Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Online Player of the Year - Nominations

• 06-12-2005 4:09pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm scrapping the Bad Beat award seeing as I can't handle the massive influx of nominations so it's on to a more interesting one.
    Please state the name of the boards player (by nickname) plus the achievement that you consider warrants the nomination.

This is performances ONLINE. An offline vote will be next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

:rolleyes: I'll nominate Musician

Based on BCOOP $ winnings and also I think himself and Imposter were neck and neck with original on-line league.

It's hard to validate this award I guess, but based on ancedotal evidence, I'm go with Muso for consistency amongst boardsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

I'll nominate Pokertroll. To qualify online for the all the major events he participated in this year was a fantastic achievement, kudos Mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

cant forget olly b for his speed poker sucess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

im going to controversial and give my nomination to andy black... i'm sure he's at least heard of boards.ie and he did well in some poker thing in the US... does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I think I'll nominate 4 players, in no particular order

Musician - BCOOP performance

Padraigf - BCOOP performance

HectorJelly - need I elaborate

NickyOD - ditto with Hector

ditpoker wrote:
    im going to controversial and give my nomination to andy black... i'm sure he's at least heard of boards.ie and he did well in some poker thing in the US... does that count?
    I'd say no TBH, it's on-line player of the year.

Obviously when we do the Irish Poker player of the year, there'll be little to no competition...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭podgeen

nickyOd - he's managed to give up his job to play fulltime....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

Ste05 wrote:
    I'd say no TBH, it's on-line player of the year.

Obviously when we do the Irish Poker player of the year, there'll be little to no competition...

He did win the the 200k on stars recently and he qualified for the wsop online, both are great achievements

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

De Deraco wrote:
    He did win the the 200k on stars recently and he qualified for the wsop online, both are great achievements

Well we kind of have a Boards category so as to pat ourselves on our backs. Andy would win any possible catgory we had if we didn't and voting on it would be pointless.

De Deraco wrote:
    Absolutely, but AFAIK it's boards.ie players only. I doubt he has the time to be bothering to be posting here TBH. Unless De Deraco, is really Mr. Black??? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    Musician wrote:
    Please state the name of the boards player (by nickname)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Daithio (Hope I have the right O'Calla :) ).

Won a pokerevents title this year and also had a big win in vegas during the WSOP. How many players won a major tournie in vegas.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

careca wrote:
    Daithio (Hope I have the right O'Calla :) ).

Won a pokerevents title this year and also had a big win in vegas during the WSOP. How many players won a major tournie in vegas.

Guess it needs more explaining. This award is for a boards poster's performances online. There will be a seperate award for boards poster's performances offline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

well Andy Black did us proud in the WSOP

Well done to Hectorjelly for a successfull first year or so as a pro,
    And well done to NickyOD who will hopefully have just as good a year!
    Both guys have worked very hard on their game, contributed a hell of a lot to this forum and took a very professional approach to, well, being a pro!
    Best of Luck (and best of luck to those other guys who have taken the plunge!)

Well done Pokertroll, Bohsman on their WSOP performances and the rest of the boardies who've played there
    And Daithio, Shortstack, Marq, ocallagh (can't think of everyone ...)

Player of the year tho:....Andy Black

Edit: For online it's gotta be Hectorjelly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I'll second JP's nomination of Pokertroll. His run of online an offline qualifiers was very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

musician wrote:
    Guess it needs more explaining. This award is for a boards poster's performances online. There will be a seperate award for boards poster's performances offline.

And then he comes out to the office and explains it again :rolleyes: Thats the problem with working with the MOD !! sorry, daithio, have to keep you for the off-line nomination.

Agree with others so. Pokertroll. Closely followed by Ollieboy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

for me its also gotta be HectorJelly.

reading his hand histories and strategy for online play have been great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

deVore for coming so close (yet so far) in that Allin poker 30k package tournie afew weeks back. Never seen such high standard of play from all particpants at one final table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Pokertroll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

i nominate
    dathio came 2nd in the ept in barca
    bozzer for that audatious move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

musician wrote:
    Please state the name of the boards player (by nickname) plus the achievement that you consider warrants the nomination.

This is performances ONLINE. An offline vote will be next.

I don't see poker mentioned in the above text so i'd like to nominate Doc Farrell's drunken ramblings. The reason's should be obvious! :D

Seriously though Pokertroll and Bohsman deserve nominations for qualifying for the WSOP and other big tournaments. Oh and Mike (Shortstack) too for his online qualification and subsequent cashing in the EPT (that was this year wasn't it?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Amaru

I'll nominate HJ. Even though i've gotten in more arguments with him than possibly any other person on any forum i frequent, i still think he's thought me more about the game than any one person on here.

Imposter wrote:
    I don't see poker mentioned in the above text so i'd like to nominate Doc Farrell's drunken ramblings. The reason's should be obvious!

Well there is a poster of the year award so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

musician wrote:
    Well there is a poster of the year award so...
    I thought 'online performances' was more apt tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Let's not forget 5pin5's $30 online investment that won a $10,000 seat in the big one.

