Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eire 32!

• 18-11-2005 10:48am
    Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

This really gets my goat. I see it everywhere and it drives me nuts! I was sitting in college in a lecture the other day and there it was written on the desk in front of me--the Swastika of Irish fascism.:mad:

It's so irrelevant in this day and age and I really thought that by their college years, most semi-intelligent people would be shot of that overly-nationalistic ferver that is common in pre-adolescents.

I wouldn't mind but they even put the fada in the wrong place; "Eíre 32" it read. I mean STFU! The chances of there being a 32 county Ireland in our lifetimes is simply non-existent.

What do you people of boards.ie think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Have seen it on a load of Celtic shirts too... doesnt really bother me to be honest, they can say what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

The chances of there being a 32 county Ireland in our lifetimes is simply non-existent.

I agree with you about scribbling it everywhere, I don't agree with defacing public property, however, and I might be alone in this, I still hold a bit of hope that I might live to see a 32 county republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It's a free world. Carve a "Republic of Ireland 26" underneath if it bothers you so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

I agree its very childish. I used be like that as a teenager but I couldn't care less now. If someone got a big saw and cut the north away from the south I wouldn't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ther fada should be in the right place, definetly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

finlma wrote:
    I agree its very childish. I used be like that as a teenager but I couldn't care less now. If someone got a big saw and cut the north away from the south I wouldn't care.

That would be ideal. Leave them to float away and check up on them after 100 years. Whoever's left, gets to pick if they're reattached to Ireland or England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

This really gets my goat. I see it everywhere and it drives me nuts! I was sitting in college in a lecture the other day and there it was written on the desk in front of me--the Swastika of Irish fascism.:mad:

It's so irrelevant in this day and age and I really thought that by their college years, most semi-intelligent people would be shot of that overly-nationalistic ferver that is common in pre-adolescents.

I wouldn't mind but they even put the fada in the wrong place; "Eíre 32" it read. I mean STFU! The chances of there being a 32 county Ireland in our lifetimes is simply non-existent.

Maybe they are advertising stamps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's bad enough seeing it written on desks and stuff,but what really gets me is people who have it tattooed on them. Why would you get that tattooed to them?! I've seen it, along with Tiocfaidh ar an la or whatever the hell it is written on the same arm, it's a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 telecomsman

I agree that its very annoying coming across these people who shout "Tiocfaidh ar la" and have large "26+6=1" tatoos on their arms, but havent a clue about the politics or history of the state we live in. Its even more prevalent in pubs around the country when Celtic are playing Rangers.....while I understand that Ireland as we know it is now part of a larger European community I do feel that its important not to lose our sense of national identity and culture and our history plays a large part in this.In the current political and economic climate a 32 county state appears to be a long way off, but personally speaking I would hope to see this in my own lifetime.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

The chances of there being a 32 county Ireland in our lifetimes is simply non-existent.
    QUOTE]

What's the basis for your argument?

"The Ireland Act was passed in Westminster in December 1920. This set up two subordinate parliaments in Ireland: one for six counties, another for twenty-six counties, The six counties were to remain under British rule."

This was only 1 lifetime ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Ya it is very childish to be writing very political things like that on the back of seats these days. No one cares about that anymore they only care about having peace not a 32 country they are not being realistic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Angels wrote:
    No one cares about that anymore they only care about having peace not a 32 country they are not being realistic!!

I am not picking a fight, honestly, but I think its a little unfair to say that no one cares about a 32 county republic. They do, I do, it is just unfortunate that the muppets who scrawl eire32 all over the place know very little about the situation, ot the history of the situation. They are utterly misinformed, and so give those with a genuine interest a very bad reputation.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I am not picking a fight, honestly, but I think its a little unfair to say that no one cares about a 32 county republic. They do, I do, it is just unfortunate that the muppets who scrawl eire32 all over the place know very little about the situation, ot the history of the situation. They are utterly misinformed, and so give those with a genuine interest a very bad reputation.

