13 wrote:
    He was an ok footballer....but you are all forgetting one thing,he is not even Irish. Which comes in handy when you are playing for the Irish national team.

John Barnes born in Jamaica :p
    Richard Gough born in Stockholm :p
    Terry Butcher born in Singapore :p

Cascarino always played his heart out. Never doubted his committment. Glad he won the 100k. :)

kincsem wrote:
    John Barnes born in Jamaica :p
    Richard Gough born in Stockholm :p
    Terry Butcher born in Singapore :p

Cascarino always played his heart out. Never doubted his committment. Glad he won the 100k. :)

Did you read the link I posted...?I have no problem with players of Irish descent playing for us,but big Tony C has NO Irish in him.And he only came clean when he had a book out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

You are a jopke if you think Cascarino isnt the greatest footballer to ever play for Ireland.

Did I miss the sarcasm in that one? :confused:
    I did, didn't I?

Anyway, what was your man's name?
    Oh yeah ... Liam Brady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Shortstack wrote:
    Ken Doherty has improved a lot since I first played with him, .

Yeah, agreed. Played next to him in Fitz about 9 months ago and had a couple of words with him and discussed his game. He has worked hard on his game and changed alot. How? Feck of, Im not writing your player notes for yah......lazy feckers. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

BigDragon wrote:
    Yeah, agreed. Played next to him in Fitz about 9 months ago and had a couple of words with him and discussed his game. He has worked hard on his game and changed alot. How? Feck of, Im not writing your player notes for yah......lazy feckers. :p

I interviewed Ken for Poker Player Ireland (remember that mag :) second edition out before christmas after some hiccups) and I interviewed Cascarino for the next edition.

Two very nice fellows who by the sound of them have a good knowledge of the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭RMcG

I played against Cascarino a few times and as a bloke he is one of the nicest lads I have ever spoken to, so decent and genuine. No big head celebrity persona about him at all. He is a full time professional playing fairly high stakes cash games on the net and an excellent live tournament pro. He also gives alot of his poker winnings to charity, in 2004 Irish open he was a final table finisher and from the start he was donating whatever he won that day to charity.........think he nipped 6th in the end......but either way you'll go a long way to find a more decent bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Bozzer

Culchie wrote:

Most of these 'Irish heritage' players wouldn't choose to play for Ireland if they could make it with their home country. When they realise England isn't gonna come knocking they start tracing back the family tree. What most of these players want to do is play international football, for either the experience or to put themselves on the market for bigger clubs. I don't think this is the same as wanting to play for Ireland. There may be exceptions but I think this is the case in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Most of these 'Irish heritage' players wouldn't choose to play for Ireland if they could make it with their home country.

Tony Grealish, Mick MacCarthy, David Connolly, Aiden Mac Geady to mention just a few who always gave their first allegiance to ireland. Though what this argumewnt is doing in a Poker Forum is beyond me:confused:

Though what this argumewnt is doing in a Poker Forum is beyond me:confused:

We are "bonding"....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Bozzer

Tony Grealish, Mick MacCarthy, David Connolly, Aiden Mac Geady to mention just a few who always gave their first allegiance to ireland. Though what this argumewnt is doing in a Poker Forum is beyond me:confused:

I did say most,which I still think is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Which nationality would he represent in the PPP grand slam??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Bozzer wrote:
    There may be exceptions but I think this is the case in general.

One player who "chose" Ireland was Gary Breen. Aparently during World Cups back in the day when we were crap and never qualified, his school let everyone wear their England jerseys in on match days, but good auld Gary wore his Ireland jersey. He knew even then that England wouldnt come knocking id say though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Waylander wrote:

If thats true is a terrible indictment of him. Reminds me a lot of Andy Townsend who you now see on English TV using the words 'We' and 'Us' to refer to England. It really sickens me.