Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

there are xboxs available here thread

• 03-12-2005 12:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭

lets start posting places that the xbox is available! or when they are gunna become available.

smyths in blanch had about 2 core left at 12 on launch day. no doubt gone now. nowhere else in blanch had them.

ive heard on a different thread that virgin are getting them in on the 9th.

anybody know anything else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

i heard the 9th for loadsa shops, as MS have a shipment on the 8th, i'd say the'll go as quick as they did yesterday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I've also heard next week for some stores in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

is tesco stocking them?

tesco had the psp and no one went to get it off them cos no one thought about it, they were the only place in stock when my brother went to get a psp and they had loads left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Tesco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

kensutz wrote:
    I've also heard next week for some stores in Waterford.

where in waterford!!!???:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

try power city. my mate there says their stores haven't sold out and they're due more next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Is that actually a shop that we would be buying from or an individual person?

Yeah i'm thinking the same too

No idea. Just went lookin on the buy and sell website for inflated prices but there was none there I could see. Only that. No idea how buyandsell shops work either. Thought I'd put it up though because its close enough to the price of a premium bundle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

xtra vision in navan have 6 left so i was told today

None now

i would be a bit weary buying from that place not knowing anything about them...Great find though..I may buy from there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 HornPilot

Did you guys see this from that site selling the 360??

Available Date: Thursday 02 March, 2006

yeah but i asked him whether i would have it by Dec 18th and he said i would..

I couldn't find any info about any AM Electrical anywhere in the north, so i'd be very cautious about this, especially as there is no feedback rating.

yeah, it's a pity though, got my hopes up..
    If anyone does buy from here. Tell me please.

Theres no feedback because buyandsell shops is only about a week old

Anyone can set up a buyandsell shop I think. Dont think you need to own an actual shop which is why you prob wont find info on them. Could simply be someone working from home

If you were really stuck you could maybe arrange to pick one up from him if he agrees to it. Personally I'd want to pick it up

i really don't know what to do, Dseperate for one, but like, theses could be stolen or broken or anything.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

a guy in work was in newry yesterday and he said theres was plenty in the city. could b worth a go...

Where abouts in Newry? Might be heading up on Thursday. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

Gamestop - 2nd delevery - last week they said it would come in this week. Today they say another 2 weeks. Anyone hear anything else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

there are cores for sale in smyths in jervis centre,i decided against getting one as i wanted the premium

splinter wrote:
    a guy in work was in newry yesterday and he said theres was plenty in the city. could b worth a go...

are there any premiums?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

he said they had premium, he has said that they had some on saturday. but he has told me of any stores,ill try get the details of the store though. we not have anyone here from up that direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

i want a premium aswell, id say they are selling like hotcakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

yeah i have no doubt.

i have the number of a guy who says he will be getting a good few on thursday delivered to him. so if i get one, and he is legit, ill ask can i pass on his number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Sparky_S wrote:
    i want a premium aswell, id say they are selling like hotcakes.

Sexy white hot cakes, you mean. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

K-TRIC wrote:
    Sexy white hot cakes, you mean. :D
    Oh yeah baby :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

I dont see what this big XBOX rarity yoke is about.If I remember right,during the PS2 launch and XBOX launch both companies said there would be a shortage and come Christmas there was too many of them.Its just a play by Microsoft so people immediately rush out and buy one.Seriously,a lot of companies do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Sweet wrote:
    I dont see what this big XBOX rarity yoke is about.If I remember right,during the PS2 launch and XBOX launch both companies said there would be a shortage and come Christmas there was too many of them.Its just a play by Microsoft so people immediately rush out and buy one.Seriously,a lot of companies do it.

And that's why I pre-booked mine 3 months ago and it's beside my tv now. I really wanted one and I knew right well this would happen because it always does. It's been happening since the eighties and it gets worse each time a new machine comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

anyone know where in newry? or anywhere in enniskillen still has them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Feidhlim wrote:
    yeah i have no doubt.

i have the number of a guy who says he will be getting a good few on thursday delivered to him. so if i get one, and he is legit, ill ask can i pass on his number

I'm on the hunt for a premium aswell so if this looks kosher gimme a shout. Nice one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

Anybody try Amazon? Not sure what current availability is though...

I pre-ordered mine there at the end of October and had it on Friday last at 11am. Yeah it cost me an extra 40 euro when delivery and sterling were taken into account but well worth it...

I actually ended up with two consoles last Friday (ordered in Smyths and Amazon). I was fortunate to get both....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

whats the diff between core and premiun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭HomunQlus

The Core Edition contains the Console, a wired controller, cables and stuff, and that's it.

While the Premium Edition has pretty much anything you need - the console, wired controller, wireless controller, remote, hard drive, xbox live, live headset and some other fancy stuff.