Seconded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

I understand your frustration against people using the Eire 32 as a figurehead for violence but why should'nt it happen in our lifetime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

rb_ie wrote:
    It's bad enough seeing it written on desks and stuff,but what really gets me is people who have it tattooed on them. Why would you get that tattooed to them?! I've seen it, along with Tiocfaidh ar an la or whatever the hell it is written on the same arm, it's a disgrace.

A disgrace why?? Because they would like to see a unified Ireland? I would love to see a 32 county Ireland,i don't think it will ever happen,in my lifetime at least but i'd still like it to happen. Nothing wrong with having that as a tatoo(wouldn't bother myself). I mean it isn't racist! Would be worse if someone had a swastika tatoo. As for on desks, there's a lot bloody worse gets written, seriously is that the worst thing you think you have seen, i mean it isn't a racist comment or something disgusting,If it bothers you that much then get out your wire brush and scrub it off.

That would be ideal. Leave them to float away and check up on them after 100 years. Whoever's left, gets to pick if they're reattached to Ireland or England.

Now that's the kind of attitude to have. Get rid of the lot of em,fellow country men or not, out of sight out of mind. After all the suffering some families in the north have gone through and are still going through i can't stand to see people coming out with crap like that, very insensitive comment towards people living in the north and i hope any of them reading this will realise that not everyone down here has this cold hearted attitude towards their problems! Muppet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

GaRtH_V wrote:
    I understand your frustration against people using the Eire 32 as a figurehead for violence but why should'nt it happen in our lifetime?

Because at the moment there is stil a majority of people in th north who don't want it? They are, after all ,the only people who matter in this instance.
    deisedevil wrote:
    A disgrace why??

Because it's the mantra of a terrorist organisation.
    deisedevil wrote:
    Now that's the kind of attitude to have. Get rid of the lot of em,fellow country men or not, out of sight out of mind. After all the suffering some families in the north have gone through and are still going through i can't stand to see people coming out with crap like that, very insensitive comment towards people living in the north and i hope any of them reading this will realise that not everyone down here has this cold hearted attitude towards their problems! Muppet!

Thats the point, they are NOT fellow countrymen anymore than Scottish people. They have British passports and are British citizens. As I aalready said, the majority don't want to be Irish.

Personally, I could'nt care either way. As for in my lifetime? I'd rather not have to be caught in the middle of a civil war thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I agree that its very annoying coming across these people who shout "Tiocfaidh ar la" and have large "26+6=1" tatoos on their arms, but havent a clue about the politics or history of the state we live in.

I know one guy with IRA tattoo's who I reckon has a far better knowledge of the history of this state than the majority of people who post on boards. he also can't stand glasgow celtic or their supporters. Just goes to show how wrong you can be. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

he is obviously not a true irish man if he doesnt support a scottish football team...

Stekelly wrote:
    Because it's the mantra of a terrorist organisation.

Mantra my ass, Éire 32 isn't an IRA mantra, anyone could want to see a united Ireland, realistic or not! Tiocfaidh ar lá, now that's an IRA mantra.
    Stekelly wrote:
    Thats the point, they are NOT fellow countrymen anymore than Scottish people. They have British passports and are British citizens.

That's the point of what??
    If you were living in the North and were given a British passport would you regard yourself as British or Irish? I'd still call myself Irish,couldn't give a feck what a piece of paper says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

Me neither im not one to pick a fight at all, don't get me wrong with what i said before it's just that people want to concentrate on having 'Peace' in the country first then maybe in the far far future have a 'United Ireland'. I'm all for it but at the moment its not being realistc by saying it's going to happen soon. This to me seems to be a bit far off :o

Angels wrote:
    Me neither im not one to pick a fight at all, don't get me wrong with what i said before it's just that people want to concentrate on having 'Peace' in the country first then maybe in the far far future have a 'United Ireland'. I'm all for it but at the moment its not being realistc by saying it's going to happen soon. This to me seems to be a bit far off :o

Well said, peace above all else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

:D cracker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 telecomsman

Sorry Bambi, if you read my mail properly you would see that I was talking about people that fit the particular desctription BUT DO NOT have any comprehension of the past.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Sparks400 wrote:

QUOTE]

What's the basis for your argument?

