Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A drunk girl asks you to take her home....??

• 28-11-2005 1:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

So basically, a drunk, good looking girl gets into your car and asks you to take her home - what do you do?

On Saturday night I was dropping some friends off outside Q bar on the quays. This fairly good looking blonde girl saw my friends getting out of the car and (wrongly) assumed I was a taxi. After a while of me trying to tell her I wasn't a taxi, she jumped in and since I was going to the same side of the city anyway, I reckoned it was easier to just give her the lift.

She soon realised her mistake when I asked her directions to get there! She was mortified. I thought it was pretty funny - I've made the same mistake myself before. She seemed like a nice girl and I reckoned she might be nervous or freaked out so I let her out again just round the corner to get a real taxi.

If I'd known the way, I'd have given her a lift, not for any ulterior motive (I've got a girlfriend) except for the laugh of the situation and because that was the general vibe of the night I was having.

Then part of me felt guilty, I mean if she was pissed enough to get into a strangers car like that, I reckon in hindsight that I should have made more effort to actually get her home.

Or am I being naive: I'm pretty sure hers was a genuine mistake, but girls, do you ever bat your eyelids and chance your arm at the end of the night?

PS. Breda from Harold's Cross, I really hope you got home ok on Saturday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

i take it she got out of the car as soon as she reckoned you were Charles Manson? did you just dump her on the side of the road??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

You’re asking if it was a genuine mistake or she was chancing her arm? Hardly much of a personal issue.

Probably was a mistake if she was that drunk. I can’t imagine a woman being so foolish as to hop into a complete stranger’s car on her own. Of course the idiocy of people never ceases to amaze me, so I could be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

You’re asking if it was a genuine mistake or she was chancing her arm? Hardly much of a personal issue.

Probably was a mistake if she was that drunk. I can’t imagine a woman being so foolish as to hop into a complete stranger’s car on her own. Of course the idiocy of people never ceases to amaze me, so I could be wrong.

i suppose the real question is... did she try to charge him for the ride

go to bed TC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I don't really understand the issue here...?

Drunk girl mistakes you for a taxi and you play along with it?

Personally, if a stranger got in my car (I wish I had a car :)) I'd tell her to get out. She could be a psycho. Who knows.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

not a PI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

but girls, do you ever bat your eyelids and chance your arm at the end of the night?

No bloody way, too many weirdo's out there! She was a very silly girl for doing that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Or am I being naive: I'm pretty sure hers was a genuine mistake, but girls, do you ever bat your eyelids and chance your arm at the end of the night?

Yes, yes I do. They never respond well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

I'm pretty sure hers was a genuine mistake, but girls, do you ever bat your eyelids and chance your arm at the end of the night?

Wouldn't dream of 'chancing' a lift with a stranger, no matter how drunk I was. However, I have been drunk enough to think I was getting into the back of a taxi outside a club when I wasn't. It was actually a garda car (and probably the best place for me to be at the time!)

I'd say it was a genuine mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

So basically, a drunk, good looking girl gets into your car and asks you to take her home - what do you do?

On Saturday night I was dropping some friends off outside Q bar on the quays. This fairly good looking blonde girl saw my friends getting out of the car and (wrongly) assumed I was a taxi. After a while of me trying to tell her I wasn't a taxi, she jumped in and since I was going to the same side of the city anyway, I reckoned it was easier to just give her the lift.

She soon realised her mistake when I asked her directions to get there! She was mortified. I thought it was pretty funny - I've made the same mistake myself before. She seemed like a nice girl and I reckoned she might be nervous or freaked out so I let her out again just round the corner to get a real taxi.

If I'd known the way, I'd have given her a lift, not for any ulterior motive (I've got a girlfriend) except for the laugh of the situation and because that was the general vibe of the night I was having.

Then part of me felt guilty, I mean if she was pissed enough to get into a strangers car like that, I reckon in hindsight that I should have made more effort to actually get her home.

