Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

smoke breaks in work

• 23-11-2005 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i was talking to my mate the other night, he was seriously pi$$ed off with a workmates attitude to smoke breaks.

he says he takes a ridiculus amount of smoke breaks, and of course, while my mates working his ass off, he has to answer the smokers phone.

what really took the biscuit was when the smoker told a new member of staff "take as many smoke breaks as you like"

and before you ask, this aint me, it realy is a mate of mine.

in my work, there's are smokers, and they take a couple of breaks during the day, this doesn't impact my workload directly, and it doesn't bother me too much, other than the fact that they're getting all these breaks.

so, it got me thinking, say the adverage smoker takes half an hour a day in smoke breaks, and i think thats a very conservative number, that would add up to 1.5 hours a working 40hour week...

my rough calculations come in around, 9 working days a year.

now, that's fair enough, smokers need to have a smoke, but wouldn't it be also fair if the non smokers got a break, say, 9 days off in a year.

and who knows, with this insentive, we could have alot more people wanting to kick the habit.

should non smokers be entitled to a break, relative to smokers 137 votes

yes, this is fair, and could be an incentive for people to quit
    0% 0 votes
    no, it's a silly idea
    76% 105 votes
    not sure, this could be looked into
    16% 22 votes
    jaguar atari
    7% 10 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Apip99

I'm a light smoker as its feck'n freezing out side this time of year. I may have one or 2 during the working day. But if I was offered an additional 9 days of a year if I quit................ Where do I sign????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

great idea, i'd def give up my fag breaks(and maybe fags altogether) for 9 days off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Apip99 wrote:
    I'm a light smoker as its feck'n freezing out side this time of year. I may have one or 2 during the working day. But if I was offered an additional 9 days of a year if I quit................ Where do I sign????

my mate's workmate's on 50, or so he says, even if that figure's 20, that's alot of smoke breaks.

i'd say my origional figure of 9 days is prob a bit much, an extra 5 days off in a year would be fair, 9 may be too much.

if you're seen smoking on work premeses, there go your 5 days off.

it could also be argued that your workers would be healthier, with less sick days.

If they are still getting their work done. Whats the problem.

Should nonsmokers toilet breaks, chats at the water cooler, time staring into space, dossing etc be counted? I think not.

This wouldnt be a problem if smokers didn't have to go outside for a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Maybe employers should just not allow smoke breaks.
    Is it illegal to refuse to hire someone because they smoke?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

paperclip wrote:
    he has to answer the smokers phone.

why does he have to answer the phone? I wouldn't, and if I were asked why not, I'd have no problem giving the reason.
    I smoke no more than 3 during a working day, one on morning break, one on my lunch hour and one in the afternoon.

ronoc wrote:

Should nonsmokers toilet breaks, chats at the water cooler, time staring into space, dossing etc be counted? I think not.

i take it you're a smoker :D

thing is, while this prob wouldn't have been an issue in the 70's/80's, with people smoking at their desks, i think it is now, because it's a smoke break

toilet breaks are universal, as are water cooler chats and staring into space, if a worker is doing any of these too much, then it's up to his manager to tell em to cop on, or in the case of toilet breaks, ask if they've a medical condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

It would be illegal to disallow a smoker from a job for that reason but the employer would be in their rights to not allow smoking breaks. It's a question of retaining employees goodwill. Where I work the theory is good but the practice is not. People are allowed to smoke on normal break times. In practice however people take their break and then go for a smoke or worse still go for a smoke, then a break, followed by another smoke. I am currently asking can non-smokers get an ice cream break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭vgar

It's actually the opposite for me in work.

I usually only take about two smoke breaks a day (on really bad days I might take another one).
    But they brought in a clock in system in the office here a couple of months ago and now the smokers have to clock out for each break (so we don't get paid for them and we have to work up the time).

The only thing is though that the non smokers can head down to the kitchen for a coffee and they don't have to clock out for that and they end up standing around there having a chat for longer than it takes us to have a smoke and they go more often than I go for a smoke.

But, because our managers know who are the smokers when we leave to go get a coffee it is presumed that we are going out for a smoke too and we are told that the time will be taken off - even when we dont go for a smoke.
    Not really fair either!

And, whats worse is health and safety insepctions were carried out a while ago and all staff were advised to get up and walk around away from their PC every hour or so for about 10 minutes to get circulation moving and take eyes off the monitor. Everyone was told to do this and some people do it. You don't have to clock out for this, but if you take this as an oppertunity to go for a smoke (two birds with one stone) you do have to clock out even though you've been told to go away from your desk!

