Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ONE CHANCE SALOON - Dublin 1/15

• 26-11-2005 5:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

PokerNights.ie

Presents

Texas Hold’em One Chance Saloon
    (1 rebuy or topup)

Monday 28th in THE BELL, Main Street Blanchardstown, Dublin 15.

Tuesday 29th in BODKINS, Bolton Street, Dublin 1.

Tournament Details:

Game: Texas Hold’em No Limit 1 Rebuy or Topup
    Registration from: 7.30pm
    Start: 8.00pm
    Estimated Finish: 12.00am
    Food Served at interval

Entry: €20 (3000 chips) ***ALL ENTRIES GO TO PRIZE FUND***
    Reg: €5

Rebuy or Topup: €20 + €5 reg (3000 chips)

Starting Chips: 3000

Blind Structure:
    25-50 (25mins)
    50-100 (25mins)
    100-200 (25mins)
    200-400 (25mins)
    Break (10mins)
    300-600 (20mins)
    400-800 (20mins)
    500-1000 (20mins)
    1000-2000 (20mins)
    2000-4000 (20mins)
    3000-6000 (20mins)
    4000-8000 (20mins)
    5000-10000 (20mins)

Self Dealt tables until final table that will have dealer

Tournament Director available for any questions, will have final say on all matters.

Rules will be on tables

All are welcome - Player Numbers = Prize Fund

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I think Tournament Organisors should post the details of these tournaments after they have taken place as well as beforehand, so that it can give a reasonable guage for people for future tournaments, to help them make a more informed deciaion.

For example if we knew that this tourney had 20 runners tomorrow night, and had a total prize pool of €600 and the top 3 got paid, then one could assume that next weeks tournament (if in the same place, same night of the week) would have a similar turnout/prizepool.

They get free publicity, so I think it's only fair that the punter gets as much info as is available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I was thinking a totally seperate place for tournament announcements/information.

yes, good idea...and for results.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Culchie wrote:
    yes, good idea...and for results.

I agree...we have all been knocked out and wondered who won and if there was a deal done etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 youcantseeme

yea this poker forum is so big it would be nice if it was divided up a bit.
    Good thinking

PokerNights.ie

Presents

Texas Hold’em One Chance Saloon
    (1 rebuy or topup)

Monday 28th in THE BELL, Main Street Blanchardstown, Dublin 15.

Tuesday 29th in BODKINS, Bolton Street, Dublin 1.

OH and why so big we can read the small writing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

God that shít hurts the eyes.

I'm just glad boards has no facility for flashing text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Entry: €20 (3000 chips) ***ALL ENTRIES GO TO PRIZE FUND***
    Reg: €5

Rebuy or Topup: €20 + €5 reg (3000 chips)

Small question:
    Does all the entry fee and rebuys go into the prize fund or
    just the entry fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

As far as I was aware, boards is a public forum, and not a private members club. I have read systematic complaints against event organisers that post on this forum (that forum being the Poker Forum no less!) from a clique of people who, granted have been here a long time, all play in these tournaments.

In fact, just recently a post from a sligo event ran by this person/s. Last week it was a gripe about how much vegasnights makes a tourny even though he put it out, transparent for all to see. This week, the size of the text used for an informational post by Pokernights.

The thread was started by pokernights. If your not interested, don't read it.

If you think their take is too much, don't play in it.

Whatever you do, don't fcuking moan about it. If it wasn't for guys like these, you wouldn't have little fish swimming into the fitz etc.. every night of the week to give you their money!

You should be praising these guys for taking a game we all love to the masses, not ripping the pish...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

As far as I was aware, boards is a public forum, and not a private members club.........etc

It's also giving the organisers a forum where they can market their events for free! There's a list of rules in the charter, and the least anyone can do is follow them. I'm not saying that PokerNights is doing anything wrong here at all, but if someone posts about an event here, the public can question anything that's unclear. It is a public forum, after all.

