Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Slang

• 04-12-2005 1:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭

Im trying to get a list of commonly used dublin slang & the meanings, its for somone who's moving here soon, an as ya know, its a vital thing to know in advance! lol

And anyways, I thought, hell, what beter place! :rolleyes::D
    So guys an gals, everything ya can think of, below! ;)

b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Yore Ma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

In the brown
    In the brown pipe
    In the chocolate tube
    In the swiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Savant™

Gee bag

Hoop = arse.

"Luk at de hoop on hor!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭jonnybadd

Whopperbuzz

story?

story?
    Commonly used with 'Boss'.
    "Story Boss".

Binomate wrote:
    Commonly used with 'Boss'.
    "Story Boss".
    lol

story bud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

lol, this is perfect!
    But remember, its for a foreigner, definitions if possible, lol, im gonna get him to read this before he gets here, this will be better than *any* book methinks! :D

b

"Yeah man".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭sideFX

Gee bag
    Lol hahhaa haven't heard that in years.

Yizer .... as in "Put yizer coats on it's cold outside"

Good thread ... giving me a good aul laugh ... :D

One that gets up my nose is "Ye know wha I mean?" when it's constantly used about 20 times in a sentence ... know wha i mean?

"I'll burst you" = I will administer pain to you or I will kill you.

sideFX wrote:
    Lol hahhaa haven't heard that in years.

Yizer .... as in "Put yizer coats on it's cold outside"

Good thread ... giving me a good aul laugh ... :D
    How's your Gee ?

Binomate wrote:
    Hoop = arse.

"Luk at de hoop on hor!"

hahhaa the hoop on dat

use / uze / yez = you plural.

Karlusss wrote:
    In the brown
    In the brown pipe
    In the chocolate tube
    In the swiss
    Up the dirt track...

me bollix = my bollix = no

yizer all bleed'n mad on tis thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

culchie = non city dweller

Skanger = baseball cap, tracksuit wearing, poorly grown moustachioed toe rag hanging out on a corner near u

spa = dislikeable person

spanner = dislikeable northsider

scummer = worse than a skanger, more facial hair

savage = better than good

rapid = equal to savage in some respects, except music

****in' = emphasising anything

e.g. ****in' deadly = better than deadly

gobsh*te = one who talks sh*te

bird = female

fella = usually the partner of the bird. See skanger for details.

eejit = person lacking common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

shup n giz yer fowin r' oill bleedin baycha ye shmelly rocker

......meaning "Please Sir, may I request that you hand to me your cellular phone post-haste, lest I shall be left with no recourse other than to engage you in battle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Are ya malahide or what:rolleyes: :D

S'craic? = How's the fun?

bud = term of address

Stahrry, bud? = What are the happenings, my good man?

Ahrhee = how are you? hello

buzz = the atmosphere, or effect of drugs or alcohol on the speaker

e.g. rapid buzz = the atmosphere was quite enjoyable

it's a load of me bollix = I don't like it.

(v old one) i'll giv ya a nuckle sandwich = I will punch you in the mouth.

ya bleed'n sap = You are stupid.

the state e ya = You look terrible.

SebtheBum wrote:
    spa = dislikeable person

Sap = dislikeable person

Jaysus = shock

Animal = variation of 'rapid'

love = variation of 'Boss', female equivilant. e.g. "All ree love!"= "How are you, female person?"

bollocks, bollix, bollox = testicles, a state of inebriation, an untruth

e.g. "he was talking bollix about the size of his bollox on saturday night coz he was bollocksed".

That's enough from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

muppet/muppeh = idiot. Also applies to boards.ie in general.

Scoop - Pint o beer
    Scooped - Drunk

look at the jasis head on ya = You look terrible.

lol

In all in anyways...

Are yez comin for pints? = Are you coming down to the pub?

Howiya? said really quickly - Hello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭p2kone

get doctor bill's "rotten apples"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

SebtheBum wrote:
    bollocks, bollix, bollox = testicles, a state of inebriation, an untruth

e.g. "he was talking bollix about the size of his bollox on saturday night coz he was bollocksed".

That's enough from me.

LMAO, this stuff is classic.

YORE MA! = Your mother.

I suopse there are the racial ones as well as much as we all hate to admit it.