I think both smokers and non smokers should get the same breaks (paid or not).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭beer enigma

ronoc wrote:

What about smokers toilet breaks and chats at the water cooler etc.........are you seriously saying that if you take smoking breaks you dont go to the loo !!

paperclip wrote:
    i take it you're a smoker :D

thing is, while this prob wouldn't have been an issue in the 70's/80's, with people smoking at their desks, i think it is now, because it's a smoke break

toilet breaks are universal, as are water cooler chats and staring into space, if a worker is doing any of these too much, then it's up to his manager to tell em to cop on, or in the case of toilet breaks, ask if they've a medical condition.
    Guilty :)
    I would contend if a smoker does as much work as another non smoking employee then he/she does less of some of the above. Apart from the bathroom of course.

Beruthiel wrote:
    why does he have to answer the phone? I wouldn't, and if I were asked why not, I'd have no problem giving the reason.
    I smoke no more than 3 during a working day, one on morning break, one on my lunch hour and one in the afternoon.

it's one of those crazy always busy, go go go jobs, i'm amazed he's stuck it this long.

he answeres the phone cause it has to get answered.

i guess he doesn't want to fall out with his workmate, but he said in future he'll just tell the caller, "he's on a smoke break"

i can understand where he's coming from, i share a phone in work, and it would pi$$ me off if my work mate was taking loads of breaks,i'd say, "he's not at his desk" but after a while you'd just say, "he's having a smoke"

ronoc wrote:
    Guilty :)
    I would contend if a smoker does as much work as another non smoking employee then he/she does less of some of the above. Apart from the bathroom of course.

this wouldn't be at all feesable.

but, yes, it is anoying if you're doing more work than a workmate, even if you are taking smoke breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

I remember having this exact same argument with workmates during Intra.
    One of the lads brought it up at a meeting one day, and the manager just looked at him as if he had 3 heads.

"You mean, you want to get time off, because you DON'T smoke?!...." and that was the end of that.
    Needless to say, the manager promptly got up, and disappeared for 15 mins with a couple of others for their hourly smoke break.

Man that made me so angry. If we were to go stand outside the door for 10 mins every hour or so, we'd be sacked for doing nothing. Yet filling our lungs with carcinogens while we do it is acceptable behaviour.....

*grumble*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭PJG

correct me if I'm wrong but you can ask at an interview if they smoke and not hire them.

Not only are do the fag breaks add up but I assume smokers are more inclined to be out sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

PJG wrote:
    correct me if I'm wrong but you can ask at an interview if they smoke and not hire them.

I think you are wrong. That would be lifestyle discrimination. They are not involved in an illegal activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

I don't get the concept of 'smoke breaks'....since when has an addiction warranted a reward!?

Heroin --> Free Methadone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

paperclip wrote:
    that's fair enough, smokers need to have a smoke.

They may need to smoke, but a company doesnt have to let you take any smoke breaks. The next time your in work, try and got for 10 coffee breaks during the day. or bring in a load of cans of coke and go outside and drink them at different parts of the day.

I worked in a call center for 2 years and I got really annoyed at this (im a nonsmoker) and worked out the average times a person went out for a smoke break. (it was 6-7 a day) So the I started to just go for walks around the building. after about a week I was called into the office and asked about the amount of time I was dossing, I mentioned other peoples smoke breaks and there was nothing she could say, I said I was just getting fresh air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

in fairness ther's a limit to the amount of smoke breaks you can take, i think you get a smoke break of 5 mins for every hour you work.
    thats not bad, it's fair.
    aslong as the smoker gives a little lee way to the non smoker, (i.e. if the non smoker wants to pop to the shop for a coke for 5 mins)
    it's ying and yang, but i'd say 99% of all smokers i work with appeciate the cover their colleagues provide for their smoke breaks. and will gladly cover their nonsmokers in return.
    it's just a pity saome businesses have a lousy setup and therefore there is confusion over smoke breaks and limits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Where i work, it is known(for some people) to take 10 minutes an hour, to have a smoke, we work 12 hour shifts. It's so casual nowadays, just to say "I'm going to a quick smoke" not even asking "Do you mind if i go for a smoke", which often includes a tea/coffee en route to the smoke shed.

If you add up 10 minutes per day, that's 1 hour and 20 minutes extra breaks. But to me it's not the extra break time, it's the fact that my work load is doubled 'cause someone has "gone for a smoke".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

zoro wrote:
    I remember having this exact same argument with workmates during Intra.
    One of the lads brought it up at a meeting one day, and the manager just looked at him as if he had 3 heads.