Hey I did the same thing myself only the girls were sober, the only reason I did it was because I know my area and believe me...wrong time of nite to be there trust me, so I took them to a taxi rank and off they went home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I had a woman get really annoyed when she found out my black Honda Prelude wasn't a taxi. I was parked outside Major Toms waiting for someone when she sat in and told me to 'Jusht drive oop dere and I'll tell ya where ta go..' I just wanted the psycho out of my car and wasn't going to play silly-beggers in case she started shouting 'rape' (not bloody likely). Be careful - drunk people=no sense. Does this look like a taxi....?

'c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

mmm a breda with dark hair kinda tallish?

might know who you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

Top Tip: Utilise central locking if available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Cerdito wrote:
    Top Tip: Utilise central locking if available

stock a super soaker under the drivers seat.

"I told you this is no taxi" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Get in there ;)

Ah no on a serious note, if someone jumped in my car id tell them to FUPP OFF ... In the most polite way possible of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

i think you behaved very gentlemanly, you tried to explain you weren't a taxi you then thought you'd give the person a lift anyway and when she cottoned on , you left her off to get a taxi, couldn't have done anymore, personally i'd never have let her in the car, but as i wasn't there i can't tell what crazy series of events happened prior to her getting in the car.
    but from now on i'd be more careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Does this look like a taxi....?

Same thing happens to me. Anytime I drive home after a night out I always lock the doors. The amount of people completely off their tits who will try to hail me as a taxi and even try and get in. One muppet jumped in the car when I pulled up outside a take away to pick up some friends and refused to get out. He realised I wasn't a taxi but still thought I'd take him home. He had to be dragged out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

landser wrote:
    i suppose the real question is... did she try to charge him for the ride

go to bed TC

The ride being the operative word :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

Does this look like a taxi....?
    Was that just an excuse to show us all a picture of your car?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭keevita

joejoem wrote:
    Yes, yes I do. They never respond well
    perhaps that is because you are a big giant man? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭sideFX

No offence mate but if you didn't really want her in your car you wouldn't have let her in.

Too dangerous these days. Specially coming up to the mad season.

You left yourself wide open to any and every sort of accusations, poeple are mad these days and would do anything for a quick buck or attention.
    If you were caught and easily could happen, you pass a Garda check point along the canal, no taxi badge and your prosecuted for all sorts..pretending to be a taxi, kidnap, you name it all sorts....

Jeez man she could be thinking that right now cause her memory is probably hazy. Jaysis, she coulda already gone to the Garda.

Knock Knock on your door any minute :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

This thread brings to mind one time when my mam was waiting outside her job and didnt have her glasses on.

She seen a similiar car like mine come up to her and stop(she works in a hospital Btw) and she jumped into it,and started to talk away.To her horror it wasnt me:D Did I piss myself laughing when she told me this.Anyway it was some bloke who came to pick up his girlfriend.My mam jumped in and started talking about her day and looked up....:eek: hahaha.......

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

sideFX wrote:
    No offence mate but if you didn't really want her in your car you wouldn't have let her in.

Too dangerous these days. Specially coming up to the mad season.

You left yourself wide open to any and every sort of accusations, poeple are mad these days and would do anything for a quick buck or attention.
    If you were caught and easily could happen, you pass a Garda check point along the canal, no taxi badge and your prosecuted for all sorts..pretending to be a taxi, kidnap, you name it all sorts....

Jeez man she could be thinking that right now cause her memory is probably hazy. Jaysis, she coulda already gone to the Garda.

Knock Knock on your door any minute :eek:

Exactly what I was thinking... Very silly thing to do letting her into your car, if you really didnt want her in there you should have gotten out, opened the door and refused to drive anywhere until she got out... There are so many lunatics out there these days, hate to sound ott here but she could have cried rape or anything... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

One night I was collecting a friends in Galway City.
    A drunk girl came over and tapped on my window which I duly wound down a crack and asked what she wanted.

She asked me to drive her home... to Ballinrobe!
    I said no and she got very offended and demanded to know why the hell not] and then gave me the finger as I drove off.