It's also giving the organisers a forum where they can market their events for free!

Whats the problem? Is it not the same as a tac board in a supermarket?

There's a list of rules in the charter, and the least anyone can do is follow them. It is a public forum, after all

I completely agree. There should be rules, regulations and charters, which posters must abide by.

I'm not saying that PokerNights is doing anything wrong here at all, but if someone posts about an event here, the public can question anything that's unclear.

Do you think thats what the above posts are doing? Asking for clarity. No, there having a bite. Why? Who knows. Only one person had an actual question regarding clarity.

Whats the problem? Is it not the same as a tac board in a supermarket?
    No it isn't. The poker board like most forums on boards is a community first and foremost, on almost every single other forum on boards.ie anyone attempting to advertise their wares would have their thread deleted and themselves banned. If this wasn't the case that eventually almost every thread on boards just like almost every mail going to my hotmail account would be spam.

A decision was made on the poker forum to allow people to advertise tournaments (if they adhered to certain standards and weren't an exercise in theft) because knowing about the tournaments was seen as useful information for the community. So we have a nice two way street where they get to advertise and I get to know that there's a tournament in Bohs every so often. Bright enourmous text (imo) is kind of breaking the spirit of this agreement - what would be next? A bump every day of the thread? Five threads on the same subject? Every single thread on the front page of the forum on the same subject? An advertisement added as an off topic reply to every active thread? Any of those start to annoy you yet?

Advertising has to be strictly controlled to allow forums to remain readable. In fact all the event organisers are getting a lucky break in using this (now ridiculously traffic heavy) forum to promote thier tournaments. The admins of the site would be perfectly with in their rights to say "Fúck off, buy a banner add."

To the forefront of their minds at all times should be that they're engaging with a community. Not getting free advertising. And that people hate spam. And that it's not the same as a fúcking tac board in Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I was thinking a totally seperate place for tournament announcements/information.
    Very good idea. I post the results of all our tourneys here in Mayo but after a few days they are so far down the thread list they can be hard to find for players trying to check the winners.

Iv no isssue with poker nights or vegas nights i find themquit good and go to their tournys alot(i just have a issue with the writing:D ). An events forum is the way to go.

DapperGent wrote:
    Bright enourmous text (imo) is kind of breaking the spirit of this agreement

Is it. Where are the guidelines on the use of text size etc..
    ---

So a guy selling a Projector in FS for 400 that he bought, here on boards, two months ago for 300. He gets deleted and banned for exercising theft? Because this would constitute theft for me...
    ---

I think a seperate forum is a great idea also or at the very least a Syntax to follow for posts, relating to upcoming events.

E.G.

EVENT UPCOMING: *DATE* - *LOCATION* - *PROMO COMP*

and for Results...

EVENT RESULTS: *DATE* - *LOCATION* - *PROMO COMP*
    ---

That way if your not immediately interested in the title, you wont have to read the post (and have "the **** hurt your eyes")!

I completely agree that this is a community board. I don't agree with the constant moaning that goes on.

Whatever you do, don't fcuking moan about it. If it wasn't for guys like these, you wouldn't have little fish swimming into the fitz etc.. every night of the week to give you their money

So because these kind of events are bringing "little fish",or as I would like to call them new players to the game and advertising on Boards we should not step forward and say what we think...?

If you come on here and post an event don't moan if people point out its not good value.This is a message board and people can reply how they see fit.

Where are the guidelines on the use of text size etc..
    I was going to attempt to explain things further but when I use a phrase like "spirit of the agreement" and then someone displays a clear inability to comprehend what this means, I have to figure that you're so stupid as to make any further attempt at communication a waste of my time.

Dappergent
    So it boils down to insults... You're really showing your intelligence!

I was trying to point out that it is my opinion that the event organisers are taking too much stick for what they are doing.