"You mean, you want to get time off, because you DON'T smoke?!...." and that was the end of that.
    I don't know about extra days off but you should certainly be entitled to the same breaks. Say that you are going out for a smoke and stand out side burning bits of paper. Or just call it a "water break" and stand around drinking water.
    I am not so sure that it is illegal to refuse people who smoke a job. I think it is allowed in the US. Are they allowed refuse alcoholics a job if they admit it? or other drug addicts? They are abusing drugs during working hours, I know drinking alcohol is specifically forbidden in my company, I have asked about it a few times, saying I would only have a few sips outside with the smokers, leading to no more intoxication that their own nicotine high. I just think in 100 years time it will be illegal to smoke just like they made so many other drugs illegal, your great grand kids will be saying "feck-off you mean you actually got time off work to go out and smoke drugs while the rest of the workers were forced to work!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

ronoc wrote:

Smokers can do the exact same thing.

I believe non smokers should get a 'fresh air' break as smokers get their 'smoking' break. It annoys me that smokers can get outside the shop for a few mins whilst im inside.

Where i work, it is known(for some people) to take 10 minutes an hour, to have a smoke, we work 12 hour shifts. It's so casual nowadays, just to say "I'm going to a quick smoke" not even asking "Do you mind if i go for a smoke", which often includes a tea/coffee en route to the smoke shed.

If you add up 10 minutes per day, that's 1 hour and 20 minutes extra breaks. But to me it's not the extra break time, it's the fact that my work load is doubled 'cause someone has "gone for a smoke".
    neuromancer thats bad management though, if the rules were enforced properly people wouldn't be able to abuse them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭robz150

Why don't you take a smoke break yourself, you don't need to smoke, go outside and have a chat?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

where I work it does my head in when the smokers go dossing so they can have a smoke. the rest of us have to work twice as much to make up for their absence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

robz150 wrote:
    Why don't you take a smoke break yourself, you don't need to smoke, go outside and have a chat?:D

Have you been in the east of ireland in the past week. Its too cold to be out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

if you work at a computer.. your company should allow you to take a 3-5 break every hour... to avoid any muscle and tendon disorder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭lazylad

A lot of smokers take unauthorised breaks that they sometimes get in trouble over like what I used to do. I quit and had to take time off work coz I felt really bad. Now I'm off them and feel better. Withdrawal lasted about a week for me. Before tried to quit i used to chain smoke so I thought I wouldn't need so many breaks but ended up I felt even worse.
    I think smokers should be sympatised. Coz its hard to quit smoking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

i worked as a waitress, after any busy period, one or more of my colleauges would say im going for a smoke, i need it after that havent had a smoke since whatever 11 this morning...i would say, sure im working here too, im under pressure too!!! i was always left coverin..it wrecked my head..the fact that me and one guy were the only non smokers didnt help our case..
    i used to say can i go for a quick cuppa, and id get a 'another break?' id say well i dont smoke, and they'd grudgingly let me out...then come lookin for me straightaway!! or otherwise id feel guilty at takin a break when i wasnt supposed to have one, that id rush!! headwrecking, what can u do??

lazylad wrote:
    I quit and had to take time off work coz I felt really bad.
    Did you get paid for your time off? if you did that is crazy, thats the equivalent of a guy ringing in sick because of a hangover, just another form of drug withdrawl sickness. But sure lads on the booze all night also need sympathy, its hard to give it up during the week.

headwrecking, what can u do??
    Take up smoking. A cigarette costs about 30cent, most people in my place take a 15minute break, they go over to their drug buddy and wait for them to finish whatever they are up to, so 5 mins is wasted there, then out to the smoking place and back takes 5min, the smoke is a futher 5 mins, oh these days they have to go and get jackets etc so it can be another while. 30cent is pretty cheap, you could just light it and stand there flicking it, or do a clinton and dont inhale. works out at €9.60 to take off an average 8 hour working day, not too bad at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

They should be allowed no more than 4 smoke breaks a day not including their lunchbreak that is more than fair enough IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

where i work you get two 15 minute breaks, one 30 minute break and 15 minutes to do whatever the **** you want with it (this includes toilet breaks, smoking breaks etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

homah_7ft wrote:
    I think you are wrong. That would be lifestyle discrimination. They are not involved in an illegal activity.
    What makes discriminating agaisnt smokers and alcoholics illegal?

