Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Thing You've Ever Lost

• 29-11-2005 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭

What's the best thing you've ever lost? And no long moany self-pitying posts about ex lovers, keep that stuff for PI! :p

For me, it was my old best pal Ringo. Ringo was a border collie who accompanied me on every childhood adventure, but unfortunately he had a habit of chasing people and biting them - for which they even called the guards. My mam and dad told me Ringo had to go to a big farm, so he could be a happy sheep dog for the rest of his days. I was heartbroken for a few years, but I consoled myself with the thought that Ringo would be happy, and although initially missing me for a while, would get over it, and possibly meet up with a Mrs. Ringo.

Years later my mother finally admitted that instead of going to the farm, he went for a lethal injection down the vets.

I'll miss you Ringo, I'll miss you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Do you mean the most valuable thing to you that you've lost or the thing you are most glad that you lost?

Valuable: Wallot with lots of cash

Thing I'm most glad for loosing: Virginity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

the will to live :p

nah, ive been pretty lucky really, though i was not the happiest to lose €100 on hols :mad: (and no i didnt spend it on drink!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

:(

(for Ringo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

I lost a pen in a lecture the other day :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

When I was four, I took a plane to London with my Mum and I lost my markers when they fell on the floor. I was very upset :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

money . . . . and time.

seamus wrote:
    When I was four, I took a plane to London with my Mum and I lost my markers when they fell on the floor. I was very upset :(

Ah jaysus I know how you feel.. Stationary losses are the worst.. Have you considered counselling sessions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

2 stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

30 seconds reading this.

btw, Ringo's dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

a jesus thats harsh.
    i lost my dog too, one moning i called her and there was no sound, went into the garage and found her lying curled up, thought she was asleep, but she actually died in her sleep.
    Then i lost my 5 month old cat, we went on a long bank holiday trip to wexford this one weekend, and left our cat at home because he always stayed around the house, even when we went away previously, a neighbour would feed him aswell.
    So we got a call while we were in wexford, from the neighbour who said he couldnt see our cat but left food for it, the cat went missing, we believe it was stolen, and i believe it was a woman down the street because she hates cats.

^CwAzY^ wrote:
    I lost a pen in a lecture the other day :(:(:(
    You're in DIT right?! I found a pen in a lecture the other day. :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pigheads lost a buddy the Friday before last. One minute hes out dancing,lasooing woman with his woolly scarf,the next hes disappeared never to be seen again.

Hes a Polish lad about 5"10 ands answers to the name of Bartek.If you're reading this buddy,you owned that dancefloor and we all miss you loads.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

border_collie_101M.jpg

EDIT: Do tags not work??

Binomate wrote:
    You're in DIT right?! I found a pen in a lecture the other day. :v:

Yeah heh! Aungier St by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Kernel wrote:
    What's the best thing you've ever lost?

My virginity

^CwAzY^ wrote:
    Yeah heh! Aungier St by any chance?
    Maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i'd have to say all of the pets i've had over the years...

Rocky and Dora - 2 kickass pooches that had to be put down for worrying sheep:(
    Milky (aka Moloko) - the nicest natured cat i've ever had the pleasure of spending time with. damn renal failure!
    Fat Freddy - such a unique cat... if cats had a king, this mofo would've been it! damn you feline aids!
    Olly - Him searching for a place to die is prolly my saddest memory. such a sweet cat:)
    Calvin - He was only a kitten when we got him, i went to America for 3 months soon after. when i returned, he'd run off.
    Bella - lovely kitty, run over by traffic iirc.
    Katy - Mother of Fat Freddy & Bella, sister of Olly. she was mauled by 3 terriers that we were minding for friends. i've hated small dogs with a passion ever since that day:mad:

lol. closest i've been to tears in years... man i miss those animals:(

Big Nelly wrote:
    My virginity

You thought your virginity was a good thing? I must say I was happy when I lost mine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭JP Mulvano

tman wrote:
    i'd have to say all of the pets i've had over the years...