And winning it while not playing properly. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Vamos

Musician, solid play in every league tourni I seen him in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Honourable mentions to Pokertroll, ollieboy and KPNuts big win on Betfair (17k if I remember)

The best online performance of the year has to be Bohsman's Main Event seat win on Stars. He waded through a minefield in a FPP tournament. Tough going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

for consistancy and great strategic posts id go with hector and nicky but my vote is officially going to oscar for getting to the WSOP with FPPs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭RMcG

Did Mark MacMahon (PokerTroll) not qualify for the WSOP main event and the WHU Championships from online satellites, I think for online then he has to be the one to get that nomination.

For live play think Dave O Callaghan seems to be spearheading the boards players and has been for some time. So he would get my vote for live play.

Theres my two votes, do with them as you please ladies and gents :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

karlh wrote:
    for consistancy and great strategic posts id go with hector and nicky but my vote is officially going to oscar for getting to the WSOP with FPPs :)

Agreed. Freerolling through a minefield of idiots into the WSOP is a humungous achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

This is a tough category, most people seem to only be aware of Dave O'Callaghan's off line wins. His brother Niall is very modest about his success online also. They both have racked many wins and final tables. Ocallagh mostly on Tribeca and Daithio on Tribeca and Prima.

Hectorjelly is probaly the best cash game player and not too shabby at tournaments either.

Tacklef also does well in the Tribeca cash games.

HJ & Daithio have already been nominated so I will go for Ocallagh and Tacklef.

When are the bubble player of the year nominations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

My vote goes to Mark MacMahon, he qualified online for 3 major events, (PPP Irish Open, WSOP, WHUC Qualifier). These are multi tourments with one prize and this is an amazine achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

My vote goes to Mark MacMahon, he qualified online for 3 major events, (PPP Irish Open, WSOP, WHUC Qualifier). These are multi tourments with one prize and this is an amazine achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

Pokertroll for his satellite success....Not sure how much Taclef makes on VC.. but never to happy to see him at my table wit ha big stack...
    So Troll and Tackle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Bohsman. FPP=$12,000. Unbeknownst to many, He has also won 4 or 5 online tournaments this year and is a winning Blackjack player.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I vote for Oscar aswell....a free tournament on the toughest site(with over 200 runners if I remember correctly),and he takes it down.

To avoid confusion I'll try and explain this as it seems alot of people think this is the vote. This is a nominations thread. By all means nominate who you wish but if they have already been nominated then you don't really need to. This thread is designed to gather nominations for a voting thread. You are not voting for the person here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Its still nice to read peoples opinions about others. It would be pretty vacant otherwise dont you think.

Absolutely just don't want folks going off thinking they've posted their vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

I'll be voting for OCallagh - Niall O' Callaghan - he has had an amazing year online and gets it very quietly. As Mike says, it is a very difficult category as we are only going on reports that we see on boards and a lot of the people here would be too modest to post all of their successes. BTW Thanks for the nomination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Cheers for the nominations! I suppose it is a tough category.. Cash/MTT/STTs are all so different..

Anyway, my nominations are based on STT & MTTs cause I rarely play cash.. so sorry to any cash game players I left out.. I have no idea how you perform apart from the occasinal HH.

Kpnuts - Ken Powell.. For his numerous MTT wins (Cruise packages, 50k+ downtime) and his unbeatable STT strategy.. (no joke, he's actually unbeatable!!:D )

Pokertroll - Mark McMahon for his 3 major satellite wins (close to 20k in total) and for consistently winning the 10K GTD on tribeca!

And bohsman - Oscar Fred. Not just for his famous WSOP win from FPP points, but he has cleared up on MTTs on Tribeca too.. you rarely hear any results from him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I think there should be two different categories.

For cash it has to be HJ and Nicky for obvious reasons.

I think for online tourney success it's a three horse race between Bohsman, Pokertroll and ocallagh. What bohsman did was really incredible, the patience that's needed for that sort of win belies belief IMO. Oscar's also had a good few decent online tourney wins since which most people don't know about. Pokertroll also had a load of amazing satellite results which deserves a load of respect, satellites are very very hard to win, trust me I've blown a load of money on them. Not to mention a load of wins in other tribeca cash tourneys. ocallagh has won an incredible amount of tourneys online in the last year, actually I'd be amazed if there was anyone who has won more in online multis on PPP in the last 6 months. His profit since april equals most people's yearly salaries! So there are my three nominations with reasons too. Cheers everyone for nominating me but to be honest I've done feck all online compared to hector, nicky, oscar, mark and niall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

sh1t- I forgot about KP. An stt specialist, probably the best out there, nevermind his $17k multi win a while back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Tackle

I only play cash games so I'm not really up to speed on peoples' mtt or stt successes. For cash games it has to be HJ.

Appreciate the nomination but I think there are alot of guys on here who've had a much better year. Hopefully next year, I'll be in with a shot. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

Tackel, justread your blog..your cack..I'd like to withdraw my nomination.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Tackle

Lol, hey I'm not ..that.. bad!