Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fantasy Naps Winner

• 29-11-2005 2:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

Ok, once again a big thank you to Crumbs for the constant updating of results. He loved every minute of it!

Here's the final table

[nicK].......... 58.04
    Davey Devil..... 44.17
    sjones.......... 40.95
    Healio.......... 35.25
    masterK......... 20.25
    ziggy67.......... 6.50
    fade2black...... -4.80
    p.pete......... -13.50
    Crumbs......... -17.00
    frodi.......... -19.52
    scargill....... -32.10
    iloveireland... -42.60
    Capt.Sparrow... -43.62
    Loni........... -45.25
    finnpark....... -45.50
    Chonaic........ -45.75
    sector......... -50.07
    Fandango....... -54.00
    Pighead........ -54.00
    The jock....... -54.00
    Whyno.......... -54.00

So, well done to Nick with his last final furlong bid. In his speech I'm sure he'll tell us all why he picked the winners he did...you're main prize is your very own tipping line!!!

And it's unlucky to Davey Devil who was a gallant front runner, and also Sjones who came there seemingly on the bridle but didn't find much when it came down to a fight...(bloody Carberry!:D )

MasterK ran his race but will probably be better over a longer trip. The same can be send of ultra consistent campaigner Healio and Fadetoblack who didn't seem to eh...handle the ground?

Ppete Crumbs and Frodi had brief moments of glory but maybe need to drop down a grade to break their maidens ;):D

The others I fear may be more at home at the regional racing.....

No, fair play to all concerned.....we'll publish the SPs and prizes this week.

Darren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

It was with great aplomb that I took up this 8 week horse racing challenge when it first began. My technique at the start was a strategy handed down to me by my fore fathers and it was with humble regret that I began to reveal it. Not wanting to disappoint, there was only one acceptable outcome, I had to win.

The strategy, criticised by others, however proved a success as my name began to rise to the top of the acclaimed “Crumbs Leaderboard”. A smooth 4 weeks at the top of the table and I was already seeing my name in the stars.

Alas, all was about to change.

It was “fade2black” that began my downfall by introducing the Breeder's cup bonus points. “A sham”, I exclaimed to myself and it was with great distaste I parted with my beloved points. There were times when I even considered boycotting the event. However, after consoling myself with a local priest, I remained quiet and felt my time would come; I need not fret.

However, my position was further worsened in the coming week and I began to ponder it all. A new contender had come to light by the name of Davey Devil. “Davey Devil” I retorted to myself, a name showing connotations to the anti-christ himself. It was at this point I realised that this wasn’t just a horse racing competition. “He must not win!”

Sleepless nights and dizzy days ensued as I began to lose control of myself. “What did this all mean?” I considered. Overwhelmed with the pressure upon me, I looked to god.

With Christ himself on my side, I was praying for my position at the top of the table back and began the week hopeful. I could sleep again and my appetite was at last beginning to return. “Good news”, I thought, as I made my selections. However, further despair was upon me as each of my selections had failed and a further bonus point was set adrift.

Further to my tormented nights, uncontrollable rage and anger ensued as I began to think evil thoughts. “Kill the betrayers!”, “The horses must die!” the voices tormented. Anguished and despaired, negativity overwhelmed me as I began to deduce “It’s over”.

It seemed all was lost and the devil had prevailed when my mood began to change.

It was approaching witching hour on the Saturday night of the final week and I knew it would take something special to renew my position. It was at this point a new voice was heard. “Koumba, Koumba” the voice called. Startled, I looked around and was disappointed to learn that the voice wasn’t that of my pet monkey as I had first suspected. It was infact, a voice from God. “Newmarket, 1 o’ clock” it called again. After looking to the Daily Star, I knew it could mean only one thing. It was a tip!
    I had heard word of these “tips” on a local website but had never actually experienced one for myself. Many arguments were had over what is believed to be considered a tip and what is not, but this I believed, was the real feckin’ deal!

Having only 2points left to gamble with, I placed the both of them on the sacred Koumba. “All hope lies with you”, I wrote him just before the off.
    With no tv to watch the event, I later logged into the world wide web to discover comments such as “OMG! Wins at 25/1.” It was at this point I knew my Koumba had relinquished my luck and propelled me into the number 1 spot on the leaderboard.

Feelings of delight, enjoyment and compliance were felt, but mostly feelings of accomplishment and achievement. I had accomplished what my fore-fathers had only dreamed of achieving... I had won the Boards Fantasy Horse Racing Competion.

But please, this tale is a tale not only of my skill and supremacy. Special thanks should also be given to the voices, god, my fore-fathers and of course my pet monkey, without whom, none of this would be possible. I love you Snuggles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭frodi

Many thanks to all involved, I'm sure every body put loads of work in, esp those who organised this eggtravaganza.
    As for me my score reflects my current luck, 8 winners the week end before it starts and 4 within 3 days of posting my final 6 points. I guess that I'll have to stick to betting on soccer (which has been sponsering my horses to date)

Thanks all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

well done Nick - impressive score!

banded stakes for me I'm afraid !

The competition has been a welcome distraction from betting at this time of year. I managed to go the whole of November without a bet (well had a few quid in Kicking King and a few quid on Hue and Cry yesterday) - but overall the competition has probably saved me money !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

Yes indeed thanks to all who organised & saw it through.

and of course apologies to all the horses & connections i put the jinx on by selecting them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Once again, well done [nicK] :)

It really was a superb finish to a superb competition. I'm thinking we'll have to put together another competition in a few months time, a few weeks before cheltenham and have the cheltenham as a bonus week perhaps. We'll see :)

Thanks to everyone who entered, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

sjones wrote:
    Once again, well done [nicK] :)

It really was a superb finish to a superb competition. I'm thinking we'll have to put together another competition in a few months time, a few weeks before cheltenham and have the cheltenham as a bonus week perhaps. We'll see :)

Thanks to everyone who entered, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.
    Sounds like a good idea i would like to join up and give maybe a engraved watch or the like to the winner and maybe a pen or something to the person who say came 9th to make the competion more interesting :):)