Rory, I completely agree with you that anybody can post their opinions but what was going on was insults and petty jabs, not discussion, plain and simple. I also agree that if a person feels that something is over priced they have every right to speak up about it. But when it is explained, it is there for all to see, and to continue to give out and moan about it is futile and petty. Thats the basic jist of what I'm trying to put across.

As I once stated before not everyone enjoys the atmosphere in the fitz or the like and prefere the local games and tourneys. They are more than happy to pay 20 + 5 for registration and the same for rebuys. If the cards are on the table (excuse the pun) for all to see then what is there to complain about? Professional Poker players make a living taking other peoples money, and the event organisers make a living providing the means to do so. The only people that aren't complaining are the people that are playing in these tourneys, week on week. They're not complaining because they don't have a problem with it. If they did they wouldn't play in 'em.

Would you agree?

Dappergent: I'm waiting for the witty reposte...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭PokerNights

Apologies about the text......was trying to brighten it up a bit!!! In future i'll make sure its size 10 Times New Roman (not bold) :)

I will post the player numbers and prizefund for you tomorrow.

As far as the prizefund we take the E5 reg fee and all entries go to prizefund.

We normally pay out 1-5 in cash and 6-9 get a free ticket to any of our other events.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Apologies about the text......was trying to brighten it up a bit!!! In future i'll make sure its size 10 Times New Roman (not bold) :)

No excitement please, we're Irish :D

If tournament organisers don't like some criticism and plenty of questions about their tournaments then they can go look for free advertising and a captive audience some where else.

This is a public forum run by dictators, you don't have freedom of speech, if one of the admins don't like the way you spell your username they can ban you, simple as that, they don't need a reason.

So don't think you have rights, don't think you have free speech, don't think you can advertise for free without getting the occasional grilling, and don't think you can tell people that a community spirit is of less importance than one advertisers right to an easy ride.

Enjoy!

here are the details from PokerNights One Chance Saloon Texas Holdem Tournament Monday 28th Novemember in The Bell, Blanchardstown.

32 Players
    3 Free Tickets
    19 Rebuys/Topup
    Prize Fund 960 (32 x €20) and (10 x €20) (- 3 Free Tickets)

1 - 460
    2 - 200
    3 - 125
    4 - 75
    5 - 50
    6 - Free Ticket
    7 - Free Ticket
    8 - Free Ticket
    9 - Free Ticket

Best Hand €50

www.pokernights.ie
    info@dublinpokernights.com

Do you rake for your free tickets?

As in those players sit into the tournament for free and no money is placed in the prize pool to account for them?

free tickets are to the value of entry (€20 in this case)

the free tickets would have been taking from the prize fund from whichever event they won there tickets

lafortezza wrote:
    If tournament organisers don't like some criticism and plenty of questions about their tournaments then they can go look for free advertising and a captive audience some where else.

This is a public forum run by dictators, you don't have freedom of speech, if one of the admins don't like the way you spell your username they can ban you, simple as that, they don't need a reason.

So don't think you have rights, don't think you have free speech, don't think you can advertise for free without getting the occasional grilling, and don't think you can tell people that a community spirit is of less importance than one advertisers right to an easy ride.

Enjoy!

Get off your horse. Who polices the police. Someone is top gun. I reckon it's not you, and in any case, dictators don't have agreements with people below them, spiritual or otherwise.

Dappergent: I'm still waiting for your witty reposte. I figured you had a sense of humour, from the replies you've written.

DapperGent wrote:
    I have to figure that you're so stupid as to make any further attempt at communication a waste of my time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Get off your horse. Who polices the police. Someone is top gun. I reckon it's not you, and in any case, dictators don't have agreements with people below them, spiritual or otherwise.

That little moderator box in the bottom-right-hand corner of your screen states otherwise...

Dappergent: I'm still waiting for your witty reposte. I figured you had a sense of humour, from the replies you've written.

Mmmm_Lemony .... why you so bitter ?

