Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Meet 'n' Train

• 06-12-2005 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭

In answer to Cabelo's question in another topic, is there a slight possibility of getting the pre-Crimbo boards session going on the 17th now? It could be an option now that some of the lads who were fighting are available etc.

Anyway let me know ASAP as I'll have to secure the hall time. I'm bang on for it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

Dewd, I've got no contractual obligations that would prevent attendance.

Also, have to see if I can hit up Loz for a lift-0.

Hey Loz, any chance of a lift? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Cabelo wrote:

Hey Loz, any chance of a lift? ;)

Where collect from ?

Chief, if a lift is involved I can probably manifest anywhere in the Blanch area :)

Also, PM saying what route ye'll be taking, I'll coincide. Anyone else see how timely that man is? Wow.

Hopefully we'll get as good a turnout as last time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

someone post times dates location

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

When- Saturday 17th November
    Where- K.O. Martial Arts, Griffith Avenue, Glasnevin
    Time- ? What suits? 2 hours or so anyway.

You be there to show us some Judo magic?

ill be there , alans hot topic isnt going to interest many maybe a thread titled boards meet would be a little better?

You're probably right. I can't change the title though. Colm????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I'll probably amble by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

i'm up for it, the last one was great craic, learn't alot off u guys. i'd better start my stretchin now, hey Roper Battle royal ending this time round.

Cabelo wrote:
    Chief, if a lift is involved I can probably manifest anywhere in the Blanch area :)

Cool, well i live up that way/Clonsilla ( but dont tell anyone - its really castleknock )

so anyone needs a lift from Blanch area let me know - i have room for 4

Loz

Would there still be the same level of enthusiasm for the Sunday (18th)? Work commitments might get in my way on the Saturday.

Anyone else on for this. So far we have
    Me
    Judomick
    Cade
    Loz
    Twokingmick
    Cabelo
    Clive

Keep it comin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

What time would it start at? I've that weekend off now as I booked it for xmas brawl anyways.

jeff monson seminar is on the sunday

Is that defo still on?

****e, I'll have to see what I can do cos this Saturday is too early.
    Provisionally Saturday 17th then and I'll see what I can swing in the job.

I'd prefer not the 17th as i have an xmas do on the night of 16th -

but if it is to be 17th, can it be in the later afternoon ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Scheduling conflict

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

rather than start a new thread i'll just add here that i'd like to invite one and all to the SBG Xmas roll 12-2pm on xmas day :) light training (stand-up, clinch, ground - whatever your thing is!) to prepare you for all that turkey!!

tortega wrote:
    How come John Kavanagh and Colm O'Reilly can't come? I think they'd be excellent additions to the ensemble. Well i'm not saying Clive and Mick aren't worthy, but, JK and COR are coaches.

are you going?

Can I just ask wtf is going on here?
    Y'all can have your digs at each other be it messing around or serious or whatever, but the boards meet is something that maybe we want a few people to come to who may not be involved in MA. Some of this reads like a challenge which might put them off and which I don't want to manifest in my gym.

If not, then fine, clarify please.

eh, you've lost me there barry?? :confused:

he asked me was i going and i asked him...where are you reading the 'challenge' part? i certainly dont feel the need to 'challenge' anybody:)

anyway i'll probably be there but as mick said before these things usually end up just being a group of guys from the circle i already train with BUT i hope there's a few new faces :D

now that i know who tortega is, all this nonsense makes perfect sense

"was non-sbg affiliated ppl"

i never said 'affiliated to SBG' - i meant people i train with or have trained with. i've trained with you already and you're not 'affiliated to SBG'.

"so there is a good chance there will be some interesting people with different training methods and styles available"

that would be cool! so beside the few names above, who's going??

Happy families then. Thanks for clarifying. I'm concerned about the impression on beginners that's all. A muffin and a group hug at the offset and all will be fine...

