Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sporting Emporium €75 + €5 Double chance

• 29-11-2005 4:18pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What numbers is this game getting now...?I am heading into it tomorrow night.

ps:anybody else heading in...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I think I'll make my debut at the SE tomorrow.

Does the sign-up/fingerprinting/exploitation of civil rights take long to process?

Is it 8.30pm tourney start?
    Is there car parking nearby?
    What are the blind levels?
    What time does it finish at?
    ermmm....
    Will there be many runners?

:p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

sign-up takes about 5 min.Its a 8.30 start...no late entry's.Car park is not ready yet but loads of on street parking.

I will see you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I was there two weeks ago, thirty odd players. didn't start until 9ish. Blinds/levels spot on. 30 min levels.

But for me the parking was a disaster. I thought Wed night, loads of on street parking (as dub said) but I had to drive around about 4 times before I got one and was still lucky to get that. Better of going to college of surgeons or something like that.

Overall very nice and well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I think I'll make my debut tomorrow aswell. Is it $75 (+$5) +$75?

ie is it $155 altogether or just $80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm probably going to Fitz it tonight (yes, that's a verb!), but if not I will see you gentlemen tomorrow night for certain! I park right outside the Eircom building down the Harcourt Street corner of St. Stephen's Green, only a short walk from there.

roryc wrote:
    ie is it $155 altogether or just $80

Its just 80.10 to join but you receve a 20 euro chip.If you are stuck for parking just park on Merrion Square or in one of the 24 hour car parks.

Its turning into the Boards game...:) anybody else heading in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Well worth the visit, me and rounders went in couple of weeks ago and the standard was very good.

Joining takes 5 mins, blinds are 30 mins and about 30/40 runners and the standard was very good.

Food and service was excellant and the girls are very attractive, just an add bonus if your missing the flops.lol

Parking is not easy, I thinks it's nearly easier to park at Merrion Sq and walk up.

It should be over about 2 maybe 3. The dealers are all very good, tables and chips brilliant, so well worth the visited.

Give us a report tomorrow and make sure everyone says hello to each other.

Hope to be there, but might go on Thursday nite instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

very nice place. heard the merrion is down to three (not even full) tables at the mo, for just about every tournie except the friday one.

someone was saying that for one of the tournaments they couldn't even get a full table!

fitz doesn't seem to be affected at all. in fact numbers seem to be very good there.

I have played the Thursday game once and the payout was to flat,but a nice little tournament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭5pin5

i will be heading in as well its a nice tourament so it will be a boards night out

ionapaul wrote:
    I'm probably going to Fitz it tonight (yes, that's a verb!), but if not I will see you gentlemen tomorrow night for certain! I park right outside the Eircom building down the Harcourt Street corner of St. Stephen's Green, only a short walk from there.

SEE YOU IN THE FITZ TONIGHT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

In last tuesday and was told that valet parking was on the way. Anyone in the know able to confirm or deny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

In last tuesday and was told that valet parking was on the way. Anyone in the know able to confirm or deny?

God help the poor valet who has to park my car.

"Whats that red flashing warning light on the dash sir ?"
    'don't worry about that, its been on for years'
    "And the noise sir, the engine is very loud ?"
    'just turn up the radio'
    "Anything else I need to know sir ?"
    'park it against a wall, the handbrake can be dodgy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

valet parking was on the way

Cool, it could do with a clean. :D

Much of a turnout last night? Anyone willing to give a report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

I would give a full report except for the fact i only lasted 45mins!!About 35 runners in all. I had 3.8k after op-up blinds 50/100, havent played hand and get AQ on bb.2 limps,sb limps and i make it 700, 1 limper on button calls after hesistation, hasnt played a hand yet, no read either. The flop is 3s3c4s,he has 1.4k left i go all-in, he thinks for ages...hmmm i think im ahead here because if he has pockets he would have called quickly..maybe he has KJ spades or something. He eventually calls....showing AK OFFSUIT!!!!WOW!i couldnt believe he played AK this way...its clear by his play later hes a total fish!im tilting, have 1.8k on my bb,blinds goin up,3limps ive Q6, i go allin and get called by a limper with A7 and as quick as that im gone.Lol. Terrible play by mean in last hand but just didnt want to hang round on shortstack and thought i could pick up 400 chips there, ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I was there for the first time last night. Very Swish !

The 'chips' are just class, I have got to get a set of them. The cards are ****e though (cue Murfie/Special days)

About 35 runners I'd say.

I went out the last hand at the break, so still about 25 left at that stage.

I never got going at all, anytime I got involved in a pot, the flop kept missing me, but hitting others.

There was a lot of 'limping' into pots going on. One particular guy's tactic was to raise every time he had an ace, be it with a 2, 5 or 9 kicker, and I thought I had he pegged.

He has stolen my blinds a few times with this tactic, and when he tried it again when I had AJ, I made a stand. This was the only time he actually had a pair though (88):rolleyes: , so I lost half my stack then, and spent the rest of the time trying to get back on board.