"The Ireland Act was passed in Westminster in December 1920. This set up two subordinate parliaments in Ireland: one for six counties, another for twenty-six counties, The six counties were to remain under British rule."

This was only 1 lifetime ago.
    The basis is this: there is a political deadlock at the moment in Northern Ireland with neither side making any ground in either direction. This is due to the strong will of the two major political figureheads in the North; Ian Paisley and Gerry Adams.

Momentarily, the unionists are in a stronger position because (a) there is still a larger percentage of Northern Irish people who are happy to carry British passports (and who are equally, if not more in touch with their Irish roots than many Southerners) and (b) Gerry Adams and Sinn Féin/IRA have lost the support of the government of the Republic of Ireland.

I read recently that Bertie Ahern said outright that there was no chance that he would allow Sinn Féin form part of the Irish government, even if it meant a government without Fianna Fáil. That means he would be happier to see a Labour/FG coalition than allow SF into government. Ian Paisley's retort was very appropriate: he asked why he should be asked to be in government with a party that the government of the people that they are supposed to be fighting for won't?

As for the PD's, well I needn't get into that; suffice to say that they don't harbour any goodwill for the bhoys.

The political stalemate in the North, however, is limited in its connection with people writing Éire 32, or Eíre 32 on desks. This is a far more base problem. The trouble is that these people don't recognise that this sort of nationalism leads to racism and incitement to hatrid. Everybody is familiar with the situation where you're on a bus and there are a group of young men(usually, but not always men) sitting at the back, clad in Celtic robes.

The rebel songs inevitably ensue and comments like "fcuk the Brits" are rife. God help any foreigners (ostensibly or otherwise) on that bus. Even if no physical threats are made, they must be scared out of their wits.

That is what I'm talking about.

More later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Stekelly wrote:
    Thats the point, they are NOT fellow countrymen anymore than Scottish people.

Just because they live in a different state doesn't mean they aren't part of our country. A country doesn't have to be a state, it can be a nation and the people of the North are entitled to be part of the Irish nation according to our constitution.
    Stekelly wrote:
    They have British passports and are British citizens.

D'oh! Actually anyone in the North can carry a British or Irish passport and can be a British or Irish citizen. You show an embarrassing level of knowledge about north/south politics.
    Stekelly wrote:
    As I aalready said, the majority don't want to be Irish.

Don't want to be Irish? Irishness is not the sole property of the Republic of Ireland. If a person is born in the north of Ireland they are just as Irish as a person born in the south of Ireland. Whether or not they choose to denounce their Irishness is their business but a sizeable minority in the North have no intention of doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Trying so hard not to post but cannnnn''tttt resssstssssssst.

The swastika of Irish Fascism? What on earth has a United Ireland got to do with fascism. For starters it's not a symbol, it's a statement. You might as well said it was the dove of peace.

[/QUOTE]It's so irrelevant in this day and age and I really thought that by their college years, most semi-intelligent people would be shot of that overly-nationalistic ferver that is common in pre-adolescents.[/QUOTE]

If people are writing it on desks then it must be relevant to some people. And I'm no pre-adolescent I left university in 1988.

[/QUOTE]The chances of there being a 32 county Ireland in our lifetimes is simply non-existent.[/QUOTE]

Can I have a lend of your crystal ball, please?

it could be possible that we join up together in this lifetime?its in the good friday agreement that they can have a referendum about joining the republic if it gets enough support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Don't want to be Irish? Irishness is not the sole property of the Republic of Ireland. If a person is born in the north of Ireland they are just as Irish as a person born in the south of Ireland. Whether or not they choose to denounce their Irishness is their business but a sizeable minority in the North have no intention of doing so.

Very true. Even the devil incarnate, Ian Paisley himself, has been quoted as saying he is an Irishman... and he is.

I was born in the North and have lived most of my life in the South. I'm an Irishman. Always have been, always will be....

I think a lot of people from the south are ignorant* to a lot of the history, real facts and the truth about day to day life in Norn Iron.