Victor wrote:
    labour laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

it never ****ing ends.
    you got the cinemas, the buses, the offices and finally our last stronghold, the pub. now oyu want to end smoke breaks. you people ****ing sicken me.
    aww, your poor friend has to answer the phone a couple of times a day. that must really be stressful for him.
    further to the non-smokers getting 9 days off every year, i want an extra hour in the pub every night for smokers. if you want to stay the extra hour, then you have to smoke at least 2 cigarettes. we lose about an hour of conversation time every night because of pissy non-smokers. i think it's only right that we get them back.
    Victor wrote:

they are both also government sanctioned drugs and government sanctioned addictions.
    the only course of action is to outlaw tobacco. i'm quite serious about that too. i know it's the only way i'll quit.
    *lights up another cigarette*
    ahh.

very well put together and thought out argument.
    it'd almost make me feel sorry for smokers, but like i said, 5 mins an hour. thems the breaks

I'm a smoker .. until 10th Dec. when I go back to Allen Carr (gave up for 14 months with that and foolishly went back on them).

I don't take my full hour lunch break like non smokers, becuase I agree that its not fair on non-smokers. I smoke 3 cigarettes max at work .. but it take more than 5 minutes to get outside .. light up and get back to the office. It depends on the smoker .. if you take your breaks and don't work the time back in one form or another then it is expecting preferential treatment .. becuase you choose to smoke. Everyone has their own opinion ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You should bring in a 6-pack of beer tomorrow and when they're having their smoke break, you go out with them and have a can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

5 minutes a day isn't too bad I suppose. They'll have ten years less at the end of their term. All the better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭jptk

quit your complainin', just go and take a walk every hour for a couple of mins and let us smokers have a couple of mins too. Whats the problem? Dont ask for permission just do it. Most people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I've always traded break time for smoking breaks. i.e. I'll take a half hour lunch and then 6 five minute smoking breaks thanks.

Then in some places (more project based work) it didn't really matter. I was working to deadlines not by the hour. So essentially the work had to get done and I structured my breaks accordingly.

*shrugs*

Some jobs neither of the above would work for though.

But there isn't a "golden amount" of smoking breaks. Some people take 2 or 3, some take 10. Depends on the job, person and the management. The idea of giving non-smokers breaks is just silly. Just make the smokers pay for their breaks, through smaller normal breaks or whatever. But if a smoker, who takes breaks, is as productive as a non-smoker then what's the problem? Some people are like this, some smokers work hard to make up for their breaks. Some just take the piss and abuse the breaks. Not all smokers are like that though.

I think smoke breaks are plain unfair to non smokers. Why do you get to have a 5 min break every hour while everyone else is stuck inside? In my last job, I just used to go outside with the smokers and chat. No-one ever said anything, and if asked I would have just said I was entitled to my break, like them. I can't see how you could argue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

just to throw this in the ring but the only reason smokers have to go outside on a "break" is because non smokers dont want them smoking around them.

i'd gladly take no breaks if i could sit here right now with fag in hand. remember that its always the non-smokers that have a problem and are upon their trusty steeds(we know its bad for us, you dont need to keep on at it. if i want to give up i will.), if a policy was brought in that once an hour non smokers had to leave the building so smokers could have one at their desks would you have a problem?(some super ventilation would also get rid of all smells/smoke)
    i doubt most smokers would and you would be getting your "break".

there is a constant witch-hunt against smokers, i either smoke in my home, a designated area or outside?(and do go out of my way not to let it blow towards other people) so why am i constantly made feel guilty about something i enjoy if i dont harm anyone else?

the "because we have to pay your medical bills" arguement is void because ive paid over 15000 in tax so far this year alone AND have private medical insurance.

The health implications on non smokers is void because i can only smoke in the places i mentioned above.

The "i'm getting breaks that you are not" is akin to "jimmy has five m&m's and i only got four" in the playground. do you think a smoker wants to go outside? no we (or at least i) do it because i know you dont like it so i wont force it on you but yet you still force your remarks/laws/opinions on me for something that is essentially none of your business. you are essentially bullying me for my life choice. i'd hardly call being forced outside a break, you took smoking at my place of work away from me and now you want to take the smoking outside the place of work off me, which is something you essentially created.

The real probelm is that a lot of non-smokers have a problem with a smell, well i am sorry but i dont like a lot of smells but i wouldn't tell you to stop driving your car, change your aftershave/ wash more often/not to use that air-freshner ever single time i see you. yes it is politically correct not to smoke. it is also better for your health not to smoke. no complaints from me there but it is the same with alchohol, caffeine etc......lets all get on those bandwagons. you are not superior because you dont smoke, you have just made a choice.

