Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

62 Things Dubs love

• 04-12-2005 1:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

1 Aslan

2 Heroin (See 1)

3 Stealin'

4 Joy-ridin'

5 Saying 'Yaknowwhorrameyan?"

6 Shamrock Rovers

7 Social welfare

8 Keyin' Cars

9 Pop Idol

10 Wearing belly tops over their pale, flabby stomachs

11 Calling people 'Bud' who are not their bud

12 Compo

13 Calling people 'Pal' who are not their pal

14 Shortening words and adding the letter 'o' (Anto, Decco,
    Corpo)

15 Calling people 'Boss' who are not their boss

16 John Player Blue

17 Burberry

18 Burglary

19 Fair City

20 Celtic shirts

21 'Taches

22 Fireworks every night for the entire month preceeding
    Halloween

23 Sky Digital

24 Saying "I didn't bleedin' do tha'!"

25 Travelling in packs

26 Moochin'

27 Swearing at their babies

28 Getting their mot's preggers

29 Champion Sports

30 Christmas Lights you could see from space

31 Skippin' school

32 Skippin' bail

33 Giving their kids Monster Munch and Maltesers for
    breakfast
    on the bus

34 Standing in queues outside the dole office

35 Funtasia

36 Iceland - the food chain, not the country

37 Man U

38 Saying, "That's not my bleedin' job!"

39 Pushing prams while smoking

40 Earrings (for guys)

41 Earrings a chimpanzee could swing off (for girls)

42 Saying "He didn't do nothin'!" when he clearly did do
    something

43 Baseball caps

44 Sawn-off Shotguns

45 Adrian Kennedy Phone Show

46 Picking up unfinished cigarettes dropped on the street by
    someone else just after coming out of a medical centre (as God is my
    witness)

47 Shop-liftin'

48 Tamangos

49 Not payin' the bus fare

50 Curry Chips and a burger

51 Leaving their kids play outside on a busy road while they
    get hammered on a Sunday afternoon

52 Always following the word 'rich' with the word 'wanker'

53 Pulling their hoodies over their heads as they're led
    away
    from the Four Courts

54 Eschewing peaceful solutions to conflict when Violent
    Senseless Mayhem will suffice

55 Pissing in Elevators

56 Being an authority on everything

57 Knee-cappings

58 Racism

59 Smiley Bolger

60 Getting their hair cut so tight they look like a
    matchstick
    with ears from the back

61 Not readin' bukes

And...

62 Complaining about culchies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

That should read 62 things North Dubs love. Damn skangers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

#Yawns# :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

oh i see where this is going.

btw we rule http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=249010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

lol that's brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

one thing that culchies don't like:

dubs being the slightest bit sophisticated. any kind of knowledge means that you're a west brit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

1 thing culchies love:

Sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Dublin, one of the few places with an open sewer still running through it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

MrSinn wrote:
    5 Saying 'Yaknowwhorrameyan?"

11 Calling people 'Bud' who are not their bud

14 Shortening words and adding the letter 'o' (Anto, Decco,
    Corpo)

Halloween

25 Travelling in packs

26 Moochin'

27 Swearing at their babies

33 Giving their kids Monster Munch and Maltesers for
    breakfast
    on the bus

42 Saying "He didn't do nothin'!" when he clearly did do
    something

58 Racism

And...

62 Complaining about culchies

Ah all so very,very true :p but yes it applies more so to the skangers/ Still funny though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

63. YORE MA! :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

1 Aslan- i like Aslan

14 Shortening words and adding the letter 'o' - My friend is Anto.

Halloween
    - I do this 2...

23 Sky Digital-Is the sh!t

25 Travelling in packs-they are called "hanging with the mates" ya know? :rolleyes:

31 Skippin' school-Come on now! EVERYONE does that!

41 Earrings a chimpanzee could swing off (for girls)-Sometimes :o

50 Curry Chips- I like curry chips

And I aint a dub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Oddly enough, not a single one of them applys to me. Should be renamed "62 things scumbags love". Funny enough though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,980 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

1 thing Dubs hate: Subsidising Connaught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

Ah come on now, that list should be called "Things north siders love"....Lets make a south sider one lads...