Culchie wrote:
    Mmmm_Lemony .... why you so bitter ?

I'm not bitter. I'm sweet. Just like to mix it up a bit, get the juices flowin'.

free tickets are to the value of entry (€20 in this case)

the free tickets would have been taking from the prize fund from whichever event they won there tickets

If it taking from the prize money tourney it was won in should it not go back in to the tourney they play in?? 19+32=51 51x20=1020??
    Then i assume you would take it out for the 4tickets you gave free leaving 940?
    Do you charge reg on free tickets?

Apologies if i read this wrong,, Just wondering.

I'm not bitter. I'm sweet. Just like to mix it up a bit, get the juices flowin'.

You have some serious anger management issues.Tom is going to love you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

bit pedantic to wonder about where the combined €15 reg went on three free tickets imho!

seems to be a better run tournament than many of the others out there in terms of reg/take... €40 max invested for a possible €460 return in a 32 player tournament. Reg is about the same as the casinos (give or take a euro or two).

Thanks for giving the info PokerNights!

Dub13 wrote:
    You have some serious anger management issues.Tom is going to love you.

Who the HELL is Tom. GRRRrrrrrr

By the by, just like to point out, that was an agngry GRRRrrrrr not a 'ooooh hellllooooo grrrrrrrr' *limp hand wave* GRRRrrrrrr

32 Players
    3 Free Tickets
    19 Rebuys/Topup

1 - 460
    2 - 200
    3 - 125
    4 - 75
    5 - 50
    6 - Free Ticket
    7 - Free Ticket
    8 - Free Ticket
    9 - Free Ticket

Best Hand €50

www.pokernights.ie
    I'm a touch confused here.

Prize fund is 960. Which is 32 * 20 entires = 640 and 19 * 20 rebuys = 380 (I'm guessing you meant to put 19 * 20 rather than 10 * 20 in your post).

640 + 380 = 1020 but the total prize fund is only 960 because three of your entires were freebies. Now if money was raked from a previous tournament to provide for the tickets then that money should be in the total prize pool for this tournament. I don't see why the total prize pool shouldn't be €1020.

Going along to your payouts you have awarded €960 in cash but also given away four tickets which would be another €80 (+reg?) in payout. If you did actually put in the money for the three free tickets then you've actually overpaid the prize fund to the tune of one ticket.

If you're not raking for tickets and just awarding them to people then anytime someone pays into a tournament which contains a player on a free ticket then they're getting less than the €20 EV to which their entry fee entitles them.

If that is the case then you're making a bit of a mess of things. Either way payout structure is making no sense to me.

32 Players
    3 Free Tickets
    19 Rebuys/Topup
    Prize Fund 1040 including tickets €20 each (6th 7th 8th 9th all free tickets)

1 - 460
    2 - 200
    3 - 125
    4 - 75
    5 - 50
    6 - Free Ticket €20
    7 - Free Ticket €20
    8 - Free Ticket €20
    9 - Free Ticket €20

Best Hand €50

www.pokernights.ie

Roundtower2 there was no 15euro reg 5 reg with entry and 5 reg on rebuy or topup but thanks for your other comments, i wont be online again till tomorrow so if you need any questions answered mail me at info@dublinpokernights.com

PokerNights

The lofty view from my high horse currently allows me to easily look down on many people all over boards, so i'm happy to stay here at the moment.
    The top guns are the admins of boards, DeVore, ecksor, Regi, Cloud and Lucutus. Those 5 people can do whatever they like with this website. You don't have free speech on here or any rights whatsoever really since you don't own the place. If you contribute to the site by becoming a subscriber then your opinion *might* be taken on board a bit more than a regular punter but you're still guaranteed nothing.

The mods of each forum be it poker, soccer, politics or whatever are given the responsibility to keep their particular forum running smoothly and make it a good place for discussion and to keep the undesirables of advertising/spamming/abuse/pron out.
    If you have a problem with how a forum is moderated then you can pm the particular mod, or go to the feedback forum (under the system dropdown menu) and post a reasoned criticism of what you think the problems and potential solutions are.