Some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Few weeks ago was collecting my girlfriend in town....parked at Stephens Green and sat waiting for her to come over to the car...was there for about 20 mins(wasnt impressed with GF I can tell you) and while I was sitting in the car over 10 differnet girls came up to ask me to drop them here, there and everywhere.....I had the doors locked......I always do that in town.....so they would try to open the door.....then start knocking....first few I tried to ignore but they just would start bashing the window till I opened it....was a joke......girls are so stupid at times.....God knows who I could have been......do they have no cop on.....even when on way back out of town at each traffic lights you had some muppet going along all the cars knocking on windows asking for lifts!! Gobsh*ts!!! then something happens to them and they are wondering why it happened to them!! well let me say....if your a f**king clown when you go out it is bound to happen at some stage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Big Nelly wrote:
    Few weeks ago was collecting my girlfriend in town....parked at Stephens Green and sat waiting for her to come over to the car...was there for about 20 mins(wasnt impressed with GF I can tell you) and while I was sitting in the car over 10 differnet girls came up to ask me to drop them here, there and everywhere.....I had the doors locked......I always do that in town.....so they would try to open the door.....then start knocking....first few I tried to ignore but they just would start bashing the window till I opened it....was a joke......girls are so stupid at times.....God knows who I could have been......do they have no cop on.....even when on way back out of town at each traffic lights you had some muppet going along all the cars knocking on windows asking for lifts!! Gobsh*ts!!! then something happens to them and they are wondering why it happened to them!! well let me say....if your a f**king clown when you go out it is bound to happen at some stage!!

this sounds terrible, but if this is common occurance, then its only a matter of time before somthing nasty happens. At which stage it may become front page news and reduce the amount of eejits knocking on random cars.

It is bound to happen!! thing was these girls where not with someone else....they where by themselves.....imagine walking up to some random car and hopping in by yourself:rolleyes:

Wouldnt mind they where mostly lookers!! especially the blonde that was about 23-26 and wanted a lift to Malahide,.....had to remind myself that I had a GF when she came a knocking:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

mad m wrote:
    This thread brings to mind one time when my mam was waiting outside her job and didnt have her glasses on.

She seen a similiar car like mine come up to her and stop(she works in a hospital Btw) and she jumped into it,and started to talk away.To her horror it wasnt me:D Did I piss myself laughing when she told me this.Anyway it was some bloke who came to pick up his girlfriend.My mam jumped in and started talking about her day and looked up....:eek: hahaha.......

Was getting met at the airport by my parents one time and as I was walking down to the carpark where I expected to meet them I met my mum walking the other way. My dad was then just driving around the carpark looking for a space, so my mum then spots a car coming towards us and says thats him, I question when they got a new car, but am told that its still the same one as last time I saw them. My mum then goes to open the boot of the car that has just stopped beside us so I can put my bags in the boot and the bloke driving the car hops out and says that he just has to put the back seat down or something.

My mum only realised that shed opened the boot to the wrong car once she spotted the beard on the bloke driving the car, but he didn't seem to notice straight away that a couple of strangers were attempting to get into his car either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

if she was up for it you should have drove her home and belted her out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

^^^^^^^ What a gobshíte!!! ^^^^^^^^^^^6

This is the sort of person that you could end up getting into a car with!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

I said "if she was up for it". Nothing wrong with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Don Quixote

I reckon you're right: I was naive to let her in, she was naive to get in. Like I say, I was on a good buzz after a great party, so I thought I'd do a favour. But also, like you're saying, the whole 'drunk single girl as a liability' did sink in subconciously pretty quickly.

I have to admit that I felt a bit uncomfortable about it afterwards because, like you're saying, it was a close shave for both of us (potentially).

Isn't it sad that
    A) you can't trust people at all and
    B) that so many girls (and fellas) are drinking themselves into stupidity.

(Sparky_S - she was about 5'7" darkish blonde hair - if it was your mate, tell her to mind herself.)