I'm from Tuam and i live in ballymun so i'm in no way bitter or anything :rolleyes:

THINGS SOUTH SIDERS LOVE

1. Saying "oh! my! god! hihowareya??!!"

2. coke

3. rugby

4. saying they slept with Brian o' Driscoll

5. saying they slept with Glenda Gilson

6. Fee-paying schools

7. Double surnames and made-up first names, e.g. Bronntannas O'Shea-Kelly and Sneachta O'Faolichán-Hughes

8. pretending they knew about the arcade fire before everyone else

9. pretending they know the frames

10. pretending they hate the frames

11. pretending they read the irish times

12. making every sentence a question

13. BTs

14. marlboro lights (Cause they've, like, no points?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Tusky wrote:
    Oddly enough, not a single one of them applys to me. Should be renamed "62 things scumbags love". Funny enough though...
    I agree. Hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

the more of those things you do/agree with, the more of a scummer you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

murphaph wrote:
    1 thing Dubs hate: Subsidising Connaught.

Ha, legend. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dublin, one of the few places with an open sewer still running through it :)

that must be how the spudgobblers are still getting into the city!

:v: < God knows we've brought every other route into dublin to a standstill trying to keep yis out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

No mocking operation freeflow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

MrSinn wrote:

36 Iceland - the food chain, not the country
    Alas, Iceland is no more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭Lump Basher

yaaawn - I'm from the Northside of Dublin, and the only thing I like on that list (actually, the only thing I don't despise) is SKY Digital.

Alas, Iceland is no more

The food chain or the country?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

MrSinn wrote:

23 Sky Digital
    Whats Wrong about Sky Digital???? :mad:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Ahhh, more bog warriors with chips on their shoulders because they think Dublin people think they are better than them. Why don't you just stay at home and stop comming up here taking our jobs.

FX Meister wrote:
    Ahhh, more bog warriors with chips on their shoulders because they think Dublin people think they are better than them. Why don't you just stay at home and stop comming up here taking our jobs.
    lol - except all they managed to do is sum up scumbags, and not people from Dublin. Aaaahh, bless....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

We will stop going up to dublin and taking your jobs if ye stop coming down to the country to take our houses,dammit lads meath,kildare,louth,wicklow and laois is full of dubs

58 Racism

Me a culchie?

MrSinn wrote:
    We will stop going up to dublin and taking your jobs if ye stop coming down to the country to take our houses,dammit lads meath,kildare,louth,wicklow and laois is full of dubs
    lol - yeah, because they're cheaper....they get cheaper the further away from Dublin you get....I wonder why....

I personally couldn't buy a house down the country - culchies are slow and behind the times, and the local amenities are all naff & sparse.

Ahh just give any dub a big shopping complex to hang around all day to keep them happy

MrSinn wrote:
    Nah, sure there's loads of room down the sticks so if I want a house down there I can have one. But Dublin has enough people without more of ye comming here. I can see the attraction, if I lived in the country I would want to come to dublin too. But we can do without you.

I'd rather have my choice of shopping complex's than have one crap music store that only sells tapes and a couple of shops selling two year old fashions as seems to be the case with most bogger towns. And at least you can park at them, not just stop your car in the middle ofd the street and get out as seems to be the case with most bog towns.

MrSinn wrote:
    a big shopping complex to hang around all day to keep them happy

lol - a culchies dream...

MrSinn wrote:
    Ahh just give any dub a big shopping complex to hang around all day to keep them happy

Culchies seem content with their inferiority complex.

I taught the culchie thing was forgotten about by dubs,isint it the forighners turn to get the stick in dublin now days?

MrSinn wrote:
    I taught the culchie thing was forgotten about by dubs,isint it the forighners turn to get the stick in dublin now days?
    Well you "taught" wrong....the bogmasters will always get the 'stick', because they make it too easy.

