Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another 'The Panel' Thread

• 21-11-2005 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭

Thank Jesus, there was no Looney on tonight and they replaced her with that mighty fine cut of a woman Aoife Ní Thuairisg. Unlike Looney she didn't try to make lame ass jokes, and unlike Seoige, her questions weren't overly journalistic and humour killing. And her sawn-off shotgun story set up a joke for Dara O'Brian.

The were two unusually long serious moments with each guest, which was unusual for the show. Overall a good episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

OFDM wrote:
    Thank Jesus, there was no Looney on tonight and they replaced her with that mighty fine cut of a woman Aoife Ní Thuairisg. Unlike Looney she didn't try to make lame ass jokes, and unlike Seoige, her questions weren't overly journalistic and humour killing.
    Only caught the 2nd half, and she barely said a word.
    The bits she did were as boring and journalistic as GOS.
    Apart from a bit of eye candy, why the hell was she on?
    Who is she btw?
    Never heard of her.

Apart from that, t'was another great show :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

whiskeyman wrote:
    Apart from a bit of eye candy, why the hell was she on?
    Token Female Panelist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Kingmaker

She was a bit lame.
    She presents Paisean Faisean on TG4, is one of TG4's weathergirls and produces/edits quite a few shows for TG4. She's pretty talented, so I was surprised at how dull she was.

Was pretty good last nite, although it lost it a bit when Colin Murphy overdid it cos he thought he was being upstaged...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I thought she was quite good actually,there'd be no complaint from me if she were there more often. She made the odd "joke" and didn't ruin everything by trying to add in shi'ite while the rest talking.
    That guy guest though was brutal, it was so serious and boring. May he NEVER be brought back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Kingmaker wrote:
    She was a bit lame.

Christy Brown was a bit lame. She was a non-entity.
    As for being eye candy I think someone must have sucked all the flavour out of her before she went on screen.

Other than that a very enjoyable show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

OFDM wrote:
    Thank Jesus, there was no Looney on tonight and they replaced her with that mighty fine cut of a woman Aoife Ní Thuairisg. Unlike Looney she didn't try to make lame ass jokes, and unlike Seoige, her questions weren't overly journalistic and humour killing. And her sawn-off shotgun story set up a joke for Dara O'Brian.

The were two unusually long serious moments with each guest, which was unusual for the show. Overall a good episode.

Agree completely with that, I thought Aoife accquited herself quite well, the best woman panelist on the show so far. Pauline McGlynn would be next. I thought she was down to earth, unassuming. Women and humour don't go together very well so this is the next best thing. As to what the other posters to this thread are looking for the mind boggles!!! Good show anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

OFDM wrote:

By Jove, I think they've finally cracked it! If they can get me to watch an ep of the Panel all the way to end then they must be doing something right. The 4 eejits were useless as usual but I could die happy with my head nestled between Aoife's funbags and the guy with the slang book was class too, primarily because he didn't barely let those 4 fools get a word in edgeways with their lameass quips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

A great show this week. No Looney is a major plus, maybe the Producers have read our numerous threads. Aoife doesn't attempt to be funny, she also looks a helluva lot be that Looney Tunes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

I thought she was good and far better than fiona looney who seems to be the only one who laughs at her jokes if you can call them that. The best female panelist is Pauline McGlynn but overall the women are never really that funny on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

she was much better than Fiona Looney imo

does each episode of The Panel require a new thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Ergo the ironic thread title, the others had fallen off the front page and had become Looney-hate threads anyway.

Maybe everyone could use this one every week for the reviews?

Or maybe make it a sticky. And make it clear that its not a "I hate that Looney one" thread. Athough they always tend to go off topic dont they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Mossy Monk wrote:
    she was much better than Fiona Looney imo

Maybe.

The amount of postings about The Panel is something else, I suppose nobody is doing anything else on a Monday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Ok, everyone i have talked to about this show, said it was bad!
    Nothing happened, it wasnt funny... almost as bad as two weeks ago!
    Andrew Maxwell is always the one ppl talk about th next day (well him or Looney)

Andrew maxwell is a funny guy and much funnier than ed byrne anyway. I really dont know how ed byrne has become so popular because he's nothing special really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

So last nights was the final in the series. Tiernan did not contrubite much. Whats with Pauline McGlynn and her low cut top. I found it hard to watch Mrs Doyle and all that, Disturbing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

aye, pity Tommy didn't do much.
    ****ing Ed ****ing Byrne tho :mad: idiot.
    Pauline did make it a tad disturbing alright.

good guests I thought. Many a laugh we had watching it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Actually as much as I despise Ed Byrne (almost as much as Fiona Looney) he actually came out with some good ones last night. I think the presence of Tiernan (while he did not contribute much) brought up the standard of the others. Except Colin, who was a bit quieter than usual...