Paki = anyone that looks remotly asian in any kind of way
    chink = anyone who looks even slightly oriental.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

ye go' any change for the bus like bud ? = Please give me money for drugs.

giz a smoke there bud woudya ? = I want to see what else is in your pockets to see if you're worth stabbing, to get money for drugs.

etc..etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭psicic

“Shower of c*nts” – an unhelpful or intractable group of people

“Yez humpy c*nts” – ‘You moody or inappropriately serious people’

“Wagon” – a hag, battleaxe or nagging woman; occasionally a woman of loose morals (i.e. “She’s a wagon ridden by everyone”)

“A ride” – a good-looking man or woman; also, a hump

“bogger” – someone from the country

“Handbagging” – grabbing the scrotum of a man and yanking it as hard as possible(to cause pain, not pleasure….)

“Scuttered” – to be drunk (i.e. ‘He was scuttered after one shot of whiskey’); to have fouled oneself (i.e. ‘He was scuttered after a pint of uzo’); to move irratically or whilst making a lot of noise (i.e. ‘He scuttered home from the pub’)

“woolly-back” – (Southsiders) used predominantly to describe someone from the North side of the city; (Northsiders) used to describe people from outside the Pale.

“f*cking twat” – (Northsiders) someone from the South side of the city; (Southsiders) someone from Donnybrook area

jaysus i giz ur wan a dirty sanchez lass night!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

bunch of shít cúnts. yes you people in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭rrrrr

gerupouadat Get up out of that = Could you stop doing what you are doing

yappin de ears off me = Talking to me too much

ya little hunga = You are greedy

hes a hungry cu*t = he's greedy

gowanyaboyya = Go on you boy you = Well done.

bejasus = shock

yor a bleedin rat = You have told somebody something secretive.

up the duff = pregnant

he was pulling his plum = he was masturbating

would ya give er one? = would you have sexual intercourse with that female?

he's massive = hes attractive

yor takin the biskit now ya c*nt = You have crossed the line now.

yor actin the maggit = You are annoying me.

hes a good goer = He is good fighter

do ya want yer go do ya? = do you want to fight me now?

I gave him a straightener = I gave him a fight.

shes bet down = shes ugly

you startin are ye? Are you trying to start a fight?

stall it = Lets go

thats banjaxed = That is broken.

lol deadly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

moth = girlfriend, wife (from Irish maith = good)
    mill = a fight
    cup of cha = cup of tea (lots of Dublin slang words are from time Dubliners served in the British army and served in India etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

rrrrr wrote:
    stall it = Lets go

This can also mean wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Ste- wrote:
    This can also mean wait.

That's right, since when did it mean "lets go" ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

yeah people say stuff like "are ye stallin' it down to extravision". Weird, must be like dossin down to somewhere...kinda like hanging out

have fun! fill in the answers

skyrocket
    skypilot
    cash n carried (my version: billy barried)
    gould/gash/woegious/gank/muck/brootal
    gick/gickna/benjy
    gaylord/gaybo
    jackpalancing
    jockeys whips
    shikaloanies
    scribble/scratcher
    luk a' de bleddin sta 're ye/whareyebleedinlike
    4fuxache
    bellend
    asif
    givin it socks (classic)/givin it buckets
    throwin shapes/shapin
    in de horrors/like a divil/having a coniption/rearing up cat
    made a balls/pigs mickey/hames/hash a dat
    fair play/good man/game ball/sound as a pound..euro etc/nice wan
    banjaxed/banjoed/billixed/made **** off/in rag order/intatters
    lammajayzuz/fordelovinhonouragod/sweetmudderagod/jayzuz
    yewha?

:v: <dis thread is a only bleedin woegious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

andrew163 wrote:
    shup n giz yer fowin r' oill bleedin baycha ye shmelly rocker

......meaning "Please Sir, may I request that you hand to me your cellular phone post-haste, lest I shall be left with no recourse other than to engage you in battle"

LMAO!

Btw your buddy may find this usefull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Daddio wrote:

hahaha.
    Following your link and looking at the "thug Life" picture I can name two of the three!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Scattar/Sketch - Stop doing that illegal act, a figure of authority is coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

whatz da story bud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

H'n = Heroin
    E'n H'ld = Evening Herald