Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin IPC Stage-12 Red Cow

• 21-11-2005 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone heading the red cow tonight?

I haven't played it in awhile but I'm going to win one of these before city west if it kills me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

ntlbell wrote:
    Anyone heading the red cow tonight?

I haven't played it in awhile but I'm going to win one of these before city west if it kills me!
    I was thinking about it but i fear the standard will be far higher than im used to. Might give it a shot anyway though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TimFoil

Is this cash prizes or are there tickets aswell, and if so for what? Finally, bad question I know, but what's the general standard like? cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

There is an entry to the Citywest final and the prizepool for the Red Cow one is €10,000 i think. Im guessing the standard will be quite good but not sure.
    Dublin IPC Stage-12
    Date: 21 Nov 2005
    Start Time: 19:30
    Structure: Buy-In: €50
    Reg: €15
    Number of Rebuys:1 only €50+€10
    Starting Chips: 4,000
    Scheduled Break: After Level 6 for 20 minutes
    Director : Donal Mac Aonghusa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

TimFoil wrote:
    Is this cash prizes or are there tickets aswell, and if so for what? Finally, bad question I know, but what's the general standard like? cheers

Cash+tickets for the televised final in city west.

The standard is mixed if you can hold your own in any of the fitz tourny's then you should be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭rrtt

I think the standard is below that of the card rooms in town.most players are average at best. However there is usually some very good players and some very bad players. how well you do on the night usually depends on the standard of players on your first table. This is because the blind structure is so bad that you need to build a big stack before the break. I played there a few weeks ago. Got to the final table and had an average stack. However this was only 3.5 times the big blinds and the blinds were going up in 10 minutes. Many requests to freeze the blinds were ignored. The tournament is designed so it wont go on too late. I finished in 7th and left feeling very frustrated. I will not play there again. Having said that, everthing else about the tournament is fine(tables, dealers, balancing tables etc.). Its a nice place to go for a few pints and a game of cards.

rrtt wrote:
    I think the standard is below that of the card rooms in town.most players are average at best. However there is usually some very good players and some very bad players. how well you do on the night usually depends on the standard of players on your first table. This is because the blind structure is so bad that you need to build a big stack before the break. I played there a few weeks ago. Got to the final table and had an average stack. However this was only 3.5 times the big blinds and the blinds were going up in 10 minutes. Many requests to freeze the blinds were ignored. The tournament is designed so it wont go on too late. I finished in 7th and left feeling very frustrated. I will not play there again. Having said that, everthing else about the tournament is fine(tables, dealers, balancing tables etc.). Its a nice place to go for a few pints and a game of cards.

I don't think the blind structure is that bad at all, I don't think it's designed for an early finish, most times I've played the final table was still running at 3am and fintan and the lads stayed on for pints and SNG's it was easily 4.30am before I left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Doctor Fell

I've never gone to one of these Poker Events tournies: does anyone know how many runners they usually get (guessing about 100)?
    Which brings me on to the next question - is all the money taken in (less reg fees of course) given out in prizes? Think I saw it guarenteed for €10k.
    thanks!

I've never gone to one of these Poker Events tournies: does anyone know how many runners they usually get (guessing about 100)?
    Which brings me on to the next question - is all the money taken in (less reg fees of course) given out in prizes? Think I saw it guarenteed for €10k.
    thanks!

100% prizepool paid out

anything from 90-150 runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Is Doctor Fell Doc Farrells brother?

Or did DocFarrell just fall?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

how much is a ticket for the Dublin IPC?.. How many in the final field in city west ?... id go to the red cow 2nite but ive fookin training on mondays, they had em on thursday's before?...

a-k-47 wrote:
    how much is a ticket for the Dublin IPC?.. How many in the final field in city west ?... id go to the red cow 2nite but ive fookin training on mondays, they had em on thursday's before?...

about 1100 euro IIRC The numbers won't be known untill the day I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

What time does this start?

anyone here playing in it?...is there a website up for it?..whens start date, ticket freerolls should be on ppp so will have a go at that before breaking the piggy bank :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

30 runners left. Blinds are 1000-2000. Average stack 25k.
    Big Dragon in the lead with about 52k.
    Culchie is gone home.

a-k-47 wrote:
    anyone here playing in it?...is there a website up for it?..whens start date, ticket freerolls should be on ppp so will have a go at that before breaking the piggy bank :).

Considering it's sponsored by boyle sports, I don't thing PPP will have anything to do with it

30 runners left. Blinds are 1000-2000. Average stack 25k.
    Big Dragon in the lead with about 52k.
    Culchie is gone home.

Hows eddie the eagle getting on lol

Big dragon 80k down to 22

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Big dragon 80k down to 22

Fck the bubble.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Unlucky dude.

BigDragon wrote:
    Fck the bubble.:mad:

How did you go out?

I'd built up a nice stack, I tried to push the chip leader at the time of a Q high board with 99 and he called after missing with KJ :eek: and my little run of horrible rivers killed me.

does it matter that ppp arent sponsers? im sure they might have a ticket up for grabs.

a-k-47 wrote:
    does it matter that ppp arent sponsers? im sure they might have a ticket up for grabs.

No it probably doesn't but what does matter is that boyle sports are the sponsors.

It would be a bit like Microsoft running a competition and the winner gets a years subscription to Red Hat Linux, it ain't gonna happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭dingle

There are satellites on Boyle Poker on Friday nights

what network are boyle sports on? they accept laser?

Boyle poker is on the prima network. It has a 25$ tourney tonight (usually15/16 players) with a super-satellite ticket guaranteed. Go to specials in multi tournaments list. Satellites for the 1000euro jan final start later this week.
    When downloading use the promotional code word BONUS so as to avail of extra rake back etc.

thanks lads..what are the daily tourns like? gona open an account with them now. sick of ppp at the moment

lol i thought my name wud be ak47, its imabigdeal , whos playing in this sat?

eh i can only find private cash table?..