K-TRIC wrote:
    And that's why I pre-booked mine 3 months ago and it's beside my tv now. I really wanted one and I knew right well this would happen because it always does. It's been happening since the eighties and it gets worse each time a new machine comes around.

I know but its just a ploy by Microsoft so people run out and buy it immediately.Sony did it and now Microsoft are.Its called 'clever marketing'.

Sweet wrote:
    I know but its just a ploy by Microsoft so people run out and buy it immediately.Sony did it and now Microsoft are.Its called 'clever marketing'.

and it's working

Exactly

Dunno if I agree with that. You say sony did it now microsoft. Think for a minute. The xbox360 is the first console to be released in America, Europe and Japan at the same time. Of course microsoft are going to be short because they are trying to have enough ready for each area its released in. Also its the first of the next gen consoles and its out already...... they've had less time to actually produce them because the last few years have been spent designing it

I think they are genuinely short. Just look at the americans. Its been out an extra 2 weeks there and they are still having major shortages (you only have to see the prices on ebay to realise this)

Yes microsoft are short on 360's but I still think they are getting them out as fast as they can. They are already making a hefty loss on each console sold, they prob cant afford to set up another factory producing them as the loss on each 360 would take too long for them to recover from with all the extra expenses of more factorys

Only way to see how this pans out is if there is suddenly loads available before christmas. I highly doubt it. Microsoft know the biggest selling time is xmas and they'd want as many in the shops as possible. The shortage does work in a way to their advantage that it creates a rush for them because they are hard to get. But I think that it is genuinely the case

Just my 2 cents

Why doesnt anybody understand? I'm willing to sell my body for 2 euro if I'm proved wrong.It's the oldest trick in the book, for Gods sake. Even Harry Potter did this(dont mean HP himself but the publishers).

Trust me,there will be plenty more XBOXes.I have a pal in MS.I'll get onto him and see what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

Sweet wrote:
    Why doesnt anybody understand? I'm willing to sell my body for 2 euro if I'm proved wrong.It's the oldest trick in the book, for Gods sake.

Ah but the trick in that case is to spread rumours of massive shortages but actually have decent stock levels in the shops. MS don't hence it's obvious they aren't bsing about this.
    Sweet wrote:
    Trust me,there will be plenty more XBOXes.I have a pal in MS.I'll get onto him and see what he says.

Let us know but in the meantime there simply aren't any to be had, if there was I'd be first in the queue. A number of people who work in shops like Game and HN have posted on here stating that what numbers they did get were way below what they asked for and what they are expecting in the next few weeks is still far below what they would like.

MS aren't playing games here. They went first with an eye to capturing as much market share early on as possible, if they could get stock on the shelf tomorrow they would.

Trust me, there will be plenty more xbox 360s (just not for xmas ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

it's fairly well documented now that microsoft rushed this thing out and as such, their production line (which only started rolling a few weeks before launch) is way behind.

financially they'll be grand but they COULD have sold lots more consoles with all the hype etc.

come jan/feb you'll pick one up no bother unless MS have some massive disaster. they'll want to flood the market to saturation point before sony and nintendo get their goods on the shelves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Laplandman

But why would they sacrifice their volume of Christmas sales just to push things a bit closer to the other console launches? That's hardly a strategy is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Tank Top Fever!

core systems seem to selling around cost price on ebay. There's one ending in a few minutes for 305 euro.

Not arsed getting a core though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

So is it true that many shops are getting more in this thursday (tomorrow)?
    Anyone know if power city have/are getting in more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

yeah its kinda drifting off topic...

feel free to make a new one with all your bickering over whether the shortages are on purpose or not :P

*points to thread topic* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭pete

So is it true that many shops are getting more in this thursday (tomorrow)?
    Anyone know if power city have/are getting in more?
    game.net have restocked at least twice this week (and sold out within minutes), so who knows... only Core systems though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭mrbungle

I was in Newry today, not specifically for a 360, but would have picked 1 up if available. Heres what I saw and heard:

HMV, The Quays. None available, accesories and games only.
    GameStop, The Quays. No premiums available this side of Xmas, some cores coming in soon, accesories and games available.

Virgin, ButterCrane. None available, accesories and games only. 5 possibly due in this week, wouldn't give a date, not taking any pre-orders for xmas. Said would just put up a notice outside shop and 1st come 1st serve.

Game, ButterCrane. 3 Cores available on shelf. Not really tempted as each was a bundle with 10 games. Retailing at £619 sterling. Afirm, £619 !!

Virgin said they'd be selling their premiums with 3 games, Game with 6 !!!

Not long back from Power City. Said they deffinitely werent selling any tonight :( Might nip over tomorrow morning and check again