Back to this current thread of your perceived mild abuse and complaints and moans against Pokernights.
    Boards.ie generally doesn't like people coming to the forums to basically advertise their stuff and the bugger off. It's a bit different on the poker forum since the poker forum regulars like to hear about upcoming tournaments that they might like to play in.

So tournament organisers get to advertise their tournaments for free. They also get to advertise directly to the exact people they want. All the poker forum asks its that when they post they give a list of details (see the sticky at the top of the forum) on all aspects of their tournament so that we can make an informed decision as to whether or not the tournament is worthwhile.

By posting tournament information here those organisers have to be ready to accept comments and criticism from everyone who reads it. If they don't like it then there's an easy solution.

lafortezza wrote:

...The top guns are the admins of boards, DeVore, ecksor, Regi, Cloud and Lucutus. Those 5 people can do whatever they like with this website....

I would have thought the Top Guns would be the owners. So can they do anything. I don't think they can, unless they are all part owners in the website. (If you guys are then I think your really really great people).

Could they remove the poker forum and replace it with pronography?

lafortezza wrote:

...By posting tournament information here those organisers have to be ready to accept comments and criticism from everyone who reads it. If they don't like it then there's an easy solution...

Completely agree.

I was pointing out that it wasn't 'comments' or 'criticism'. It was abuse.

Nobody has ever been abused on the poker forum.....we have a very good community spirit on this forum.

If you want an example of message board abuse go to System then click The Thunderdome...:D now that is abuse

Dub13 wrote:
    The Thunderdome...:D now that is abuse

Jesus H. Your right there.

OK enough arguing. It's getting tedious. You're all right, I'm wrong. I admit it. I bow to you all. You're all superior. Even you Dappergent but especially Lafortezza. (P.S. can I have a go on your horsey)

Group Hug time....:eek:

I got a better idea, why don't we all go on a cruise

No wait........

Some of the lads have some "issues" with the whole cruising thing,I think they are hiding something.So who is "the only gay in the village!" (Little Britain fans will get this)

I am only defending cruising because I was on one ( I must add on my honeymoon)

'Going on a cruise' may be a little camp, but enjoyable, and after the initial fears would turn out to be fun....

'Cruising' on the other hand.... Well Hellllllooooo sailor!

32 Players
    3 Free Tickets
    19 Rebuys/Topup

1 - 460
    2 - 200
    3 - 125
    4 - 75
    5 - 50
    6 - Free Ticket €20
    7 - Free Ticket €20
    8 - Free Ticket €20
    9 - Free Ticket €20

Best Hand €50

www.pokernights.ie

Roundtower2 there was no 15euro reg 5 reg with entry and 5 reg on rebuy or topup but thanks for your other comments, i wont be online again till tomorrow so if you need any questions answered mail me at info@dublinpokernights.com

PokerNights

???????????? (10 x 20) ?????????
    please explain, your figures dont add up.

Lemony and Dub13 and everyone else, please keep the offtopic chat to pm, this thread is about Pokernights and their tournament.

sorry youcantseeme the rebuys/topups on the night was 19 in total not 10 that was a typo :(

32 Players
    3 Free Tickets
    19 Rebuys/Topup
    Prize Fund 960 (32 x €20) and (19 x €20) (- 3 Free Tickets)

figures all add up now

Regards
    PokerNights

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Lemony, cop yourself on. This is poker, not Afterhours.

I'm an admin here. I part own this site and yes if I chose to I could delete all these posts about poker and replace it with posts about pornography. I already don't like you or your contributions so far but I'm fair and you're new.
    How about you settle down like the rest of us and talk about poker?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

DeVore wrote:
    I could delete all these posts about poker and replace it with posts about pornography.

You make it sound like a punishment.