Rocky and Dora - 2 kickass pooches that had to be put down for worrying sheep:(
    Milky (aka Moloko) - the nicest natured cat i've ever had the pleasure of spending time with. damn renal failure!
    Fat Freddy - such a unique cat... if cats had a king, this mofo would've been it! damn you feline aids!
    Olly - Him searching for a place to die is prolly my saddest memory. such a sweet cat:)
    Calvin - He was only a kitten when we got him, i went to America for 3 months soon after. when i returned, he'd run off.
    Bella - lovely kitty, run over by traffic iirc.
    Katy - Mother of Fat Freddy & Bella, sister of Olly. she was mauled by 3 terriers that we were minding for friends. i've hated small dogs with a passion ever since that day:mad:

lol. closest i've been to tears in years... man i miss those animals:(

Prehaps you should not have pets you seem to have some kind of a pet curse...thats alot of pets to go thru!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

A $1500 Breitling Pilots Watch... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Kernel wrote:
    You thought your virginity was a good thing? I must say I was happy when I lost mine...

Well the title is "the best thing you've ever lost" and isnt it the best thing when you lose your virginity????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

I lost my mind.
    Anyone found it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Pighead wrote:
    Hes a Polish lad about 5"10 ands answers to the name of Bartek.If you're reading this buddy,you owned that dancefloor and we all miss you loads.:(

Ha! I know a Polish guy called Bartek who plays footy for Strand United in Clontarf. Blonde guy. Has to be the same one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

necklace my mum got me for bday a few years ago used to wear it everyday- cant find it since 2 weeks ago im gutted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Ha! I know a Polish guy called Bartek who plays footy for Strand United in Clontarf. Blonde guy. Has to be the same one!
    Hallelujah! Barteks alive! If you get chatting to him ErinGoBrath(7/10,respect for our lovely language) could you tell him Pighead and the lads are worried sick about him and that he needs to come home. Tell him not to be scared, all is forgiven. Is he a good player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

tman wrote:
    .......Fat Freddy - such a unique cat... if cats had a king, this mofo would've been it! damn you feline aids!
    terriers that we were minding for friends. i've hated small dogs with a passion ever since that day:mad:
    Hehe ... we had a White tomcat (imaginatively called Tom) and he used to go missing for months at a time ... always comaing back with injuries and scratches etc ... one time he was missing for 9 - 10 months and we thought he was a goner ...but he turned up injured as usual, bits missing from ears, scratches all over, but he had a bad gash on his leg .... he stayed with us until he healed and then fúcked off again never to be seen again ....

It wasnt until much later that I heard some old women going on that they hadnt seen the white tomcat that used to terrorize every cat in the village - riding and fighting constantly ... they were saying that their tomcats were afraid to go out at night ... LOL

And yes i hate little yapping terriers with a passion as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Pighead wrote:
    Hallelujah! Barteks alive! If you get chatting to him ErinGoBrath(7/10,respect for our lovely language) could you tell him Pighead and the lads are worried sick about him and that he needs to come home. Tell him not to be scared, all is forgiven. Is he a good player?

Seen him in preseason training and he seemed quite good. Great striker of the ball.

I'll send your regards :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most.

Kudos to whoever gets the quote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I lost a toy that i had when i was younger in a pub in town when i was out for a meal with my parents.

It was an electronic thing that had two mental things sticking out of it and there was a ball with it and when ya moved the ball over the mental things it played music.

God i missed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

orla wrote:
    I lost a toy that i had when i was younger in a pub in town when i was out for a meal with my parents.

It was an electronic thing that had two mental things sticking out of it and there was a ball with it and when ya moved the ball over the mental things it played music.

God i missed it

Ahhh bless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I lost favourite hat which was signed by Alex Ferguson about 6 years ago, i think i left it on the plane comin back from Spain, was so pi**ed off over it!!