I'll never go for a smoke unless i have nothing to do for the next few minutes. some people do but remember the world is full of opportunist and arseholes who if given an inch will take a mile. take it out on them, not all smokers. if you feel your workload is greater because of them say it to them. they aren't doing their job but would they cover you if you ate spicy curries all the time and spent a lot of time in the toilet? i'd say so. i also wouldn't have a problem with you coming out with me while i smoke or you going for a quick walk.

people who are giving out about "smoke breaks" are giving out about something they created and feel like its not fair. try being given out to, looked down upon, having remarks passed,told what to do all because of a something you enjoy that you go out of your way and make sure that it effects no-one but yourself.

Sorry about the rant but its mainly peoples intolerance to eachothers choices that really get me.

Sound
    -Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

I read a newspaper article some months back about some companies here in the US were not only outlawing smoking but firing anyone who smokes. It appears that this is legal here. The article if I remember right was saying that this is going to spread across the country. Here is a link to the company that first started this policy..

http://www.wral.com/news/4126577/detail.html

The reasoning is all related to health care costs. It's not as big an issue in Ireland but it could become an issue as more people opt for private health insurance. Over here most companies offer health insurance as a benefit and the employee pays a portion towards it. A family plan will run you $5k to $15k a year depending on where you live and an employer will shoulder most of the cost. I pay about 18% of my cost and my employer picks up the rest. Smokers are driving up the cost of insurance and employers are being squeezed on rates. A company with a no smoking whatsoever policy can negotiate better rates. Not a big problem in Ireland yet as VHI and Bupa are cheap relatively speaking. But each time you see your health insurance go up you can put some level of blame on your friendly smoking co-worker because smokers health care over their life is way more costly than a non-smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I'm a smoker and I don't take smoke breaks I wait until my regular break so I don't think ppl should be allowed to sneek out for a fag when ever they want. It's unfair to make other ppl carry your work load while your skiving for any reason.

funk-you wrote:
    just to throw this in the ring but the only reason smokers have to go outside on a "break" is because non smokers dont want them smoking around them.
    No, it is because it is illegal. Or do you even live in Ireland?
    funk-you wrote:
    if a policy was brought in that once an hour non smokers had to leave the building so smokers could have one at their desks would you have a problem?(some super ventilation would also get rid of all smells/smoke)
    i doubt most smokers would and you would be getting your "break".
    So people have to stand out in the cold while you are indoors abusing drugs in the nice warmth, are you really serious. The is no "super ventilation" system, and if there was should my wages be less since the company would pay to install it for your drug habit. Hows about having a bar installed and all the non-drinkers stand out in the cold as I get pissed.
    funk-you wrote:
    why am i constantly made feel guilty about something i enjoy if i dont harm anyone else?
    Apparently some people think it does harm "anyone else", hence the ban...

funk-you wrote:
    something you enjoy that you go out of your way and make sure that it effects no-one but yourself.
    I have to stay late with no extra pay to get my job done, my job relys on a lot of interaction with other people. When I go to see somebody I have to wait around for them to come back from their drug break, it is not just their time wasted. I am up and down stairs, making phone calls searching for people only to then see them stood outside enjoying themselves while I have to stay late because of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭dalk

Like in a lot workplaces, smokers should be made clock out for their breaks. Thats the only fair solution. Want to take a smoking break? Fine, take it from your own time... Work 9-6 and take an hours worth of smoking breaks...

Off topic: How many non-smokers get a certain amount of sadistic pleasure, now that its getting cold, seeing gangs of smokers huddling outdoors, freezing their arses off, for their addiction?

I dont feel even slightly sorry... :p

dalk wrote:
    Like in a lot workplaces, smokers should be made clock out for their breaks. Thats the only fair solution. Want to take a smoking break? Fine, take it from your own time... Work 9-6 and take an hours worth of smoking breaks...
    It is not fair for the reasons I said about being dependent on people being at work. Most companies have a set time for lunch or tea breaks for a reason. If you had a free for all productivity goes down. "oh crap here comes mary with a load of paper work for me, I'm off, wheres me clock card"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The easiest thing to do would be to 'clock' all these smoking breaks and then deduct the earnings from the smokers wages. And before some smoker argues that idea if you REALLY NEED to smoke THAT badly (like you always claim you do) then you won't mind losing the euro or two you're costing your company whilst you're outside sparking up and scratching your arse.

All these deductions would then entered into a pool and divided out equally among the non smokers at the end of the year. Merry fúcking christmas!