Was down to 1500 and I got AA in the BB (75/150), lovely. Limp Limp Limp ... 6 limpers, so I decide All-In approach, make it look desperate and I'm trying to steal the pot, and surely I'll get a caller. No..everyone folded:cool:
    Chip leader said it was a smart move, as it did look I was theiving, but I got kudos but no chips.:o

So that was a little disappointed as I needed a double up really to get back in the game.
    Then the last hand on the break, (1900) I got JJ on the button. I raised to 700 ( I should have just pushed) and the BB called. Flop came K 7 6

BB (similar stack)went all-in. If I folded, I had just 1200 left, and blinds would have gone up after the break again to leave me crippled.
    This fellah had made this move before twice, call a raise preflop, and push straight away on the flop, so it was a case of if I believed he had a King or not.
    So after weighing it all up for a few seconds, to be honest I did think he had a King, but I still called anyway, as I felt it was double up or go home time, and he turned over KJ. The J left me just one outer, and it wasn't to be.

Just one of them nights when the flop missed me every time. If I could change one play, it was my first one when he made a stand with my blinds with the AJ against the 88 hands of the repetitive thief. Should have just bit the tongue a little longer.

So, it's a lovely spot, but there is a lack of a 'buzz'.

And the chips are just amazing.

Dub13 was on my left and looking very very solid, and I seen The Snapper there as well with the Drogheda win having him smile like a Chesire Cat.

I went out just before the final table....which was not bad considering the best hand I had all night was a pair of sixes,so major card dead all night and I just missed out on the final table I suppose its not bad.Nice structure but as with the 50 game they skip the 150/300 level so you can find yourself in trouble very fast.

I agree with Culchie about the lack of a 'buzz' but its getting better from the last time I was in.And I think it will help when they get the car park sorted out.As for the cards I was telling anybody that would listen that they were crap,they did change them after the brake and were trying out new "trial" cards which were better but not great.

What game is on tonight? 50 euro freezeout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

50e DC according to antesup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

Sporting Emporium is over 21 right?

yea its the 50 double chance tonight....not sure if its over 18s or 21s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Dub13 wrote:
    yea its the 50 double chance tonight....not sure if its over 18s or 21s.

arent all casino clubs supposed to be over 21's?

Washout wrote:
    arent all casino clubs supposed to be over 21's?

Maybe so,as I said I am not sure.A quick phone call should get you answers....or maybe one of the lads who work/worked in the Fitz could answer it for you.

Think I might show up after my class - can't play at all this weekend, got other things going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Im going tonight

Myself and Rounders are meeting in Kehoe's for a pint before hand at 8, if anyone wants to join us.

I think its 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

Unfortunately it is over 21's, which also is their reasoning for not having free-rolls (dont think they will get the required amount of students) although i dispute that it is a majority of under 21's who play free rolls. maybe Mr free roll could correct me - RORY C ?
    underground parking is being intrduced next week, along with a full food menu, simular to fitz/merrion.
    good luck to all tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Ollieboy wrote:
    Myself and Rounders are meeting in Kehoe's for a pint before hand at 8, if anyone wants to join us.

I think its 21.

Might make my SE debut tonight. Not sure what u guys look like. Will you be wearing a carnation and reading an evening hearald?

Ollieboy is pictured in Karlh's 'Christmas Festival at the Macau' thread but you'll hear him before you see him!

Now rounders for that I'm going to crack your bullets.

I'll be wearing a White and Blue Tommy jacket Bigdragon and we'll be standing near the door, with a Guinness. Rounders is the guy with no luck with women, you know the type.

1 each rounders, your turn.lol

BigDragon wrote:
    Might make my SE debut tonight. Not sure what u guys look like. Will you be wearing a carnation and reading an evening hearald?

I will help you spot them Big D....

How to spot a Chav

Chavs have such a tribal dress code that you can spot one yards away! Now what makes the Chavs attire so funny is that they think they are at the cutting edge fashion and that by adorning their body with hunks of worthless 9ct gold crap they look rich! In reality what they do look like are a bunch of ****ing pikeys!

Only joking lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Nice one Dub lol. Whats the best car park fot the SE?

Dub13 wrote:
    I will help you spot them Big D....

How to spot a Chav

Chavs have such a tribal dress code that you can spot one yards away! Now what makes the Chavs attire so funny is that they think they are at the cutting edge fashion and that by adorning their body with hunks of worthless 9ct gold crap they look rich! In reality what they do look like are a bunch of ****ing pikeys!

Only joking lads

I'll batter ya!

BigDragon wrote:
    Whats the best car park fot the SE?

I ended up on Merrion Square last night as I could not get parking its only abit over 5 min walk.After parking and while walking to SE I counted 3 spaces...:mad: just my luck.

Lads

any report on the 50 game...?

Hmm, see my entry in the bad beat sticky...though not really a bad beat, per se. I knocked out rounders123 when down to 2 tables, if it were a scalps night I would have been happy, was lethal to the short stacks!