Other things i'd like back: my mind and soul!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭soph

at a party n college i lost a brand new Gap jacket from america and a fab new tommy hilfiger dressy cute bag. i was absoultey gutted !!! still ammm... even though it was a few yrs ago.. always remember htem.

loosing your fone can be an awful nitemare too! ive lost about 5fones!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I lost a ring that I was given belonging to my grandmother after she died.. She was never without this ring, it was a silver marquesitte ring and I was mad about it... Have no idea what happened to it, it went missing on me while I was still living with my folks... Maybe she took it back ;)

BigEejit wrote:
    Hehe ... we had a White tomcat (imaginatively called Tom) and he used to go missing for months at a time ... always comaing back with injuries and scratches etc ... one time he was missing for 9 - 10 months and we thought he was a goner ...but he turned up injured as usual, bits missing from ears, scratches all over, but he had a bad gash on his leg .... he stayed with us until he healed and then fúcked off again never to be seen again ....

It wasnt until much later that I heard some old women going on that they hadnt seen the white tomcat that used to terrorize every cat in the village - riding and fighting constantly ... they were saying that their tomcats were afraid to go out at night ... LOL

And yes i hate little yapping terriers with a passion as well

haha thats gas, cats can be such users. but u have to luv em'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

soph wrote:
    loosing your fone can be an awful nitemare too! ive lost about 5fones!!

You should be banned from having phones!!!!:D
    The worst thing is loosing the numbers!

Grr@Binomate I want that pen.. I know it's only a 30 cent bic biro but it was the sentimental value.. that pen has completed over 100 sudoku puzzles, done countless college essays :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

WizZard wrote:
    Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most.

I think it was Ozzy Ozborne. Correct me if i'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

When I was really young, I found this really smooth, black rock that looked cool. I kept it and had it for years. I lost it when I was about 10/11. I was devastated. It was a seriously cool looking rock. It was so black and smooth and cold. I miss my rock. :(

I was also devastated when I broke my Optimus Prime Transformer. Note, never play with Transformers in the sand... it gets everywhere and ruins the joints.

There are loads of other toys when I was younger that I broke/lost but I haven't really lost anything of importance in recent years.

Thing I'm most glad for loosing: Virginity.[/QUOT

i have to agree:D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

my girlfriend of four years.. stupidity is wonderful isn't it :o

Steve_o wrote:
    You should be banned from having phones!!!!:D
    The worst thing is loosing the numbers!

ya thats what my dad said too !! altho ive had this one the longest ever.. so i think its meant to be !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I've lost my Kernel now that Pighead's expressed his true feelings for me!

LadyJ wrote:
    I've lost my Kernel now that Pighead's expressed his true feelings for me!

Aw, look at that sad face. Turn that frown upside down J, you can be my internet girlfriend again. :cool:

I'm on fire here today, think I'll change my nick to LLCoolK - soon I'll be ready for my first real girlfriend.. although I am only 28 so there's no sense rushing anything....

Kernel wrote:
    , think I'll change my nick to LLCoolK
    I think your new nick should be LeCock!:D

LadyJ wrote:
    I think your new nick should be LeCock!:D

Ssssh J, not in public! :o:p

Kernel wrote:
    Ssssh J, not in public! :o:p
    I'm LeSorry :o

Ok,best thing I ever lost was probably Percy,the coolest cat in the world! :(

My dignity and pride were stolen a few years back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭genegenie

The best thing I've ever lost was 400 quid I had stolen in a nightclub (yes I know I was stupid for having it there, don't ask!). Even worse, it was all the money I had at the time and I was gonna use it for Christmas presents... I'll never forget the guilt I felt when the family were swapping presents. I had nothing for anyone and a small mountain of gifts infront of me from everyone else! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Flashling

My diary. At least it was when I was small and didn't have much embarrassing in it....

Off topic, my mom lectures in the DIT in Aungier St.! She's great. Something to do with commerce and computer science?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

my wallet..it had everything in it.

Yeah I lost a wallet with a picture of my mother in it. That's up there too.

Actually,my mother should really be on my list come to think of it!