* I'm not calling people from southern Ireland ignorant... just in case someone goes off on a rant:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I wish the British would come back everytime I see it, just to piss off those who write it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Binomate wrote:
    I wish the British would come back everytime I see it, just to piss off those who write it.

ssshhhh.... edit your post quickly before anyone sees what you've written..... the british are still here you know, hence the 6 counties;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Besprechen

ssshhhh.... edit your post quickly before anyone sees what you've written..... the british are still here you know, hence the 6 counties;)

classic! what drugs you on man? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Vangelis

If the scribbling is sincere, I don't mind. It shows that Irish people still are passionate about their country. :)

But if it's to kill boredom or for fun, it's silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

Stekelly wrote:
    yes - stamps from a few year ago. quite a rareity now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

vandalism is wrong. passion for your country is not.
    scrawling nationalist slogans i especially wrong when you haven't a clue about your history.
    i've caught some kids spraying I.R.A. on walls on three seperate occasions and each time i asked them various questions about their history. they hadn't got a clue. i told them to go and educate themselves before doing it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭ratboy

scribbling eire 32 everywhere is not a mark of passion for your country. If you were passionate about your country you would deplore the disgraceful acts made in the name of eire 32, i hate the bastards who write those.

julep wrote:
    vandalism is wrong. passion for your country is not.
    scrawling nationalist slogans i especially wrong when you haven't a clue about your history.
    i've caught some kids spraying I.R.A. on walls on three seperate occasions and each time i asked them various questions about their history. they hadn't got a clue. i told them to go and educate themselves before doing it again.

Good boy! *pat pat* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

It's ridiculous really, the same lads who were "down the back" of my History class last year were the ones writing "Tiocfaidh ar etc etc" on desks and walls all around the school. When it came to a test on the IRA, Fail, Fail, Fail.
    "Ah soir, history's in da past, why shud we care 'bouh iht?"
    Well mate, that's a different story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I'm all for a united Ireland ..if the people of NI as a majority wish it were so and voted for it.

The facts are..the NI majority doesnt want to be part of a united Irl ..and frankly am glad thats the case..
    The thought of Paisley's boys running around beating up people here because they are pissed off that the UK mainland disowned them, which i'm pretty sure they would at a drop of a hat (if they thought it would be seen as the correct thing to do in the international community), doesn't appeal at all.

The Eire32 scrawlers are muppets without a clue as are all people that deface public/private property imho.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

I'd be loathe to say that most of people scrawling 'Éire 32' around the place are intellectually endowed in the area of Irish history/nationalism, but from common sense and my experience they're not. At all. We all know it's scobes who think it's cool to hate England, and......more little idiots who haven't got a clue what they're writing about.

About a unified Ireland, I do believe it will happen, it's just a matter of time. It's easy to see that Britain want to wash their hands of Northern Ireland, but if power was handed over at this stage it would be utter mayhem up there.

Until some sense of unified national pride is instilled in people, instead of being brought up in sectarian values, unification simply cannot happen. Less Celtic and Rangers, more Northern Ireland football team, if you know what I mean.

But still, give us back our teddy's head.......

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

It seems there are two seperate arguments running here, and I suppose they're both my doing. Firstly, there's the issue of people who, in adulthood, continue to harbour feelings of distain for England and who subscribe to a nationalistic sentement that I find repugnant.

Secondly, there is an argument about whether there will be a united Ireland or not. The second argument wasn't one that I intended to cultivate. It is a matter for the poilitical forum to be honest and has no real place here.

I suppose my rant was about the idiots who still think hating the British is cool. I mean, that is irrefutably racist. There are a very small minority of British people who were part of the British Empire against whom we can rightfully hold a grudge. Correct me if I'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

Actually i'll edit my original

**** NATIONALISM. Pack of ****

It seems there are two seperate arguments running here, and I suppose they're both my doing. Firstly, there's the issue of people who, in adulthood, continue to harbour feelings of distain for England and who subscribe to a nationalistic sentement that I find repugnant.

A product of nurture you could say. They inherit their (shallow/not-heartfelt) convictions from their parents. Is that what you mean?
    I suppose my rant was about the idiots who still think hating the British is cool. I mean, that is irrefutably racist. There are a very small minority of British people who were part of the British Empire against whom we can rightfully hold a grudge. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Hating is never cool. :) Bearing a grudge is not good for one's psyche.