As for the last one it would be fair to say that the majority there were sbg in some way but there was good representation from all round. Also, I found everyone there willing to do whatever. No egos or "I'm not doing thats". I'm sure we'll have a ball.

Oh, and the one person you're allowed to beat down is Loz, but only if he arrives with his hands muffin free...

There will be a few new faces for you John I'm sure.
    Who else would like to join in this Christmas celebration of all things martial?

I've never seen a John Kavanagh, I wonder if he's deadly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I've seen a John Kavanagh, he may not be "deadly" under your definition of the term, but he is certainly able to submit much larger people very easily. I'm not saying he'd take CroCop or Arlovski, but your average larger male human who has trained in Combative sports. I'm also not saying John has "Spider Senses" or is immune to shotgun blasts, just that he is a very fit and able competitor, and that level of skill in any area of human endeavour deserves some recognition.
    Your up in da big smoke, go to the Chrimbo. session and roll with him, and have him dance the Slave Man Dance with you if he can handstand? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

I'm real insulted. I introduced the joy of the clinch to everyone last time. Now i'm not wanted. Last time i put out on a first date.

Who said you weren't wanted?

Big up for Mick! Let's hear you people!!!

Here comes the Mick Train - Choo Choo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I'm not sure Mick wants to be pulling a train? Last time I heard that term was on an episode of "Oz"? :eek:

Is it because he had his shirt off at the last one ye turned agin' him? :o

Has a dite/time been fixed yet ? - cause i now have plans 17th afternoon which i canot get out of ( Daughters Ballet are putting on a show )

Musashi wrote:
    I'm not sure Mick wants to be pulling a train?

Why not?

How's about Saturday 17th, 2pm until whenever? Sound good? Anyone? Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

Loz, 'i have to go to the ballet' has to be the worst possible excuse of all time for not showing up to training.

It's new, I'll give Loz that. I wonder how many other people had to go to the ballet over the years and just wouldn't admit it, preferring to say they were running a marathon or something?

honestly !

3 till half past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Chuck Norris is playing Mick in his new biopic

Jesus I read that wrong.

The time has come to confirm your attendance people. I have to organise stuff for Saturday, and much as I wouldn't mind training with 2 or 3 people, I've shopping to do dammit!
    So if you're certain to attend, let me know and I can sort the hall out.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I'll turn up.

I can be there until 14:30 - then have go go feckin ballet.............

Loz, PM me a time and place in the general Blanchardstown/Castleknock area and I'll meet up with yer. Ye'll know me by my mad length hair ;)

Cabelo wrote:
    Loz, PM me a time and place in the general Blanchardstown/Castleknock area and I'll meet up with yer. Ye'll know me by my mad length hair ;)

Roper what time this kicking off on Sat ? -

Cabelo - can give lift if timing dont clash with this Ballet thing...

Im going to say 2pm, or would people prefer earlier or later?

tortega wrote:
    it was even more expensive then jk's gym so i've not put on my ballet shoes just yet.

Jaysus, will ye ever stop like?

tortega wrote:
    but i did enquire about joining npas but it was even more expensive then jk's gym so i've not put on my ballet shoes just yet.

Shame - cause the demi plie's are a great all leg workout !

As mentioned, I might make an appearance depending on how various injuries are.

Roper wrote:
    Im going to say 2pm, or would people prefer earlier or later?

I'll come over before and help wiv the old mats - but will have to leave at 14:30

Sorry, you're right there. I am very childish, what with my commenting on somebody's prices in a thread where it has no relevance or prompt whatsoever.

Abysmal that's all I am.

Also, I'll definitely be there, good stuff.

It's cool Loz I'll just be leaving the matts down tonight! It'll be like we own the place....

I'm gonna bring Goo too. He's been in here but his interweb is broken so y'know how it is.

Folks,
    I'm outta here at 2pm today so if you want to mail me about directions etc. do it sort of... now. Other than that, my mobile is 085-8320174

See you all tomorrow at about 2pm then.