When i seen tiernan i was expecting him to be brilliant but he was very serious throughout the show and for once ed byrne was actually funny with the whole irish dancing thing. They could have got better guests for the end of the series. Like they did with podge and rodge last year. There back around christmas aswell for a one off and il be looking forward to see that because last years new years eve show was top notch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Awwww..... Its over already. :( . I liked Ray Darcy, that was Tommy's best bit.... "Thats not sad, thats mad!" ahhh... good times!

************** Results of the petition*****************

Number of PPL that voted: 21
    PPL who want to get rid of Fiona Looney: 20
    PPL who want to get rid of Ed Burn: 8
    PPL who want to get rid of them both: 8

Best comments about Looney
    · She is amazingly unfunny and it's so annoying when she butts in with her "witty" observations.
    · Looney is a waste as a pannelist - she should be off dismantling dangerous land mines. Without a camera crew.
    · Fiona Looney isnt a comedian! WTF? something is seriously wrong here... but anyway! Give um the boot!
    · Fiona Looney. Panelist? Panel beater more like

Best Comments about Ed Byrnes
    · Dont have Ed Byrne on much just now and then because he can be ok
    · Ed Byrne isn't too bad, sometimes his jokes mighnt be up to scratch
    · Aaaaahhh ... I don't think you should ......... aaaaaahhh ............ be slagging off my chums Ed and ............... ahhhhhhhhhh ......... Fiona and if I ever find who started this I'm going to plonk my big fat arse down on their noggin aaaahhhhhhhhhhhh ......................

Best 'other' Comments
    · Keep Andrew and Neil, as well as Colin and Dara of corse
    · um.....Colin Rox!!!
    · Make Neil Delamere permanent
    · Rasher Sucked
    · Nope

OK, no surprise on the Fiona Looney thingy (theres always one!!!), But the support for Ed Byrnes was a shock considering most things posted on the forum were negitive!
    Thanks to all who took part in this worthless petition!!! :p

Does anyone know where on the interweb I can get that photo, referenced on the panel, of Pat Kenny and Dustin? The blatant homosexual overtones photo. Yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Does anyone know where on the interweb I can get that photo, referenced on the panel, of Pat Kenny and Dustin? The blatant homosexual overtones photo. Yeah.
    gayplank7qw.jpg

A Lord of the Rings moment if ever I saw one. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yes indeed, Plank probably should have kept his mouth closed for that photograph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I think Tommy Tiernan was quiet because his comedic style is more anecdotal than quick, witty jokes. He likes to tell long-winded humerous stories in his stand up show where he is the centre of attention and can go as off topic as he likes, but in The Panel there isn't room for any stories like that and most of the humour is in the form of quick, off the cuff responses to what people say. Also, there is a set number of topics and guests to go through and so there's no time for rambling stories.

That said I think Tommy Tiernan is a great comedian and I love his stand up show.

Fiona Looney and indeed mst of the other women panelists aen't very funny but for the sakes of equality they need a regular women panelist. I think Pauline mcGlynn is a good one because she doesn't seem to be as concerned with politeness and not seeming vulgar (ie she talks about sex and whatever else the lads are talking about) as the other women. Best woman panelist by far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I think we all need to face reality......Women aren't funny*

*Quote me and sprinkles will deny everything:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭smurfbaby

Piste wrote:
    for the sakes of equality they need a regular women panelist. QUOTE]

Why do people think that 'for the sakes of equality' there should be a female panelist? Most of the female panelists on the show have no background in comedy and are blatently token females-for example the girl who presents 'Paisean Faisean' on TG4-they would never put a male with no comedy connections whatsover on the panel. All it succeeds in doing is re-inforcing many people's beliefs that women simply aren't funny. Why not put female comedians in for their own merits-if and when it suits-and on the other weeks simply refrain from having a token female panelist?

Deidre o'kane maybe. Shes not that good at stand up but she was brilliant in paths to freedom and fregus's wedding.