Don't worry, be happy.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Prescient

sinn fein...'please dont think'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 La Cucaracha

yeah, seen eire32 on a table in college the last day, dosent bother me but i've never gotten the whole nationalism thing. I suppose some people just want to be fighting something.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

32 ? - Threre are two Tipp's, Dublin, Fingal , SDCC etc. so we are nearly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

yeah, seen eire32 on a table in college the last day, dosent bother me but i've never gotten the whole nationalism thing. I suppose some people just want to be fighting something.
    For some reason I associated the thread title with the idea that the recently announced transport plan was delayed even further? :rolleyes:

As far as the whole United Ireland/800 years of oppression stuff goes - couldn't give a toss personally. I think an increasing majority of people on both sides of the border/water would agree. The suggestion of somehow cutting the entire thing off and letting it float away is the best one I reckon - leave em to it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Why does this graffitti bother the OP so much? Is it because it's graffitti? Because of the apparent desire for a united Ireland? Or because of how he feels about the "type" of person he feels "probably" wrote it?

If it's a graffitti thing then get a mop and bucket and go after all of it equally.

If you don't want to see a united Ireland then fair one, many decisions are made in Dail and Parliament which affect us but we get very little say in, this could be another one?

If your stereotyping the person who may have written this then I'd wonder why? The desk may have been moved from another room where the major political figures of the future are studying? Who is to say that writing this means the author is of sub-normal intelligence? You infer a lot from a scrawl sir!

Unless you are from "The North" rather than from the north, I'd take your attitude on this as College boy poncing about, I'm the first to admit I'm biased about "your type" :D

But unless you know what it's like to grow up Catholic in, say, Belfast; then your opinion or feelings mean a lot less to me than the experiences of my friends, who have that first hand experience.

Do I support the IRA or other alphabet groups? No. Can I respect that finally the British Govt. has agreed to negotiate? Of course.

Todays terrorist is tomorrows Nobel nominee. What actually annoys me is when people, especially Irish people, vilify Adams and McGuinness but were singing "mandela must be free" a few years ago and lauding him as a mover and shaker for peace since his release. Why was he jailed? What was his crime? What did his missus get up to while he was away, in the line of punishment beatings and intimidation? Tell me Mandella didn't know about that stuff but Adams must know about IRA operations? Puhlease!

In case ye didn't want to look it up here's some of Mandelas' skimpy Bio. from Nobelprize.org, we can trust them right?
    After the banning of the ANC in 1960, Nelson Mandela argued for the setting up of a military wing within the ANC. In June 1961, the ANC executive considered his proposal on the use of violent tactics and agreed that those members who wished to involve themselves in Mandela's campaign would not be stopped from doing so by the ANC. This led to the formation of Umkhonto we Sizwe. Mandela was arrested in 1962 and sentenced to five years' imprisonment with hard labour. In 1963, when many fellow leaders of the ANC and the Umkhonto we Sizwe were arrested, Mandela was brought to stand trial with them for plotting to overthrow the government by violence. His statement from the dock received considerable international publicity. On June 12, 1964, eight of the accused, including Mandela, were sentenced to life imprisonment. From 1964 to 1982, he was incarcerated at Robben Island Prison, off Cape Town; thereafter, he was at Pollsmoor Prison, nearby on the mainland.

Almost makes it sound like he was guilty of no more than plotting to overthrow a corrupt leadership doesn't it? Even that is technically Treason and carries the death penalty, try finding out what he actually did though.
    Now he's a figure of hope his past has been whitewashed. I'll be watching out for Saint Gerry and Saint Martin over the next twenty years, sure they brought Peace to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Rhyme wrote:
    Have seen it on a load of Celtic shirts too... doesnt really bother me to be honest, they can say what they want.
    Wow, Irish people wearing British football jersies with slogans calling for the reclamation of 6 Northern Irish counties? I can't even say what i'm thinking right now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

It anoys me so much, seen a few with EIRE 32 on their arm, pathetic. And also some people who support Celtic cos they think its Irish! losers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

there are no countries, there is nothing to kill or die for and there are no religions either.