I'd rather have my choice of shopping complex's than have one crap music store that only sells tapes and a couple of shops selling two year old fashions as seems to be the case with most bogger towns. And at least you can park at them, not just stop your car in the middle ofd the street and get out as seems to be the case with most bog towns.[/QUOTE]

I better pay a visit to tk max soon so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

I think people in the country are more racist than dubs.

people are the same everywhere but its good craic to poke fun at some

I would agree with djmarkus on that one. It's a fact that people from the country are more ignorant that people from the city.

FX Meister wrote:
    I would agree with djmarkus on that one. It's a fact that people from the country are more ignorant that people from the city.

More ignorant,lol.

I like you're modesty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

62 Things Culchies Love

1 A nice bit of ham.

2 Buttered biscuits.

3 Diggin Holes.

4 Saying its too cold to snow

5 Pretending to know about The IRA.

6 Tayto Cheese & Onion

7 Pretending they're in The IRA.

8 A stretch in the evenings

9 Lucozade

10 Accordians

11 Pretending to like Holy Week.

12 A dinner dance

13 Gettin covered in muck.

14 Shania Twain.

15 Heifers

16 Spitting in their hands before doing anything manual

17 Steel toe caps.

18 A big bowl of carrots & parsnips.

19 Aetin sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA matches

20 Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something.

21 The smell of fresh dung.

22 Slice-Your-Own Loaf.

23 Work Clothes

24 A bottle a mineral.

25 Fightin'.

26 Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from being foundered

27 'De' Hurling/Football.

28 Being overweight.

29 Women that look like heifers.

30 Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup a tae.

31 Drink driving.

32 Red diesel

33 The Fear of Change.

34 A nice bit of Barnbrack

35 Lying.

36 Building walls.

37 Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food

38 Pretending to like mass

39 Talking about ****e like Flax and the Corncrake.

40 A good blackthorn walkin stick.

41 Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.

42 Mohammed Ali.

43 Machinery.

44 Strange uppy-downy walks.

45 A good read of Irelands Own.

46 Gelling their 1cm fringe tight to their forehead.

47 Scandal, as long as its about other people.

48 Turf, because central heatin's for weemin.

49 Soda farls.

50 Sponge 'n Custard

51 America, and anything to do with it.

52 Givin the dog the wildest baytins.

53 Givin the wife the wildest baytins.

54 The IRA.

55 Winning a leg of lamb in a raffle.

56 Wrecking the house whilst steaming.

57 Club Orange

58 Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner

59 The Foot & Mouth.

60 Aetin' a big feed a shpuds.

61 TK Red Lemonade

62 Bottles of cold tea

LOL that's so true. I didn't spot kissin their sisters in there and we all know that's true.

Hey that only happens in the"fair city"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Why would culchies love foot and mouth? This thread makes no sense. Can you kids not take your issues elsewhere?

It gives them something to talk about while drink driving home from the pub

(notice the time)
    Right so...i've had enough here tonight,enough to drink for one monday(smo
    nday).Im off to shoot some knackers(the culchie way)Yeeeeeehaa

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

MrSinn wrote:
    Same with this part of Cavan... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

MrSinn wrote:

All of the above mentioned are actually suburbs rather than counties now, get used to it lads...yizill all be dubs or in a generation :D

:v: <and all the dubs will be poles..a terrible state of affairs altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

MrSinn wrote:
    Complaining about culchies

Only when they stereo type Dublin folk.
    Dr J wrote:
    That should read 62 things North Dubs love. Damn skangers

Again, with the stereo typing.

Playing follow the the leader is not big, and it is not clever.

Assuming that every Dublin citizen, and indeed, every northside Dublin citizen is a 'skanger' hardly highlights your intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

I point you towards Northsiders vs Southsiders...
    http://troll.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=285867 :D

yaaawn - I'm from the Northside of Dublin, and the only thing I like on that list (actually, the only thing I don't despise) is SKY Digital.